Kimkim Trip Reviews for Costa Rica

Reviews from actual kimkim travelers. We publish all reviews.
4.8
(54 reviews)
Read 54 reviews by travelers who booked their trip on kimkim

Costa rica family vacation - 6-day itinerary, Costa Rica - Feb 12 - Feb 19, 2019

Traveler: Tana S. - Local specialist: Carlos Rodriguez

Carlos was very communicative with us and flexible. He made our itinerary changes whenever we requested them and did his best to accommodate our schedule and interests. He made himself available via text message as soon as we arrived and was very helpful whenever I needed some local advice.

Carlos Rodriguez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Tana!

Greetings from sunny Costa Rica!

We are so glad for your visit, a real adventure!
I hope we have a chance to have you in our friendly country in the future, thank you again for giving us the chance to provide you a Great vacations time.

Cheers!
Carlos

Best of costa rica in 7 days: explore jungles, volcanoes and beaches, Costa Rica - Feb 7 - Feb 13, 2019

Traveler: Kerry R. - Local specialist: Olman Romero

We had an absolutely wonderful time in Costa Rica. All the events and lodging were impeccably planned and were first rate. All of our prearranged transportation was on time and friendly. We could not have had a smoother or more enjoyable vacation and we would use kimkim again in a heartbeat!

Trip to costa rica, Costa Rica - Dec 16 - Jan 1, 2019

Traveler: Marguerite R. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

The trip was well-planned by KimKim staff, and was very enjoyable. The few snags we ran into were quickly corrected. Randall was very attentive.

We especially enjoyed our time in Monteverde, perhaps because the chilly wind and clouds are what we're accustomed to in the U.S. Pacific Northwest. The day at Selvatura was fabulous - the nature hike, led by Juan, introduced us to many plants and symbiotic systems. Zip-lining was fabulous (team of about a dozen energetic guides). Grace and... read more

The trip was well-planned by KimKim staff, and was very enjoyable. The few snags we ran into were quickly corrected. Randall was very attentive.

We especially enjoyed our time in Monteverde, perhaps because the chilly wind and clouds are what we're accustomed to in the U.S. Pacific Northwest. The day at Selvatura was fabulous - the nature hike, led by Juan, introduced us to many plants and symbiotic systems. Zip-lining was fabulous (team of about a dozen energetic guides). Grace and Renzo were excellent hosts at El Viandante, and gave very helpful advice on getting around the town.

We also enjoyed the hike at Volcan Arenal, led by Esteban. Our driver kindly stopped the van on the drive there so we could see howler monkeys and coati. Jimmy, another driver, was happy to answer our many questions, and he stopped so we could see a sloth up close at a produce stand. The chocolate-making tour and Proyecto Asis were interesting (guides Kyle (?) and Hector, respectively).

At Manuel Antonio we loved seeing all the animals right outside our hotel room. We never tired of watching iguanas and birds. Our tour of the national park, on Christmas Day, was too crowded to properly enjoy it. Our guide, Milo, was very good.

Rancho Corcovado was complicated. Our itinerary did not specify how we were to get from Sierpe to Rancho Corcovado, and our driver did not know where to leave us. When he learned where we would be staying, he knew which of the two boat landings we needed to get to. But we didn't know when our boat would arrive or how to recognize it. Between Randall's help and a call to the hotel, we got there. Boating on the river was pleasant, but getting through the surf was scary and unexpected (it took the driver two tries to make it through the waves). The hotel room had either no hot water, or scalding water. Sometimes no water at all. The food was very good, the trip to P. N. Corcovado was wonderful (Luis was an excellent guide) and the snorkeling was spectacular (excellent guides - Carol and a woman whose name I did not catch). There was an upsetting incident one night when angry people visited our next-door neighbors. All in all, the trip to Corcovado involved very good times and the least pleasant times, as well.

Our drivers were all good - Ricardo, Christian, Andres. The Hotel Don Carlos was a lovely secluded place in San Jose. We found a very good lunch at Cafe Rojo near the hotel, and spent a pleasant morning at Zoologico y Jardin Botanico Nacional.

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Marguerite,

I want to thank you for your feedback about your trip to my country with your family last December. It makes me happy that you have enjoyed the trip despite the minutes of uncertainty on the motorboat connection to Corcovado.

I really appreciate your comments about Rancho Corcovado and the problems that you had with the water, we will make sure to follow up with the hotel about this.

I have no more to say than thank you for trusting on us for the arrangements of your family vacation, we hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Best,
Randall

Ultimate costa rica honeymoon - 10 days, Costa Rica - Jan 25 - Feb 2, 2019

Traveler: Alyssa S. - Local specialist: Adriana Prado

We had a wonderful experience booking through KimKim and Adriana for our 10-day Honeymoon to Costa Rica! Adriana was professional, responsive and accommodating. We wanted a mix of adventurous yet relaxing, cultural but touristy, romantic but casual, and Adriana planned THE perfect vacation for us. My only hiccup was not receiving our arrival packets 2 days before our departure, as noted, but someone else from the KimKim team stepped up and responded to our message stating that Adriana out of... read more

We had a wonderful experience booking through KimKim and Adriana for our 10-day Honeymoon to Costa Rica! Adriana was professional, responsive and accommodating. We wanted a mix of adventurous yet relaxing, cultural but touristy, romantic but casual, and Adriana planned THE perfect vacation for us. My only hiccup was not receiving our arrival packets 2 days before our departure, as noted, but someone else from the KimKim team stepped up and responded to our message stating that Adriana out of the office. Those thoughts when booking through a website always pop into your head, "What if no one shows to pick us up? What if this is too good to be true?", but we truly felt both safe and taken care of upon arrival - in the shuttles, at the hotels and everywhere in between. We flew into San Jose with an overnight stay, then spent 2 nights in La Fortuna, 2 nights in Monteverde and 3 nights in Manuel Antonio. During our trip we hiked a volcano, swam in a natural hot spring, went ziplining, took a sunset/snorkling catamaran, visited a National Park and somehow still had plenty of time to sit by the pool and ocean to rest. Our activities were perfectly spaced out, allowing us enough time to not feel rushed with travel, check-in or excursions. Our transportation to and from the airport as well as to each city and excursion was timely, professional and labeled with their respective companies. Some of our favorite parts of the trip were simply traveling between cities! Our guides were knowledgeable, fun and even gave us suggestions for local cuisine and hang out spots. Thank you to KimKim & Adriana for helping us create such a memorable trip, we will be booking again in the near future!

Adriana Prado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Alyssa,

Thank you for your nice comments from your trip in Costa Rica, I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience here and that you will have good memories of your Honeymoon. :-) It is very satisfying for me that my clients receive what they expect from their trip, please contact me in the future if you decide to come back to our beautiful country, I will be more than glad to assist you organize a new adveture for you and your husband.

Kind regards from Costa Rica,
Adriana

Group departure - costa rica coast to coast: biking, hiking, rafting and kayaking - 12 days, Costa Rica - Jan 4 - Jan 15, 2019

Traveler: Anne T. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

We had an amazing adventure trip from start to finish.
Great communication from Rendell who took on board what we wanted to do. It was far better than we expected.
Fez our guide was absolutely fantastic along with our drivers and extra guides especially Martine who guided us on our long hike.
All food, all accommodation was brilliant.
Everyone was so friendly and made our trip truly wonderful. Thank you all at coast to coast.

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Anne,

Thank you for your review and pictures, those are great!!!! I will make sure to share them with Fez, Mauricio and Martin.

We all are very happy that you have enjoyed your trip and we hope that you keep these good memories for this experience for a very long time.

Best,
Randall

Costa rica, Costa Rica - Jan 17 - Jan 24, 2019

Traveler: Raj R. - Local specialist: Carlos Rodriguez

Always available
Can make things happen for you
Tailored needs
books only with most reliable companies and guides
Overall I would suggest Carlos for my friends and families.

Carlos Rodriguez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Good morning from sunny Costa Rica Raj!

Pura Vida my Friend, thank you so much for this kind review and for your comments, we will be more than happy to have you in the future and your friends are very welcome as well!
I hope you can keep the good experiences in Costa Rica for a long time in your mind!
Kind Regards,
Carlos.
Your Friend in Costa Rica.

Jenelle

Best of costa rica in 7 days: explore jungles, volcanoes and beaches, Costa Rica - Jan 15 - Jan 22, 2019

Traveler: Jenelle P. - Local specialist: Adriana Prado

This was an incredible trip all thanks to Adriana! I was able to see so much of Costa Rica and enjoy the unique vistas and wildlife experiences that only this country can offer. I feel like I was able to get off the beaten path a little bit and really experience the country. From relaxing in hot springs in Arenal to gliding through the Monteverde canopy on a zipline, to watching dolphins play behind our catamaran on a sunset cruise in Manuel Antonio, Adriana took care of all of the back stage logistics so that I could focus completely on living Pura Vida.

Adriana Prado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Jenelle,

Thank you very much for your nice comments, I am so glad that you enjoyed your trip, It was a pleasure to help you organize a nice experience and I hope you come back soon to Costa Rica. :-)

Best Regards,
Adriana

William

Trip to costa rica, Costa Rica - Jan 11 - Jan 21, 2019

Traveler: William R. - Local specialist: Adriana Prado

The trip was terrific and we had a great time. Beautiful country and hospitable people. THe hotels and the activities (ziplining, white water rafting, hikes with guides) were fascinating and run by knowledgeable experts.

