2736 messages
active 1 hour ago

Sandun Jayasundara

Originally from Sri Lanka, I really know each and every inch of my motherland that I'm very proud of. Since I was a kid, I have had a real passion for traveling, and that passion has taken to many areas of Sri Lanka. This country has such a great variety of pristine rainforests, highlands, grasslands, tea plantations, virgin jungles, mangrove swamps, dry zone areas, white sandy beaches and several internationally recognized National Parks.

Together with our agency we provide talented and knowledgeable local guides. I will design a trip plan according to your preferences and take you to the best sites of Sri Lanka with thrilling and unforgettable experiences.

How did you get involved in travel?

"As I have always been passioned about traveling, right after high school I started to study tourism at the University of Plymouth. Then, I joined Experiential Journeys so that I can share all my experience about Sri Lanka with travellers who want to visit this beautiful country. As a young graduated and a traveller, I have explored many parts of Sri Lanka and my favourite activities are snorkelling, hiking, safaris and trekking."

Featured trips & expertise

Udawalawe National Park
Highlights of Sri Lanka - 12 Days

Known as the "Jewel of the Indian Ocean," Sri Lanka is famed for its centuries of history and exotic tropical wildlife. Explore the island's top destinations through this introductory tour that will satisfy both nature lovers and cultural enthusiasts alike.

Recent trip reviews for Sandun

Sri lanka trip, Sri Lanka - Sep 3 - Sep 11, 2018

Traveler: Megan M. - Local specialist: Sandun Jayasundara

A large part of our trip was really great. We very much enjoyed the ancient sites and safaris. The Ecolodge and hiking in the rainforest were both incredible experiences. We did have a couple things we were quite frustrated with:

Our driver for the most part was good- he got us to where we needed to go safely. I left my wallet at a hotel in a previous city and he arranged to get it back for me which was incredibly helpful. However, he kept bringing us to these terrible tourist traps where he... read more

A large part of our trip was really great. We very much enjoyed the ancient sites and safaris. The Ecolodge and hiking in the rainforest were both incredible experiences. We did have a couple things we were quite frustrated with:

Our driver for the most part was good- he got us to where we needed to go safely. I left my wallet at a hotel in a previous city and he arranged to get it back for me which was incredibly helpful. However, he kept bringing us to these terrible tourist traps where he would get a commission if we bought something. Everything at these places was very overpriced. We wanted to get a carved elephant to bring home with us and he kept refusing to bring us to other places telling us he knew of a better place in Kandy. When we got to the shop we realized it was a scam (with terrible reviews online) and that everything was outrageously priced. He also brought us to places for lunch that would feed him for free for bringing us in. It would have be okay except a few of the places were dirty with bad food and 2-3 times more expensive than normal local places.

We also had an absolutely terrible night at one of the hotels. The hotel was outdated and very dirty. There were stains on our pillows and curtains, hairs in the bed that weren't ours and a dead lizard. We asked hotel to fix this and when we returned to our hotel room the same stained pillows were put back on our bed and the lizard was placed on our table. We have never been treated this way and thought our requests were not at all unreasonable but the staff seemed to be offended at our request? So they left a dead animal on our table. I have been in contact with Sandun about this for the last month and he kept saying he would follow up with the hotel (I was under the impression that we might get a refund or something) but I haven't heard anything which is further frustrating.

Sri lanka, Sri Lanka - Sep 21 - Oct 6, 2018

Traveler: Miranda H. - Local specialist: Sandun Jayasundara

Our driver Thasim was exceptional - made an effort to accommodate our requests and suggested other activities we may have been interested in. Went over and above any expectations we could have possibly wished for.
So many great experiences during our trip!

Sandun Jayasundara, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Miranda,
Many thanks for the review. I am thrilled to hear you had so many great experiences in Sri Lanka. Wish you the best on your future trips!
Best Regards,
Sandun.

Sri lanka from north to south, Sri Lanka - Aug 1 - Aug 23, 2018

Traveler: Marie D. - Local specialist: Sandun Jayasundara

We were particularly happy with our driver, Sandalal. Our 23-day tour from north to south covered a range of cultural, religious, archeological and natural sites and with Sandalal’s knowledge of his country we were able to visit even more than was outlined in the itinerary. Sri Lanka is a truly wonderful experience. Its people and their delicious food enhanced our three weeks even further.

Sandun Jayasundara, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Marie, Thank you for your valued review. wish you the best on your future trips!
Best Regards,
Sandun.

