Trip Reviews

The latest reviews by travelers who booked their trip on kimkim

Aurora and more, Iceland - Jan 13 - Jan 16, 2017

Traveler: Jean M. - Local specialist: Chris McCarty

Chris was incredibly responsive and helpful. Great trip, great planning, and great follow-through.

We asked a lot of questions and he patiently got responses to all, and he helped us resolve a dispute that was not of his making.

Quito & surroundings exploration, Ecuador - Jan 7 - Jan 15, 2017

Traveler: Timothy F. - Local specialist: David Torres

I've had the best travel experience with kimkim ever. The trip was extremely well planned and thoughtful, I'd definitely recommend this trip to everyone.

David, our local specialist, took great care of us and the attention to details were impeccable. I felt very safe and taken care of the entire trip.

David Torres, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Tim,
Thank you so much for your feedback!
We are very glad that as our first client through Kim Kim, you had such a great time and that your experience in Ecuador was as full and fun for you and your friend.

Please know that we loved to help you out, and that Ecuador will always have open doors for you!
It was fun to plan your trip, and I enjoyed giving you offers that I though you would enjoy, and I'm glad that in the end you had a great time.

Safe Travels my friend!
David

Cartagena, tayrona, purace national park, Colombia - Dec 21 - Jan 4, 2017

Traveler: Laura G. - Local specialist: Katherine Caicedo

Katherine worked very hard on our behalf, especially given the short time frame in which we were planning. She also was great while we were in country and got sick and had to revise parts of our trip. She was always available to help re-adjust. There were two of the lodging options that were disappointing. Cartagena, Tayrona and Silvia were the highlights of the trip for me.

Katherine Caicedo, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Laura,

Thanks for the review and comments regarding your trip to Colombia.

We are really happy to know the overall experience was positive and will definitely take into account your remarks to improve our services. I enjoyed a lot planning this adventure for you and Steven and I hope you will come back soon.

Best,
Katherine

Jordan, Jordan - Jan 11 - Jan 13, 2017

Traveler: Angela H. - Local specialist: Matt Loveland

All went well and as described. We had a great time and would recommend the Kempinski Hotel at the Dead Sea. The Movenpick at Petra was very well located and the service great in both. Our guide Mansour Mansour had our visa organised n collected us from the airport n took care of everything for our whole trip. Lovely and informative man. Our guide at Petra, Neal Hamadeen, was very knowledgeable and passionate about Petra. We decided to go to the Monastery so he charged us 50 JD extra. We were... read more

All went well and as described. We had a great time and would recommend the Kempinski Hotel at the Dead Sea. The Movenpick at Petra was very well located and the service great in both. Our guide Mansour Mansour had our visa organised n collected us from the airport n took care of everything for our whole trip. Lovely and informative man. Our guide at Petra, Neal Hamadeen, was very knowledgeable and passionate about Petra. We decided to go to the Monastery so he charged us 50 JD extra. We were happy n he organised donkeys at 10 JD each. Worth it but not for the faint hearted as the donkeys navigate a series of old steps and rises. Petra incredible. Thank you Kimkim for organising a great trip.

Matt Loveland, local specialist, responded to this review:

I'm pleased you enjoyed your trip, if only for a couple of days. I hope next time you can stay longer. Yes the hike or donkey ride up to the Monastery is a bit of an adventure, but worth the trip, as the Monastery is fantastic.

Get lost in nature, Iceland - Dec 17 - Dec 21, 2016

Traveler: Pedro G. - Local specialist: Chris McCarty

I admire your professionalism and the attention, was amazing in trusting you guys our trip.

Chris McCarty, kimkim staff, responded to this review:

Welcome back, Pedro, I'm glad that you had such a nice experience in Iceland!

Your pictures look amazing! Looks like there was a fair amount of snow covering Reykjavik, isn't that view from Hallgrímskirkja great? We look forward to helping you plan your future trips, where ever they may take you.

Tour of amman, mount nebo, petra, wadi rum , Jordan - Dec 28 - Jan 4, 2017

Traveler: Jenny R. - Local specialist: Matt Loveland

Our guide Ali was excellent. Lots of knowledge and we enjoyed his company

Matt was very good advising us the best way to make the most of our time in Jordan

Matt Loveland, local specialist, responded to this review:

I'm glad you had a good trip guys, and please that Jenny was able to experience of much of Jordan as possible.

Snaefellsnes peninsula, nye in reykjavik, golden circle, south coast, Iceland - Dec 29 - Jan 4, 2017

Traveler: Sara T. - Local specialist: Chris McCarty

Everything was pretty great about our trip. Details were well drawn up and explained a lot of sites to see on the way as we drove. All very well done.

Only thing that was any sort of a snag was that our Waterfall Ice Cave tour that we booked for Jan 3rd at 10:30am apparently was transferred.... to another tour service without telling me? So as we showed up at 10:15 to the meeting area for our 10:30am tour - with my ticket saying 'paid in full' to Arctic Adventures (whom I had... read more

Everything was pretty great about our trip. Details were well drawn up and explained a lot of sites to see on the way as we drove. All very well done.

Only thing that was any sort of a snag was that our Waterfall Ice Cave tour that we booked for Jan 3rd at 10:30am apparently was transferred.... to another tour service without telling me? So as we showed up at 10:15 to the meeting area for our 10:30am tour - with my ticket saying 'paid in full' to Arctic Adventures (whom I had received my email confirmation from) they looked at them and then their lists and said 'you're not on our list'.
So the nice man made a call.
He came back with "Apparently this tour was Cancelled Dec 12th and your money was refunded".....
hmmmmm.
He said his guy was going to make a call and look into it further, but it was now 10:20 and tours were leaving at 10:30 so we were hoping it would be worked out before then...

He then came back and said 'So I guess due to scheduling or booking this tour was booked, cancelled, and then you were transferred to another tour company? So go over there to Iceguide van and they should be taking you now..."

So we did, and a nice man named Oskar said 'Yep, you're with us.' and we went on a tour.

But it was concerning that at no time was any info about us not being with Arctic Adventures was shared... Had the nice man not made a call to try and figure it out we would have just went home and the correct service provider may have just left without us and our two seats being wasted...

Just was bummed I never got any sort of 'your tour has been cancelled, or transferred to another tour service' update...... with another tour companies name to find.

Aside from that everything went off without a hitch!!
So thank you!

Such great input on all questions asked, he really helped make the trip happen.

Chris McCarty, kimkim staff, responded to this review:

Hi Sara, welcome back!

I am glad that everything went well aside from the Ice Cave tour confusion. I will look into this matter more and sort out what happened and make sure we avoid these types of issues for our future travelers. Thank you for bringing this to our attention!

I hope you enjoyed the fireworks and bonfires around Reykjavik on NYE, and that the days were not too short for you to see and do all that you had hoped.

We look forward to helping you on your next kimkim adventure, where ever that may be!

Jordan quick trip, Jordan - Dec 30 - Jan 1, 2017

Traveler: Rob G. - Local specialist: Matt Loveland

Both our guide and driver were excellent. The major disappointment was the Al Capitan camp. The room lacked heating and the hot water was luke warm. We did not feel it was up to the standard we were expecting. I got a cold due to the coldness.

Matt Loveland, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks Rob for the feedback. We're pleased you had a good trip. Due to it being peak season the regular camps we work with in Wadi Rum were fully booked, but normally captains camp is fine. None of the tents have heating, but normally there are extra blankets available, and guests generally sit by the fire in the evening before sleeping. This doesn't help you, but the other camps we prefer to book with do have electric blankets on the beds, which do help. I'm sorry you got a cold, I hope you feel better shortly.