This is the second time we have used kimkim and would readily use your services again. Bill

Adriana Prado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello William,

Thank you for your nice comments and beautiful pictures from your trip, I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip, it was a pleasure to help you organize a nice experience for you and your family. We hope you come back soon to Costa Rica. We will be glad to assist you in your next trip. :-)

Best Regards from Costa Rica,
Adriana

Karen

Group departure - costa rica coast to coast: biking, hiking, rafting and kayaking - 12 days, Costa Rica - Jan 4 - Jan 15, 2019

Traveler: Karen M. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

Everything was very well organised from the time we arrived in Costa Rica to the moment we were taken to the airport for our return home. Randall listened to what we wanted and came up with a trip that suited all of us in the timescale that we had. We enjoyed staying in all different types of accommodation from hotels, lodges, a boardinghouse and campsites. Some of the best meals we had were home cooked, using fresh local produce. It was a great way of seeing this amazing country, the... read more

Everything was very well organised from the time we arrived in Costa Rica to the moment we were taken to the airport for our return home. Randall listened to what we wanted and came up with a trip that suited all of us in the timescale that we had. We enjoyed staying in all different types of accommodation from hotels, lodges, a boardinghouse and campsites. Some of the best meals we had were home cooked, using fresh local produce. It was a great way of seeing this amazing country, the activities were far from easy (cycling, hiking and rafting) but we had a real sense of achievement when we reached the end. Fez was an excellent guide, full of knowledge as well as being encouraging and understanding. He made sure we always had everything we needed and was happy to arrange any other activities we wanted to do. He always had time to chat, joined in with card games in the evening and generally made us all feel welcome.
I would thoroughly recommend this holiday to anyone looking for a more active break, I never thought I would be cycling through a banana plantation and crossing bridges and rivers or hiking through a jungle but the scenery is breathtaking and all the animals you see along the way is an added bonus.

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Karen,

I want to appreciate your review about the trip and your experience traveling with us.

We all are very happy that you have challenged yourself on this trip and have felt the satisfaction of crossing the country by your own human-powered - well done!! but the most important thing, that you have enjoyed your trip from top to bottom, that was our goal.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our country in a near future.

Best,
Randall

PS: Fez explained to me the... read more

Dear Karen,

I want to appreciate your review about the trip and your experience traveling with us.

We all are very happy that you have challenged yourself on this trip and have felt the satisfaction of crossing the country by your own human-powered - well done!! but the most important thing, that you have enjoyed your trip from top to bottom, that was our goal.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our country in a near future.

Best,
Randall

PS: Fez explained to me the graphics about the distances that you drew on the questionnaires that you completed after the trip - very funny

susan

Costa rica essentials: self-drive tour - 14 days, Costa Rica - Nov 22 - Dec 1, 2018

Traveler: susan u. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

Thank you so much kimkim for connecting us with Sylvia. She helped us put together a magical adventure in Costa Rica. It really was the trip of a lifetime with my son and daughter-in-law. With Sylvia's guidance we had a diverse itinerary chock full of adventure that immersed us in the beauty and culture of this most amazing country. Sylvia was very responsive on the kimkim platform and arranged for several phone conferences during our planning stages. She listened to our preferences and... read more

Thank you so much kimkim for connecting us with Sylvia. She helped us put together a magical adventure in Costa Rica. It really was the trip of a lifetime with my son and daughter-in-law. With Sylvia's guidance we had a diverse itinerary chock full of adventure that immersed us in the beauty and culture of this most amazing country. Sylvia was very responsive on the kimkim platform and arranged for several phone conferences during our planning stages. She listened to our preferences and several times we tweaked and fine tuned the itinerary to get the experience we wanted. When we were "in country" she was available to help us with any issues that arose. We enjoyed private transport the entire trip, and the drivers and ALL the guides were friendly and extremely knowledgeable. Pura Vida!!
Gracias kimkim.
Gracias Sylvia.

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hola Susan!!
Thank you so much for your trip review and so happy to know that you enjoyed a magical adventure in Costa Rica!
We hope that you can re-schedule soon another trip to our country and explore the amazing Tortuguero, Manuel Antonio and Corcovado National park with are also magical destinations!
Pura Vida!

Cr , Costa Rica - Dec 25 - Jan 1, 2019

Traveler: Denise M. - Local specialist: Yenyi Fu

What an incredible first time ever experience with a travel agency and to luck upon Kimkim and Yenyi in particular was a real dream come true. Yenyi was available 24:7; was incredibly resourceful and pleasant all at the same time. Her ideas and creativity made our excursion to Costa Rica an incredible vacation. It's not easy traveling with almost grown children but Yenyi made suggestions (including separate rooms) and fun activities like rafting into and out of an eco lodge one of the best... read more

What an incredible first time ever experience with a travel agency and to luck upon Kimkim and Yenyi in particular was a real dream come true. Yenyi was available 24:7; was incredibly resourceful and pleasant all at the same time. Her ideas and creativity made our excursion to Costa Rica an incredible vacation. It's not easy traveling with almost grown children but Yenyi made suggestions (including separate rooms) and fun activities like rafting into and out of an eco lodge one of the best family experiences ever. She and Kimkim are the true dream makers. Thank you Yenyi (and Kim Kim) we won't travel anywhere without you!

Yenyi Fu, kimkim staff, responded to this review:

Thanks for your kind words! We look forward to helping you with your next vacation!

Costa rica adventure: whitewater, beaches & volcanos - 8 days, Costa Rica - Dec 27 - Jan 5, 2019

Traveler: Joseph F. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

Our Costa Rica trip was awesome and excellently put together and organized by Randall. Everything went exactly according to plan and the quality of the guides on the various tours and activities were first class.
Everything from our pick up at the airport, to our final drop off was precisely on time and all guides and drivers spoke excellent English which made communication so much easier.
We have absolutely no issues or complaints regarding any aspect of the trip and would absolutely recommend kimkim to anyone seeking a high quality tailor made trip to an exotic destination.

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Joe,

Thank you for your feedback about the trip. I am so glad that you, Tarina & Ryan have enjoyed the vacation that we organized for you and we hope this is not the last time we have the chance to welcome you in our country.

Warm regards,
Randall

Costa rica adventure: whitewater, beaches & volcanos - 12 days, Costa Rica - Dec 17 - Dec 28, 2018

Traveler: Paul M. - Local specialist: Yenyi Fu

Trip was 12 days (month of March) for a family of four including two teenage girls. We flew in and out of Liberia and spent time in Rio Celeste, La Fortuna/Arenal, Monte Verde, Nosara and then just north of Tamarindo. Yenyi was fantastic in helping to plan the itinerary and activities from the beginning to the very end with a wonderful attention to detail. It was an interactive process and Yenyi's patience, resourcefulness and willing to answer or investigate all o four questions was a... read more

Trip was 12 days (month of March) for a family of four including two teenage girls. We flew in and out of Liberia and spent time in Rio Celeste, La Fortuna/Arenal, Monte Verde, Nosara and then just north of Tamarindo. Yenyi was fantastic in helping to plan the itinerary and activities from the beginning to the very end with a wonderful attention to detail. It was an interactive process and Yenyi's patience, resourcefulness and willing to answer or investigate all o four questions was a wonderful asset. Our family trip was an activity packed adventure by choice that included hiking, swimming, waterfalls, rainforest, volcanoes, zip lining, jet skis, canopy bridges, white water rafting, surfing, fishing and driving Costa Rica's roads the entire way (SUV w/ 4WD required). A truly fantastic and memorable experience with most activities organized by Desafio - a first class company whose guides and staff were wonderful to interact with - highly recommend both Desafio and kimkim for planning your next visit to CR.

Yenyi Fu, kimkim staff, responded to this review:

Thanks for trusting us with your trip. Let us know the next time you are traveling anywhere in the world, and we would be happy to help you with your trip planning.

Natural wonders , Costa Rica - Dec 26 - Jan 1, 2019

Traveler: B P. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

Randall and Kim Kim planned the perfect trip for my family of myself, my husband and three grown kids. It was just the right mix of adventure, exercise, nature, discovery and relaxation.

We particularly enjoyed the Mistico hanging bridges tour with Carlos (of Pura Vida Tours) near the Arenal Volcano area, which included seeing monkeys, snakes, tarantulas and so much beautiful scenery.

We also really liked our raft trip in that same area with George "2" as our guide from Canoa... read more

Randall and Kim Kim planned the perfect trip for my family of myself, my husband and three grown kids. It was just the right mix of adventure, exercise, nature, discovery and relaxation.

We particularly enjoyed the Mistico hanging bridges tour with Carlos (of Pura Vida Tours) near the Arenal Volcano area, which included seeing monkeys, snakes, tarantulas and so much beautiful scenery.

We also really liked our raft trip in that same area with George "2" as our guide from Canoa Aventura. He was a pro at spotting all kinds of wildlife including fascinating birds, monkeys and even a crocodile. He was very knowledgeable and accommodating.

One of my favorite places was Tabacon hot springs. I wish we had gotten there earlier in the day so we could see it in the daylight, but even sitting in the hot river and pools at night was wonderful! I wish I had known to bring water shoes here, the bottom is rocky.

We loved our hotel, Montana de Fuego, with lovely pools, spa and individual bungalows overlooking the volcano. The staff there was very helpful and friendly, especially Veronica.

Our two days in the Monteverde Cloud Forest were also fun and fascinating.
One of our favorite activities was the zip line tour at Selvatura park. Even my husband who is afraid of heights felt secure enough to do the zip lines. This is a huge and very well run operation and even with lots of tourists they moved us through quickly and safely. It was amazing "flying" over the forest. We also took the short butterfly walk there which was interesting and the butterflies were incredibly beautiful and even landed on your hand if you were still enough.

We took a night hike with a guide at the Monteverde Wildlife Reserve and got to see a sloth in (slow) motion thanks to the eagle eye and strong flashlight of our guide there.
Our final day was a nature hike with Javier of Monteverde Experts, and he certainly was one. He knew every tree, every bird, every reptile and again helped us spot a sloth high up in the canopy.

And finally, we took several lovely drives with the Coast to Coast driver, Jose, who navigated very bumpy roads and long distances with a happy attitude and willingness to answer all questions and stop whenever we wanted to take photos.
This was really a fantastic Costa Rican advanture.

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Beth,

It is great to hear from you after your trip to my country and read your review - you just made my day!

I am so glad that you and your family have finally enjoyed the trip that we started planning for you many months ago and to confirm that the wait worths it :)

I will make sure to pass your comments to the people involved in the success of your trip, I know we are very lucky to have such a dedicated people working with us.

Finally, I want to wish you and your family a great... read more

Dear Beth,

It is great to hear from you after your trip to my country and read your review - you just made my day!

I am so glad that you and your family have finally enjoyed the trip that we started planning for you many months ago and to confirm that the wait worths it :)

I will make sure to pass your comments to the people involved in the success of your trip, I know we are very lucky to have such a dedicated people working with us.