Akl adventurers, Sri Lanka - Aug 19 - Aug 29, 2018

Traveler: Vicky V. - Local specialist: Sandun Jayasundara

Chaminda was our excellent Tour Guide with Atullah the Coach Driver & Sushi the Luggage/spare driver assistant. They were a top team that just got better & better every day of our intensive tour. Chaminda in particular led the way with a passion for everything about Sri Lanka. His knowledge was v wide & informative & could answer any query !! He couldn't do enough for us often going to a lot of trouble to make sure stays at hotels etc were the best they could be. All of us will recommend him... read more

Chaminda was our excellent Tour Guide with Atullah the Coach Driver & Sushi the Luggage/spare driver assistant. They were a top team that just got better & better every day of our intensive tour. Chaminda in particular led the way with a passion for everything about Sri Lanka. His knowledge was v wide & informative & could answer any query !! He couldn't do enough for us often going to a lot of trouble to make sure stays at hotels etc were the best they could be. All of us will recommend him to anyone we know who'll visit Sri Lanka in the future as we'll be confident they'll be so well looked after by Chaminda.
Brief precis of highlights; Galle Fort & history that set the scene for understanding recent Sri Lankan settlement history. Then because a couple of us had heard about Horseshoe Bay on the way to Yalla Nat Park, the Coach stopped there for a couple of hours. Stunning surf/beach setting.........just idyllic & one of us surfed & another swam out to enjoy a beaut swim. We all liked Ella v much + trek up Little Adams Peak. After that, a short walk to nine arches railway bridge was stunning where we watched train go over. V nice stay at Mountain Heaven too. Sigiriya Rock an outstanding visit. Spent a while there & at the summit. Afterwards a lunch put on by Villagers near a lake in their humble place was a real highlight. At least 8 ethnic dishes cooked over open fire & mostly prepared in front of us, that were delicious.........all of us declared best Sri Lankan meal by far !! Dambulla was good with the Cave Temples. While in Kandy went to an excellent Cultural show in a local hall prior to the Perahara Festival that night. Visit to the Tooth Relic Temple as well as watching all the elephants in the surrounds was great. Visit to Polonnaruwa was good even though v v hot !! Chaminda knew the history so well. We wanted to go to the Pilliwarra Elephant orphanage as a side trip & what a terrific occasion that was !! 3 of us drew tickets to bottle feed elephants, watched up to 40 elephants in river, then they all walked freely right past us in the access lane back to enclosures. Breathtaking !! Finally a drive around Colombo at finish excellent with a stay at Mandarina just beaut.....................best pool ever too on rooftop !!

Sandun Jayasundara, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Vicky,
I am really thrilled to hear about all the new experiences you had in Sri Lanka. Chaminda also really enjoyed his time with you and fellow travel companions. I wish you the best on your future trips!
Best Regards,
Sandun.

A relaxed pace through cultural triangle, Sri Lanka - Aug 5 - Aug 14, 2018

Traveler: Linda H. - Local specialist: Sandun Jayasundara

My trip to Sri Lanka was a true pleasure. I wish to thank my guide, Mark, for his expert care. I felt at ease and well cared for throughout my 10 day stay.

I can't say which region was my favorite to be honest. I traveled in the North and through the cultural triangle. I loved all of it but ,Jaffna, perhaps, stole my heart. I think, because of how much the people have had to endure and have come so far in rebuilding life there.

The beauty of the island is truly amazing. I was greeted so warmly by the people there and I met some forever true friends. Lovely. Thank you.

Sandun Jayasundara, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Linda, Many thanks for your kind review. I am really thrilled to hear that you had a great time in Sri Lanka. It was really great to talk to you and knowing you were enjoying the tour to the fullest. I wish you the best on your future trips!
Best Regards,
Sandun.

High lights of sri lanka, Sri Lanka - Jul 20 - Jul 26, 2018

Traveler: Dennis R. - Local specialist: Sandun Jayasundara

La was a very attentive guide and good driver. He ensured that we understood the schedule on a day to day basis to enable a smooth routine.
Our schedule was interesting with a good variety of sightseeing and physical activity.

Sandun Jayasundara, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Dennis,
I am really glad that you have enjoyed the variety of sightseeing and also the amazing trek with good physical activity. I wish you the best on your future trips!
Best Regards,
Sandun.

Sri lanka, Sri Lanka - Jun 23 - Jun 28, 2018

Traveler: Frank B. - Local specialist: Sandun Jayasundara

We had a fabulous 5 days in Sri Lanka. The set up of our itinerary by Sandun was expertly done and contact with Sandun was extremely easy. The accommodation choices were super. Each of the hotels chosen were great places to stay and the people there were extremely friendly and accommodating. Our driver/guide, Tony did a fantastic job. We cannot recommend him highly enough. The various places we were taken to along the way were all great places to visit. We thoroughly recommend using Kimkim for any visit to Sri Lanka.

