Kimkim Trip Reviews for Ecuador

Reviews from actual kimkim travelers. We publish all reviews.
4.9
(35 reviews)
Read 35 reviews by travelers who booked their trip on kimkim

Group departure - epic ecuador multi-sport tour - 8 days, Ecuador - Feb 2 - Feb 9, 2019

Traveler: David H. - Local specialist: Carolina Munoz

Our Multisport Adventure Tour dome by Adventure Journeys was just superb! Our guide, Paul Aguilar was top notch - very professional, attentive, informative, mechanical, humorous and so knowledgeable about so many Ecuadorian things. He repaired broken bike chains, assisted in dealing with my Canon camera service issue in Quito, and guided us strongly in each of the sports. He became a friend. He deserves a huge raise in salary! He also convinced us that everything ever invented started in... read more

Our Multisport Adventure Tour dome by Adventure Journeys was just superb! Our guide, Paul Aguilar was top notch - very professional, attentive, informative, mechanical, humorous and so knowledgeable about so many Ecuadorian things. He repaired broken bike chains, assisted in dealing with my Canon camera service issue in Quito, and guided us strongly in each of the sports. He became a friend. He deserves a huge raise in salary! He also convinced us that everything ever invented started in Ecuador!! Our driver, Alejandro, was superb as well - the guy can drive!! He handled our bus so well, at all times, and helped us all if we needed it. He also deserves a huge raise in salary!!

Volcanos, Ecuador - Jan 14 - Jan 18, 2019

Traveler: lois b. - Local specialist: Linda Schulz

Marco our bilingual guide was a very safe & entertaining driver with whom we were able to practice our conversational Spanish .The 5 day Avenue of volcanoes tour was an amazing series of national parks and hacienda stays which enabled us to reach Guayaquil for our Galapagos trip visiting markets,walking in beautiful places and experiencing the unique hospitality of haciendas.

Linda Schulz, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Lois, great to hear that you have enjoyed your tour through the Andes and the overnight stays in different, traditional Haciendas! In just a short time you were able to see many different parts of Ecuador - from volcanoes to lagoons and typical indigenous markets. I hope you will leave Ecuador with many beautiful memories!

Exploring ecuador, Ecuador - Dec 31 - Jan 14, 2019

Traveler: Jet A. - Local specialist: Linda Schulz

We highly recommend Linda if you're considering going to Ecuador. Linda was extremely responsive throughout, and on top of that, she was in constant communication with local guides to make sure we were taken care of when we got sick during the trip.

We had considered going there on our own, and we're so glad we didn't. The itinerary that Linda put together for us was perfect, as we were able to truly see how distinct and diverse different parts of the country are. The local guide that she... read more

We highly recommend Linda if you're considering going to Ecuador. Linda was extremely responsive throughout, and on top of that, she was in constant communication with local guides to make sure we were taken care of when we got sick during the trip.

We had considered going there on our own, and we're so glad we didn't. The itinerary that Linda put together for us was perfect, as we were able to truly see how distinct and diverse different parts of the country are. The local guide that she paired us with, Christian, was great as well. He was very knowledgeable about history of the country, and he also recommended some hole-in-the-wall restaurants, which made our experiences very unique and memorable!

Don't think twice about contacting Linda if you're considering going to Ecuador!

Linda Schulz, local specialist, responded to this review:

Jet, thank you very much for your great feedback! Once again, I am very sorry that you got sick during your trip - it is great to hear that you could enjoy your holidays despite this inconvenience and that you have been able to gain a good insight into the country, its culture and its people.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again one day in Ecuador!
All the best for future travels,
Linda

Nicola

Great honeymoon ideas for ecuador, Ecuador - Jan 4 - Jan 17, 2019

Traveler: Nicola R. - Local specialist: David Torres

David and Gabor where great in helping us plan our honeymoon in Ecuador, modifying our activities and adjusting everything to perfection! They also spent about half a day with us in Quito, showing us around the Old Town. Highlightsip included the great Yacuma lodge in the Amazon with our amazing guide Yacu, our ascension to the 1st refuge on mount Chimborazo and a great day trip to Isla de la Plata. We wanted adventure, and we got it!

David Torres, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Nicola!
I am so happy that you and your lovely partner could come to visit us in Ecuador. It was a great time showing you around the Casa del Alabado and getting to know you before Yacuma!
We had a blat figuring out what would be the best trip for you as well, and we are super happy that you were satisfied with the end voyage!
Hope to see you both in the close future my friend!
All the best
David

Terrance

Best of the ecuadorian highlands - 7 days, Ecuador - Jan 4 - Jan 14, 2019

Traveler: Terrance T. - Local specialist: Gabor Csizmadia

Our overall trip experience was great. Our guide (Fernando Fabre) was the best we have had in our many prior privately guided trips throughout the world. Our accommodations were good to excellent and met our expectations for the price we paid. Our local specialist Gabor provided us with excellent trip planning and coordination services; and we will definitely be using Kim Kim for our future world travels.