Finally, I want to wish you and your family a great 2019 and we hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Warm regards and Pura Vida!!

Randall

5-days in costa rica : 5 unique trip itineraries, Costa Rica - Dec 26 - Jan 1, 2019

Traveler: Venu B. - Local specialist: Yenyi Fu

Except one Hotel, all Hotels we stayed at were below average, I imagine that is because we booked only 6 to 8 weeks before the trip(?).

All adventure trips that were booked were very good.

In some places, reservations were made in local specialist name and the vendors had a tough time looking up the customer's name and only to realize it is in the travel specialist name.

Overall, Costa Rica experience was above average.

Yenyi Fu, kimkim staff, responded to this review:

Hi Venu,

Sorry to hear that the hotels you stayed in were below average. Unfortunately, given that we only had a few weeks to book your hotels, for Christmas, which is the busiest times in Costa Rica, those hotels were our only options to make your trip happen.

Thanks for your great feedback on the adventure trips, and I am glad that we were able to help you make the Costa Rica Christmas vacation a reality.

Best,
Yenyi

Trip to costa rica, Costa Rica - Dec 19 - Dec 19, 2018

Traveler: Avinash K. - Local specialist: Carlos Rodriguez

We stumbled upon KimKim while looking for ideas for our Costa Rica trip. By the end of the trip, we were completely glad for going ahead with KimKim to plan the trip. KimKim was very prompt in coming up with the itinerary and the costs. Our local specialist, Carlos, was very helpful in answering all our questions in a short time. Carlos was able to adjust the itinerary according to our needs and plans. The hotels that they chose were just perfect for our budget and needs. Our driver/guide in... read more

We stumbled upon KimKim while looking for ideas for our Costa Rica trip. By the end of the trip, we were completely glad for going ahead with KimKim to plan the trip. KimKim was very prompt in coming up with the itinerary and the costs. Our local specialist, Carlos, was very helpful in answering all our questions in a short time. Carlos was able to adjust the itinerary according to our needs and plans. The hotels that they chose were just perfect for our budget and needs. Our driver/guide in Costa Rica, Sergio, was super helpful and very knowledgable about the local stuff - food, culture, local things to do, etc. Sergio went out of his way a couple of times to help us with local shopping. I definitely recommend the KimKim team and Sergio for planning any trips to Costa Rica.

Carlos Rodriguez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Happy New year Avi!

Thank you for your kind review, It's was a pleasure for all KimKim and Unique Adventures team having you in our lovely country. I hope you can visit us again in the future!

Best of costa rica in 7 days: explore jungles, volcanoes and beaches, Costa Rica - Dec 16 - Dec 23, 2018

Traveler: Chris L. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

I did some research on the Internet on where to go in Costa Rica, gave Kimkim my preferences and date of arrival/departure. Randall took it over from there and came up with a perfect itinerary for us.

Before we left we received the detailed itinerary from kimkim, airport pick up was on time, as well as the rest of the private transport pickup. Hotels were clean and comfortable, the guides were knowledgeable and friendly. No complaints whatsoever.

Highly recommended.

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Chris,

I appreciate your feedback about the trip and also about your experience in booking your family vacation through kimkim.

It makes me happy that everything works as it was planned during the time that you spent in my country.

We hope to have the chance to welcome your family again in a near future on a new adventure in Costa Rica.

Best,
Randall

Lydia

Best of costa rica in 7 days: explore jungles, volcanoes and beaches, Costa Rica - Dec 9 - Dec 17, 2018

Traveler: Lydia S. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

I couldn't be happier with my experience. Sylvia is great to work with and helped me plan my perfect trip.

I looked at a few of the ready made trips on Kim Kim to get an idea of what I wanted. Then I reached out to Sylvia. We set up a phone call. She offered suggestions and I told her what I was interested in doing. We had a few back and forths before we settled on my ideal itinerary. The whole thing was super easy!

Before we left: We had a flight change and Sylvia was able to make a few... read more

I couldn't be happier with my experience. Sylvia is great to work with and helped me plan my perfect trip.

I looked at a few of the ready made trips on Kim Kim to get an idea of what I wanted. Then I reached out to Sylvia. We set up a phone call. She offered suggestions and I told her what I was interested in doing. We had a few back and forths before we settled on my ideal itinerary. The whole thing was super easy!

Before we left: We had a flight change and Sylvia was able to make a few adjustments to our trip. Again, all seamless on my end. We were also provided a detailed itinerary which included recommended items to bring each event.

Things were great from the moment we arrived in Costa Rica. Someone met us at arrivals and explained our transportation to our hotel. Sylvia, and Horizontes, arranged all of our transportation to each different city. We decided on doing quite a few tours and all we had to do was be at a designated spot at a specific time. We did canyoning, hot springs, hiking, nature walks sky walk and a coffee tour. Everyone was so nice and helpful and all of the guides were extremely knowledgeable. Also, everyone was punctual so we never had to wait and wonder where our ride was. While in country, we had a WhatsApp phone number we could text 24/7 in case we had any questions. This is great because our phone service wasn't reliable all the time. Responses were always very timely.

Horizontes even arranged for our original driver from the airport to be our final driver back to the airport. It was a nice touch.

Things I would do differently - I'll start by saying this trip is EXACTLY what I asked for. This is my first time using a travel agent and I didn't think to ask some questions. So this is more for anyone else who is a first timer. One hike, which I specifically requested, was about 1.5 hours from town so it made for a long day. The hike was beautiful, but we probably wouldn't have done it if we knew we'd be in a vehicle for 3 hours. Next time, I'll ask about time and distance. The only other thing I'd probably request is a range of hotels. Again, we got exactly what we asked for but next time I'll ask to see one in each category.

I would definitely recommend Sylvia to anybody looking to plan their Costa Rica trip.

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hola Lydia!
Muchas gracias!! For your nice review for your trip. Please let me know when you receive your jacket!

kind regards,

Osa hiking + monteverde/santa elena + arenal, Costa Rica - Dec 9 - Dec 19, 2018

Traveler: Michelle E. - Local specialist: Mónica Meneses

Monica did a great job organizing all our transport including transfers, flight, and set up with a rental car, making it easy and stress free to get from place to place. Our favorite parts of the trip were staying in Bahia Drake to explore the deserted beaches in our free time and exploring the cloud forests in Monteverde and Santa Elena. The freebie from Kim Kim to Tabacon Hot Springs in Arenal was also much appreciated at the end of the trip :) All the staff at the hotels were friendly and accommodating. It was a great trip!

Mónica Meneses, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Michelle,
Thank you so much for your comments! We're very glad to know that you enjoyed your trip to Costa Rica and that you could experience so many diverse areas of this country! It was also our pleasure to arrange a relaxing trip to Tabacón for you and assure you have the best memories of this trip. We hope to have you again soon in Costa Rica, don’t hesitate in contacting us!
Best, Mónica

mariam

Unique experience - nature and wildlife, Costa Rica - Dec 14 - Dec 24, 2018

Traveler: mariam a. - Local specialist: Adriana Prado

Working with Adreana was a pleasure. She kept modifying the plan based on my comments to get me the perfect trip.
When we went there everything was organized and on time, all the guides spoke english and were very knowledgeable.
Thank you Adriana and Amazelia for making it a great vacation.

Adriana Prado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Mariam,

Thank you for your nice comments and beautiful pictures from your trip. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your trip in Costa Rica. We hope you come back soon. :-)

Best wishes for this 2019!!!

Thank you
Adriana

Family-friendly arenal and manuel antonio national park- 9 days, Costa Rica - Dec 15 - Dec 23, 2018

Traveler: Kiki W. - Local specialist: Olman Romero

Olman was amazing to work with, he was very responsive and everything he planned for my trip to Costa Rica was exactly what I wanted, from hotels to activities! My trip was filled with activities and fun memories yet relaxing. And the hotel I stayed at had amazing views and service. I wouldn’t be able to plan this trip myself in such short time. I highly recommend Olman!!

Olman Romero, local specialist, responded to this review:

I just have to say you Thank you! for the opportunity to organize an amazing trip for you.
The pictures you posted are very nice!
I am very happy you have many memories of this trip!

Thanks!

Nature trip!, Costa Rica - Dec 13 - Dec 18, 2018

Traveler: William D. - Local specialist: Olman Romero

Olman was very responsive and incredibly helpful in organising our trip at short notice. Would have appreciated a little more information about the tours that were being booked but they turned out excellently. We had a terrific holiday and really loved all the hotels and tours that were booked for us.

Olman Romero, local specialist, responded to this review:

Laura and William, I am very happy you enjoyed your trip to Costa Rica, I did my best to organize an unforgettable experience for you.

Thank you very much.

Ultimate costa rica honeymoon - 10 days, Costa Rica - Dec 7 - Dec 16, 2018

Traveler: Hebba D. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

We just finished our amazing honeymoon in Costa Rica! And have to say that Randall was an absolute pleasure to work with - he made the process so easy to book and really worked with us to plan a great honeymoon!

We landed in San Jose and a drive met us at the airport right away to take us to our hotel. Everything was laid out and organized for us which was fantastic! In the morning we were picked up for the drive to La Fortuna. The one thing I would recommend is for future visits to let... read more

We just finished our amazing honeymoon in Costa Rica! And have to say that Randall was an absolute pleasure to work with - he made the process so easy to book and really worked with us to plan a great honeymoon!

We landed in San Jose and a drive met us at the airport right away to take us to our hotel. Everything was laid out and organized for us which was fantastic! In the morning we were picked up for the drive to La Fortuna. The one thing I would recommend is for future visits to let visitors know the length of time for the drives we had no idea and found ourselves on 3-4 hours drives (which we didn’t mind, but would have packed some snacks!). Our accommodations were stunning in
La Fortuna we stayed at the beautiful Tabacon. Our white water rafting trip was amazing and the local farm they took us to for lunch was an amazing highlight. Wave Expeditions are amazing and we highly recommend you book with them if wanting to do a white water tour. Very thorough in safety recommendations, good equipment, great guides and an amazing experience. We also went on the Volcano hike - although really interesting we found that our guide wasn’t that engaged in the hike and didn’t realize we were the last hike of the day so all of the animals were tucked away (I would recommend making sure you get an early tour if you do this hike). We would have loved to do the hanging bridges and ziplining here but unfortunately we didn’t.

