Trip Reviews for Costa Rica

The latest reviews by travelers who booked their trip on kimkim

Costa rica adventure: whitewater, beaches & volcanos - 8 days, Costa Rica - Aug 28 - Sep 4, 2018

Traveler: Stephen M. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Costa Rica. I was looking for a nice blend of nature, adventure, beaches, nightlife and relaxation ... and this trip offered exactly what I was looking for. I booked with relatively short notice and didn't really have the time to research in advance. Fortunately, the local specialist Randall asked what I was looking for and customised an awesome trip. From the moment I arrived to the moment I left, everything was planned and scheduled (including pick-ups,... read more

I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Costa Rica. I was looking for a nice blend of nature, adventure, beaches, nightlife and relaxation ... and this trip offered exactly what I was looking for. I booked with relatively short notice and didn't really have the time to research in advance. Fortunately, the local specialist Randall asked what I was looking for and customised an awesome trip. From the moment I arrived to the moment I left, everything was planned and scheduled (including pick-ups, drop offs, hotels, trips, meals etc). I was also given a detailed trip plan upon arrival meaning that I knew exactly where I had to be and when. In the end, I experienced many of the things Costa Rica had to offer and had a fantastic time. I would very much recommend kimkim.

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Stephen,

It makes me really happy to read your comments and that you have enjoyed your vacations as you mentioned in your review keeping always a good balance of different experiences along the trip. I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in a near future - Pura Vida!!!

Randall

Costa rica - wildlife, nature & beach. , Costa Rica - Jul 28 - Aug 11, 2018

Traveler: Marina N. - Local specialist: Sofía Kikut

Sofia was the person in charge of organising our 2 week trip to Costa Rica. She met all of our requirements excellently and all the hotels, guides and tours she had recommended were exceptionally good. She was caring throughout the whole trip and worried about us and solved any issues we could have - which were close to none.
Thank you for an amazing trip! We will most certainly take into account your travel agency for future holidays!!

Marina & Margarita.

Sofía Kikut, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Marina & Margarita,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for coming to visit our beautiful Costa Rica! I’m pleased to know you enjoyed your trip and that all hotels and activities were to your liking. It was my pleasure to arrange a nice and fun trip for you. We hope to have you again soon in Costa Rica, don’t hesitate in contacting us!

Best, Sofía

Cr complete experience , Costa Rica - Jul 17 - Aug 1, 2018

Traveler: Gail G. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

Trip to Costa Rica - 7/17/18 - 8/2/18 for 7 people, 4 adults and 3 children (ages 10, 12 & 14)

This was our first trip using the KimKim service, which I found through online research. Overall the tools were easy to use and the communication worked great and without problems. I would recommend it and will use it again.
Our trip in country was planned by Sylvia and she did an outstanding job. We stayed 1 night in San Jose, then due to some Caribbean storms, she did a quick switch for us... read more

Trip to Costa Rica - 7/17/18 - 8/2/18 for 7 people, 4 adults and 3 children (ages 10, 12 & 14)

This was our first trip using the KimKim service, which I found through online research. Overall the tools were easy to use and the communication worked great and without problems. I would recommend it and will use it again.
Our trip in country was planned by Sylvia and she did an outstanding job. We stayed 1 night in San Jose, then due to some Caribbean storms, she did a quick switch for us from Tortugero to Rancho Humo on the Nicoya Peninsula. We stayed there 2 nights and then went to Arenal for 3 nights, Monteverde for 3 nights and then 6 nights at the Westin n Playa Conchal. We did not want to be part of a large tour group, so Sylvia arranged for us to have our own transportation, drivers and tour guides for every part of the trip including 8 or 9 excursions which she did a great job with the planning. Every part of it went flawlessly and she even arranged to have a birthday cake delivered in Monteverde for our nephew who was turning 12! Every hotel met our expectations (Rancho Humo, Arena Manoa, La FondaVela, and the Westin) and we all felt that all the excursions were worth it and helped us learn more about Costa Rica. I would highly recommend Sylvia.

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you Gail for such a great trip review! I am so happy that your family enjoyed your trip to Costa Rica and glad that you liked your stay at Rancho Humo! Luke´s cake was specially made for him as willing something different!

Adventure in costa rica, Costa Rica - Aug 3 - Aug 12, 2018

Traveler: seng K. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

Sylvia is amazing! She is pleasant and easy to work with. We missed our flight and Sylvia rearranged pick-up and transfers from the airport with no fuss. She surprised us with a last minutes city tour of San Jose and dinner at Tiquicia Restaurant. The view of central valley from Tiquicia Restaurant was spectacular! It is truly a million-dollar view. The food was delicious and the traditional dance was fantastic.