Gabor Csizmadia, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Terrance,

thank you very much for your kind words! It´s great to hear that your trip in Ecuador was a memorable one. If you ever consider returning or planning a trip to Peru, Bolivia, Chile, Argentina or Colombia, feel free to contact me again, I will be happy to help!

Take care and all the best to the Turners & Siscos!
Gabor

Amy

Quito, Ecuador - Jan 1 - Jan 5, 2019

Traveler: Amy P. - Local specialist: Mathias Onisseit

Our trip was fantastic!!! Everyone in my family enjoyed it! The tour company, Darcar tours, that we had our driver and our tour guide through were outstanding. Super knowledgeable, patient with my kids, and very flexible. They had excellent suggestions throughout the tour to accommodate our needs, even on our arrival day when our flight was delayed. They communicated very easily with us and offered insider knowledge about every facet of Ecuador. Selfides, our chofer was excellent. He had a... read more

Our trip was fantastic!!! Everyone in my family enjoyed it! The tour company, Darcar tours, that we had our driver and our tour guide through were outstanding. Super knowledgeable, patient with my kids, and very flexible. They had excellent suggestions throughout the tour to accommodate our needs, even on our arrival day when our flight was delayed. They communicated very easily with us and offered insider knowledge about every facet of Ecuador. Selfides, our chofer was excellent. He had a wealth of knowledge about plants, animals, foods and unique culture in Ecuador. David, our tour guide, was professional, knowledgeable, and extremely flexible and patient with our young children. He made sure to give us all of the highlights while considering their ages and our time constraints. The tour itinerary Matthias gave us was excellent and creative. We saw some really off the beaten path things including the artisans of Peguche and the cooking class. The Hacienda Pensaqui, although historical, charming, and set in a beautiful landscape, was unfortunately dirty. There was dust everywhere. The food was mediocre, and the office staff were very unorganized. Apparently, the owner passed away a year ago and is now being cared for by his family. It appears very run down which is a shame because it has such potential! We still loved our stay there due to its historical charm and familial feel, however, I think it is necessary that you be aware that it may not be what it once was. The cooking class was phenomenal!!! Chef Edwin was funny, patient, and extremely talented! My kids participated in everything and loved it!!! Termas de Papallactas was exactly as we had hoped. Relaxing, breathtaking views, and good service.

We loved our stay in the Andes Mountains of Quito and would love to return!!! I will use KImKim again for sure! It was so much less stressful and may be our new way of travel. Thanks again!!!

Mathias Onisseit, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Amy, I'm glad that you and your kids enjoyed the tour, especially the cooking class, which is a real hands-on experience!
As for the Hacienda Pinsaquí, I am a bit surprised about your comments, I was there a couple of weeks ago and found it in good condition. Maybe the dust was due to refurbishments taking place currently. Maybe you can send me more information through chat? I could forward it to the Hacienda to help them improve those points.
I'm glad you liked the Termas de Papallacta... read more

Hi Amy, I'm glad that you and your kids enjoyed the tour, especially the cooking class, which is a real hands-on experience!
As for the Hacienda Pinsaquí, I am a bit surprised about your comments, I was there a couple of weeks ago and found it in good condition. Maybe the dust was due to refurbishments taking place currently. Maybe you can send me more information through chat? I could forward it to the Hacienda to help them improve those points.
I'm glad you liked the Termas de Papallacta with its natural hot springs, it's a great place to spend some relaxed time after an exciting tour.

We are looking forward to having you in the future to explore the rest of this beautiful country!

Andean adventure, Ecuador - Dec 21 - Dec 26, 2018

Traveler: Brett H. - Local specialist: Mathias Onisseit

After eight days in the Galapagos we enjoyed our short trip to Cotopaxi National Park. The park was beautiful with grand vistas and beautiful canyons. Frank, our guide, was knowledgeable and attentive. He provided strong support throughout the trip. Tambopaxi lodge was lovely and the food was exceptional. The southern refuge was unique with gracious staff and epic views. We have a number of really enjoyable treks.

The rating was based on two reasons. 1.) Of the five planned... read more

After eight days in the Galapagos we enjoyed our short trip to Cotopaxi National Park. The park was beautiful with grand vistas and beautiful canyons. Frank, our guide, was knowledgeable and attentive. He provided strong support throughout the trip. Tambopaxi lodge was lovely and the food was exceptional. The southern refuge was unique with gracious staff and epic views. We have a number of really enjoyable treks.

The rating was based on two reasons. 1.) Of the five planned treks we completed only two. This was due to the weather that made one of the treks impossible and two others miserable. Feedback from local guides was that this weather was expected for time of year. Understand weather can be unpredictable at altitude, but there should have been better planning to ensure we had alternative itineraries. 2.) Logistics were not ideal. Transportation was provided in a 1980s era Toyota Land Rover. Perfect for the rough roads of the national park. However, no seat belts in the back for lengthy highway trip. Both coming and going we were packed very tightly into back seat with camp staff. And on our return trip took a lengthy diversion to drop off family members. Not a huge issue, but not ideal logistics.