We then went to Monteverde which was amazing! Wow is all we can say when thinking about Monteverde Lodge and Gardens. The lodge itself was amazing, the gardens spectacular and we had a great corner balcony room. It is also amazing that they have a butterfly garden in the hotel! The staff was amazing and surprised us with a dinner in the butterfly garden for our honeymoon. We also did the Cloud forest hike with Monteverde Experts - amazing tour guide. He was so passionate and really took his time to show us everything - if you do this excursion make sure to use this company. We also did horse back riding which we weren’t too crazy about - it was again the last tour of the day we found our horses to be tired and barely moving and again not much to see. Our guides also didnt explain much to us - in hindsight we would have omitted this although we did request for it to be booked and would have rathered book the hanging bridges etc.

We then made the trip to Manuel Antonio - which was an incredibly long drive 7 hours when it was supposed to be nor more than 4. Although this was a slight setback we fell in love with Manuel Antonio right away. We stayed at Makanda which is an amazing resort with amazing staff- we were treated like royalty and would highly recommend staying here. We visited a local beach recommended by one of the staff members at Makanda and loved it and also visited Ronny’s Place (amazing dinner venue with incredible sunset view), Emilo’s Cafe (amazing seafood) and The Wagon (amazing pizza). We had a tour organized for Sea kayaking and snorkelling - although we enjoyed this (physically challenging) our tour guide wasn’t the greatest he indicated he was feeling under the weather and stayed in his kayak while pointing at a rock we should swim towards to see fish, we would have liked to have someone in the water to tell us what we were looking at. He also told us we need to be back in the kayaks in 20 minutes and then proceeded to paddle back. We had thought this would be an entire morning event as indicated on our itinerary but ended up having our kayak, snorkel and lunch all by 11:30 am...in hindsight we would have either booked through a different company, done a different excursion or discovered more of Manuel Antonio on our own. Despite this we still loved the snorkelling but would recommend that they get new life jackets and clean their snorkels.

Randall was amazing to work with and we thoroughly enjoyed booking through KimKim they made the process so easy for us and would absolutely use them again if booking another trip to Costa Rica. Thanks Randall for all of your hard work and being so helpful with organizing our honeymoon!

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Hebba and Steve,

I appreciate your feedback and confirm that you had a good time and enjoy every hotel that we arranged for you and most of the activities.

Again I want to apologize for the long drive from Monteverde to Manuel Antonio, we talked with the owner of the transportation company and he suggested us to inform that the drives during the peak season might take a little bit longer because of the number of travelers but we are looking for a different company of transportation... read more

Dear Hebba and Steve,

I appreciate your feedback and confirm that you had a good time and enjoy every hotel that we arranged for you and most of the activities.

Again I want to apologize for the long drive from Monteverde to Manuel Antonio, we talked with the owner of the transportation company and he suggested us to inform that the drives during the peak season might take a little bit longer because of the number of travelers but we are looking for a different company of transportation that can guarantee a more current timing.

Well guys, it was a pleasure for me to assist you with the arrangements of your honeymoon and show you a little bit of the marvelous that we have here. I wish you all the best for 2019 and we hope to hear from you again in a near future.

Best,
Randall

Costa rica family vacation - 6-day itinerary, Costa Rica - Dec 11 - Dec 18, 2018

Traveler: Shiva N. - Local specialist: Yenyi Fu

Yenyi was patient as we went through multiple iterations of the itinerary to settle on one that included something for everyone in the family.

Costa rica as a country is a must visit.

Pros: very friendly people , the food is a gastronomic delight , attractions are breathtaking, the place is squeaky clean and yes you can drink tap water !

Cons: Knowing spanish is a huge plus, It's about 30-40% more expensive than neighbours(Mexico, Cuba etc) but well worth it.

Yenyi Fu, kimkim staff, responded to this review:

I am super happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip with the family to Costa Rica. Next time you are looking to travel anywhere in the world, we would be happy to help.

Happy holidays!

Best,
Yenyi

Katy

Arenal & manuel antonio in 6 days, Costa Rica - Dec 3 - Dec 8, 2018

Traveler: Katy S. - Local specialist: Adriana Prado

The easiest experience ever! First time using kim kim and would definitely use it again! Adriana was my specialist/travel agent. She was a pro and knew exactly what i wanted to do. The hotels books were very nice and the activities were everything we expected. My favorite part was the white water rafting! Over all happy and easy experience.

Adriana Prado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Katy,
I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your trip in our country and to know that I have made this trip a pleasant experience for you. I appreciate your nice comments, this motivates me to move forward and give the best of myself to our clients. :-) I hope you return soon to our beautiful country and of course I will be more than glad to help you organize a new great experience. Happy Holidays!!!

Regards,
Adriana

Best of costa rica in 7 days: explore jungles, volcanoes and beaches, Costa Rica - Nov 17 - Nov 26, 2018

Traveler: sally c. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

We had a great trip despite the driver being 20 minutes late to pick us up at the airport. The Holiday Day Inn in San Jose wasn't anywhere near a 4-5 star hotel but was fine.

Rafting with Wave Company in La Fortuna was a great. The Baldi Hotel/Springs was nice but they had constructions going on the entire time we were there which was loud.

Ziplining (forget the company) in Fortuna was aweseome, small outfitter with great guides.

The Hanging Bridges at Mystic was great but could do... read more

We had a great trip despite the driver being 20 minutes late to pick us up at the airport. The Holiday Day Inn in San Jose wasn't anywhere near a 4-5 star hotel but was fine.

Rafting with Wave Company in La Fortuna was a great. The Baldi Hotel/Springs was nice but they had constructions going on the entire time we were there which was loud.

Ziplining (forget the company) in Fortuna was aweseome, small outfitter with great guides.

The Hanging Bridges at Mystic was great but could do without the walk down to the waterfall as the crowds were a real turn off.

Biking with Arenal Bike Company was nice.

Monteverde Lodge and Garden was really nice, very quiet and the grounds were impressive and the proximity to town was ideal for walking to restaurants.

We opted for another zipline which we booked through the hotel, Sky Adventure would have been fine but nobody mentioned how cold it would at that high location.

The horseback riding was one of our favorite tours, we had a private guide which made a huge difference.

Si Como No was a huge hit with my daughter. The only tour we had was to the Manual Antonio Park was fine but could didn't care for the crowds.

Randall did a great job but would have appreciated a bit more information on what to expect on each tour and how long each tour would last. Aside from that, he did a great job.

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Sally,

Thank you so much for your comments, your feedback will help us to improve our service and make sure to be more informative to our next clients.

It makes me happy to read that you had a good time and that are now back and safe at home with good memories of your trip, we hope to have the chance to welcome again on a new adventure.

Best,
Randall

Trip to costa rica, Costa Rica - Nov 18 - Nov 24, 2018

Traveler: joanne r. - Local specialist: Mónica Meneses

Everything was well planned out for us which made the trip so easy. We had a few challenges with the EcoLodge in LaFortuna - while breakfasts were excellent , the lunch we had there was BAD, fish was old and made our stomach upset. Also the hair dryer burst into flames while in use. The receptionist had the hair dryer replaced but we were nervous about the electrical outlet being hazardous and were unwilling to use any others nor would we use the replacement hair dryer - there were NO... read more

Everything was well planned out for us which made the trip so easy. We had a few challenges with the EcoLodge in LaFortuna - while breakfasts were excellent , the lunch we had there was BAD, fish was old and made our stomach upset. Also the hair dryer burst into flames while in use. The receptionist had the hair dryer replaced but we were nervous about the electrical outlet being hazardous and were unwilling to use any others nor would we use the replacement hair dryer - there were NO compensation offered for this. All other hotels had no issues and were very nice. All excursions were enjoyed ( rafting, zip-lining, nature tour, boat tour/snorkeling, turtle watch). The nature walk in Monteverde was nice - however the tour was regarding plants, insects, and birds and we'd asked to see wildlife (sloths, monkeys, tucans, mackaws) so that was a let down - park informed us we should have been signed up for a night tour to see that. I'm glad Monica really encouraged us to get the hot spot Wi-Fi and the GPS - they were extremely beneficial!

Mónica Meneses, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Joanne,
We're so happy that you had a great and calm trip here in Costa Rica! As I mentioned to you, we will absolutely keep in mind your comments about the incident with this hotel to keep providing the best services possible in each area.
We hope you come back and visit us again for new experiences!

Kind regards,
Mónica

Best of costa rica in 7 days: explore jungles, volcanoes and beaches, Costa Rica - Oct 13 - Oct 20, 2018

Traveler: Rosemary S. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

My daughter and I very much enjoyed the trip planned for us by Sylvia which met our interests and our budget. All of the tours were great (cacao farm, waterfall, hanging bridges) and the guides and drivers were excellent. Despite a bit of traffic noise, we also appreciated the lovely views at each of our accommodations. At our first resort near La Fortuna, we had a direct view of the Arenal Volcano, lush vegetation and colourful birds from the patio of our cabina. At our second resort in... read more

My daughter and I very much enjoyed the trip planned for us by Sylvia which met our interests and our budget. All of the tours were great (cacao farm, waterfall, hanging bridges) and the guides and drivers were excellent. Despite a bit of traffic noise, we also appreciated the lovely views at each of our accommodations. At our first resort near La Fortuna, we had a direct view of the Arenal Volcano, lush vegetation and colourful birds from the patio of our cabina. At our second resort in Tamarindo, we had a beautiful view of palm trees, the beach and the Pacific Ocean from the balcony of our low rise hotel. The staff we met at each resort were terrific and we spent many enjoyable moments chatting with them.

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you so much for your review and happy to learn that you had a great time in Costa Rica!
Now you have to come back in a near future and explore other amazing destinations that you were not able to discover during this trip!
Wishing you a nice evening!
Kind regards,
Sylvia

Trip to costa rica, Costa Rica - Nov 8 - Nov 12, 2018

Traveler: James D. - Local specialist: Adriana Prado

Great trip but missing voucher so did not know the plans for the big birthday day. Had to make other plans.