Trekking over christmas at the edge of kathmandu, Nepal - Dec 26 - Dec 28, 2016

Traveler: Linda F. - Local specialist: Raj Gyawali

hi there: Our guide and porters were excellent! The first night accommodation was 1 star and that's being generous. I was under the impression that it was going to be a 3 star. Apparently our family of 7 cost $20 USD total to stay there, which is no surprise, as camping would have been more glamorous. I don't know why the tour company went so cheap on us, obviously to save money, but it wasn't fair, given we weren't told we were going to be in a 1 star of less, and if I had known this, I... read more

hi there: Our guide and porters were excellent! The first night accommodation was 1 star and that's being generous. I was under the impression that it was going to be a 3 star. Apparently our family of 7 cost $20 USD total to stay there, which is no surprise, as camping would have been more glamorous. I don't know why the tour company went so cheap on us, obviously to save money, but it wasn't fair, given we weren't told we were going to be in a 1 star of less, and if I had known this, I would not have booked with this company, as all the others who I inquired with were all going to put us in 3 star for the same price. The second night accommodation was HORRIBLE and would be given a negative 3 star rating! My family all said (and that's our 5 kids) that it was the WORST place we had ever stayed. There was vomit filling the bathroom sink when we arrived and no one cleaned it until I complained. The kitchen facilities were SO dirty, I refused to have food cooked in it for dinner, and instead bought chocolate bars down the street for my kids to eat. The food for that night was supposed to be included. We ended up paying for it ourselves. Breakfast left us no option but to eat white toast and have a few hard boiled eggs each. It was so disappointing. The beds had dirty sheets on all beds, and the toilet did not flush. There was no running water in the sink for brushing our teeth or cleaning up. Like the first night, our sleep was freezing cold, like we were camping outside. Windows were broken, or didn't shut properly. We could see our breath while eating our breakfast and dinner on both nights. For the price we payed to do this trip, we were ripped off. The third night was the only night that was acceptable with a proper three star hotel. Honestly, if the trip company we were introduced to through your sight told us we would be in 1 or negative star ratings for the first two nights, we would have gone with another company. As I said, the guides were excellent, helpful and very personable, and the last night of our stay was great, but the first two nights really left me no choice but to NOT recommend this company to any of my many, many expat friends. We were NOT satisfied, and very uncomfortable in our stay for the first two nights, and feared for food poisoning, catching a disease from the uncleanliness of the second place, with the vomit, other body fluids present, dirty bed sheets, as well as general uncleanliness. (cigarette burns in carpet, non functioning toilet ( already soiled when we got there) and non functioning water taps in our bathroom sink. Please understand as diplomats, a 3 star rating is a minimum, and if we had wanted to stay in a hovel, we would not have gone with this company in the first place. Though they get an A + on service on a personal level, the accommodations on the first two nights were completely , and utterly NOT acceptable and the second night, completely disgusting in all respects.

Raj was amazing. He hosted us lunch at the office, gave us t-shirts, took us to an outlet store to buy gear and arranged safe transportation, gave us his best guide ( wonderful!) and great porters, the first two nights accommodations were - first - 1 star and second night, - negative 3 star rating, as in "we wanted to leave, but were stranded" and no choice but to stay. I felt like I was a hostage.

Raj Gyawali, local specialist, responded to this review:

Linda,

Sorry to hear that your experience was so terrible in the first two nights. I can assure you that this was not our intention at all and the effort we made to give your family the first trek experience you wanted in Nepal that was soft, short and easy was entirely genuine.

The fact that the accommodations at chisopani and jarsingpauwa are basic is normal. The reason you have great guides and crew is because they can manage hygiene and expectations in situations like this.

This is also why we offset the two days accomodation with a proper hotel on night three.

We had also made a suggestion of a proper full 3star accomodation trek which included nagarkot, dhulikhel and bhaktalur which you turned down because of the price and interest in more walking.

Regardless, i am very sorry this happened. We never like to have disappointed travelers, but sometimes the expectation vs reality divide in Nepal can be challenging.

I still hope you had a good first experience of what multi day trekking can be like in Nepal, regardless of the accommodation problems. No matter where you feel in Nepal, full 3star accommodation treks are difficult in nepal, and most places will always offer basic accommodation, simple. Trekking eventually in Nepal will never be about the accommodation, but the experience in the mountains.

My apologies for the bad accommodations.

Nature and wildlife tour, Nepal - Nov 19 - Nov 30, 2016

Traveler: Daniela D. - Local specialist: Mads Mathiasen

The organization was superb. We do these kind of trips a lot and I can honestly say that we have never had one as well organized as this one. At every step, the drivers or guides were always ready for us and every aspect happened like clockwork. We live in Germany where you expect that kind of organization, but to enjoy it in Nepal hardly seemed possible. Our congratulations on a job well done! Also, the guides were all fantastic - friendly and knowledgeable. Most national parks in the world... read more

The organization was superb. We do these kind of trips a lot and I can honestly say that we have never had one as well organized as this one. At every step, the drivers or guides were always ready for us and every aspect happened like clockwork. We live in Germany where you expect that kind of organization, but to enjoy it in Nepal hardly seemed possible. Our congratulations on a job well done! Also, the guides were all fantastic - friendly and knowledgeable. Most national parks in the world have guides who know the big animals and birds of prey, but our guides in Chitwan knew every bird and butterfly as well.

We discussed the trip and made changes to his original concept several times but he never tried to force us into his plan and cheerily re-worked the itinerary until we were happy with it.

Mads Mathiasen, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Daniela and Berry, it was a delight arranging this trip for you and I am so happy you enjoyed it! Matching German clockwork is not easy and I would be lying if I said we always pull it off, but I am really glad we managed to do so for you.
Thanks for traveling with us and next time I think we should try to get you out to Bardia National park in West Nepal. Happy New Year! Thanks, Mads.

Northern lights, Iceland - Dec 3 - Dec 10, 2016

Traveler: Savio F. - Local specialist: Chris McCarty

Overall the trip was fantastic. While I think that it was near perfect, the number of things that were on our itinerary were too many and the number of daylight hours were just not enough.

I think that Chris could have been more clear advising us about the short daylight hours. (I too claim responsibility for not delving further into this) but otherwise Chris did a great job. He was accessible and was quick to respond to any questions before and during the trip. He offered a number of suggestions based on our first discussion.

Chris McCarty, kimkim staff, responded to this review:

Hi Savio, welcome back from Iceland! I'm glad that you enjoyed your time in Iceland. In retrospect, I should have given you some more information about the daylight hours and focused the itinerary more around the highlights that you could see during the limited time. Thank you for the feedback, and I hope that you decide to use the kimkim service for your next trip, wherever it may be.

btw, great photos! Jokulsarlon at sunset looks great, and I'm glad you were able to see the northern lights despite some clouds.

40th birthday shortbreak, Iceland - Dec 16 - Dec 18, 2016

Traveler: L H. - Local specialist: Bjorn Gudmundsson

So we are on our return now from our wonderful yet short trip. Nothing but praise and recommendation for the service and itinerary drawn together here. Thank you so much for the clear communication, ease of service, thoughtfulness and assistance. Everything went so well and with ease. My husband has really enjoyed his birthday surprise.

We were very pleased with the Northern Lights Tour by Amazing Tours. So much better than the mini-bus Tours on offer everywhere else. The guys we had... read more

So we are on our return now from our wonderful yet short trip. Nothing but praise and recommendation for the service and itinerary drawn together here. Thank you so much for the clear communication, ease of service, thoughtfulness and assistance. Everything went so well and with ease. My husband has really enjoyed his birthday surprise.

We were very pleased with the Northern Lights Tour by Amazing Tours. So much better than the mini-bus Tours on offer everywhere else. The guys we had running the evening (Nori? And his brother), were engaging and interesting. They added in a visit to a waterfall. Just really cool; we felt we had lucked out having them as our guides. So thank you, I am quite sure we will use you again. Our trip was outstanding. Best wishes to all involved in working with us.

Petra/wadi rum tour, Jordan - Nov 22 - Nov 26, 2016

Traveler: Michael C. - Local specialist: Matt Loveland

I really appreciate this service and the help Matt Loveland provided. A couple things could help improve the process.

1) This is the first time I tried kimkim, I really like the idea and hope to see it grow. It really lends it self to setting up last minute plans. So with that in mind, it did take a while (2 days) to get an initial response. We were just about to make other plans when we finally heard back.

2) Some kind of printable confirmation to show to people when we arrive... read more

I really appreciate this service and the help Matt Loveland provided. A couple things could help improve the process.

1) This is the first time I tried kimkim, I really like the idea and hope to see it grow. It really lends it self to setting up last minute plans. So with that in mind, it did take a while (2 days) to get an initial response. We were just about to make other plans when we finally heard back.