All in all, good experience. Enjoyed Cotopaxi National Park and would endorse Frank as a guide. Would have like to see stronger planning to maximize our stay.

Mathias Onisseit, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Brett! I’m glad you enjoyed your hike in the Cotopaxi National Park. Unfortunately, the weather was quite bad during your dates, which is unusual during that time of the year, but as you say, the weather can be unpredictable, and this didn’t let you enjoy as you should have.
Despite the weather you had, Frank your trekking guide, tried his best to give you alternative activities like hiking to the glacier and visiting nearby waterfalls.
The vehicle used was typical of a mountain trekking... read more

Hi Brett! I’m glad you enjoyed your hike in the Cotopaxi National Park. Unfortunately, the weather was quite bad during your dates, which is unusual during that time of the year, but as you say, the weather can be unpredictable, and this didn’t let you enjoy as you should have.
Despite the weather you had, Frank your trekking guide, tried his best to give you alternative activities like hiking to the glacier and visiting nearby waterfalls.
The vehicle used was typical of a mountain trekking tour in Ecuador and it has all the necessary permits. Furthermore, our guides drive with additional care to account for vehicle and street conditions. As for the lift the guide gave two friends on the way back to the hotel near Quito, they were dropped off directly on the way (in Sangolquí which is on the direct route to the Posada Mirolindo) and you agreed to taking them, however, given the car was already packed this wasn’t such a good idea after all.

10 days in ecuador: 5 suggested itineraries, Ecuador - Dec 24 - Jan 4, 2019

Traveler: Roopa K. - Local specialist: Linda Schulz

Our first trip to Ecuador was breath-taking to say the least. Galapagos has been on my bucket list for a long time and it was an exhilarating experience. Every island we visited was different and unique. It was impossible to get bored on the islands. Places like Los Tunales, the beach on Isabela island, and the ride on "Windrose" yacht are permanently etched in my memory.

Our trip was for 12 days, including 2 days for traveling. We spent 4 days in mainland Ecuador and 6 on Galapagos. In... read more

Our first trip to Ecuador was breath-taking to say the least. Galapagos has been on my bucket list for a long time and it was an exhilarating experience. Every island we visited was different and unique. It was impossible to get bored on the islands. Places like Los Tunales, the beach on Isabela island, and the ride on "Windrose" yacht are permanently etched in my memory.

Our trip was for 12 days, including 2 days for traveling. We spent 4 days in mainland Ecuador and 6 on Galapagos. In retrospect, we would have spent at least 1 day less in mainland and more time on Galapagos. Historical Quito, Mitad Del Mundo, Otavalo and Cotopaxi were good places to visit on mainland. Ideally, I would have loved more time in Otavalo instead of visiting some local waterfalls. Even Cuicocha lagoon was hyped up as a lake with active volcanic bubbles, but it was a major let down. All the places we visited on Galapagos were wonderful and given more time, we would have loved to visit more islands. The speed boat ride from Puerto Ayora to Isabela island was the bumpiest ride ever and there was not a single person on the boat who didn't come out without a queasy stomach. FYI, a one-way ferry ride costs $30 and lasts 2.5 hours. A plane trip costs $135 and lasts 30 mins. In the large scheme of things, we might have just selected the plane trip instead of enduring the bumpiest boat ride of our lives.

Linda was extremely informative and knowledgeable about Ecuador. She was great at setting our expectations and answering our questions promptly. Our local guides were a collective mix. Jorge (George), our guide on land, was great, but provided info that was less engaging for the kids. On Galapagos, our guide to Los Tunales, Sebastian, stole the show. He was patient, funny and knew a lot about the local area and habitats. While snorkeling, he ensured we all saw the key pieces without rushing . He walked with my mom, who is 72 years old, at her pace guiding her on the rocks etc. Overall, a great experience with him. All the other guides were decent.

As a group of 9, finding hotel rooms together was a big challenge. In most places, we didn't have rooms near each other. They were almost always on different floors, which was a logistical headache. In Quito, our hotel, Cruz Loma, didn't have elevators and it was painful to trudge up 4 flights of stairs with suitcases. Unfortunately, they didn't offer help with our luggage nor did they heed our request for rooms on lower floors. The hotels on Galapagos islands were normal 3-star places. Nothing too fancy to write about. Again, no elevators, but the staff helped our with our stuff. Breakfast was included for all our days, but 10 days of eating nothing but eggs, bread, yogurt and juice got too tiring. I wish they would provide a bit more variety, even if we had to pay for it.

Overall, this was a once in a lifetime trip and one that we will recall for many years to come. Thanks to Linda and Kimkim for helping us with this vacation !

Linda Schulz, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Roopa and Lakshmi,

I am very happy to hear that you will recall your trip to Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands for many years to come, it was a pleasure to help you organize it!

I apologize for any inconveniences with your hotels. Unfortunately, most of the smaller, 3-star hotels here in Ecuador don't have elevators (due to logistic reasons, especially on Galapagos). Thanks a lot for letting me know about the circumstances in Hotel Cruz Loma, I will get in touch with them.
It is great... read more

Hi Roopa and Lakshmi,

I am very happy to hear that you will recall your trip to Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands for many years to come, it was a pleasure to help you organize it!