Costa rica family vacation - 6-day itinerary, Costa Rica - Oct 15 - Oct 22, 2018

Traveler: Claudia S. - Local specialist: John Rabenau

We were very pleased by the places and lodging chosen for us by John. We particularly loved the remoteness of Mawumba Lodge and then later the accessibility of Shahwamda Lodge to to the Jaguar Rescue Center, where we were able to see baby sloths, and eat the best swordfish ever at Pura Gula restaurant. Our guide Umberto was professional and knowledgeable, and our drivers--Ronnie, Patricia, and Jose--were wonderful ambassadors of their country.

Karen

Trip to costa rica, Costa Rica - Oct 6 - Oct 13, 2018

Traveler: Karen C. - Local specialist: Mónica Meneses

Our trip to Costa Rica was amazing thanks to kimkim. We had no idea what to expect and from the moment we were picked up in the airport, we new we made the right choice. A representative greeted us and introduced us to our driver & from that moment on it was a carefree and memorable vacation. Our trip guide helped us plan it from beginning to end! Customizing it to our liking every step of the way. (If you will be visiting, make sure to check out La Fortuna waterfall...it is absolutely... read more

Our trip to Costa Rica was amazing thanks to kimkim. We had no idea what to expect and from the moment we were picked up in the airport, we new we made the right choice. A representative greeted us and introduced us to our driver & from that moment on it was a carefree and memorable vacation. Our trip guide helped us plan it from beginning to end! Customizing it to our liking every step of the way. (If you will be visiting, make sure to check out La Fortuna waterfall...it is absolutely breathtaking!) This was our first time using kimkim, but after the service they provided...it won't be our last! I already started spreading the word to my family and friends about kimkim!!

Mónica Meneses, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Karen,
On behalf of myself and the team, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip here in Costa Rica! It was really a pleasure for us to help create the best experience possible for you. We hope you visit again soon in Costa Rica for new adventures, don’t hesitate in contacting us!
Best, Mónica

Best of costa rica in 7 days: explore jungles, volcanoes and beaches, Costa Rica - Oct 6 - Oct 14, 2018

Traveler: Kareen S. - Local specialist: Sofía Kikut

The entire experience of working with Kim Kim was terrific. I was able to customize a plan that included all of the activities my family wanted to do in Costa Rica. In country, every single driver, guide, etc was very punctual. We never had to wait for anything and all of the activities we planned were excellent. We loved stand up paddle boarding in Lake Arenal, zip lining in the cloud forest, and playing at the beach in Manual Antonio. The company Desafio was especially fun for our... read more

The entire experience of working with Kim Kim was terrific. I was able to customize a plan that included all of the activities my family wanted to do in Costa Rica. In country, every single driver, guide, etc was very punctual. We never had to wait for anything and all of the activities we planned were excellent. We loved stand up paddle boarding in Lake Arenal, zip lining in the cloud forest, and playing at the beach in Manual Antonio. The company Desafio was especially fun for our excursions in Arenal. Two out of the three hotels were great- clean, convenient, and comfortable. The third hotel was not exactly up to the standards we were hoping for so we were disappointed there. But overall, the trip was so memorable and I would recommend the use of Kim Kim to anyone wanting to plan a trip to Costa Rica.

Sofía Kikut, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Kareen,

Thank you so much for your comments, they help us grow and improve our services! And thank you for visiting our beautiful Costa Rica! I’m glad to know that you had a good time during your trip and that you especially enjoyed all the fun activities! I hope you enjoyed your time in Monteverde, even if the hotel was not what you expected. It was my pleasure to arrange a nice and fun trip for you and your family. We hope to have you again soon in Costa Rica, don’t hesitate in contacting us!

Best, Sofía

Tortuguero & puerto viejo - 7 days, Costa Rica - Sep 8 - Sep 14, 2018

Traveler: Henna G. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

The booking process was easy; Randall was very responsive and able to fulfill all our requests. All activities were well organized and transfers ran smoothly. Costa Rica's beauty takes your breath away! Our Tortuguero guide Rolando from the Laguna Lodge hotel was one of the best ones we've ever had. We even saw a giant sea turtle lay eggs - such a wonderful experience. Thank you!

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Henna,

I want to appreciate your feedback after the finalization of your trip to my country. I am so glad that you had a good time during your visit and that you also had the chance to see the sea turtle on the beach doing its nest, it is definitely a lifetime experience.

Best regards and I hope to welcome you again in the future!
Randall

Costa rica adventure: whitewater, beaches & volcanos - 8 days, Costa Rica - Aug 28 - Sep 4, 2018

Traveler: Stephen M. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Costa Rica. I was looking for a nice blend of nature, adventure, beaches, nightlife and relaxation ... and this trip offered exactly what I was looking for. I booked with relatively short notice and didn't really have the time to research in advance. Fortunately, the local specialist Randall asked what I was looking for and customised an awesome trip. From the moment I arrived to the moment I left, everything was planned and scheduled (including pick-ups,... read more

I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Costa Rica. I was looking for a nice blend of nature, adventure, beaches, nightlife and relaxation ... and this trip offered exactly what I was looking for. I booked with relatively short notice and didn't really have the time to research in advance. Fortunately, the local specialist Randall asked what I was looking for and customised an awesome trip. From the moment I arrived to the moment I left, everything was planned and scheduled (including pick-ups, drop offs, hotels, trips, meals etc). I was also given a detailed trip plan upon arrival meaning that I knew exactly where I had to be and when. In the end, I experienced many of the things Costa Rica had to offer and had a fantastic time. I would very much recommend kimkim.

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Stephen,

It makes me really happy to read your comments and that you have enjoyed your vacations as you mentioned in your review keeping always a good balance of different experiences along the trip. I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in a near future - Pura Vida!!!

Randall

Costa rica - wildlife, nature & beach. , Costa Rica - Jul 28 - Aug 11, 2018

Traveler: Marina N. - Local specialist: Sofía Kikut

Sofia was the person in charge of organising our 2 week trip to Costa Rica. She met all of our requirements excellently and all the hotels, guides and tours she had recommended were exceptionally good. She was caring throughout the whole trip and worried about us and solved any issues we could have - which were close to none.
Thank you for an amazing trip! We will most certainly take into account your travel agency for future holidays!!

Marina & Margarita.

Sofía Kikut, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Marina & Margarita,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for coming to visit our beautiful Costa Rica! I’m pleased to know you enjoyed your trip and that all hotels and activities were to your liking. It was my pleasure to arrange a nice and fun trip for you. We hope to have you again soon in Costa Rica, don’t hesitate in contacting us!

Best, Sofía

Cr complete experience , Costa Rica - Jul 17 - Aug 1, 2018

Traveler: Gail G. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

Trip to Costa Rica - 7/17/18 - 8/2/18 for 7 people, 4 adults and 3 children (ages 10, 12 & 14)

This was our first trip using the KimKim service, which I found through online research. Overall the tools were easy to use and the communication worked great and without problems. I would recommend it and will use it again.
Our trip in country was planned by Sylvia and she did an outstanding job. We stayed 1 night in San Jose, then due to some Caribbean storms, she did a quick switch for us... read more

Trip to Costa Rica - 7/17/18 - 8/2/18 for 7 people, 4 adults and 3 children (ages 10, 12 & 14)

This was our first trip using the KimKim service, which I found through online research. Overall the tools were easy to use and the communication worked great and without problems. I would recommend it and will use it again.
Our trip in country was planned by Sylvia and she did an outstanding job. We stayed 1 night in San Jose, then due to some Caribbean storms, she did a quick switch for us from Tortugero to Rancho Humo on the Nicoya Peninsula. We stayed there 2 nights and then went to Arenal for 3 nights, Monteverde for 3 nights and then 6 nights at the Westin n Playa Conchal. We did not want to be part of a large tour group, so Sylvia arranged for us to have our own transportation, drivers and tour guides for every part of the trip including 8 or 9 excursions which she did a great job with the planning. Every part of it went flawlessly and she even arranged to have a birthday cake delivered in Monteverde for our nephew who was turning 12! Every hotel met our expectations (Rancho Humo, Arena Manoa, La FondaVela, and the Westin) and we all felt that all the excursions were worth it and helped us learn more about Costa Rica. I would highly recommend Sylvia.

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you Gail for such a great trip review! I am so happy that your family enjoyed your trip to Costa Rica and glad that you liked your stay at Rancho Humo! Luke´s cake was specially made for him as willing something different!

Adventure in costa rica, Costa Rica - Aug 3 - Aug 12, 2018

Traveler: seng K. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

Sylvia is amazing! She is pleasant and easy to work with. We missed our flight and Sylvia rearranged pick-up and transfers from the airport with no fuss. She surprised us with a last minutes city tour of San Jose and dinner at Tiquicia Restaurant. The view of central valley from Tiquicia Restaurant was spectacular! It is truly a million-dollar view. The food was delicious and the traditional dance was fantastic.

Tabacon Resort , all I can I say is " Wow, wow, and wow... read more

Sylvia is amazing! She is pleasant and easy to work with. We missed our flight and Sylvia rearranged pick-up and transfers from the airport with no fuss. She surprised us with a last minutes city tour of San Jose and dinner at Tiquicia Restaurant. The view of central valley from Tiquicia Restaurant was spectacular! It is truly a million-dollar view. The food was delicious and the traditional dance was fantastic.

Tabacon Resort , all I can I say is " Wow, wow, and wow " It is a thermal paradise! All of the staffs at the resort were wonderful. Do not miss this place.

Monteverde Cloud Forest - what an incredible place. I felt like I was in the movie Avatar. I saw so many wildlife - incredible experience. The sky walk, sky tram , and the zip lining was unbelievable. We had so much fun!

Manuel Antonio Nation Park - stunning park with amazing beaches. I'm so happy we did a guided tour of the park; otherwise, we would have missed out on the beautiful wildlife like the Sloth, rainbow grasshopper, and the colorful birds.

My daughter and I had an amazing time in Costa Rica. Thank you Sylvia .