Tabacon Resort , all I can I say is " Wow, wow, and wow... read more

Sylvia is amazing! She is pleasant and easy to work with. We missed our flight and Sylvia rearranged pick-up and transfers from the airport with no fuss. She surprised us with a last minutes city tour of San Jose and dinner at Tiquicia Restaurant. The view of central valley from Tiquicia Restaurant was spectacular! It is truly a million-dollar view. The food was delicious and the traditional dance was fantastic.

Tabacon Resort , all I can I say is " Wow, wow, and wow " It is a thermal paradise! All of the staffs at the resort were wonderful. Do not miss this place.

Monteverde Cloud Forest - what an incredible place. I felt like I was in the movie Avatar. I saw so many wildlife - incredible experience. The sky walk, sky tram , and the zip lining was unbelievable. We had so much fun!

Manuel Antonio Nation Park - stunning park with amazing beaches. I'm so happy we did a guided tour of the park; otherwise, we would have missed out on the beautiful wildlife like the Sloth, rainbow grasshopper, and the colorful birds.

My daughter and I had an amazing time in Costa Rica. Thank you Sylvia .

XOXO
Seng

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hola Seng!
I am so excited to learn that you and your daughter enjoyed a fantastic vacation and loved the visit to Tiquicia Restaurant!
Also glad to know that you decided to upgrade your stay at Tabacon!
I also enjoyed meeting you during the whole planning stage!
God Bless you!
Big hug and Pura Vida!!

Costa rica, Costa Rica - Aug 1 - Aug 6, 2018

Traveler: Andy H. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

To be honest, I’d never heard of Kimkim, coast to coast adventures, or Randall. This made me a little bit wary of sending over a few thousand pounds and just assuming it would all be ok. Randall seemed very nice over email and we were keen to support local business in the country were visiting rather than some massive tour company, so we took the plunge.

I really didn’t need to worry at all.

We’ve had a stunning time in Costa Rica - truly the trip of a lifetime. Whatever words or photos... read more

To be honest, I’d never heard of Kimkim, coast to coast adventures, or Randall. This made me a little bit wary of sending over a few thousand pounds and just assuming it would all be ok. Randall seemed very nice over email and we were keen to support local business in the country were visiting rather than some massive tour company, so we took the plunge.

I really didn’t need to worry at all.

We’ve had a stunning time in Costa Rica - truly the trip of a lifetime. Whatever words or photos just don’t do it justice so I won’t even try. What can be said for definite is that I’d totally trust Kimkim again and, above all Randall is a total legend who sorted everything out to perfection. All the cogs and wheels that needed to turn at the same time did like clockwork and it’s all gone without a hitch. We were met at the chaotic airport after a gruelling 10 hr flight with 2 tired kids, by a lovely friendly guy who got us to our hotel. The next day we started the 3 day tour of a lifetime to Tortuguero National Park, just as Randall had recommended, it was one of those life moments to never be forgotten - the moment lasted 3 days though.

Everywhere Randall has booked for us was expecting us and we just had to get ourselves to the agreed place to find everything ready, and taken care of for us. We found ourselves on the best trips with the best guides while others struggled in the heat.

It’s hard to know what else to say, other than Randall totally made this holiday, I can’t recommend him highly enough and if we come back, and we’d very much like to, I know who to get in touch with.

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Andy,

I really appreciate your comments and the review about the whole process, since the first day that you contacted kimkim to this day. It is very moving to read your review Andy.

We thank you for trusting us and for giving us the opportunity to organize your family vacation. I will certainly be more than happy to welcome you again in our country and design a new adventure in this tinny but diverse paradise.

All the best to you and your family and I hope you have a nice flight back home tomorrow...see you soon and Pura Vida for visiting us!

Randall

Ed

Nature and adventure tour, Costa Rica - Jul 26 - Aug 7, 2018

Traveler: Ed G. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

We had a truly amazing time in Costa Rica. Sylvia organised everything so well. It's hard to know what the highlights were as there was so much which was just fantastic, but here are some that stick most in our memory:

• The first very rainy boat trip through the rainforest to Laguna Lodge, with Clarence taking good care of us throughout.
• The butterfly garden at the back of the Selva Tropical restaurant
• Witnessing a giant turtle laying her eggs (so many of them)
• Mauricio the driver... read more

We had a truly amazing time in Costa Rica. Sylvia organised everything so well. It's hard to know what the highlights were as there was so much which was just fantastic, but here are some that stick most in our memory:

• The first very rainy boat trip through the rainforest to Laguna Lodge, with Clarence taking good care of us throughout.
• The butterfly garden at the back of the Selva Tropical restaurant
• Witnessing a giant turtle laying her eggs (so many of them)
• Mauricio the driver stopping the car to show us a toucan on a tree beside the road
• The sunset view of Arenal, with rainbow, from the amazing Tabacon Springs where we also enjoyed a very good supper
• Swimming in the river at the bottom of the waterfall at Arenal
• The hilarious chocolate-making lesson
• Everything about Monteverde - the night walk and Sky Trek/zip-lining day particularly. It's a very special place. We had a nice meal at the popular Tree House in Santa Elena if you need a recommendation for anyone else (although some other tourists spoke highly of Morpho which has just opened up a new restaurant slightly out of the centre).
• Stopping to see the crocodiles under the bridge on the way to Manuel Antonio
• The Costa Verde hotel at Manuel Antonio which was fantastic in every way. What a view for breakfast! Their restaurants across the road were great too.
• Iguana Tours were brilliant at Manuel Antonio. They seem to really enjoy what they do. Andrey was our guide in Manuel Antonio National Park and JJ led the rafting expedition. We also went on a boat trip with Iguana.They own their own smallish catamaran and looked after us really well. Good food. Live banjo music. And we even saw whales.

Sylvia worked with us to create a perfect trip that met our specific requests and budget. She was very responsive and checked in with us before the trip and a couple of times during it. Our flight in was delayed by 14 hours and Sylvia rearranged pick-up and transfers from the airport with no fuss.

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hola Ed!
I am so glad that you had a great family vacation and that it fullfilled your trip expectations!
Your comments are the best reward to continue in the travel business creating memorable moments!
Pura Vida!

Ioana

Costa rica national parks adventure - 14 days, Costa Rica - Jul 1 - Jul 18, 2018

Traveler: Ioana T. - Local specialist: John Rabenau

We had a wonderful 18 day vacation thanks to John and his great organization of our trip. This was our first visit to Costa Rica and we experienced a bit of everything - diving, visiting rainforest parks, zipline, white water rafting, horse back riding. Communication with John was very fast and efficient--both when planning the trip as well as throughout our itinerary. He booked for us places that matched very well our travelling & vacation style. I would highly recommend using the services of his company when planning Costa Rica vacation.

Michelle

7 day mother/son trip in costa rica, Costa Rica - Jun 10 - Jun 17, 2018

Traveler: Michelle D. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

We had a wonderful trip, my son LOVED the zip line and the horseback riding. We also booked a chocolate tour in La Fortuna, and a naturalist-led tour of the rainforest in Manuel Antonio. All of the hotels were great, in perfect locations. I was a single mom traveling with my 9 year old son, and I felt safe the entire time. Thank you for setting everything up for us, it will be a trip we never forget :)

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you Michelle for giving us the opportunity to welcome you and your son in our country and organize a vacation, that it makes me really happy to read, any of you will not forget...all the best and Pura Vida!! - Randall

Trip to costa rica, Costa Rica - May 21 - May 26, 2018

Traveler: gaelle v. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

Amazing trip ! Everything was perfect!
Good hotels selection .
Thanks a lot

Gaelle

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you Gaelle and glad to know that you liked the hotels included in your trip plan!
Kind regards,
Sylvia

Trip to costa rica, Costa Rica - May 21 - May 26, 2018

Traveler: Bernard i. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

Everything made by Sylvia was perfect there is nothing to say, perfect Is the word
I strongly recommend Sylvia for anything you want to plan in Costa Rica
thank you
Bernard

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you Bernard for your trip review and glad to know that you are satisfied with my services!
I spoke with Mauricio your driver and told me that you were able to enjoy a drink at Villa Caletas during sunset!
Hope that you can visit us again and explore other amazing destinations for a short escapade!
Best regards,
Sylvia

Costa rica highlights!, Costa Rica - Apr 14 - Apr 21, 2018

Traveler: Raj V. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

My girlfriend and I booked a week's vacation in Costa Rica through Sylvia. It was super easy and Sylvia customized a great trip for us! We flew into San Jose from Toronto on April 14 and spent time in 3 spots - San Jose, Arenal and Manuel Antonio. It was an amazing experience and I felt like we had 3 vacations in one! Everything including the transfers, hotels and excursions was organized and we just had to turn up! Our guides were all fun, knowledgeable and gave us an exciting and authentic... read more

My girlfriend and I booked a week's vacation in Costa Rica through Sylvia. It was super easy and Sylvia customized a great trip for us! We flew into San Jose from Toronto on April 14 and spent time in 3 spots - San Jose, Arenal and Manuel Antonio. It was an amazing experience and I felt like we had 3 vacations in one! Everything including the transfers, hotels and excursions was organized and we just had to turn up! Our guides were all fun, knowledgeable and gave us an exciting and authentic experience. Our transfers were generally private so trips were relaxing and we got a lot of history enroute.