2) Some kind of printable confirmation to show to people when we arrive at facilities/tours/etc. There were times when people had no idea who we were or how we booked, it was difficult to explain to them. In the end it worked out though.

See comments in first section

Matt Loveland, local specialist, responded to this review:

Michael
Thanks for the comments. You were our first customer booked through KimKim, so we were still refining the communication process, so I apologise for the initial delay in responding. We have a printable handout you can use, and we will make it clearer to the suppliers about the booking process.

Colombia overview, Colombia - Dec 4 - Dec 11, 2016

Traveler: Howard B. - Local specialist: Nathalie Clavel

Nathalie was fantastic in helping me plan my trip in such short notice (4 days prior to travel). All of my accommodations were in the heart of each city, and had an authentic local feel to them (Just what I asked for). Nathalie also sent me plenty of restaurant recommendations, and additional activities we could take advantage of on our free time. She kept in touch with me throughout the trip and she went above and beyond to quickly resolve a minor issue I had.
Overall great, despite one of... read more

Nathalie was fantastic in helping me plan my trip in such short notice (4 days prior to travel). All of my accommodations were in the heart of each city, and had an authentic local feel to them (Just what I asked for). Nathalie also sent me plenty of restaurant recommendations, and additional activities we could take advantage of on our free time. She kept in touch with me throughout the trip and she went above and beyond to quickly resolve a minor issue I had.
Overall great, despite one of the guides not showing up (he had the times switched), but that was resolved by Nathalie, the guides that showed up were awesome, their historical knowledge in Bogota, and the 2 in Villa de Leyva, was phenomenal. The people (guides, drivers, and locals) were extraordinarily friendly, and open to sharing their customs.

If I could change one thing it would have been longer planning time (not on you), because I would have altered my itinerary slightly to avoid a lot of movement from town to town, probably returned from Villa de Leyva to Bogota rather than go to Barichara just to avoid the transportation time, and likely headed to Cartagena a day earlier since it was a place I needed more time at. Nothing major, overall great support by Nathalie, and a fantastic trip.

Thanks, looking forward to using your services again.

Regards,

Howard

She was very helpful in such short notice and provided great recommendations. She resolved a minor issue and compensated the hiccup with a great dinner in Cartagena. Fantastic service, and fully recommend her.

Nathalie Clavel, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Howard,

Thank you so much for your comments. I will take them into account for the organization of next trips. I am glad you enjoyed your trip! Do not hesitate to contact me again if you want to visit more of Colombia!

Thank you,

Best regards,

Nathalie

View mt everest, Nepal - Nov 30 - Dec 6, 2016

Traveler: Natasha A. - Local specialist: Raj Gyawali

Raj was extremely helpful from the very first day. He was very approachable. He was also very hospitable after we arrived in Nepal. We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our trip and will definitely be recommending both Raj (Social Tours) and Kimkim to future travellers.

Raj Gyawali, local specialist, responded to this review:

Natasha and Mizna, thanks so much for the wonderful review. So glad you had a great trip and Robin also confirmed that you were blessed with real good weather. Sorry you could not make it to the farewell that we wanted to offer you. Thank you very much for taking the time.

Manaslu circuit trek, Nepal - Nov 13 - Nov 25, 2016

Traveler: Isabella M. - Local specialist: Ngima Dorji Sherpa

Took great care in ensuring everything went smoothly

Ngima Dorji Sherpa, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Isabella,

It was our great pleasure to be a part of your trip in organizing your trek to Manaslu. Thank you very much for appreciating our service and I hope we could be of similar help for your next trip to Nepal in near future.

Best wishes,

Ngima.

Ghorepani poonhill trek, Nepal - Nov 19 - Nov 26, 2016

Traveler: Axel A. - Local specialist: Ngima Dorji Sherpa

We have been home for about one and a half weeks now. We are really happy with how our trip went. The views were stunning and I think that both me and Victor would like to return someday for a longer trek. Thank you for all the help. It would have been some much harder to do without you two.

Ngima and our guide Lhakpa were great and everything just worked.

Ngima Dorji Sherpa, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Axel and Victor,

Glad to know that you reached home safely.

Thank you very much for appreciating our service offered to you during your trip to Ghorepani last November. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your trip fully and very much satisfied. We would like to thank you for choosing us for your travel and we hope to welcome you soon again for your next trip to Nepal.

Best wishes,

Ngima.

Japan trip | 2016, Japan - Nov 15 - Nov 24, 2016

Traveler: Sam D. - Local specialist: Kishiko Shimizu

We had a great trip! It made planning easier as we could focus more on what we wanted to see and less about what hotels to stay in. One of the hotels in particular, the ryokan in Kinugawa, was definitely not something we would have chosen ourselves and was a highlight of the trip.

One of things that could have been improved would have been a clearer picture of how the process worked. It wasn't clear when hotels would be booked, when final payment would be required, and expectations of what... read more

We had a great trip! It made planning easier as we could focus more on what we wanted to see and less about what hotels to stay in. One of the hotels in particular, the ryokan in Kinugawa, was definitely not something we would have chosen ourselves and was a highlight of the trip.

One of things that could have been improved would have been a clearer picture of how the process worked. It wasn't clear when hotels would be booked, when final payment would be required, and expectations of what I could ask for before/during the trip.

In addition to suggested places/attractions, it would also have been handy to have restaurant/food recommendations that are culturally unique.

Kishiko was very helpful and cordial throughout the planning process. Her travel plan was very thorough and certainly came in helpful. The extra mile she went to ensure our train tickets were sorted during the trip was really appreciated!

What could have been improved was more upfront communication throughout the planning process. It wasn't always clear where things were at and it was left up to me to periodically check in.

Kishiko Shimizu, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Samsan,
Thank you very much for your review.
Sorry for some unclear parts, but I am glad that you seemed to have good time in Japan.
Best regards,
Kishiko

Caitlin and griffin’s week in nepal, Nepal - Nov 20 - Nov 26, 2016

Traveler: Caitlin M. - Local specialist: Amanda Delecca

The group chat option made planning very easy for everyone to be involved in real time, and Alex and Amanda were both always immediately responsive.

Amanda was wonderful during the planning process in making suggestions, fulfilling our requests, and providing insight and advice on the local area. Again, she was also always available to us prior to the trip, and she made a point of seeing us three times when we were actually in Kathmandu, which was totally above and beyond what she needed to do and very much appreciated.

Amanda Delecca, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hey Caitlin,

It was really great meeting you and Griffin, and super cool that your friends who were visiting India were able to 'drop in' to Kathmandu and join you for a few days. Thanks for your feedback - it was absolutely our pleasure hosting you here.

Cheers,
Amanda

First trip to nepal, Nepal - Nov 8 - Nov 18, 2016

Traveler: Tas B. - Local specialist: Amanda Delecca

We had soooo much fun and learnt a lot so it might just be that these are things we know for next time but a heads up about the timing between getting to Pokhara and actually starting the trek would have bee nice, just to allow us to maybe leave more stuff behind. Then again we too way too much for the whole trip so will definitely do that better next time.

Amanda we immensely helpful and just so nice as well. She tried to accommodate all our requests and we felt very safe in her hands

Amanda Delecca, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Tas,

It was such a pleasure hosting you and Ian here in Nepal - you were both so open to everything that Nepal has to offer and I'm excited about your future trekking endeavours, now that you have this new-found passion.

Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate your time and hope to see you here again!

Cheers,
Amanda

Three passes trek nepal, Nepal - Nov 1 - Nov 17, 2016

Traveler: jo b. - Local specialist: Ngima Dorji Sherpa

I was grateful to have found a resource like Kimkim to go to. I was overwhelmed trying to find a reliable tour company in Nepal and having your recommendation took all the guess work out and that was really awesome.

Ngima was extremely responsive right from the start and was actively monitoring how our trip was going throughout. We got an excellent pre trip catch up and post trip meeting.

Ngima Dorji Sherpa, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you very much Jo for your warm appreciation towards our service on your visit. It's so great to know that you are very very satisfied and we are glad that our goal to make you happy with your trip got achieved. We hope and wish to welcome you again soon in Nepal for your next trip to new destination.

Best wishes,

Ngima.

