Nathalie Clavel

While discovering Colombia as a visitor, I fell in love with the country, its dynamism and the warmth of its people. I decided to come back to work and help travelers discover the wonders of Colombia and have the best experience in the country. There is so much to see and discover in this wonderful country, I am excited to share it with you and help you design the best program for your trip!

What places and activities do you specialize in?

"Discovering small colonial villages in Colombia, hiking in different natural places, discovering cities,..."

How did you get involved in travel?

"I actually love travelling and discovering new places, cultures and countries. I am always looking for new trips to organize and new places to visit. I am also good at organizing, I always loved to get involved in the organization of events and trip for the others. When I started to organize whole itinerant journeys for my friends or family, I realized I wanted to go further and help and advise everyone that needed to design and book their new adventures!"

Please share a unique travel experience you will never forget.

"I think the most significant travel experience for me was the discovery of the Coffee Region in Colombia. I was really amazed with this whole new World. The landscapes, the Fauna and Flora were all very different from all I knew until then. I felt that I was a child again, discovering a new world, meeting animals that I've never seen before and tasting fruit and other kind of food that I had no idea of the existence before.
This was even a more inmersive experience that I felt Colombian people were not very used to foreigners and tourists, and they were also amazed by the fact that there were things that they would see everyday and that I wouldn't even know it existed."

Featured trips & expertise

The Lost City - 5-Day Itinerary

Ciudad Perdida (or the "Lost City") is located in the heart of the Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta, a mountain range close to the Caribbean sea. Here, you’ll discover the past life of local indigenous people with their wooden houses and stone structures, including terraces and stairways.

The colorful streets of Cartagena

Cartagena Day Tours: City & Nature

In the morning, you'll follow the footsteps of famous pirates and discover the "Pearl of the Caribbean", a city rich in culture, diversity, exotic and heritage. Come evening, you'll journey to a local fishing village for a short canoe ride at sunset with great birdwatching as you're surrounded by nature.

The town of Villa de Leyva

Colombia's Central Andes and Coastal Tour - 9 days

After exploring the markets and culture of Bogota, head to the colonial town of Villa de Leyva, famous for its Salt Cathedral located 200 meters underground. Afterwards, enjoy the majestic views of Chicamocha Canyon before heading to Rosario Islands for a taste of the coast.

The lush coffee region of the Cocora Valley

Bogota, Cocora Valley, Medellin and Cartagena - 9 days

On this 9-day tour, you'll get to explore the historical and cultural side of Bogota before heading to the wax palm forests of the Cocora Valley. After spending some time on a local coffee plantation, head over to the beautiful city of Medellin, the home town of the famous Colombian artist, Fernando Botero. Finally, head north to the Pearl of the Caribbean, the colorful town of Cartagena.

Cartagena, Tayrona Park, Arrecife and Cabo San Juan - 9 days

Explore the beauty of Colombia's northern coast, from stunning Tayrona Parque to the colonial town of Cartagena. This 9-day itinerary starts and ends in Cartagena, with a variety of local activities including hiking, a visit to a coffee farm, touring through authentic local fishing villages and, of course, great salsa dancing.

Cartagena

Best of Cartagena - 5-Day Itinerary

Explore Cartagena’s colonial architecture by foot, partake in its rich culinary scene, and meet the local characters for an authentic glimpse into Colombia’s Caribbean culture. Cartagena’s old town is like an outdoor museum, whose stories will be told by an experienced local guide.

Recent trip reviews for Nathalie

Honeymoon!, Colombia - May 31 - Jun 7, 2017

Traveler: Ashlee H. - Local specialist: Nathalie Clavel

We enjoyed our activities. However, on two occasions our guide/driver arrived earlier than listed so they had to wait for us a bit. I hope they didn't mind! Also, the hotel for our beach excursion was not aware that we were to have access to a room for changing and leaving out items as described in our outline (so we were unable to do so). No big deal though.

Nathalie was very helpful and patient during the planning stages. She listed to what we wanted and was flexible with our requests. We enjoyed working with her!

The real colombia - 9-day cultural adventure, Colombia - May 12 - May 22, 2017

Traveler: Catherine L. - Local specialist: Nathalie Clavel

Nathalie was awesome and she gave us everything we asked for and the price was perfect!!! We had an awesome time and a lot of that was KimKim making all our arrangements!! It is so nice to get off a plane tired and just see s sign with your name on it!!! Love it!! And even my friends said we will use KimKim again for future travels!! Thank you so much for a great trip!!!