The cultural city tour with Abelardo was fascinating. We really enjoyed the National Museum and National Theatre. Arenal was gorgeous and our juniors suite has an incredible view of the volcano (thanks Sylvia). We had a little hiccup with the ziplining/hanging bridges excursion, and missed our transfer. Sylvia and Kimkim stepped up and covered the taxi to get us there and we had an awesome day. The intense hike trekking through the rainforest down the crater of an extinct volcano was incredible. The crater was heavily forested and had 3 lagoons in it. I swam in 2 of them and was the only person in the water! It felt like we had the whole place to ourselves! This was finished off with a traditional lunch at a Costa Rican family's home with spectacular views of the rainforest. Our guide Andreas was amazing and pointed out wildlife as we went along.

Manuel Antonio was another incredible place with beautiful beaches and a national park teeming with wildlife. The tour we had in the park was truly amazing. We saw so much wildlife. We stayed in a hotel called Si Como No - a beautiful property was many rooms set in the hillside. Our balcony had an ocean and rainforest view (thanks again for this booking Sylvia!)

The vacation was capped off with a private tour of a coffee plantation - yet another highlight! There's lots more to tell, but you're gonna have to discover Costa Rica yourself.

This was one of the best vacations I've ever had, and I've travelled extensively. I would recommend both Costa Rica and Kimkim! Special thanks to Sylvia for arranging this fabulous vacation!

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hola Raj!
Thank you so much for your kind message and happy to learn that you felt like if you had enjoyed 3 vacations in one! Also, for sharing your pictures and that you were pleased with hotels suggested !
Hope that you can visit us in a near future and explore other destinations!
Wishing you a nice afternoon!

Pura Vida!!

Sylvia

Costa rica surfing adventure, Costa Rica - Mar 30 - Apr 10, 2018

Traveler: Jamie O. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

Great trip! Thanks for the change in transportation to Tamarindo as the ride was awesome with the forst half hour on the beach and the most of the rest on backroads thru the countryside. On reflection i would have stayed an extra day at Flor Blanca versus goign to Tamarindo which was too touristy for me but great for my 16 year old. Thanks for your help!

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hola Jamie!
Happy to learn that you had a great surfing adventure in Costa Rica with your son and that he liked Tamarindo for more surfing!! Flor Blanca is a great resort and I knew that you will love it when I proposed it to you!

You have to come back to explore Costa Rica and explore other destinations such as the Arenal Volcano area and why not surfing down on the Caribbean coast!

Wishing you a great day!

Kind regards,

Sylvia

Christie

Classic costa rica: 7-day self-drive tour, Costa Rica - Mar 30 - Apr 6, 2018

Traveler: Christie C. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

Sylvia was very patient and help us a lot with the tour. We had a great time and will use the service again in the future.

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hola Christie!
Thank you for your trip review and glad to learn that you had a great time in Costa Rica!
Hope that you can come back soon and explore another exciting destinations that you missed this time!
Kind regards,
Sylvia

Federica

Nature and adventure , Costa Rica - Mar 8 - Mar 23, 2018

Traveler: Federica M. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

We have recently returned from two weeks in Costa Rica and we loved it!
From day one the communication with Randall was amazing. He got back to all of my messages within hours. His speed and kind way were really helpful. We booked the trip a few months ahead and Randall kept in touch with us leading up to it, a nice touch. 

When we arrived in Costa Rica, again everything was very well organised and Randall always kept us up to date with those couple of minor changes in flights or pick up... read more

We have recently returned from two weeks in Costa Rica and we loved it!
From day one the communication with Randall was amazing. He got back to all of my messages within hours. His speed and kind way were really helpful. We booked the trip a few months ahead and Randall kept in touch with us leading up to it, a nice touch. 

When we arrived in Costa Rica, again everything was very well organised and Randall always kept us up to date with those couple of minor changes in flights or pick up times we encountered. Nothing ever seemed an inconvenience for him and it was great to know I could message him if needed.

In terms of the holiday itself, the places we visited were beautiful. Cloud forest, jungle, Pacific and Atlantic coasts. Lots of animals and activities everywhere plus time to relax. The holiday really ticked all the boxes.

Costa Rica is a stunning country and the way of life there is something I have taken home with me.. Pura Vida!!