Raylene and friends custom tour of nepal , Nepal - Nov 5 - Nov 11, 2016

Traveler: Raylene H. - Local specialist: Amanda Delecca

Our trip was near perfect and we had a wonderful time.

Our only hiccup was the trek. We understood that we would just meander through the hills slowly rising, whereas this was not the case.

Amanda was really helpful and answered our questions promptly with lots of detail.

Great to have someone with first hand knowledge.

Our only suggestion would be that she does the treks as we were told there was only a few steps. Debbie's had a knee replacement so she was quite concerned about there being steps.

Amanda Delecca, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Raylene,

Thanks so much for your review! We're pleased to be able to provide you and your 3 friends a 'near perfect' trip and we're glad we were able to re-route you to the lovely Temple Tree Resort when the walk up the hill wasn't as per your expectation. Thanks again, Amanda

Active 8 day adventure on snaefellsnes peninsula and south coast, Iceland - Nov 6 - Nov 15, 2016

Traveler: Milish R. - Local specialist: Kristín Sævarsdóttir

Only reason I went with not perfect was a couple of days didnt seem busy enough. But given the last minute nature of the trip, Harpa was Awesome!!!

5 day south coast adventure, Iceland - Nov 8 - Nov 13, 2016

Traveler: paula r. - Local specialist: Kristín Sævarsdóttir

The tour guide Begga was super nice , on time, and we always felt felt and comfortable with her.
A few things that could have been done better:
1- it would have been nice to have received a detailed itinerary before getting there (we had a 5 line itinerary before the trip).
2- more information (geography, history) about the places we were seeing/visiting

Kristin helped organize the trip and all that we decided to do, we did it.
Grimsborgir was pretty desolated so we would have... read more

The tour guide Begga was super nice , on time, and we always felt felt and comfortable with her.
A few things that could have been done better:
1- it would have been nice to have received a detailed itinerary before getting there (we had a 5 line itinerary before the trip).
2- more information (geography, history) about the places we were seeing/visiting

Kristin helped organize the trip and all that we decided to do, we did it.
Grimsborgir was pretty desolated so we would have preferred to be in Reyvajvik a few more nights. I understood that Grimsborgir was the best place to be doing excursions from. Unfortunately it rained all week and we did not see the northern lights which was another reason we stayed in Grimsborgir.

Kristín Sævarsdóttir, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Paula,

It was very nice meeting you for a coffee at our office. I know Begga really enjoyed the time with you and she will be happy to hear you liked the tour.
Regarding the itinerary I am really sorry about that this was a bit of a misunderstanding on my behalf. You where our first Kimkim guest and we where still learning how to work together. I hope you enjoyed the late itinerary you got from Begga and that informed you about all the beautiful sights you saw.
I hope to see you again in Iceland, then I will have a brand small baby guide to intorduce to you.
Have a wonderful day.

All the best,
Hildur

Khopra ridge trek, Nepal - Oct 27 - Nov 8, 2016

Traveler: andrew r. - Local specialist: Ngima Dorji Sherpa

This was my first trip to Nepal, and my first trekking experience. Ngima and his staff took care of all the details. We were greeted on arrival in Nepal, which made us feel welcome and warm. In our initial meeting, we were introduced to Lhakpa, our guide for our 7 day trek. Lhakpa was a great guide. He was very patient and flexible. He was able to tailor our trek as we went according to our needs and abilities. After our trek, we decided we wanted to add an Everest mountain flight to... read more

This was my first trip to Nepal, and my first trekking experience. Ngima and his staff took care of all the details. We were greeted on arrival in Nepal, which made us feel welcome and warm. In our initial meeting, we were introduced to Lhakpa, our guide for our 7 day trek. Lhakpa was a great guide. He was very patient and flexible. He was able to tailor our trek as we went according to our needs and abilities. After our trek, we decided we wanted to add an Everest mountain flight to our package. Again, Ngima took care of all the details for us. I would highly recommend Ngima and his staff.

Ngima and his staff are very professional. They offer the highest in customer service and attended to all of our needs. Their trip planning was very thorough and designed to maximize our stay in Nepal.

Ngima Dorji Sherpa, local specialist, responded to this review:

It's so pleasing to know that you had a great experience travelling with us and you had a wonderful 1st time trekking in Nepal. Thank you very much for your warm appreciation regarding our service and we hope to serve you similarly or even better in your next trip to Nepal soon. We consider your satisfaction as our success.

Best wishes,

Ngima.

6 days of trekking and culture, Nepal - Nov 1 - Nov 6, 2016

Traveler: kayla b. - Local specialist: Raj Gyawali

I had to follow up a pick up time and itinerary several times. The first guide was late, thought I was being transferred to a different hotel, because he had his bike we walked for a decent while before being able to get a taxi which would take us and the bike.

The cycle tour was quite good. But the ending was disappointing being a festival there was no pizza and a drink. We found a place to have a drink and I was left to pay for my own taxi back to the hotel.

The following day the... read more

I had to follow up a pick up time and itinerary several times. The first guide was late, thought I was being transferred to a different hotel, because he had his bike we walked for a decent while before being able to get a taxi which would take us and the bike.

The cycle tour was quite good. But the ending was disappointing being a festival there was no pizza and a drink. We found a place to have a drink and I was left to pay for my own taxi back to the hotel.

The following day the monkey temple and the monastery were great. The monk was very illuminating and spoke very well. It was disappointing however that we could only talk for an hour and the monastery and library closed 15 minutes after finishing our discussion with the monk.

The welcome dinner was very nice and the social tours consultant (the young girl) she was very friendly and nice to talk to.

I enjoyed my time with Juman over the next few days hiking. The villages and scenary were nice even if majority of the time we were walking on the road.

I was disappointed that the hiking times were advertised 3.5-4.5 hours every day when the first day I walked for 2 hours and 10 minutes only and was eating lunch by 10am in an effort to stall time. On the second day we walked to Bhaktapur and again I was there much earlier then expected.

Juman was great company and the local guide in Bhaptapur had a lot of knowledge of the area.

Getting back to Kathmandu was very unorganised. I had to insist that the Peacock guest house organise and pay for the taxi back to Kathmandu as I was having trouble with my bank cards so couldn't get money out of the ATM's.

I was supposed to stop off at the coffee plantation on the way back which never happened, and the taxi driver asked for money when I arrived at the hotel implying that he hadn't been paid. He called the Peacock guest house and thank fully they sorted it out for me.

I thought that a transfer to the airport was included on the final day but this was not.

Whilst I liked the accommodation and it was very nice compared to the hostels I had been staying in, it was apparent that there was lots of other options (cheaper options) in the areas where I stayed which would have drastically reduced the amount which I paid for the trip, and I was disappointed that despite my request that this wasn't looked into.

Raj Gyawali, local specialist, responded to this review:

Kayla, am sorry to hear that some of the experiences we developed were not quite what you expected. I can assure you however that from our side, we have made every effort to ensure that it does match your expectations, in fact, exceed it.

Some of the errors have been pure misunderstandings which should not happen. I agree, and the feedback you have provided will ensure that we avoid these errors in the future.

Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback. I must assure you that we do take peoples dream trips very seriously, and nothing that we did was done frivolously, but sometimes, situations make us have to adjust programs. Usually these adjustments enhance the trips even more, but unfortunately in this case, was not so! I regret that, as I feel bad that you did not have a fulfilling experience. That is never our intention!

Family trip to nepal - ktm, trekking and chitwan, Nepal - Oct 23 - Nov 5, 2016

Traveler: l m. - Local specialist: Raj Gyawali

Social Tours couldn't have been better - we'd recommend them to anyone. They pulled together a fantastic trip and were very accommodating of requests we made whilst out there. The guides were great, too.

Raj Gyawali, local specialist, responded to this review:

Glad you loved the trip and the people behind the work. Thats what we really treasure - the people, who make all this happen. Thanks for appreciating that!

We really enjoyed having you here!

Pikey peak, Nepal - Oct 29 - Nov 3, 2016

Traveler: Mario O. - Local specialist: Ngima Dorji Sherpa

I have just returned from a 6 days Pikey Peak tour with Nepal Myth and Mountain Trails. HIGHLY recommended tour company! Very organized and professional company. The owner of the company, Ngima is very passionate and concerned about making the guest's experience a memorable one. My guide, Pembac did a great job giving me a lot of interesting information about mountain trails and culture of Nepalese people. These guys absolutely exceeded our expectations in every way. Thank you Nepal Myth and Mountain Trails!