I apologize for any inconveniences with your hotels. Unfortunately, most of the smaller, 3-star hotels here in Ecuador don't have elevators (due to logistic reasons, especially on Galapagos). Thanks a lot for letting me know about the circumstances in Hotel Cruz Loma, I will get in touch with them.
It is great to hear though that you have enjoyed the different excursions on Galapagos as well as on mainland Ecuador and that the guides provided interesting and helpful information as well as personal assistance.

I wish you all the best for future travels and hope to welcome you again one day in Ecuador!

Wendy

Ecuador, Ecuador - Dec 24 - Dec 27, 2018

Traveler: Wendy D. - Local specialist: Linda Schulz

Tour at Nicky Amazon Lodge exceeded my expectation. My favorite part was exploring the night life of the Amazon rainforest. It is something I would never think because it was not mentioned in the textbook. Birding watching and hiking options at Bellavista was very good. This would not be possible without kimkim. Kimkim's online platform was helpful because I had a busy schedule and their advice and support made a difference in my decision-making process. To the point, the trip was well-tailored thanks to kimkim's service.

Linda Schulz, local specialist, responded to this review:

Wendy, great to hear that you have enjoyed your tour to the Amazon and the cloud forest! It was a pleasure to help you planning those parts of your trip.
All the best for future travels,
Linda

Ganes

Amazing amazon, Ecuador - Dec 25 - Dec 29, 2018

Traveler: Ganes P. - Local specialist: Gabor Csizmadia

The whole trip was amazing. Gabor and his team, especially the tour guide Danny were excellent

Gabor Csizmadia, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Ganes!

First of all, I´d like to wish a happy new year to you and your family! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip to the Amazon in Ecuador. I hope to be able to help you again in the future.

Take care and all the best,
Gabor

Quito & the galapagos islands - 8 days, Ecuador - Dec 21 - Dec 28, 2018

Traveler: Ko-Hsuan C. - Local specialist: Mathias Onisseit

Mathias helped us plan a very last minute Christmas trip to Ecuador, and it turned out to be an amazing trip! He went through the trip plan multiple times even with limited time left before to the trip and responded to our questions pretty promptly. We spent 5 days in the Galapagos and 3 days in Quito. For the Galapagos -- We especially love the uninhabited island Seymour where we saw so many animals and the yacht was really nice! We were really amazed by the rich culture and nature around... read more

Mathias helped us plan a very last minute Christmas trip to Ecuador, and it turned out to be an amazing trip! He went through the trip plan multiple times even with limited time left before to the trip and responded to our questions pretty promptly. We spent 5 days in the Galapagos and 3 days in Quito. For the Galapagos -- We especially love the uninhabited island Seymour where we saw so many animals and the yacht was really nice! We were really amazed by the rich culture and nature around Quito. We especially enjoyed our time with David who took us to Cotopaxi National Park. All the tour guides pick us up on time. In addition, we realized the price Kimkim offered is really reasonable after we cross-checked the hotel and tour prices.

Mathias Onisseit, local specialist, responded to this review:

Ko-Hsuan, thanks for your comments! I am happy that we could organize your Christmas trip on such a short notice (especially Galapagos can get booked out fast for these dates). And I'm even happier that you enjoyed the trip. Maybe you will return another Christmas to see the rest of this multi-faceted country?

Quito,crater lake, Ecuador - Dec 15 - Dec 18, 2018

Traveler: Raj R. - Local specialist: Linda Schulz

Advanced planning
Good pick up times
Easily available for any questions
Custom itenary based on personal preference.
I would recommend to anyone.

Linda Schulz, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Raj, thank you very much for your review and for traveling with us! I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again in Ecuador one day for another adventure.
All the best and safe travels in the future!

How to spend 5 days in ecuador, Ecuador - Nov 15 - Nov 22, 2018

Traveler: Gaby E. - Local specialist: Mathias Onisseit

The driver , who was supposed to pick me up from the Airport ,after the Amazone ,left without me.
Not a good feeling, being forgotten..
Casa Sol had a very small breakfast and the shower was not hot.
I loved the Sisakuna Lodge. Good breakfast , nice room, hot shower.
My guide was good.

Mathias Onisseit, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Gaby, thanks a lot for your valuable feedback.
I think there was a misunderstanding, after talking with the driver, it turned out that he took you and 2 other travelers whose driver could not go on a very last notice. So actually, you had a transfer with "your" driver. However, this was an exceptional case to help out the others, our transfers, as you have seen with the other 3 transfers you had, are entirely private.

As for the breakfast at Casa Sol, they serve American-style... read more

Dear Gaby, thanks a lot for your valuable feedback.
I think there was a misunderstanding, after talking with the driver, it turned out that he took you and 2 other travelers whose driver could not go on a very last notice. So actually, you had a transfer with "your" driver. However, this was an exceptional case to help out the others, our transfers, as you have seen with the other 3 transfers you had, are entirely private.