 

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Federica,

I want to thank you so much your feedback about the trip and for sharing your experience, it really makes me so happy that you and James have enjoyed the arrangements that we did for your vacation, I just hope to have the chance to welcome you again in a future in my country and meet you in person this time.

Greetings from Costa Rica & Pura Vida!!! :)

Randall

Stephen

Best of costa rica in 7 days: explore jungles, volcanoes and beaches, Costa Rica - Mar 3 - Mar 10, 2018

Traveler: Stephen C. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

I would wholeheartedly recommend kim kim and particularly Sylvia Durado.
My flight over to Costa Rica was delayed due to adverse weather conditions. Sylvia was a lifesaver, altering my booking accordingly. No stress, no hassle.
When i finally got to Costa Rica, everything was seamless!
I had an amazing trip and I cant wait to return!!

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hola Stephen!
Thank you for your nice review and glad to know that you had a great trip in Costa Rica!
I hope that you can come back soon , so you can explore the exhuberant Tortuguero that you missed due to your flight cancellation!
Pura Vida!!

Gayle

Costa rica, Costa Rica - Mar 5 - Mar 21, 2018

Traveler: Gayle M. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

A great time was had in a wonderful country. We travelled from San Jose to Tortuguero national park where all arranged tour were perfect. The lodge we stayed in was great with good food. From there we were transferred to Arenal where the accommodation was wonderful and all tours again were perfect. From there we went to Monteverde with swinging bridge and night walk tours and again it went perfectly. We then went to Playa Hermosa for our final 5 nights and had a lovely time relaxing in... read more

A great time was had in a wonderful country. We travelled from San Jose to Tortuguero national park where all arranged tour were perfect. The lodge we stayed in was great with good food. From there we were transferred to Arenal where the accommodation was wonderful and all tours again were perfect. From there we went to Monteverde with swinging bridge and night walk tours and again it went perfectly. We then went to Playa Hermosa for our final 5 nights and had a lovely time relaxing in our hotel which was right on the beach. Couldn’t fault the wonderful job Sylvia did organising this trip everything ran extremely smoothly. Would highly recommend.

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hola Gayle!
Thank you so much for your great travel review and glad to learn that you liked my suggested hotels and activities, and that everything runned smoothly during your stay in Costa Rica!
Hope that you can come back in a near future and explore other amazing destinations that will be awaiting for you!
Pura Vida

Trip to costa rica, Costa Rica - Mar 13 - Mar 20, 2018

Traveler: Debra H. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

Costa Rica is a beautiful country with extremely welcoming and genuinely nice people. Overall we had a nice vacation in Costa Rica but mostly because we were able to roll with the things we found disappointing. We found that all the tours/adventures booked for us by Randall were excellent. The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and the tours/adventures themselves were well executed. The guides were always on time and went out of their way to be welcoming.

The accommodations were from... read more

Costa Rica is a beautiful country with extremely welcoming and genuinely nice people. Overall we had a nice vacation in Costa Rica but mostly because we were able to roll with the things we found disappointing. We found that all the tours/adventures booked for us by Randall were excellent. The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and the tours/adventures themselves were well executed. The guides were always on time and went out of their way to be welcoming.

The accommodations were from OK to terrible. The Country Inn in San Jose was fine. There was no real restaurant to have dinner at night. The casino next door that did have dinner, was not an appropriate place to have my young son visit.

The hotel in La Fortuna, was serviceable. We did not enjoy the bunkhouse feel of the room. Although the grounds were nice, the hotel room was just ok. Again, there was no restaurant for dinner and we had to walk to town in the dark when we arrived, not knowing where we were going.

Finally, the hotel in Puerto Viejo, the Cariblue, was terrible. Even though we switched rooms, the second room had roaches, had a shower that didn't drain well, curtains that didn't provide privacy and was generally built with old shoddy materials. It was really depressing. And although it had views of the ocean, they were across a busy road with loud motorcycles, construction trucks and other vehicles. It was very loud all night. We did call Coast to Coast about our disappointment, but nothing was done. We felt trapped and frustrated.

I have to say that in my dealings with Randall prior to our trip, I felt he tried very hard to meet our expectations for our trip. However, we obviously were not on the same page (with him or Kim Kim) regarding what I wanted for our vacation in terms of accommodations and beach feel. We expected to stay at much higher quality hotels, like at the Tabacon where we enjoyed the hot springs. And, the Caribbean side was not what I was looking for during the "beach" portion of our vacation. We found the Caribbean much more suited to the "surfer" crowd and was not appropriate for the family vacation we wanted. It was a real party scene and not the tranquil wide open beaches we were hoping to relax on. Most of our tour guides told us that that would be found on the Pacific side. We were really upset that we spent most of our time on the Caribbean. Also we also did not realize that we would be in a van for over 12 hours (at least 4 hours through a congested commercial area that was not very attractive) getting from one location to another. I wished that had been made clear.