Ngima Dorji Sherpa, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you very much Mario for a wonderful compliment on our service for your trip to Pikey Peak. We are very glad that you are fully satisfied from our services and we hope to welcome you soon again in Nepal for your next trip.

Mini iceland exploration, Iceland - Oct 8 - Oct 12, 2016

Traveler: Marisa K. - Local specialist: Joost Schreve

This was a very well planned trip. We really enjoyed the first night in Egilsstadir as well as the road trip to Vik. We wish we'd ha done extra day to do a bit more hiking as we ended up spending extra time in Vik.

Joost helped with every single step of this trip and was amazing with returning emails. The one time I reached out on the first day of the trip we received a quick response from one of his team members. Fantastic service!!

Joost Schreve, kimkim staff, responded to this review:

Hi Marisa,
Thank you very much for your review and your amazing photos! It was a real pleasure helping you plan your trip, and I hope to work with you on future trips again.
Best,
Joost

Manaslu circuit trek, Nepal - Oct 14 - Nov 1, 2016

Traveler: Scott B. - Local specialist: Ngima Dorji Sherpa

Really outstanding local agent, guide and porter and wonderful experience overall. The only thing that could have been better is for the route to start in Soti Kola and end in Dharapani because the itinerary as is included 2.5 days of walking on roads with jeeps whizzing by. By cutting these 2.5 days on the roads you could add a couple days exploring up high and keep to the same overall 16 day length. I don't blame the Nepalese for wanting more roads but I don't want to trek on them. Make... read more

Really outstanding local agent, guide and porter and wonderful experience overall. The only thing that could have been better is for the route to start in Soti Kola and end in Dharapani because the itinerary as is included 2.5 days of walking on roads with jeeps whizzing by. By cutting these 2.5 days on the roads you could add a couple days exploring up high and keep to the same overall 16 day length. I don't blame the Nepalese for wanting more roads but I don't want to trek on them. Make sense? I hope so. Overall great experience though and will recommend friends coming next year book with you all as well. Thanks again!

Ngima was great. Top notch professional.

Ngima Dorji Sherpa, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Scott.
Thank you very much for your review and suggestions .
We really appreciate it and keep in mind. It was our great pleasure to organize trip to
Manaslu Circuit trek for you and we are so glad that you enjoyed your trip fully. We hope to welcome you soon again for your next trip in near future.

Kind regards,

Ngima.

Manaslu circuit trek, Nepal - Sep 29 - Oct 17, 2016

Traveler: Rita M. - Local specialist: Amanda Delecca

The trip was great, and the track is outstanding. At the last night, we had a taste what annapurna circuit would be like. The land space looked amazing also but far too many other trackers and quite touristy. Happy with the choice of manaslu. The organisation regarding transport and accommodation were good, it is easi r to have your private transports Than going on the public bus and avoid the walking in on the first day to soti kola. As the days went on, we trusted more the guide and the... read more

The trip was great, and the track is outstanding. At the last night, we had a taste what annapurna circuit would be like. The land space looked amazing also but far too many other trackers and quite touristy. Happy with the choice of manaslu. The organisation regarding transport and accommodation were good, it is easi r to have your private transports Than going on the public bus and avoid the walking in on the first day to soti kola. As the days went on, we trusted more the guide and the porters. At the beginning guide was using some trainers and jeans instead of some hiking gear. He then bought hiking boots as the ones he had broken, and from day 4 onwards he had appropriate gear, including pants and down jacket. It may be our judgement, but I believe it is important guide and porters to have proper gear, it is another safety measure. Porters did almost the entire track in flip flops except the day of the pass in sneakers. They said that is what they are used to. So this would be my only remark, ensure guide and porters have the appropriate gear. The Xperience was outstanding and the guide and the porters fantastic, which definitely contributed positivity to the whole experience.
Our guide was able to answer majority of the questions that we had about Nepal and or nepali culture. This is important feature of the guide to be able to talk about the country and not only about the trek

Before the trip, communication was extremely efficient. In nepal, she was friendly and approachable. Nice touch at the end, with a meeting after the trip to hear feedback and give us a
Little survenir

Amanda Delecca, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Rita,

Thanks so much for your comments! It was a pleasure to help you organise your family get-together in Nepal and the wonderful Manaslu Circuit trek. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with Rishi and the crew and that him being there made a difference to your trip.

We hope to see you in this part of the world again! :)

Cheers,
Amanda

Manaslu and the tsum valley, Nepal - Oct 2 - Oct 22, 2016

Traveler: Rohan D. - Local specialist: Mads Mathiasen

Early notice that Tsum valley was closed eas very helpful, so that we had the right passes to go to Nar-Phu. Guide was excellent, very attentive, spoke fluent English, and accommodated our changes tho the itinerary.

Really responsive to our pre-trip questions and the face tho face meetings were also really helpful.

Mads Mathiasen, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Rohan, glad all went well and the Nar-Phu was a good alternative to the Tsum valley. Good that you had a good time with Gelu and that everything was flexible enough for you. Hope to see you in Nepal again some day. Thanks, Mads.

Khopra danda trek, Nepal - Oct 9 - Oct 19, 2016

Traveler: Eva M. - Local specialist: Ngima Dorji Sherpa

I guess my two suggestions would be: 1. You don't necessarily have to spend the night in Hile, especially when you have a car arranged to pick you up there. I guess for those that have a tighter schedule. 2. When you do stay overnight in Hile just as we did, in hindsight we would have had no problem to walk the next day to Biretanthi. I mean the car was perfect and we had I think the best driver of the whole of Nepal, yet it feels a bit like we bother the villagers and trekkers that did walk... read more

I guess my two suggestions would be: 1. You don't necessarily have to spend the night in Hile, especially when you have a car arranged to pick you up there. I guess for those that have a tighter schedule. 2. When you do stay overnight in Hile just as we did, in hindsight we would have had no problem to walk the next day to Biretanthi. I mean the car was perfect and we had I think the best driver of the whole of Nepal, yet it feels a bit like we bother the villagers and trekkers that did walk down from Hile.

Such a pleasant man :-)
We concluded our aqcuaintance with a lunch in Boudanath yesterday, it was great to be able to chat with him a bit more. All his knowledge of trekking!

Ngima Dorji Sherpa, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you very much for your review and suggestions Eva. We really appreciate it and keep in mind. It was our great pleasure to organize trip to Khopra for you and we are so glad that you enjoyed your trip fully. We hope to welcome you soon again for your next trip in near future.

Kind regards,

Ngima.

Ghorepani trek, Nepal - Oct 7 - Oct 11, 2016

Traveler: Roland T. - Local specialist: Amanda Delecca

Very satisfied with all aspects of the trip, from planning through to the final goodbyes to our guides.

Friendly and helpful and more - which other operator would invite us to a local bar and then buy is a drink? Wonderful person!

Amanda Delecca, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Roland, thanks for your review, it was great to meet you both in Kathmandu and I was SO happy to hear when the mountains finally came out for you!! Cheers!

Manaslu circuit trek, Nepal - Sep 6 - Oct 1, 2016

Traveler: Michael F. - Local specialist: Mads Mathiasen

Very easy to book, great system to ask questions and get answers. The system flows creating a great overall experience.

Mads and team were fantastic and made us feel taken care of from start to finish. We had obstacles come up which required adjusting our itinerary , Mads and team were able to accommodate and offer alternative recommendations that fit what we wanted.

Mads Mathiasen, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Michael, I am just back from trekking as well. Super happy you enjoyed your trek with us! It was no sweet to make the adjustments for you, just glad we could make it all work so you had the best possible holiday. Hope you see you in Nepal again sometime. Cheers, Mads.

Highlights of croatia from zagreb to dubrovnik - one week itinerary , Croatia - Sep 21 - Oct 1, 2016

Traveler: Melissa F. - Local specialist: Michelle Maurer

Podestine was a little far from town and accommodations of room were not great i.e. Sheet for blanket, shower did not drain, however Lara at the desk was amazing! Sailing trip did not have much time for swimming and snorkeling, majority was sitting on the boat, skipper was nice but would not recommend. Plitvice was amazing as well as accomadations, Dubrovnik is beautiful and Zagreb did not disappoint!