Colombian adventure from summit to river (9 days or 12 days), Colombia - May 1 - May 13, 2017

Traveler: Ralph A. - Local specialist: Nathalie Clavel

Suggest that the trip summary include the start times of tours.

Nathalie was great

Nathalie Clavel, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you Ralph, I hope to see you again in Colombia in the future!
Best regards,

A colombian escape, Colombia - Apr 29 - May 2, 2017

Traveler: Amelia d. - Local specialist: Nathalie Clavel

The events and activities we did were amazing and highly enjoyable. We were sad that Natalie was not available to help us or answer our questions while we were here. No one picked us up at the airport in Cali and the Calanoa transport was told the wrong time for our flight. Otherwise, Natalie was very helpful and we have had a great trip.

Nathalie Clavel, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Amelia,

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you had a great time and feel sorry for the transport. Although our driver was there on time and didn't see you. I don´t know what happened there. Do not hesitate to answer my last messages.

Hope you will come and visit more of Colombia in the future!
Best regards,

Week of relaxation and adventure, Colombia - Apr 8 - Apr 16, 2017

Traveler: Brian S. - Local specialist: Nathalie Clavel

It was fantastic and planned very well. We had a great time. My only comment would be more detail in the overall itinerary so we don't have to bounce around kimkim trying to find different pieces of information about each activity.

Nathalie Clavel, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Brian,

Thank you very much for your comments! We will indeed include the information you have been missing in the travel documents for next travelers.
I am glad you had a great time! Feel free to come back anytime.

Best regards,

Tour of bogota, tayrona park, bogota, Colombia - Apr 17 - Apr 20, 2017

Traveler: Nick J. - Local specialist: Nathalie Clavel

The hotel we stayed at in Santa Marta was not great. The lack of air conditioning was a big problem. Also our guide for the hike in Tayrona did not speak much English and was therefore not very helpful. Other than that, the trip was great!

Nathalie Clavel, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Nick,

Thank you for your comments. I did tell you during the organization that changing hotel for a cheaper one in Santa Marta would probably not please you in the end. I'll insist more for next clients!
Thank you for your comments that help us to keep improving our services!

I am glad you enjoyed Colombia, come back to visit whenever you want!
Best regards,

Medellin, cartagena, and somewhere with a beach without a lot of people, Colombia - Mar 10 - Mar 19, 2017

Traveler: Michael S. - Local specialist: Nathalie Clavel

It was weird that I just got one travel agent, and that there was no choice at all -- an agent that ended up being good, if not perfect. I felt there was no particular reason I got this agent as opposed to any other--why this person? What was so great about them? What was special about who they were, or why I they were the person who should plan my trip?

Communication could have been better. We went 3 days without hearing anything, and then found out that our itinerary needed changes. Trip was still amazing, but going through that was nerve racking.

Nathalie Clavel, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Michael,

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you had a great trip.

The organization was really right before departure and there was availibilities issues in Cartagena, this is why I might have found better to close everything before saying anything that would have changed later on, as rooms were getting booked really quick.

I hope you keep great memories of Colombia!
Best regards,

Colombia caribe, Colombia - Mar 7 - Mar 22, 2017

Traveler: Jim L. - Local specialist: Nathalie Clavel

We were very pleased with our experience in Cartagena and Isla Mucura. We did not appreciate the difficulty of the 13.3-mile hike planned for our second day in Colombia. (For example, we did not know how long the hike would be. We had an estimate of how many hours in would last, but not of the difficulty.) We are in good shape, but this was a daunting scramble though and over boulders and with a 300-meter plus gain in altitude in a tropical jungle.
We were disappointed in the Casa Lina... read more

We were very pleased with our experience in Cartagena and Isla Mucura. We did not appreciate the difficulty of the 13.3-mile hike planned for our second day in Colombia. (For example, we did not know how long the hike would be. We had an estimate of how many hours in would last, but not of the difficulty.) We are in good shape, but this was a daunting scramble though and over boulders and with a 300-meter plus gain in altitude in a tropical jungle.
We were disappointed in the Casa Lina Hotel in Palominos and in the Casa Amarilla Hotel in Mompox. The language barrier was high in both locations, the beds were uncomfortable and the staff were correct but not friendly.