As for the breakfast at Casa Sol, they serve American-style breakfast, which consists in coffee, tea, fresh fruit juice, fresh fruit salad, bread, homemade jam, butter and eggs of choice. Maybe you are referring to the quantity? It is always a good idea to address this kind of issues directly with the hotel staff to find an immediate solution. In case you decide to return to explore the rest of Ecuador with us, you are invited to a typical local-style breakfast.

I'm glad you liked Mindo and the Sisakuna Lodge and our guide!

Best of the ecuadorian highlands - 8 days, Ecuador - Oct 21 - Oct 28, 2018

Traveler: Carl N. - Local specialist: Mathias Onisseit

I booked a trip from Quito to Guayaquil prior to a Sierra Club Trip to the Galapagos.
I was hesitant booking the trip and paying online.
Mathias was great. He promptly answered all my questions. We went through three versions of the trip until I was happy with it.
The trip was better than I expected. The hotels were wonderful. Christian, our tour guide/driver, gave us an insight into the highlands of Ecuador that we will always remember.
We especially enjoyed the walking tour of Quito, hikes in Mindo, Ingapirca ruins, hiking in Cajas, and Cuenca.

Mathias Onisseit, local specialist, responded to this review:

Carl, thanks for travelling with us, I am happy that the trip exceeded your expectations! Hopefully we will have the pleasure to hosting you some time in the future, so you can see the wonderful places you couldn't this time!

Central ecuador, Ecuador - Sep 15 - Sep 21, 2018

Traveler: Chris O. - Local specialist: Lenin Ampudia

Lenin and Mauro (our other guide) were both very knowledgeable about the native tribes, culture and history of Ecuador in general.
And they both had detailed knowledge of the specific places we visited … being Otavalo, Quito, the Avenue of the Volcanoes, Baños, Alausí and Cuenca.
Both spoke excellent English.
Lenin was particularly good when it came to knowing when to have a break, etc or comfort stop.
Overall the trip was a memorable experience and we would recommend KimKim.

Suggested... read more

Lenin and Mauro (our other guide) were both very knowledgeable about the native tribes, culture and history of Ecuador in general.
And they both had detailed knowledge of the specific places we visited … being Otavalo, Quito, the Avenue of the Volcanoes, Baños, Alausí and Cuenca.
Both spoke excellent English.
Lenin was particularly good when it came to knowing when to have a break, etc or comfort stop.
Overall the trip was a memorable experience and we would recommend KimKim.

Suggested considerations/changes …
- Do not use the hotel we stayed at in Baños again (no hot water, mould on the bathroom ceiling, no power to the room until sunset);
- Given the state of some of the roads we travelled on around Cotopaxi we feel that you need to provide a vehicle with better suspension … something like a 4 wheel drive;
- Mauro was working to his schedule … and we understand the need for a schedule … but we would have liked to be offered some flexibility.

Steve

Exploring, hiking and adventure, Ecuador - Oct 17 - Oct 29, 2018

Traveler: Steve S. - Local specialist: Gabor Csizmadia

Gabor was very flexible and patient with numerous changes to our itinerary. He uses fabulous guides and booked wonderful lodges. His expertise was invaluable in making our trip to Ecuador (Galapagos and Amazon) fantastic!!!

A Special Thanks to Diana (our assign local guide) she did the extra miles for us ensuring that all small details were met along the way.

I would strongly recommend KimKim !!

Steve and Christine.

Now time to start a new project, here comes Africa!

Gabor Csizmadia, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Steve,

thank you so much for your comments! For me, it was a pleasure working on this trip with you. I handed over your kind words to everyone involved.

I hope, we will have the chance to work on a trip together, again!

Best wishes and take care,
Gabor

Trip to ecuador and galapagos, Ecuador - Sep 21 - Oct 8, 2018

Traveler: Natascia V. - Local specialist: Linda Schulz

We stayed 10 days in Ecuador and 8 days on Galapagos.
All was very good.
Linda planned us the exactly trip we asked her.
The guide who went with us, Marco, was very friendly, also for trip not planned.
We went to Quito, on Cotopaxi, Quilatoa Lagoon, Baños, Chimborazo, Guamote, Cuenca and Guayaquil. A great trip !
Than on Galapagos we stayed two days on San Cristobal, one day on Santa Cruz and the last 5 days on a very beautiful Cruise.
All the accomodation of our trip was fantastic.
We're enthusiastics of this beautiful experience.
Thanks Linda !

Natascia and Giampaolo (Italy)

Linda Schulz, local specialist, responded to this review:

Ciao Natascia e Giampaolo,

thank you very much for your great review! I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time in mainland Ecuador as well as on the Galapagos Islands, and that you could return back home with a lot of unforgettable memories.
I hope to welcome you again one day in Ecuador!

All the best and safe travels in the future,
Linda

Jessica

Looking to take in as much as possible during a 4-5 day visit! , Ecuador - Aug 5 - Aug 11, 2018

Traveler: Jessica H. - Local specialist: Linda Schulz

Linda was outstanding, she was quick at answering all my questions and made sure I was in the loop when itineraries changed.