In terms of our dealings with Coast to Coast in Costa Rica, I have mixed reviews. Our driver, Jose, was always on time, was very knowledgeable and stopped at restaurants he knew along the way for lunch/snacks. We really appreciated that. However, we did not enjoy being in his older, loud van for 8 hours. We also found him to be an aggressive driver and he seemed upset when we told him to be more careful. We also found him moody, especially after the trip back to San Jose, after we had complained about our hotel to Randall. This made for an unpleasant ride back.

I put the blame on Kim Kim, Coast to Coast and myself for not discerning or appropriately communicating what we were getting/asking for. You should let your customers know that you provide middle of the road accommodations for a middle market. I will not recommend any of your companies to my friends.

Debra Hernandez

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Debra,

I would like to thank you so much for your comments. As I always say, it is quite important to us to receive completely honest feedback.

In Costa Rica, the fortunes of hotels can change very quickly and when we receive complaints, we like to act quickly. We will certainly be looking into making a new site inspection, mainly to the hotel Cariblue on the Caribbean coast, which is ranked within the best 10 hotels in that area and I always try to offer trips that are perfectly... read more

Hi Debra,

I would like to thank you so much for your comments. As I always say, it is quite important to us to receive completely honest feedback.

In Costa Rica, the fortunes of hotels can change very quickly and when we receive complaints, we like to act quickly. We will certainly be looking into making a new site inspection, mainly to the hotel Cariblue on the Caribbean coast, which is ranked within the best 10 hotels in that area and I always try to offer trips that are perfectly tailored to my travelers interests, and as you very much wanted to experience the Afro-Caribbean culture of Puerto Viejo, I made sure to include it in your trip. However, I apologize for not setting more realistic expectations for the limited variety of hotels available in this lesser-known part of the country. While clean and safe, there are other areas in Costa Rica that would have better suited your accommodation and beach preferences had our communication been clearer on what your expectations were. Moving forward I will be sure to educate my travellers on this subject so we can both be sure the destinations perfectly suit their travel styles.

As you said, perhaps the Pacific coast would be a better area for you to stay and I mentioned that to your husband when he called us the day that you arrived in Puerto Viejo, for an obvious reason, we could not take you that day from one coast to the other which was the only option that I think you would be happy to.

As far as the driver from Arenal at 8:00 am to the Caribbean coast, you had included that day a 2- hours tour in the middle to the Sloth Sanctuary, that is the reason why you arrived at the Caribbean coast about 4:30 pm, 8 hours and a half after you were picked up in Arenal

I am very sorry to hear about the bad feeling that you have at the end of the trip because the most important thing to me is to create unforgettable vacations for people who visit us. We will take your comments very seriously as we are a small company but one that prides itself on the service we offer and we can only improve on this with feedback from clients.

Best regards,
Randall

Best of costa rica in 7 days: explore jungles, volcanoes and beaches, Costa Rica - Feb 21 - Feb 27, 2018

Traveler: SHENG L. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

Randall has been very responsible in tailoring our tour according to my request, with many back and forth. It’s been a great pleasure to work with him on putting the tour together.

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Sheng,

Thank you so much for your review, it makes me so happy that you felt satisfied with the service received from me along this process and that at the end, you and your parents had a nice experience during your visit to my country, that was my main goal.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in a near future on a new adventure.

Best,
Randall

Siteseeing and hiking most of costa rica, Costa Rica - Feb 10 - Feb 24, 2018

Traveler: Bernie M. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

Accomodation at Montechiari was very nice and the people were friendly with one exception. Management handled the exception very well.
The hike into the Hule Lagoon was great, Andre was an excellent guide.
He did at times seem to be in a bit of a rush. It was scheduled to be a four hour hike and we completed in just over three hours.
The pace was manageable but not leisurely. It was just the two of us, great.
The host family at the farm were wonderful and the food was awesome.
The mountain... read more