Tom's 5-day trip to iceland, Iceland - Sep 15 - Sep 19, 2016

Traveler: T H. - Local specialist: Bjorn Gudmundsson

We thoroughly enjoyed the trip and appreciated the recommendations for restaurants and hotels. We don't usually use a travel agent, but for Iceland it was hard to know what to fit in for a quick 5 day trip, and Bjorn was great. Very easy to work with and responsive to our requests. He not only arranged airport transfers, he also set up a ride to the rental car, made sure we had a gps loaded with key spots, and gave us a phone to use with his contact info as well as all the other information we needed.

Bjorn Gudmundsson, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Tom and thank you very much for your feedback. It was a pleasure working with you and I am very happy that you enjoyed your Iceland trip!
Great pictures!

Khopra danda community trek, Nepal - Sep 1 - Sep 10, 2016

Traveler: Aniessa H. - Local specialist: Amanda Delecca

I was well taken care of the whole time! Thanks guys for planning this trip for me and getting me where I needed to go! The hotel at the end of my trek was amazing!! Thanks again:)

Amanda Delecca, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Aniessa,

It was an absolute pleasure having you here and we were very happy to see that you had some clear days with incredible mountain views! Until next time :)

4 day iceland exploration, Iceland - Aug 13 - Aug 22, 2016

Traveler: Leslie B. - Local specialist: Bjorn Gudmundsson

What I appreciated most was how was easy it was to organize and book. When we received the itinerary it was reasonably priced especially when compared to what I saw when I initially tried to book the trip on my own.

I was booking this trip rather late and I turned to KimKim because I was discovering that a number of the hotels I was interested in were sold out. Bjorn was able to get us a reduced rate with view rooms at a beautiful new hotel. He also found us a great "guest house". The... read more

What I appreciated most was how was easy it was to organize and book. When we received the itinerary it was reasonably priced especially when compared to what I saw when I initially tried to book the trip on my own.

I was booking this trip rather late and I turned to KimKim because I was discovering that a number of the hotels I was interested in were sold out. Bjorn was able to get us a reduced rate with view rooms at a beautiful new hotel. He also found us a great "guest house". The activities he suggested weren't one that were found in the guidebooks. Bjorn listened to what we liked and found activities to match.

Bjorn Gudmundsson, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you very much for the review Leslie we appreciate it! We are very happy that you enjoyed your trip and found our suggestions helpful. We hope to welcome you again to Iceland in the future.

Croatia - dubrovnik to split, Croatia - Aug 15 - Aug 22, 2016

Traveler: Bradley G. - Local specialist: Ilija Miloš

We would have liked to have a more in-depth conversation about the hotels and specifically the rooms that were going to be booked for the trip. In the end it worked our fine, but we were a little surprised when we got to the first hotel and would have considered spending more for a view or added amenity.

The biggest disappointment was a disconnect from our expectations of what KimKim offered when working with a local expert and what the final itinerary contained. We were expecting the... read more

We would have liked to have a more in-depth conversation about the hotels and specifically the rooms that were going to be booked for the trip. In the end it worked our fine, but we were a little surprised when we got to the first hotel and would have considered spending more for a view or added amenity.

The biggest disappointment was a disconnect from our expectations of what KimKim offered when working with a local expert and what the final itinerary contained. We were expecting the final itinerary to include ideas/recommendations from the local expert for excursions, things to do or restaurants to checkout that may be slightly off the beaten path.

See previous comment regarding our expectations for the final itinerary.

Alex Buri, kimkim staff, responded to this review:

Hi Bradley, thank you for your review, and for trusting us to help plan your honeymoon! We are very happy to hear that you had a great time in Croatia, despite the fact that our trip plan and service fell short in a number of ways. Thanks also for your detailed feedback to us via email, as it has helps us improve our product and processes. We hope to be able to help you again with a future trip.

Family adventure in croatia, Croatia - Aug 9 - Aug 23, 2016

Traveler: Andreas V. - Local specialist: Andro Tartaglia

It was perfectly organized and executed. Looking back I would have done one part differently, but it was really amazing to see that hotels were informed, transports by taxi or ship waiting when needed.

Was very engaged even throughout the vacation open for additional questions

Andro Tartaglia, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Andreas,
Thanks for your feedback!
Next time we will have to use only boutique family owned hotels!! Great pictures by the way :)

Stockholm trip, Sweden - Jul 9 - Jul 17, 2016

Traveler: Julia F. - Local specialist: Michelle Maurer

My experience was wonderful. From helping with itineraries to restaurants, the service was great, even for cities that weren't necessarily advertised. I liked the personal experience with someone responding to my every question. Planning trips can sometimes take forever for me and consume my days, but Michelle allowed me to release that pressure.

It would have been great if in the planning phases, kimkim was able to tell me a route of a few cities to visit and the attraction of each. If I... read more

My experience was wonderful. From helping with itineraries to restaurants, the service was great, even for cities that weren't necessarily advertised. I liked the personal experience with someone responding to my every question. Planning trips can sometimes take forever for me and consume my days, but Michelle allowed me to release that pressure.

It would have been great if in the planning phases, kimkim was able to tell me a route of a few cities to visit and the attraction of each. If I had thought through better, knowing I love the outdoors, I would have gone to Iceland instead of Stockholm before Copenhagen. Kayak has an algorithim of when its best to book, so if there was a way to integrate that and tell me to book before I lingered on the itinerary too long (which I admit I definitely did) then that would have been amazing. Overall a great experience though I just wish I had booked things quicker than waiting to go back and forth on them.

Michelle Maurer, kimkim staff, responded to this review:

Thank you for your feedback Julia, it was a pleasure planning your trip with you. We will take your feedback into consideration on how to make the planning process better in the future. We look forward to helping you with your future travels.

Honeymoon in croatia, Croatia - Jul 3 - Jul 15, 2016

Traveler: Rob C. - Local specialist: Michelle Maurer

kimkim booked us a perfect honeymoon in Croatia. They found the best accommodations, transportation and activity ideas based on our preferences.

Things I liked:
- how easy it is to book a quality trip vs. doing our own research
- the route through Croatia was perfect
- chat communication vs. having to talk to someone by phone, although the back and forth would have been easier via email, instead of having to sign in each time to respond to a comment
- the full itinerary. we referred to it... read more

kimkim booked us a perfect honeymoon in Croatia. They found the best accommodations, transportation and activity ideas based on our preferences.

Things I liked:
- how easy it is to book a quality trip vs. doing our own research
- the route through Croatia was perfect
- chat communication vs. having to talk to someone by phone, although the back and forth would have been easier via email, instead of having to sign in each time to respond to a comment
- the full itinerary. we referred to it multiple times a day.
- sailing!
- our final hotel in Dubrovnik was a gem

Areas for improvement:
- back and forth communication by email, as shared above
- the two ferry rides were both sold out at the times we wanted for day-of purchases; buying ferry tickets online or at least warning us to buy early would have helped some logistical difficulty
- more country coverage… would have liked help with the Germany stage of our trip as well.
- would be great if kimkim could have booked flights for us

Michelle Maurer, kimkim staff, responded to this review:

Appreciate your feedback Rob! Apologies for the ferry rides being sold out, we will make sure in the future to let travelers know about this, especially during the peak travel season.
We are also continuously working on increasing our in-country customer service to help travelers in Croatia. I am so glad you had a great honeymoon and loved seeing your photos. Please keep us in mind for the next time you plan a trip.

Private ghorepani / poon hill trek, Nepal - Jun 26 - Jul 3, 2016

Traveler: Zen C. - Local specialist: Kim Bannister

She was very patient in addressing some of my concerns. It was nice that prior to my trip the team at KimKim reminded me about some of the small details such as visa application, which i had completely forgotten.

Kim Bannister, local specialist, responded to this review:

We're glad you had a good trip to Nepal, Zen, and hope to see you again for an even longer trek with us!