XOXO
Seng

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hola Seng!
I am so excited to learn that you and your daughter enjoyed a fantastic vacation and loved the visit to Tiquicia Restaurant!
Also glad to know that you decided to upgrade your stay at Tabacon!
I also enjoyed meeting you during the whole planning stage!
God Bless you!
Big hug and Pura Vida!!

Costa rica, Costa Rica - Aug 1 - Aug 6, 2018

Traveler: Andy H. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

To be honest, I’d never heard of Kimkim, coast to coast adventures, or Randall. This made me a little bit wary of sending over a few thousand pounds and just assuming it would all be ok. Randall seemed very nice over email and we were keen to support local business in the country were visiting rather than some massive tour company, so we took the plunge.

I really didn’t need to worry at all.

We’ve had a stunning time in Costa Rica - truly the trip of a lifetime. Whatever words or photos... read more

To be honest, I’d never heard of Kimkim, coast to coast adventures, or Randall. This made me a little bit wary of sending over a few thousand pounds and just assuming it would all be ok. Randall seemed very nice over email and we were keen to support local business in the country were visiting rather than some massive tour company, so we took the plunge.

I really didn’t need to worry at all.

We’ve had a stunning time in Costa Rica - truly the trip of a lifetime. Whatever words or photos just don’t do it justice so I won’t even try. What can be said for definite is that I’d totally trust Kimkim again and, above all Randall is a total legend who sorted everything out to perfection. All the cogs and wheels that needed to turn at the same time did like clockwork and it’s all gone without a hitch. We were met at the chaotic airport after a gruelling 10 hr flight with 2 tired kids, by a lovely friendly guy who got us to our hotel. The next day we started the 3 day tour of a lifetime to Tortuguero National Park, just as Randall had recommended, it was one of those life moments to never be forgotten - the moment lasted 3 days though.

Everywhere Randall has booked for us was expecting us and we just had to get ourselves to the agreed place to find everything ready, and taken care of for us. We found ourselves on the best trips with the best guides while others struggled in the heat.

It’s hard to know what else to say, other than Randall totally made this holiday, I can’t recommend him highly enough and if we come back, and we’d very much like to, I know who to get in touch with.

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Andy,

I really appreciate your comments and the review about the whole process, since the first day that you contacted kimkim to this day. It is very moving to read your review Andy.

We thank you for trusting us and for giving us the opportunity to organize your family vacation. I will certainly be more than happy to welcome you again in our country and design a new adventure in this tinny but diverse paradise.

All the best to you and your family and I hope you have a nice flight back home tomorrow...see you soon and Pura Vida for visiting us!

Randall

Ed

Nature and adventure tour, Costa Rica - Jul 26 - Aug 7, 2018

Traveler: Ed G. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

We had a truly amazing time in Costa Rica. Sylvia organised everything so well. It's hard to know what the highlights were as there was so much which was just fantastic, but here are some that stick most in our memory:

• The first very rainy boat trip through the rainforest to Laguna Lodge, with Clarence taking good care of us throughout.
• The butterfly garden at the back of the Selva Tropical restaurant
• Witnessing a giant turtle laying her eggs (so many of them)
• Mauricio the driver... read more

We had a truly amazing time in Costa Rica. Sylvia organised everything so well. It's hard to know what the highlights were as there was so much which was just fantastic, but here are some that stick most in our memory:

• The first very rainy boat trip through the rainforest to Laguna Lodge, with Clarence taking good care of us throughout.
• The butterfly garden at the back of the Selva Tropical restaurant
• Witnessing a giant turtle laying her eggs (so many of them)
• Mauricio the driver stopping the car to show us a toucan on a tree beside the road
• The sunset view of Arenal, with rainbow, from the amazing Tabacon Springs where we also enjoyed a very good supper
• Swimming in the river at the bottom of the waterfall at Arenal
• The hilarious chocolate-making lesson
• Everything about Monteverde - the night walk and Sky Trek/zip-lining day particularly. It's a very special place. We had a nice meal at the popular Tree House in Santa Elena if you need a recommendation for anyone else (although some other tourists spoke highly of Morpho which has just opened up a new restaurant slightly out of the centre).
• Stopping to see the crocodiles under the bridge on the way to Manuel Antonio
• The Costa Verde hotel at Manuel Antonio which was fantastic in every way. What a view for breakfast! Their restaurants across the road were great too.
• Iguana Tours were brilliant at Manuel Antonio. They seem to really enjoy what they do. Andrey was our guide in Manuel Antonio National Park and JJ led the rafting expedition. We also went on a boat trip with Iguana.They own their own smallish catamaran and looked after us really well. Good food. Live banjo music. And we even saw whales.

Sylvia worked with us to create a perfect trip that met our specific requests and budget. She was very responsive and checked in with us before the trip and a couple of times during it. Our flight in was delayed by 14 hours and Sylvia rearranged pick-up and transfers from the airport with no fuss.

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hola Ed!
I am so glad that you had a great family vacation and that it fullfilled your trip expectations!
Your comments are the best reward to continue in the travel business creating memorable moments!
Pura Vida!

Ioana

Costa rica national parks adventure - 14 days, Costa Rica - Jul 1 - Jul 18, 2018

Traveler: Ioana T. - Local specialist: John Rabenau

We had a wonderful 18 day vacation thanks to John and his great organization of our trip. This was our first visit to Costa Rica and we experienced a bit of everything - diving, visiting rainforest parks, zipline, white water rafting, horse back riding. Communication with John was very fast and efficient--both when planning the trip as well as throughout our itinerary. He booked for us places that matched very well our travelling & vacation style. I would highly recommend using the services of his company when planning Costa Rica vacation.

Michelle

7 day mother/son trip in costa rica, Costa Rica - Jun 10 - Jun 17, 2018

Traveler: Michelle D. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

We had a wonderful trip, my son LOVED the zip line and the horseback riding. We also booked a chocolate tour in La Fortuna, and a naturalist-led tour of the rainforest in Manuel Antonio. All of the hotels were great, in perfect locations. I was a single mom traveling with my 9 year old son, and I felt safe the entire time. Thank you for setting everything up for us, it will be a trip we never forget :)

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you Michelle for giving us the opportunity to welcome you and your son in our country and organize a vacation, that it makes me really happy to read, any of you will not forget...all the best and Pura Vida!! - Randall

Trip to costa rica, Costa Rica - May 21 - May 26, 2018

Traveler: gaelle v. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

Amazing trip ! Everything was perfect!
Good hotels selection .
Thanks a lot

Gaelle

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you Gaelle and glad to know that you liked the hotels included in your trip plan!
Kind regards,
Sylvia

Trip to costa rica, Costa Rica - May 21 - May 26, 2018

Traveler: Bernard i. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

Everything made by Sylvia was perfect there is nothing to say, perfect Is the word
I strongly recommend Sylvia for anything you want to plan in Costa Rica
thank you
Bernard

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you Bernard for your trip review and glad to know that you are satisfied with my services!
I spoke with Mauricio your driver and told me that you were able to enjoy a drink at Villa Caletas during sunset!
Hope that you can visit us again and explore other amazing destinations for a short escapade!
Best regards,
Sylvia

Costa rica highlights!, Costa Rica - Apr 14 - Apr 21, 2018

Traveler: Raj V. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

My girlfriend and I booked a week's vacation in Costa Rica through Sylvia. It was super easy and Sylvia customized a great trip for us! We flew into San Jose from Toronto on April 14 and spent time in 3 spots - San Jose, Arenal and Manuel Antonio. It was an amazing experience and I felt like we had 3 vacations in one! Everything including the transfers, hotels and excursions was organized and we just had to turn up! Our guides were all fun, knowledgeable and gave us an exciting and authentic... read more

My girlfriend and I booked a week's vacation in Costa Rica through Sylvia. It was super easy and Sylvia customized a great trip for us! We flew into San Jose from Toronto on April 14 and spent time in 3 spots - San Jose, Arenal and Manuel Antonio. It was an amazing experience and I felt like we had 3 vacations in one! Everything including the transfers, hotels and excursions was organized and we just had to turn up! Our guides were all fun, knowledgeable and gave us an exciting and authentic experience. Our transfers were generally private so trips were relaxing and we got a lot of history enroute.

The cultural city tour with Abelardo was fascinating. We really enjoyed the National Museum and National Theatre. Arenal was gorgeous and our juniors suite has an incredible view of the volcano (thanks Sylvia). We had a little hiccup with the ziplining/hanging bridges excursion, and missed our transfer. Sylvia and Kimkim stepped up and covered the taxi to get us there and we had an awesome day. The intense hike trekking through the rainforest down the crater of an extinct volcano was incredible. The crater was heavily forested and had 3 lagoons in it. I swam in 2 of them and was the only person in the water! It felt like we had the whole place to ourselves! This was finished off with a traditional lunch at a Costa Rican family's home with spectacular views of the rainforest. Our guide Andreas was amazing and pointed out wildlife as we went along.

Manuel Antonio was another incredible place with beautiful beaches and a national park teeming with wildlife. The tour we had in the park was truly amazing. We saw so much wildlife. We stayed in a hotel called Si Como No - a beautiful property was many rooms set in the hillside. Our balcony had an ocean and rainforest view (thanks again for this booking Sylvia!)

The vacation was capped off with a private tour of a coffee plantation - yet another highlight! There's lots more to tell, but you're gonna have to discover Costa Rica yourself.

This was one of the best vacations I've ever had, and I've travelled extensively. I would recommend both Costa Rica and Kimkim! Special thanks to Sylvia for arranging this fabulous vacation!

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hola Raj!
Thank you so much for your kind message and happy to learn that you felt like if you had enjoyed 3 vacations in one! Also, for sharing your pictures and that you were pleased with hotels suggested !
Hope that you can visit us in a near future and explore other destinations!
Wishing you a nice afternoon!

Pura Vida!!

Sylvia

Costa rica surfing adventure, Costa Rica - Mar 30 - Apr 10, 2018

Traveler: Jamie O. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

Great trip! Thanks for the change in transportation to Tamarindo as the ride was awesome with the forst half hour on the beach and the most of the rest on backroads thru the countryside. On reflection i would have stayed an extra day at Flor Blanca versus goign to Tamarindo which was too touristy for me but great for my 16 year old. Thanks for your help!