Accomodation at Montechiari was very nice and the people were friendly with one exception. Management handled the exception very well.
The hike into the Hule Lagoon was great, Andre was an excellent guide.
He did at times seem to be in a bit of a rush. It was scheduled to be a four hour hike and we completed in just over three hours.
The pace was manageable but not leisurely. It was just the two of us, great.
The host family at the farm were wonderful and the food was awesome.
The mountain biking was fun but we didn't get to see much and was not at the Volcano as expected. We rode out 16Km and stopped at the lake and were offered to ride back over the same route. We declined. Home by 10:20. It was a private tour with just the two of us, nice.
The guides were very nice , especially Brian who was in training.
The Tabacon Hotsprings was nice. The meal was buffet style but the food was excellent.
The guided tour at Manuel Antonio was a great experience overall and the guide was very knowledgeable. He also managed to get us out for lunch (I am diabetic) and back infor a swim on the same ticket .This was a large group of around 16 people so a bit unwieldy.
We had a private tour of Quepos and the Kids Saving the Rainforest with our guide William.
William was an excellent guide, very knowledgeable. Overall Iguana tours was excellent.
The accomodation at Tabulia Tree Hotel was quite nice and we were treated well.
The kayaking and snorkling was fun with an excellent guide and nice lunch afterward.
Monteverde was beautiful and the Fonda Vella Hotel was excellent. I believe we received a room upgrade as it was a very nice separate cabin.
The hanging bridges tour was very pretty views with a knowledgeable naturalist guide and some interesting sightings.
The coffee, cacao and sugar tour was enjoyable and informative.
Bosque del Mar at Playa Hermosa was very relaxing and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
A relaxing and enjoyable wind down.
The evening cruise was fun with a nice group of people. The snorkelling was a disappointment as we saw very little.
The trip was on a sailboat (OK but a catamaran was advertised.

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Good morning Bernie & Kathleen!

Greetings from sunny Costa Rica!

We appreciate taking your time in sending a detailed trip review. This will help us to check with our suppliers and improve my services as travel designer!

I am happy to learn that you liked the hotels where you stayed, considering that this was a last minute request when hotels were fully booked due to the high season!

Bernie, I was not aware that you are diabetic, as in advance we inform our suppliers so they can take... read more

Good morning Bernie & Kathleen!

Greetings from sunny Costa Rica!

We appreciate taking your time in sending a detailed trip review. This will help us to check with our suppliers and improve my services as travel designer!

I am happy to learn that you liked the hotels where you stayed, considering that this was a last minute request when hotels were fully booked due to the high season!

Bernie, I was not aware that you are diabetic, as in advance we inform our suppliers so they can take special attention on your meals and special requirements.

We will speak with Ecoterra regarding your hike to the Hule Lagoon and biking experience and review the descriptions in the itineary that I designed for you! My apologies that the biking experience was not what you had expected!

But in overall, what I understood is that you enjoyed all the activities that were recommended.

In regards to the evening cruise, our prefered supplier which is Marlin del Rey was not available on the dates that you were staying at Bosque del Mar, therefore we booked Kuna Vela which honestly I preferred as they handle smaller groups than the Catamaran with groups are more than 40 passengers. It was my fault not telling you that it was a sailboat not a catamaran! Snorkeling is unpredictable as depends on visibility of the day of the tour!

Thank you for choosing kim kim and Horizontes and I hope that you can visit us again in a near future and explore other destinations such as the exhuberant rainforest of Tortuguero, the amazing beaches at our southern Caribbean Coast and the remote Corcovado with time to go snorkeling at Caño Island which is the best diving site in the country!

Wishing you a nice day!

All my best,

Sylvia

Hughes parkes costa rica, Costa Rica - Jan 8 - Jan 23, 2018

Traveler: Lauren H. - Local specialist: Mariana Monestel

Kimkim organised a 16 day self drive tour of Costa Rica for my family (my, my partner, our kids 5yrs, 8yrs, 11yrs and my mum). They were extremely prompt, very responsive and personal throughout the planning. They showed great attention to detail regarding our car seats, wifi and GPS. Fabulous accommodation everywhere. We had a wonderful time. It was great to have that extra flexibility a package tour cant provide.
Marco and the team are Evergreen Lodge in Tortuguero were an absolute... read more