We seemed to have difficulty understanding each other. When we needed help with a billing dispute (in Mompox) and in adjusting our itinerary (in Palominos), she was not readily available.
As in other aspects of the trip, we were to blame for some of this. We should have pursued more subjects before we left, regarding temperatures, hiking difficulties, sunscreen, etc. I was also disappointed when we were asked for full payment earlier than I expected.

Nathalie Clavel, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Jim,

Thank you for your comments.
In the first program I have sent to you I did not included the hike to the Pueblito because it is a little hard. After that, I remember talking with you over the phone about the trek in the Tayrona Park and telling you that it would be difficult but you told me that it would be ok and you seemed to really want to go to Pueblito so I included it in the program. I will warn more carefully the next travelers about this hike. I am sorry you had trouble... read more

Hello Jim,

Thank you for your comments.
In the first program I have sent to you I did not included the hike to the Pueblito because it is a little hard. After that, I remember talking with you over the phone about the trek in the Tayrona Park and telling you that it would be difficult but you told me that it would be ok and you seemed to really want to go to Pueblito so I included it in the program. I will warn more carefully the next travelers about this hike. I am sorry you had trouble that day.

I tried to call you several time during the trip to make sure everything was going ok, I have not been aware about the bill in Mompox, I will check with you what happened.
There was a little misunderstanding about the change for the trek because I thought you didn´t want to spend the night overthere and come back to Santa Marta directly, but once things were clear, I believe I made the necessary calls so it would be arranged quickly, the trek begenning the very next day.

I am surprised about the payment. You can pay for a downpayment and then pay the full amount one month before departure. The option didn´t appear when you paid? you should have told me. I thought you paid the total amount directly because you wanted to.
I am also surprised about the hotels in Palomino and Mompox, it is the first time we hear that.

I hope you had a great time in Colombia in spite of all and that you keep wonderful memories and discovered many things!

I keep at your entire disposal would you need anything in the future,
Best regards,

Nathalie

Honeymoon, Colombia - Feb 16 - Feb 27, 2017

Traveler: Chris B. - Local specialist: Nathalie Clavel

I can't say enough what a pleasure it was working with these folks for our trip into the Amazon for our honeymoon. From the time I made the initial contact with KimKim until the end of our adventure, we felt like we were the only concern they had. We worked with Nathalie on the front end for lining the trip up and making sure we had everything we needed. She was very thorough and polite, and kept in excellent contact with me prior to the trip.
Once we arrived at the airport in Leticia we... read more

I can't say enough what a pleasure it was working with these folks for our trip into the Amazon for our honeymoon. From the time I made the initial contact with KimKim until the end of our adventure, we felt like we were the only concern they had. We worked with Nathalie on the front end for lining the trip up and making sure we had everything we needed. She was very thorough and polite, and kept in excellent contact with me prior to the trip.
Once we arrived at the airport in Leticia we waited a few minutes for our ride to show up and then were taken straight down to the office to get ready for our 4 day trek into the Amazon jungle! Thats where we met with our guide Ramiro, were promptly issued some rubber muck boots, and went over some necessities for our trip. We didn't bring enough mosquito repellent or rain ponchos, so we made a quick stop at the store to grab some and then had a nice lunch with our guide at a restaurant there in town. Once we were ready to roll, we hopped in a cab and were driven about 20 minutes outta town, where we got out and the 3 of us began walking through the jungle. Immediately I was feeling grateful that they gave us the rubber boots and told us to grab more Deet!! We eventually started fondly calling the bug repellent "Amazonian Cologne". It worked great though and really as long as we kept some on, the mosquitoes really didn't bother us that much.
We walked for maybe a couple hours into the jungle to a Maloka and met with some of the native people there working on the plantation. Our guide Ramiro knew the people well and immediately introduced us and explained what they were working on. We had some supper and just hung out for a little bit until it got dark. Then we went for a hike into the jungle to look at the nocturnal wildlife, which was really awesome to see everything!! We saw all kinds of cool stuff! That night we met with the Shaman and shared his Mumbai. We had a good talk with him and learned a bit about their culture, which we found very interesting!
The next day we woke up & had breakfast & then hiked for several hours through the jungle to a remote Lodge where we showered & relaxed for awhile. After supper we hiked for about 15 minutes to a huge tree where we repelled UP about 100 feet to a big platform just above the jungle canopy. Ramiro was given instructions by the company to leave us alone in the tree house for a few hours, since it was our honeymoon, so he set us up with some rose petals, grapes & chocolates, and a bottle of champagne, and then they went back to the lodge for a few hours so we could have some privacy ;) The next morning we woke up to see the sun rise over the jungle, zip lined out of that tree into another tree platform, and repelled down to the ground. What an experience! We hiked for a couple hours to the river and boarded some kayaks and took off paddling. It was high water season so the river was swollen up and into the jungle so we had a lot to look at from the kayaks. We paddled a couple hours and finally made it across a big lake to another Lodge where we ate lunch and met our boat captain. The last leg of our journey was in a small boat where we got to see a bunch more wildlife, including sloths, toucans, monkeys, pink dolphins, grey dolphins, green parrots, and piranhas! We fished for and caught piranhas and took them back to the lodge where they cooked them for us! They were great! We drank some cachacas with the folks who run the lodge and then went off to bed. The next day we boarded the boat again and made our way back to Leticia to conclude our trip.
All in all I would say our Amazon jungle experience was truly amazing! The people that we met were all so nice, courteous, and respectful, and you could tell they sincerely appreciated our business. We feel that we made lifelong friends with our guide Ramiro, and hope to stay in contact with him through Facebook. He had everything lined out perfectly and even cooked most of the food we ate on the trip! What seemed like an amazing trip to us was literally just another day to him. He has done hundreds if not thousands of those trips and we felt safe the entire time.
I would highly recommend this company for your trip into the Amazon. They did a great job for us and was worth every dollar we spent on it!!! A+