All the guides did a wonderful job explaining Ecuador and the different locations that are popular to visit or that make Ecuador unique.

The city tour was nice, I really enjoyed the mitad del mundo museum - very informative.
Otavalo, Cotopaxi, Quilotoa, and Baños were all wonderful experiences!

I was very thankful that Linda was able to connect with my hotel and ensure that I had a to go breakfast on the days I left early. I love breakfast!!

Linda Schulz, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Jess,
thank you so much, it was a pleasure to help you planning your trip!
I am very happy that you had the chance to see so many different places in Ecuador and that you enjoyed each destination!

Laura

Ecuador, with galapagos and amazon, Ecuador - Jun 14 - Jun 28, 2018

Traveler: Laura E. - Local specialist: Gabor Csizmadia

An amazing trip! We had two great guides that showed us a lot. Dario was out first guide through Quito, the Highlands, and the jungle. He was very knowledgeable! Ivan was our guide in the Galapogos. He certainly knew his birds.

Gabor Csizmadia, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Laura and Steven,

I´m so happy to read your review, I was looking forward to it! :)

I hope your 25th wedding anniversary vacation was a memorable one and that Ecuador and the Galápagos Islands will forever be in your hearts.

I hope to be able to help you organizing a trip if you´d like to visit Peru, Bolivia or Chile in the future :)

Take care and all the best,
Gabor

Best of the ecuadorian highlands - 7 days, Ecuador - Jun 15 - Jun 22, 2018

Traveler: Marcia G. - Local specialist: David Torres

Joaquin Andino- very good guide with a en general culture. Someone who can be steongly recommended.
Pablo, a responsible and dedicated person. Simply adorable.

David Torres, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Marcia!

Thank you so much for your review. I am very glad that your trip was a total success, and please know that we are very glad to help out for any of your travel needs in the future!

Lovely pictures! I hope that you have enjoyed of the awesome diversity of my country :)

Wishing you all the best
David

12 days in ecuador , Ecuador - May 29 - Jun 1, 2018

Traveler: Kati M. - Local specialist: Mathias Onisseit

We had an incredible trip to Nicky Lodge on the Aguarico River. Our primary guide, Evi, was incredibly knowledgable (able to name nearly every species we asked about by its scientific name and also in Spanish, English and one or two of the local dialects), patient and fun. The secondary guide was not quite as knowledgable, but had a great knack for spotting hard-to-see animals. The guides (and the canoe drivers, too) paid close attention to the interests of our group, and would happily stop... read more

We had an incredible trip to Nicky Lodge on the Aguarico River. Our primary guide, Evi, was incredibly knowledgable (able to name nearly every species we asked about by its scientific name and also in Spanish, English and one or two of the local dialects), patient and fun. The secondary guide was not quite as knowledgable, but had a great knack for spotting hard-to-see animals. The guides (and the canoe drivers, too) paid close attention to the interests of our group, and would happily stop (or turn around) the boat to point out interesting creatures.

The lodgings were very comfortable, with running water (and it got nice and hot, important for the days we got soaked by the rain), but with no bells-and-whistles which made it feel like a proper jungle experience. The food was also simple but delicious, and the staff was very attentive to food allergies (my mom is gluten free).

Of course, in the jungle it's the plants and animals which really draw your attention - but the professionalism, comfort and service at Nicky Lodge made the whole trip seamless and wonderful.

Thanks!

Mathias Onisseit, local specialist, responded to this review:

Kati, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in the rainforest and saw many of the native animals which make that place special!

12 days in ecuador , Ecuador - May 29 - Jun 1, 2018

Traveler: George M. - Local specialist: Mathias Onisseit

Mathias did a great job in setting up our 4-day adventure to the Amazon. He was very easy to communicate with and helpful in planning our trip - great advice, great service. All of the arrangements went smoothly and we loved the accommodations. We had a wonderful time!

Mathias Onisseit, local specialist, responded to this review:

I'm happy that you liked the tour, George! It was a pleasure planning this trip with you.

Ecuador fill in, Ecuador - Apr 17 - Apr 29, 2018

Traveler: lee d. - Local specialist: Gabor Csizmadia

Patricio was an excellent guide, caring, intelligent, always interested in making our trip a better experience, taking us to places that he thought of as we went along, if Susie Astec and truly an asset to your team. His driver Hugo was excellent and always helpful and smiling and respect full. He even made a special trip when my brother-in-law left his camera on the bus, Patricio Is an asset to your company, and go board did a great job Putting a beautiful package together. We will... read more

Patricio was an excellent guide, caring, intelligent, always interested in making our trip a better experience, taking us to places that he thought of as we went along, if Susie Astec and truly an asset to your team. His driver Hugo was excellent and always helpful and smiling and respect full. He even made a special trip when my brother-in-law left his camera on the bus, Patricio Is an asset to your company, and go board did a great job Putting a beautiful package together. We will certainly recommend your company in the future and hopefully will be able to talk and use you again. Lois and Lee Dornfeld, Mace and Joy Bloom

Gabor Csizmadia, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Lee, Lois, Mace and Joy!