Kimkim organised a 16 day self drive tour of Costa Rica for my family (my, my partner, our kids 5yrs, 8yrs, 11yrs and my mum). They were extremely prompt, very responsive and personal throughout the planning. They showed great attention to detail regarding our car seats, wifi and GPS. Fabulous accommodation everywhere. We had a wonderful time. It was great to have that extra flexibility a package tour cant provide.
Marco and the team are Evergreen Lodge in Tortuguero were an absolute highlight. We loved the whole immersive experience of living on the rivers and in the jungle.
I was really glad we drove down the Carribean Coast. El Encanto Inn was great. Dinner at Sonja's home restaurant was gorgeous. We walked to a great Calypso night from the hotel and El Encanto organised all our tours. Luis escorted us to a Medicinal and Chocolate Farm in the Bri Bri reservation which was wonderful. The Jaguar Rescue Centre was also fabulous, thanks to our guide Carlotta. Puerto Viejo was a wonderful swimming beach and we narrowly missed a world surf comp. Playa Negro was sadly quite polluted but it was a great community to walk amongst. We saw several sloths up close from the road.
The drive to Sarapiqui was a big one. The Rain Forest Lodge was a bit of a let down with its Museum closed and Gallery never opened. It seemed to cater for large bus groups and wasnt quite our style. KimKim were right that we needed to stop somewhere closer than Arenal that night though so we were glad of somewhere to sleep.
Arenal Springs was luxurious. Their hot pools were a huge hit with the whole family. I wouldnt book a tour through the hotel though as they add a hefty surcharge.The local laundromat gave fabulous local advice and we had our own car. The road to El Castillo wasnt nearly as bad as the guide book says and we really enjoyed our visit to the Eco Zoo, meeting Victor and our guide Andrew. Victor's wildlife photography is stunning.
The Pacific Coast was much more commercial than I had hoped for but we were excited to see Turtles nesting there (we were out of season in Tortuguero). Pasa Tiempo was a great lodge with a fantastic shared living, dining, entertaining area. We were treated to love music and enjoyed the pool, reading and playing cards amongst others.
Monteverde and Manuel Antonio were both spectacular. It was really worth saving our ziplining for the cloud forest. 60km per hour through a cloud was truly exhilarating. The guides at Selvatura were fantastic with our family.
If you have already been to Tortuguero you dont need a guide at Manuel Antontio. I was pleased we did it independently to allow the kids to travel at their own pace. Gorgeous beach. I'd never seen a raccoon before so that was exciting! Plaza Yara was gorgeous and Roger was a fabulous host who even gave us a wee gift on departure.
Trapp Family Country Lodge was a fabulous airport oasis. Definitely recommend over a chain hotel.
Thanks for everything Kim Kim we will definitely use you again.

Best of costa rica in 7 days: explore jungles, volcanoes and beaches, Costa Rica - Dec 29 - Jan 6, 2018

Traveler: Teresa K. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

We had a fabulous trip. I had asked for an active, adventurous itinerary, and that's exactly what we got. I'd have to say the highlight was river rafting, and camping on the river. It was gorgeous and fun and our guide Maurice was absolutely fabulous. He was a great guide on the river and fun companion, sharing lots of interesting things about the river, animals and Costa Rica. The food was excellent and the camp was comfortable, the rafting was exciting but we felt safe throughout.

The... read more

We had a fabulous trip. I had asked for an active, adventurous itinerary, and that's exactly what we got. I'd have to say the highlight was river rafting, and camping on the river. It was gorgeous and fun and our guide Maurice was absolutely fabulous. He was a great guide on the river and fun companion, sharing lots of interesting things about the river, animals and Costa Rica. The food was excellent and the camp was comfortable, the rafting was exciting but we felt safe throughout.

The trip to La Fortuna was easy, and our guide Roy for the hanging bridges and waterfall was great. We really appreciated that he wasn't in a rush and that we could take our time through the woods and enjoy. He had interesting information to share about all the animals we saw.

The ziplining was fun and enjoyed by all. It was great to have the woods all to ourselves, and was a good experience even in the rain.

The only glitch in our trip was the trip from Arenal to Quepos. Initially a vehicle that was too small for our group was sent, so we had to wait about 45 minutes for a 2nd vehicle. We all fit in the 2nd vehicle, but not by much - it was very cramped, and the driver was not smooth.

Our time on the coast was lovely - snorkeling was fun, and it was good to have a day on our own. We organized a night hike for ourselves which was also fun.

We reached out to Randall partway through the trip to change our hotel in San Jose for the return. The KC hotel was not in a neighborhood where we could easily walk to restaurants, and we got hassled a bit when we were out even though it was not late. He was very accomodating, booked us in the Sleep Inn which was perfect. We were able to walk to a nice restaurant for our final dinner in San Jose. I also appreciate that he was able to hold a spot on the tour for my husband, as he wasn't sure he'd be able to join us til just a couple of weeks before the trip. Overall he was very helpful and a pleasure to work with.

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Kristin,

I would like to thank you so much for your additional comments. It is very refreshing to have clients be completely honest and for the transfer from Arenal to Manuel Antonio, I am very sorry to hear about this. We will take your comments very seriously as we are a small company but one that prides itself on the service we offer and we can only improve on this with feedback from clients.

Many thanks. We hope you will come and visit us again in the future.

Best regards,
Randall