Sandun Jayasundara, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Frank, I am absolutely thrilled that you had a great time in Sri Lanka. I wish you best on your future trips!
Best Regards,
Sandun.

Getting around in sri lanka: all you need to know, Sri Lanka - Jun 25 - Jun 27, 2018

Traveler: brian c. - Local specialist: Sandun Jayasundara

The trip was great, very enjoyable, relaxing and beautiful. I had a wonderful time, the suriya resort was very welcoming, comfortable, and just a nice place to be. The staff were fantastic as were the facilities. My kimkim facilitator Sandun was informative, helpful and patient with me, and made the entire process very easy.

Sandun Jayasundara, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Brian, I'm really glad to hear that you have enjoyed your time in our little island. I hope you are having a good time on the ship. Safe travels!
Best Regards,
Sandun.

A first visit to sri lanka coupled with a relaxing and indulgent holiday, Sri Lanka - Feb 10 - Feb 22, 2018

Traveler: Gordon A. - Local specialist: Sandun Jayasundara

We had a fantastic holiday in Sri Lanka. It is such a diverse country that it is hard to identify a single highlight, but the safari at Wilpattu, the luxury of Tea Trails at Hatton, and Galle were certainly memorable. Sigiriya, Kandy, and Trincomalee were also very enjoyable and interesting.

Our driver, Rukan, was very good. Nothing was too much trouble and he got us where we needed to be safely and in good order. He was knowledgeable about everywhere we went and if he ever didn’t know where... read more

We had a fantastic holiday in Sri Lanka. It is such a diverse country that it is hard to identify a single highlight, but the safari at Wilpattu, the luxury of Tea Trails at Hatton, and Galle were certainly memorable. Sigiriya, Kandy, and Trincomalee were also very enjoyable and interesting.

Our driver, Rukan, was very good. Nothing was too much trouble and he got us where we needed to be safely and in good order. He was knowledgeable about everywhere we went and if he ever didn’t know where he was going we didn’t notice.

The accommodation we booked was always close to what we expected and in some cases much better. Jungle Beach at Trincomalee was very comfortable and restful, Heritance Kandalama was fascinating architecturally, and Tea Trails at Hatton was wonderfully indulgent. We also enjoyed Fort Printers in Galle; it was centrally located and very comfortable.

Sandun Jayasundara, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Gordon,

Thanks for your kind review. I'm really glad you had such a great time on our little island. I wish you best on your future trips!

Best Regards,
Sandun.

Katherine

Family vacation, Sri Lanka - Dec 17 - Dec 29, 2017

Traveler: Katherine G. - Local specialist: Sandun Jayasundara

Our driver Mahesh was great. The van was beeping the entire time, some programming problem. We were in the van a lot and this was very annoying. The hotels were just okay, not 4 or 5 star like we asked. Some of the bathrooms were sub-par. The Colombo hotel was way out for the main city, which was very disappointing! We asked to go to a spa for a massage and they place was not good.

Sandun Jayasundara, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Katherine,

Thank you very much for your comments! I highly appreciate all your feedback, and I'm very sorry that the trip didn't meet all your expectations.

It seems that we had a little misunderstanding at the first part of our conversation when you mentioned about your preferences on accommodation and the both options - 3 to 4 small hotels and 4 to 5 boutique hotels. Because of this reason, all your accommodation was not at high-end hotels.

About the hotel in Colombo, I am... read more

Hello Katherine,

Thank you very much for your comments! I highly appreciate all your feedback, and I'm very sorry that the trip didn't meet all your expectations.

It seems that we had a little misunderstanding at the first part of our conversation when you mentioned about your preferences on accommodation and the both options - 3 to 4 small hotels and 4 to 5 boutique hotels. Because of this reason, all your accommodation was not at high-end hotels.

About the hotel in Colombo, I am really sorry that it was little bit away from the city. The month of December, especially the days right around the Christmas, is a highest peak season. Since your booking was just a few days prior to the arrival date, the choices for accommodation were very limited.

When it comes to traveling times and the visit in Jaffna, it is the northernmost district of the island and and a very long ride from Colombo. During our conversations, as well as in the itinerary, I mentioned you the distances and traveling times hoping to give you a clear idea about the traveling conditions. I'm deeply sorry if you feel that this information were not sufficient.

I want to thank you once and again for your comments and wish you a very happy new year 2018!

Best Regards,
Sandun.