I am so glad to read your review and am truly happy for your great trip!

I will definitely hand over your kind words and greetings to everyone who contributed to this tour :)

Of 'course, if you need any assistance in the future, feel free to contact us, we will be happy to provide you with assistance!

Take care and all the best,
Gabor

Irene

One week in ecuador: 5 great itineraries , Ecuador - Mar 24 - Mar 31, 2018

Traveler: Irene H. - Local specialist: Marielisa Terán

Marielisa was planned a wonderful vacation for me and my husband. We loved our guide, the itinerary, and her responsiveness when there was a challenge or question. Thanks so much for making our trip to Ecuador one to remember!

Marielisa Terán, local specialist, responded to this review:

I am so happy you enjoyed your time in Ecuador, Irene! Glad I could play a small part in your incredible adventure.

Trip to ecuador, Ecuador - Dec 24 - Jan 7, 2018

Traveler: Aryeh C. - Local specialist: Gabor Csizmadia

Great trip! Gabor was extremely communicative and receptive and helpful in planning the Honeymoon of our dreams. There was a portion of time when some other man, Rune, was helping us, and he was awful.

On our end, we should have asked more questions about how long each car ride was going to be - we are not really car people and should have anticipated that getting around would take a while.

Our guide, Dario, was fantastic. He always arrived on time. He knew the answers to most, if not all,... read more

Great trip! Gabor was extremely communicative and receptive and helpful in planning the Honeymoon of our dreams. There was a portion of time when some other man, Rune, was helping us, and he was awful.

On our end, we should have asked more questions about how long each car ride was going to be - we are not really car people and should have anticipated that getting around would take a while.

Our guide, Dario, was fantastic. He always arrived on time. He knew the answers to most, if not all, of our questions. He found a good balance between interacting with us and giving us space, and he was extremely kind and generous. We could not have asked for a better guide.

In the Galapagos, we had a terrible guide, so terrible that we ended up paying for an Airbnb that we never actually stayed in. He must not have checked his messages or been so organized because we sent him all details, including the address, of where we needed to stay in each night, and he just didn't have the information with him. It got to be late on the Island, and we ended up spending money on a hotel that cost $70 per night (we stayed two nights) while paying an additional $140 for an Airbnb that we never got to stay in. This was very frustrating. Another issue that happened was when he gave us his USD card to download some photos that he took of us. The minute we put them on the computer, naked photos of him and his partner came up on the screen. While we really appreciated the photos he took of us, we were not happy with what was presented to us on the screen.

Reflecting back, the Jungle and the Galapagos were the two most memorable places. We enjoyed the climate, the people, the food and the general atmosphere. The other places were nice too but the highs of the trip were the Jungle and the Galapagos.

No one really communicated with us about the potential for altitude sickness at Cotopaxi, and we had a hard time going from lower altitude to higher altitude - up and down and up and down - it did a number on my husband's body. In the future, we would do fewer places for more days. But again, this is no way the fault of KimKm, just our own way of going about planning.

Really amazing trip.

Gabor Csizmadia, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Aryeh and Ariela,

first of all, I'm happy to hear that the majority of your trip went well and that you are satisfied with the assistance I provided you.

I will definitely hand over your kind words to Dario and Yacuma Team!

As for Galapagos, I'm shocked to hear what happened with the guide. Since we have met about half an hour after this incident with the photos, maybe I could've done something about it if you had mentioned what happened, however I can assure you that we will not work... read more

Dear Aryeh and Ariela,

first of all, I'm happy to hear that the majority of your trip went well and that you are satisfied with the assistance I provided you.

I will definitely hand over your kind words to Dario and Yacuma Team!

As for Galapagos, I'm shocked to hear what happened with the guide. Since we have met about half an hour after this incident with the photos, maybe I could've done something about it if you had mentioned what happened, however I can assure you that we will not work with him in the future.

With regards to the Airbnb, unfortunately this is out of our hands as our operations team from Quito also tried to reach the Airbnb owner based on the contact information you provided us with, however he never answered the calls and therefore the guide had to take you to a hotel.

About the altitude sickness, it's normally not a problem, however I will definitely pay more attention to this and will inform my future travelers about the possible risks of changes in altitude.

All in all, I honestly hope your honeymoon was a great experience, and as we discussed in person, if you require any assistance in the future, I will be more than happy to help you planning your next trip!

Take care and all the best,
Gabor

Quito area, Ecuador - Dec 30 - Dec 30, 2017

Traveler: Gordon S. - Local specialist: Gabor Csizmadia

Very knowledgeable and helpful!

Gabor Csizmadia, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Gordon!

I'm glad to hear that you're happy with the tour!

I hope you'll count on us in the future too, I'd be happy to assist you! :)

Best wishes & Take care!
Gabor

Quito, ecuador, Ecuador - Dec 3 - Dec 4, 2017

Traveler: Teresa K. - Local specialist: David Torres

I was very happy with KimKim helping to arrange a city tour and then specialized weaving tour for me in Quito , Ecuador.