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hola Jamie!
Happy to learn that you had a great surfing adventure in Costa Rica with your son and that he liked Tamarindo for more surfing!! Flor Blanca is a great resort and I knew that you will love it when I proposed it to you!

You have to come back to explore Costa Rica and explore other destinations such as the Arenal Volcano area and why not surfing down on the Caribbean coast!

Wishing you a great day!

Kind regards,

Sylvia

Christie

Classic costa rica: 7-day self-drive tour, Costa Rica - Mar 30 - Apr 6, 2018

Traveler: Christie C. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

Sylvia was very patient and help us a lot with the tour. We had a great time and will use the service again in the future.

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hola Christie!
Thank you for your trip review and glad to learn that you had a great time in Costa Rica!
Hope that you can come back soon and explore another exciting destinations that you missed this time!
Kind regards,
Sylvia

Federica

Nature and adventure , Costa Rica - Mar 8 - Mar 23, 2018

Traveler: Federica M. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

We have recently returned from two weeks in Costa Rica and we loved it!
From day one the communication with Randall was amazing. He got back to all of my messages within hours. His speed and kind way were really helpful. We booked the trip a few months ahead and Randall kept in touch with us leading up to it, a nice touch. 

When we arrived in Costa Rica, again everything was very well organised and Randall always kept us up to date with those couple of minor changes in flights or pick up... read more

We have recently returned from two weeks in Costa Rica and we loved it!
From day one the communication with Randall was amazing. He got back to all of my messages within hours. His speed and kind way were really helpful. We booked the trip a few months ahead and Randall kept in touch with us leading up to it, a nice touch. 

When we arrived in Costa Rica, again everything was very well organised and Randall always kept us up to date with those couple of minor changes in flights or pick up times we encountered. Nothing ever seemed an inconvenience for him and it was great to know I could message him if needed.

In terms of the holiday itself, the places we visited were beautiful. Cloud forest, jungle, Pacific and Atlantic coasts. Lots of animals and activities everywhere plus time to relax. The holiday really ticked all the boxes.

Costa Rica is a stunning country and the way of life there is something I have taken home with me.. Pura Vida!!

 

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Federica,

I want to thank you so much your feedback about the trip and for sharing your experience, it really makes me so happy that you and James have enjoyed the arrangements that we did for your vacation, I just hope to have the chance to welcome you again in a future in my country and meet you in person this time.

Greetings from Costa Rica & Pura Vida!!! :)

Randall

Stephen

Best of costa rica in 7 days: explore jungles, volcanoes and beaches, Costa Rica - Mar 3 - Mar 10, 2018

Traveler: Stephen C. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

I would wholeheartedly recommend kim kim and particularly Sylvia Durado.
My flight over to Costa Rica was delayed due to adverse weather conditions. Sylvia was a lifesaver, altering my booking accordingly. No stress, no hassle.
When i finally got to Costa Rica, everything was seamless!
I had an amazing trip and I cant wait to return!!

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hola Stephen!
Thank you for your nice review and glad to know that you had a great trip in Costa Rica!
I hope that you can come back soon , so you can explore the exhuberant Tortuguero that you missed due to your flight cancellation!
Pura Vida!!

Gayle

Costa rica, Costa Rica - Mar 5 - Mar 21, 2018

Traveler: Gayle M. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

A great time was had in a wonderful country. We travelled from San Jose to Tortuguero national park where all arranged tour were perfect. The lodge we stayed in was great with good food. From there we were transferred to Arenal where the accommodation was wonderful and all tours again were perfect. From there we went to Monteverde with swinging bridge and night walk tours and again it went perfectly. We then went to Playa Hermosa for our final 5 nights and had a lovely time relaxing in... read more

A great time was had in a wonderful country. We travelled from San Jose to Tortuguero national park where all arranged tour were perfect. The lodge we stayed in was great with good food. From there we were transferred to Arenal where the accommodation was wonderful and all tours again were perfect. From there we went to Monteverde with swinging bridge and night walk tours and again it went perfectly. We then went to Playa Hermosa for our final 5 nights and had a lovely time relaxing in our hotel which was right on the beach. Couldn’t fault the wonderful job Sylvia did organising this trip everything ran extremely smoothly. Would highly recommend.

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hola Gayle!
Thank you so much for your great travel review and glad to learn that you liked my suggested hotels and activities, and that everything runned smoothly during your stay in Costa Rica!
Hope that you can come back in a near future and explore other amazing destinations that will be awaiting for you!
Pura Vida

Trip to costa rica, Costa Rica - Mar 13 - Mar 20, 2018

Traveler: Debra H. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

Costa Rica is a beautiful country with extremely welcoming and genuinely nice people. Overall we had a nice vacation in Costa Rica but mostly because we were able to roll with the things we found disappointing. We found that all the tours/adventures booked for us by Randall were excellent. The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and the tours/adventures themselves were well executed. The guides were always on time and went out of their way to be welcoming.

The accommodations were from... read more

Costa Rica is a beautiful country with extremely welcoming and genuinely nice people. Overall we had a nice vacation in Costa Rica but mostly because we were able to roll with the things we found disappointing. We found that all the tours/adventures booked for us by Randall were excellent. The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and the tours/adventures themselves were well executed. The guides were always on time and went out of their way to be welcoming.

The accommodations were from OK to terrible. The Country Inn in San Jose was fine. There was no real restaurant to have dinner at night. The casino next door that did have dinner, was not an appropriate place to have my young son visit.

The hotel in La Fortuna, was serviceable. We did not enjoy the bunkhouse feel of the room. Although the grounds were nice, the hotel room was just ok. Again, there was no restaurant for dinner and we had to walk to town in the dark when we arrived, not knowing where we were going.

Finally, the hotel in Puerto Viejo, the Cariblue, was terrible. Even though we switched rooms, the second room had roaches, had a shower that didn't drain well, curtains that didn't provide privacy and was generally built with old shoddy materials. It was really depressing. And although it had views of the ocean, they were across a busy road with loud motorcycles, construction trucks and other vehicles. It was very loud all night. We did call Coast to Coast about our disappointment, but nothing was done. We felt trapped and frustrated.

I have to say that in my dealings with Randall prior to our trip, I felt he tried very hard to meet our expectations for our trip. However, we obviously were not on the same page (with him or Kim Kim) regarding what I wanted for our vacation in terms of accommodations and beach feel. We expected to stay at much higher quality hotels, like at the Tabacon where we enjoyed the hot springs. And, the Caribbean side was not what I was looking for during the "beach" portion of our vacation. We found the Caribbean much more suited to the "surfer" crowd and was not appropriate for the family vacation we wanted. It was a real party scene and not the tranquil wide open beaches we were hoping to relax on. Most of our tour guides told us that that would be found on the Pacific side. We were really upset that we spent most of our time on the Caribbean. Also we also did not realize that we would be in a van for over 12 hours (at least 4 hours through a congested commercial area that was not very attractive) getting from one location to another. I wished that had been made clear.

In terms of our dealings with Coast to Coast in Costa Rica, I have mixed reviews. Our driver, Jose, was always on time, was very knowledgeable and stopped at restaurants he knew along the way for lunch/snacks. We really appreciated that. However, we did not enjoy being in his older, loud van for 8 hours. We also found him to be an aggressive driver and he seemed upset when we told him to be more careful. We also found him moody, especially after the trip back to San Jose, after we had complained about our hotel to Randall. This made for an unpleasant ride back.

I put the blame on Kim Kim, Coast to Coast and myself for not discerning or appropriately communicating what we were getting/asking for. You should let your customers know that you provide middle of the road accommodations for a middle market. I will not recommend any of your companies to my friends.

Debra Hernandez

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Debra,

I would like to thank you so much for your comments. As I always say, it is quite important to us to receive completely honest feedback.

In Costa Rica, the fortunes of hotels can change very quickly and when we receive complaints, we like to act quickly. We will certainly be looking into making a new site inspection, mainly to the hotel Cariblue on the Caribbean coast, which is ranked within the best 10 hotels in that area and I always try to offer trips that are perfectly... read more

Hi Debra,

I would like to thank you so much for your comments. As I always say, it is quite important to us to receive completely honest feedback.

In Costa Rica, the fortunes of hotels can change very quickly and when we receive complaints, we like to act quickly. We will certainly be looking into making a new site inspection, mainly to the hotel Cariblue on the Caribbean coast, which is ranked within the best 10 hotels in that area and I always try to offer trips that are perfectly tailored to my travelers interests, and as you very much wanted to experience the Afro-Caribbean culture of Puerto Viejo, I made sure to include it in your trip. However, I apologize for not setting more realistic expectations for the limited variety of hotels available in this lesser-known part of the country. While clean and safe, there are other areas in Costa Rica that would have better suited your accommodation and beach preferences had our communication been clearer on what your expectations were. Moving forward I will be sure to educate my travellers on this subject so we can both be sure the destinations perfectly suit their travel styles.

As you said, perhaps the Pacific coast would be a better area for you to stay and I mentioned that to your husband when he called us the day that you arrived in Puerto Viejo, for an obvious reason, we could not take you that day from one coast to the other which was the only option that I think you would be happy to.

As far as the driver from Arenal at 8:00 am to the Caribbean coast, you had included that day a 2- hours tour in the middle to the Sloth Sanctuary, that is the reason why you arrived at the Caribbean coast about 4:30 pm, 8 hours and a half after you were picked up in Arenal

I am very sorry to hear about the bad feeling that you have at the end of the trip because the most important thing to me is to create unforgettable vacations for people who visit us. We will take your comments very seriously as we are a small company but one that prides itself on the service we offer and we can only improve on this with feedback from clients.

Best regards,
Randall

Best of costa rica in 7 days: explore jungles, volcanoes and beaches, Costa Rica - Feb 21 - Feb 27, 2018

Traveler: SHENG L. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

Randall has been very responsible in tailoring our tour according to my request, with many back and forth. It’s been a great pleasure to work with him on putting the tour together.