Everest region monsoon trek, Nepal - Jul 6 - Jul 22, 2016

Traveler: Anita P. - Local specialist: Raj Gyawali

Kimkim made this such an easy trip to book. I could log into kimkim and ask questions about anything and everything whenever they came to mind. Things related to trekking or Nepal in general. Kimkim would respond within 24 hours with great information. They were attentive to catering the trekking to what I wanted to do and see, kimkim worked with my budget and time frame to make sure I was getting the best deal possible.

Raj and everyone at social tours was super welcoming! They went out of... read more

Kimkim made this such an easy trip to book. I could log into kimkim and ask questions about anything and everything whenever they came to mind. Things related to trekking or Nepal in general. Kimkim would respond within 24 hours with great information. They were attentive to catering the trekking to what I wanted to do and see, kimkim worked with my budget and time frame to make sure I was getting the best deal possible.

Raj and everyone at social tours was super welcoming! They went out of their way to make sure things ran smoothly and that I was properly prepared for the trek. They checked in with me during the trek to make sure everything was ok. Once back in Kathmandu they were still very helpful and made sure I had everything I needed. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Raj and his team to other travellers looking to come to Nepal. Even if you just wanted to stay in Kathmandu, these guy have so many options for things to go and see and they really put the effort in to making sure you feel welcome and have an awesome stay in Nepal.

Raj Gyawali, local specialist, responded to this review:

Anita, sorry it took a while before I could respond as I was travelling. Thanks for the wonderful feedback and such a beautiful testimonial and recommendation. We love it that you appreciate our style of service. Hope to see you back here in Nepal of course, and another opportunity to showcase a different region in Nepal. Nepal is awfully addictive and we are quite sure you will come back one day!

Everest three passes trek, Nepal - Jul 5 - Jul 23, 2016

Traveler: Jose B. - Local specialist: Ngima Dorji Sherpa

Very professional agency, the guide was a very nice person, also the porter. Since my arriving they always were in contact with me, also the days I didn't plan with their agency. I definitely recommend Ngima's agency

Ngima Dorji Sherpa, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you very much Jose for your percious time to write up your trek experience with us. We are very glad that you are very much satisfied with our service and our staffs. It was indeed a great pleasure planning trip for your from the very beginning of our meeting in kimkim. I am happy that you had a great time in monsoon in Nepal and had a memorable trip. We hope to see you soon again for your next trip to Nepal.

3-day kathmandu valley tour, Nepal - Jul 9 - Jul 15, 2016

Traveler: Luke S. - Local specialist: Raj Gyawali

Day 1: really great. Nice walk up to a very cool hotel. Got away from the city and really got a feel for the country side.

Day 2: hike back down to Bhaktapur was ok. The second half of the hike was on a main road with lots of traffic, so not that enjoyable. I would have been better if we could have walked in more rural setting like the day before. We ended up catching a bus to get to the hotel. The hotel was noisy, and not very modern bathroom. I would have changed the... read more

Day 1: really great. Nice walk up to a very cool hotel. Got away from the city and really got a feel for the country side.

Day 2: hike back down to Bhaktapur was ok. The second half of the hike was on a main road with lots of traffic, so not that enjoyable. I would have been better if we could have walked in more rural setting like the day before. We ended up catching a bus to get to the hotel. The hotel was noisy, and not very modern bathroom. I would have changed the hotel.

Day 3: very intense day. Early morning tour of Bhaktapor. Then move to Patan and tour and lunch and shopping there. Then Kharma Cafe, and finally goodbye dinner. Probably too many moves around on this day. Maybe would have been better to do Bhaktapor tour previous afternoon. Plus Kharma Cafe was not that interesting. I appreciate the concept of sustainable, local business, but driving 20 minutes there and 20 back for a coffee did not add significant value to the day...

I'm pleased with the support and service. I had no idea what to expect as I had never visited Nepal, so had some different thoughts in my head around what to expect. Organization and service was good, but now that I have a better idea of the urban Nepal, I would ask for some different options and focus things differently....

Raj Gyawali, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks Luke, for taking the time to send in this thoughtful review. Glad you liked it overall. Appreciate your honesty in giving us the constructive criticism for improvements. As you wrote, perhaps the third day was a bit too intense, starting a bit too early and it was packed...

I guess I was too excited to try and get you to see as much as possible.

The walk to Bhaktapur down from Nagarkot has three options, one that is more like you wanted, but is far longer - and the other thats the one you did and did not appreciate the walk on the road bit that is there at the bottom of the hill - and a third one that hikes all the way to Dhulikhel where you get picked up. I guess it is a bit complicated to guage the exact one that clients want, and on hindsight, which is always easier, I guess I should have scheduled in the third, which would be more to your liking... and more of a nature walk.

Thanks for all this. It is truly appreciated. We hope to see you in Nepal again!

6-day cultural tour kathmandu - pokhara, Nepal - Jul 1 - Jul 6, 2016

Traveler: Ana R. - Local specialist: Raj Gyawali

Namaste to all at Social Tours,
Thank you very much for all doing your best on this very special trip. My cousins and I are leaving Nepal with the highest opinion of its people due to your infallible attentions, flexibility and enthusiasm.
All of our tour guides were extremely nice and helpful.

We will do our best to recommend your services and hope to be back in the future

Raj was amazing.
We didn't get to meet him while we were there but we was incredibly helpful throughout the whole planning process and left us in very good hands!

Raj Gyawali, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks for the wonderful review Ana, truly appreciate it... Sorry was busy when you were here, but was following every day and keeping tabs on how the trip was progressing.. and was happy each day it went well... Glad it was a good trip! Hope to see you in Nepal again, and meet you someday!

Korcula wine & cycling tour, Croatia - Jun 25 - Jun 25, 2016

Traveler: claire m. - Local specialist: Rachael & John Flynn

Michelle was an absolute dream to work with, I tend to be very indecisive and she really helped me and my husband plan a wonderful trip. She gave great recommendations of places to eat, things not to miss and was even able to schedule a wine and cycling tour for us when it wasn't originally available. A few minor things could have been different but really did not impact our trip at all.

Our cycling tour with John was one of our favorite parts of the trip, he was an absolute joy to spend... read more

Michelle was an absolute dream to work with, I tend to be very indecisive and she really helped me and my husband plan a wonderful trip. She gave great recommendations of places to eat, things not to miss and was even able to schedule a wine and cycling tour for us when it wasn't originally available. A few minor things could have been different but really did not impact our trip at all.

Our cycling tour with John was one of our favorite parts of the trip, he was an absolute joy to spend our last day in Korcula. The scenery was beautiful (cycling the countryside was a great way to experience Krocula), the wine was quite refreshing after a very warm morning and we could not have asked for a better group of travelers to be with! John was kind enough to email me after the tour and gave my husband and I some great recommendations for food/drinks for the next part of our trip in Split. He really went above and beyond anything my husband and I could have ever imagined and I am sure every service they offer will be as wonderful as the wine and cycling tour.

Michelle Maurer, kimkim staff, responded to this review:

Thank you, Claire! It was such a pleasure planning your trip with you. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your trip and the wine and cycling tour even in the heat. I appreciate the review and keep spreading the word about kimkim!

Meghan's jomsom trek, Nepal - Jun 9 - Jun 14, 2016

Traveler: Meghan P. - Local specialist: Amanda Delecca

The trip was fantastic! The only changes I would make would be to do a longer trip in the future :)

Amanda Delecca, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hey Meghan, thanks for choosing to travel with us! It was our absolute pleasure to organise your short trek while you were here for work, I look forward to organising a longer trip for you next time :)

Khopra danda community trek, Nepal - May 21 - Jun 1, 2016

Traveler: Natalie C. - Local specialist: Mads Mathiasen

Had a wonderful experience. The trip was everything we could have asked for.

Alex Buri, kimkim staff, responded to this review:

Glad to hear, Natalie. Great that you were able to do the Khopra trek... one of my favorite in Nepal!

Ghorepani / poonhill + tibet tour, Nepal - May 3 - May 17, 2016

Traveler: Andrew B. - Local specialist: Ngima Dorji Sherpa

The team at KimKim perfectly tailored our trip, and were very patient as me made numerous changes during the planning process. They were able to find a perfect mix of cultural and hiking interests that suited the interest of my father and I. It was great to be able to chat with people that were very experienced with the hikes and sites themselves which allowed for us to view the REAL Nepal and Tibet.