Eccador volcanoes, Ecuador - Oct 22 - Oct 27, 2017

Traveler: ken n. - Local specialist: Gabor Csizmadia

Guide, transport and tours were excellent. Accommodation was not on good in couple of places.

Gabor Csizmadia, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Ken!

Thank you so much for your feedback! I'm happy to hear that the tour itself went well. If you don't mind, I would like to discuss the topic on the hotel in our conversations, so that we can contact them and make sure that the unsatisfactory parts will not be present in the future.

I hope to be able to help you out in the future if you plan to return to Ecuador, or if you'd like to visit Peru, Bolivia or Chile.

All the best,
Gabor

Paul

Quito to cuenca, Ecuador - Sep 29 - Oct 13, 2017

Traveler: Paul T. - Local specialist: Gabor Csizmadia

Amazing tour, so fantastic. Lucky with the weather too. The guide (Dario) showed us new things we were not aware of from our pre trip research too. Highly recommend Dario / Gabor.

Lots of communication - great.

Gabor Csizmadia, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Paul!



Thanks so much for your feedback! I will also hand over your kind words to Dario. I hope to see some of the great photos you took on tour and of ’course, please count on me whenever you plan a trip to Ecuador, Bolivia, Chile or Peru!



Enjoy the rest of your South American adventures!
Gabor

Katrina

Quito, amazon & galapagos, Ecuador - Sep 29 - Oct 12, 2017

Traveler: Katrina H. - Local specialist: Gabor Csizmadia

This trip far outlived my expectations. It was amazing!

Gabor put together the perfect itinerary for me. I told him I had 2 weeks and wanted to see as much of Ecuador and Galápagos Islands as I could in that time. He made sure I did!

Gabor Csizmadia, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Katrina!



Thank you so much for your very kind feedbacks! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip and hope to be able to help you in case you return to Ecuador or plan a trip to Bolivia, Peru or Chile.

Keep in touch and take care!
Gabor

Quito to iquitos, Ecuador - Aug 14 - Aug 18, 2017

Traveler: Fiona C. - Local specialist: Gabor Csizmadia

Gabor was very helpful and tolerated our many questions and changes to the itinerary including a change of flight times at short notice, He called us during our trip to check that everything was OK.

Gabor Csizmadia, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Fiona!

Thank you so much for your feedback! I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay in Ecuador and I hope I can help you again in the future if you consider returning here :)

All the best to You and Chris, take care!
Gabor

Evening in quito, Ecuador - Jul 4 - Jul 4, 2017

Traveler: Michael M. - Local specialist: Gabor Csizmadia

Driver was awesome. Great tour of Quito, saw and did everything I wanted!

Gabor is great!

Gabor Csizmadia, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Michael!

Thanks for the feedback! We're happy that you enjoyed those couple of hours with us! Thanks so much for booking, and we hope to be able to help you out in the future too!

All the best and take care!
Gabor

Ecuador with brayden, Ecuador - May 16 - May 27, 2017

Traveler: Brandt R. - Local specialist: Gabor Csizmadia

KimKim did a great job customizing the trip for my son and I. I couldn't have put a trip like this together myself. It was more than I was promised and I highly recommend their services. Thanks again

Gabor did a great job coordinating all aspects of this trip!

Gabor Csizmadia, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Brandt,

first of all, thank you very much for your feedback!

We are very happy to hear that you had such a great time in Ecuador and hope to be able to help you again in the future whether you would like to return or plan a trip to Bolivia, Chile or Peru.

Until then, best wishes from Quito!
Gabor

Tanya

Family vacation, Ecuador - Mar 8 - Mar 18, 2017

Traveler: Tanya H. - Local specialist: David Torres

David was responsive, friendly and helped with his expertise of travel and the country. I felt like he completely understood the needs of my family and what it took to make our trip the best ever. He answered every single question I had and helped to make our trip even more memorable with his suggestions of where to stay, eat, and what areas of Ecuador we should see. He helped to make sure every little detail was thought of and taken care of. I didn't have to worry about anything. I would plan every trip I had with David.. he was great!

Timothy

Quito & surroundings exploration, Ecuador - Jan 7 - Jan 15, 2017

Traveler: Timothy F. - Local specialist: David Torres

I've had the best travel experience with kimkim ever. The trip was extremely well planned and thoughtful, I'd definitely recommend this trip to everyone.

David, our local specialist, took great care of us and the attention to details were impeccable. I felt very safe and taken care of the entire trip.

David Torres, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Tim,
Thank you so much for your feedback!
We are very glad that as our first client through Kim Kim, you had such a great time and that your experience in Ecuador was as full and fun for you and your friend.

Please know that we loved to help you out, and that Ecuador will always have open doors for you!
It was fun to plan your trip, and I enjoyed giving you offers that I though you would enjoy, and I'm glad that in the end you had a great time.

Safe Travels my friend!
David