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Sheng,

Thank you so much for your review, it makes me so happy that you felt satisfied with the service received from me along this process and that at the end, you and your parents had a nice experience during your visit to my country, that was my main goal.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in a near future on a new adventure.

Best,
Randall

Siteseeing and hiking most of costa rica, Costa Rica - Feb 10 - Feb 24, 2018

Traveler: Bernie M. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

Accomodation at Montechiari was very nice and the people were friendly with one exception. Management handled the exception very well.
The hike into the Hule Lagoon was great, Andre was an excellent guide.
He did at times seem to be in a bit of a rush. It was scheduled to be a four hour hike and we completed in just over three hours.
The pace was manageable but not leisurely. It was just the two of us, great.
The host family at the farm were wonderful and the food was awesome.
The mountain... read more

Accomodation at Montechiari was very nice and the people were friendly with one exception. Management handled the exception very well.
The hike into the Hule Lagoon was great, Andre was an excellent guide.
He did at times seem to be in a bit of a rush. It was scheduled to be a four hour hike and we completed in just over three hours.
The pace was manageable but not leisurely. It was just the two of us, great.
The host family at the farm were wonderful and the food was awesome.
The mountain biking was fun but we didn't get to see much and was not at the Volcano as expected. We rode out 16Km and stopped at the lake and were offered to ride back over the same route. We declined. Home by 10:20. It was a private tour with just the two of us, nice.
The guides were very nice , especially Brian who was in training.
The Tabacon Hotsprings was nice. The meal was buffet style but the food was excellent.
The guided tour at Manuel Antonio was a great experience overall and the guide was very knowledgeable. He also managed to get us out for lunch (I am diabetic) and back infor a swim on the same ticket .This was a large group of around 16 people so a bit unwieldy.
We had a private tour of Quepos and the Kids Saving the Rainforest with our guide William.
William was an excellent guide, very knowledgeable. Overall Iguana tours was excellent.
The accomodation at Tabulia Tree Hotel was quite nice and we were treated well.
The kayaking and snorkling was fun with an excellent guide and nice lunch afterward.
Monteverde was beautiful and the Fonda Vella Hotel was excellent. I believe we received a room upgrade as it was a very nice separate cabin.
The hanging bridges tour was very pretty views with a knowledgeable naturalist guide and some interesting sightings.
The coffee, cacao and sugar tour was enjoyable and informative.
Bosque del Mar at Playa Hermosa was very relaxing and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
A relaxing and enjoyable wind down.
The evening cruise was fun with a nice group of people. The snorkelling was a disappointment as we saw very little.
The trip was on a sailboat (OK but a catamaran was advertised.

Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Good morning Bernie & Kathleen!

Greetings from sunny Costa Rica!

We appreciate taking your time in sending a detailed trip review. This will help us to check with our suppliers and improve my services as travel designer!

I am happy to learn that you liked the hotels where you stayed, considering that this was a last minute request when hotels were fully booked due to the high season!

Bernie, I was not aware that you are diabetic, as in advance we inform our suppliers so they can take... read more

Good morning Bernie & Kathleen!

Greetings from sunny Costa Rica!

We appreciate taking your time in sending a detailed trip review. This will help us to check with our suppliers and improve my services as travel designer!

I am happy to learn that you liked the hotels where you stayed, considering that this was a last minute request when hotels were fully booked due to the high season!

Bernie, I was not aware that you are diabetic, as in advance we inform our suppliers so they can take special attention on your meals and special requirements.

We will speak with Ecoterra regarding your hike to the Hule Lagoon and biking experience and review the descriptions in the itineary that I designed for you! My apologies that the biking experience was not what you had expected!

But in overall, what I understood is that you enjoyed all the activities that were recommended.

In regards to the evening cruise, our prefered supplier which is Marlin del Rey was not available on the dates that you were staying at Bosque del Mar, therefore we booked Kuna Vela which honestly I preferred as they handle smaller groups than the Catamaran with groups are more than 40 passengers. It was my fault not telling you that it was a sailboat not a catamaran! Snorkeling is unpredictable as depends on visibility of the day of the tour!

Thank you for choosing kim kim and Horizontes and I hope that you can visit us again in a near future and explore other destinations such as the exhuberant rainforest of Tortuguero, the amazing beaches at our southern Caribbean Coast and the remote Corcovado with time to go snorkeling at Caño Island which is the best diving site in the country!

Wishing you a nice day!

All my best,

Sylvia

Hughes parkes costa rica, Costa Rica - Jan 8 - Jan 23, 2018

Traveler: Lauren H. - Local specialist: Mariana Monestel

Kimkim organised a 16 day self drive tour of Costa Rica for my family (my, my partner, our kids 5yrs, 8yrs, 11yrs and my mum). They were extremely prompt, very responsive and personal throughout the planning. They showed great attention to detail regarding our car seats, wifi and GPS. Fabulous accommodation everywhere. We had a wonderful time. It was great to have that extra flexibility a package tour cant provide.
Marco and the team are Evergreen Lodge in Tortuguero were an absolute... read more

Kimkim organised a 16 day self drive tour of Costa Rica for my family (my, my partner, our kids 5yrs, 8yrs, 11yrs and my mum). They were extremely prompt, very responsive and personal throughout the planning. They showed great attention to detail regarding our car seats, wifi and GPS. Fabulous accommodation everywhere. We had a wonderful time. It was great to have that extra flexibility a package tour cant provide.
Marco and the team are Evergreen Lodge in Tortuguero were an absolute highlight. We loved the whole immersive experience of living on the rivers and in the jungle.
I was really glad we drove down the Carribean Coast. El Encanto Inn was great. Dinner at Sonja's home restaurant was gorgeous. We walked to a great Calypso night from the hotel and El Encanto organised all our tours. Luis escorted us to a Medicinal and Chocolate Farm in the Bri Bri reservation which was wonderful. The Jaguar Rescue Centre was also fabulous, thanks to our guide Carlotta. Puerto Viejo was a wonderful swimming beach and we narrowly missed a world surf comp. Playa Negro was sadly quite polluted but it was a great community to walk amongst. We saw several sloths up close from the road.
The drive to Sarapiqui was a big one. The Rain Forest Lodge was a bit of a let down with its Museum closed and Gallery never opened. It seemed to cater for large bus groups and wasnt quite our style. KimKim were right that we needed to stop somewhere closer than Arenal that night though so we were glad of somewhere to sleep.
Arenal Springs was luxurious. Their hot pools were a huge hit with the whole family. I wouldnt book a tour through the hotel though as they add a hefty surcharge.The local laundromat gave fabulous local advice and we had our own car. The road to El Castillo wasnt nearly as bad as the guide book says and we really enjoyed our visit to the Eco Zoo, meeting Victor and our guide Andrew. Victor's wildlife photography is stunning.
The Pacific Coast was much more commercial than I had hoped for but we were excited to see Turtles nesting there (we were out of season in Tortuguero). Pasa Tiempo was a great lodge with a fantastic shared living, dining, entertaining area. We were treated to love music and enjoyed the pool, reading and playing cards amongst others.
Monteverde and Manuel Antonio were both spectacular. It was really worth saving our ziplining for the cloud forest. 60km per hour through a cloud was truly exhilarating. The guides at Selvatura were fantastic with our family.
If you have already been to Tortuguero you dont need a guide at Manuel Antontio. I was pleased we did it independently to allow the kids to travel at their own pace. Gorgeous beach. I'd never seen a raccoon before so that was exciting! Plaza Yara was gorgeous and Roger was a fabulous host who even gave us a wee gift on departure.
Trapp Family Country Lodge was a fabulous airport oasis. Definitely recommend over a chain hotel.
Thanks for everything Kim Kim we will definitely use you again.

Best of costa rica in 7 days: explore jungles, volcanoes and beaches, Costa Rica - Dec 29 - Jan 6, 2018

Traveler: Teresa K. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

We had a fabulous trip. I had asked for an active, adventurous itinerary, and that's exactly what we got. I'd have to say the highlight was river rafting, and camping on the river. It was gorgeous and fun and our guide Maurice was absolutely fabulous. He was a great guide on the river and fun companion, sharing lots of interesting things about the river, animals and Costa Rica. The food was excellent and the camp was comfortable, the rafting was exciting but we felt safe throughout.

The... read more

We had a fabulous trip. I had asked for an active, adventurous itinerary, and that's exactly what we got. I'd have to say the highlight was river rafting, and camping on the river. It was gorgeous and fun and our guide Maurice was absolutely fabulous. He was a great guide on the river and fun companion, sharing lots of interesting things about the river, animals and Costa Rica. The food was excellent and the camp was comfortable, the rafting was exciting but we felt safe throughout.

The trip to La Fortuna was easy, and our guide Roy for the hanging bridges and waterfall was great. We really appreciated that he wasn't in a rush and that we could take our time through the woods and enjoy. He had interesting information to share about all the animals we saw.

The ziplining was fun and enjoyed by all. It was great to have the woods all to ourselves, and was a good experience even in the rain.

The only glitch in our trip was the trip from Arenal to Quepos. Initially a vehicle that was too small for our group was sent, so we had to wait about 45 minutes for a 2nd vehicle. We all fit in the 2nd vehicle, but not by much - it was very cramped, and the driver was not smooth.

Our time on the coast was lovely - snorkeling was fun, and it was good to have a day on our own. We organized a night hike for ourselves which was also fun.

We reached out to Randall partway through the trip to change our hotel in San Jose for the return. The KC hotel was not in a neighborhood where we could easily walk to restaurants, and we got hassled a bit when we were out even though it was not late. He was very accomodating, booked us in the Sleep Inn which was perfect. We were able to walk to a nice restaurant for our final dinner in San Jose. I also appreciate that he was able to hold a spot on the tour for my husband, as he wasn't sure he'd be able to join us til just a couple of weeks before the trip. Overall he was very helpful and a pleasure to work with.

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Kristin,

I would like to thank you so much for your additional comments. It is very refreshing to have clients be completely honest and for the transfer from Arenal to Manuel Antonio, I am very sorry to hear about this. We will take your comments very seriously as we are a small company but one that prides itself on the service we offer and we can only improve on this with feedback from clients.

Many thanks. We hope you will come and visit us again in the future.

Best regards,
Randall