Ngima was very helpful during our trip. He was on-time for every touch-point and meeting,... read more

The team at KimKim perfectly tailored our trip, and were very patient as me made numerous changes during the planning process. They were able to find a perfect mix of cultural and hiking interests that suited the interest of my father and I. It was great to be able to chat with people that were very experienced with the hikes and sites themselves which allowed for us to view the REAL Nepal and Tibet.

Ngima was very helpful during our trip. He was on-time for every touch-point and meeting, and had very clear information for us as to what we should expect. It was a huge help to have all of our Tibet Permit's sorted out while we we're on our hike, which allowed us to avoid any government offices and waits.

Joost Schreve, kimkim staff, responded to this review:

Andrew, Thanks for your great review, much appreciated. We're happy to hear that your trip went so well and you and your father had a great time in Nepal and Tibet! Best, Joost & the kimkim team

Family trip to kauai, Hawaii - Apr 2 - Apr 10, 2016

Traveler: Tanguy P. - Local specialist: Angelei Hauge-Valko

Thx to Kimkim my family had a great vacation. I was tasked to organise the family trip :-)
As I had never been to Hawaii I didn’t know where to start. Finding the right island, the right area and right accomodation for the needs of my family helped us to enjoy it.
Kimkim helps you find hidden gems. Well done guys. Count on me to spread the word.
Tanguy - an evangelist :-)

Got more than I could hope for.

Alex Buri, kimkim staff, responded to this review:

Hi Tanguy, glad that everything went smoothly. Angelei knows Kauai well, and I'm glad she shared a few of her hidden gems :) I hope the boys enjoyed their surfing lessons and were able to catch a few good waves...

Custom family trek, Nepal - Apr 11 - Apr 16, 2016

Traveler: Melinda B. - Local specialist: Mads Mathiasen

Sherpas were extremely kind, patient and helpful. Trail was perfectly adapted for our group age (family travelers). The view and landscape was stunning. Teahouses were welcoming and friendly.

Reactive, helpful and super professional. Before traveling, Mads exactly understood our needs and expectations, and suggested the best trek for our family. On site, we had weather condition that needed our trek to be changed. It was rescheduled and re-planned for us to enjoy as much as possible without... read more

Sherpas were extremely kind, patient and helpful. Trail was perfectly adapted for our group age (family travelers). The view and landscape was stunning. Teahouses were welcoming and friendly.

Reactive, helpful and super professional. Before traveling, Mads exactly understood our needs and expectations, and suggested the best trek for our family. On site, we had weather condition that needed our trek to be changed. It was rescheduled and re-planned for us to enjoy as much as possible without missing trek length. At all time, he was reachable through kimkim conversation, and he was liaising with his people on site (office with Angkit and our guide Pasang) who took really good care of us.

Joost Schreve, kimkim staff, responded to this review:

Hi Melinda,
I am very happy to hear that you and your family had such a great trip to Nepal! We look forward to helping you with your future trips.
Happy travels,
Joost

Manaslu circuit trek , Nepal - Mar 23 - Apr 6, 2016

Traveler: Louis f. - Local specialist: Richard Ball

Overall the trip was very good. The trek was great, the choice of towns to stay, and the overall experience was very good.

The only thing I can think that could be improved was the handoff from kimkim to the agency doing the trek (i.e. magical nepal with the guide). It wasn't entirely clear to me who was responsible for what at first. But honestly this is a small thing, as I said overall things were great.

Alex Buri, kimkim staff, responded to this review:

Hi Louis, thanks for your review! Agree, the handoff could be a bit better explained, and we're working on making this more clear. Glad to hear you had a great trip, overall.

Manaslu circuit trek, Nepal - Mar 14 - Apr 2, 2016

Traveler: Karyn A. - Local specialist: Richard Ball

Some confusion between Kim kim, ManasIu Circuit trek and Magical Nepal and who I was actually dealing with - need to be made as a clear distinction which agency is doing what. Also I didn't receive any it in art etc until I asked as Magical Nepal assumed Kim kim had given it to me

I'm not sure what exactly Richard does. Alex was awesome bit Richard seemed to only be a connection between Alex and Pradeep . Also l spent a week waiting to see if he could match my dates with other hikers. At... read more

Some confusion between Kim kim, ManasIu Circuit trek and Magical Nepal and who I was actually dealing with - need to be made as a clear distinction which agency is doing what. Also I didn't receive any it in art etc until I asked as Magical Nepal assumed Kim kim had given it to me

I'm not sure what exactly Richard does. Alex was awesome bit Richard seemed to only be a connection between Alex and Pradeep . Also l spent a week waiting to see if he could match my dates with other hikers. At the end of the week I emailed to see what was happening and the reply was like "oh you wanted us to keep looking" - a bit frustrated with the service. Cannot speak more highly of Alex who was available at any time of the day and tried his best to sort out my issues

Alex Buri, kimkim staff, responded to this review:

Hi Karyn, sorry for the minor issues we had during the planning process and that you had to wait for some information. Rest assured, we realize how important this is to receive timely responses, and have improved this since your trip. Glad you had a good trip around Manaslu, and thanks for sharing the photos!

Incredible nepal journey, Nepal - Mar 13 - Mar 25, 2016

Traveler: Kim C. - Local specialist: Kim Bannister

Loved planning the trip working closely with my expert - she answered so many questions and really helped me solidify our perfect itinerary

Kim went above and beyond to make our trip amazing - she arranged special anniversary gifts at check-in, had staff pick us up and take us to the airport and she even included us in a pre-trek dinner with her Upper Mustang group - so fun to feel like you have a local friend.

Kim Bannister, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks for the feedback, Kim. I'm so glad we had time for a few dinners together in Kathmandu and Pokhara, and we enjoyed setting up your perfect anniversary trip to Nepal! Hope to see you again in the near future!

Khopra danda trek, Nepal - Mar 19 - Mar 28, 2016

Traveler: Philipp B. - Local specialist: Ngima Dorji Sherpa

The organisation of the trip was fabulous. Ngima is an extremely warm hearted person and went out of his way to make sure we are enjoying the trip to the maximum.

Ngima Dorji Sherpa, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you very much Philipp for your kind appreciation on our service. It was indeed a great opportunity to serve you for your trip to Khopra with our best expertise. We are more than happy to know that you and Clare enjoyed the trip to maximum and do hope to welcome you again in Nepal for your next trip soon.

Best wishes,

Ngima D. Sherpa with whole NMMT and kimkim team.

Mauna kea beach hotel, Hawaii - Mar 24 - Mar 27, 2016

Traveler: Angie M. - Local specialist: Michelle Maurer

Michele was really great to work with. She was super friendly but also prompt and professional. She made the effort to understand my needs before making recommendations and quickly adapted as new information was given. I would have loved for her recommendations to have more insights and reason behinds them. It wasn't always clear if she was giving me a list of options or making a personalized recommendation. Overall, she was very helpful and I would work with her again!

Michelle Maurer, kimkim staff, responded to this review:

Thanks for your review Angie, it was great working with you and I'm glad you and your husband had a great trip to the Big Island.

Khopra danda trek, Nepal - Mar 3 - Mar 11, 2016

Traveler: Nick L. - Local specialist: Raj Gyawali

Did a great job booking a trekking tour on very short notice. Everything went very smoothly and Alex and Raj were very responsive. In hindsight, I would have appreciated a more detailed price breakdown, but I didn't think to ask for that while booking.

Social Tours did a great job of getting me settled into my hotel in Kathmandu, and the trekking guide that they had hired did a wonderful job of making sure I was safe and that all my needs were taken care of during the trek.

Alex Buri, kimkim staff, responded to this review:

Nick, it was a pleasure helping you plan your trip. Glad to hear you had a great time and everything worked out on short notice. Good feedback on the price breakdown, and happy to explain more next time :)

Family trip to hawaii, Hawaii

Traveler: Edouard T. - Local specialist: Alex Buri

I used kimkim for a family trip to Hawaii. Kimkim was particularly useful to help me cut through the noise and get the information I needed. Most importantly, they saved me a lot time in my planning process.

Alex Buri, kimkim staff, responded to this review:

Was a pleasure working with you, Edouard! Hope to have the chance again :)