Nathalie Clavel, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Chris!

Thank you again for your comments! You are welcome back to Colombia anytime!

Best regards,
Nathalie

Colombia,road trip, Colombia - Mar 3 - Mar 8, 2017

Traveler: Ed B. - Local specialist: Nathalie Clavel

The over all experience and final results were good but communication was frustrating. You do everything by internet which is fine for a young generation but for a senior generation this impersonal approach is difficult and when in transit usually without wi fi availability it becomes challenging.
Unfortunately our contact left your company at a critical time although both girls were excellent.
The overall plan was generic but the notification of pick ups was and van drivers was last... read more

The over all experience and final results were good but communication was frustrating. You do everything by internet which is fine for a young generation but for a senior generation this impersonal approach is difficult and when in transit usually without wi fi availability it becomes challenging.
Unfortunately our contact left your company at a critical time although both girls were excellent.
The overall plan was generic but the notification of pick ups was and van drivers was last minute.
The local transport companies and drivers you contracted were outstanding punctual and polite. In our party 3 did not speak any Spanish and I fluent in both ended doing all the translating and acting as a guide not a big deal but if you are going to expand tourists from North America you should try to get ones with a little English
From Pasto to Cali travel company Tierra y Cielo as well as driver Henry Patoja and guide in Medellin Maria Elena Marín were A1. Travel companies Cali Salento and salento Medellin I give a A. English guide in Salento was charming but English very
Your hotel choices Le park in Medellin was good and ideally situated and Hacienda Cairo was excellent and highly recommended
As a born Colombian living in Canada i was happy to show my wife and friends Colombia in a positive way and very happy with your arrangements
Over Xmas I now intend bringing my children and grand children for a two week visit and hope we can work together again.

Pick up info at each point was lat minute all else was well
Nathalie and katheryn Caicedo were good

Nathalie Clavel, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Edgar, and thank you for your comments!

I am glad you had a great time with the English-speaking guides and that you enjoyed the chosen hotels!
Although we provide you with the schedule of pick-ups before your arrival to Colombia, we do not usually provide the exact information of the vehicule, as it can vary slightly, depending on the availibility of the driver. We did our best to give you the information as soon as we got it.

I am really glad you had a great time showing your... read more

Hello Edgar, and thank you for your comments!

I am glad you had a great time with the English-speaking guides and that you enjoyed the chosen hotels!
Although we provide you with the schedule of pick-ups before your arrival to Colombia, we do not usually provide the exact information of the vehicule, as it can vary slightly, depending on the availibility of the driver. We did our best to give you the information as soon as we got it.

I am really glad you had a great time showing your country to your wife and friends, and I will be happy to help you again for your next trip with your children and grandchildren!

I am looking forward to talk to you again soon!
Best regards,

9 day tour of colombia: tayrona park, cartagena, rosario islands, Colombia - Jan 20 - Jan 29, 2017

Traveler: Susan M. - Local specialist: Nathalie Clavel

Nathalie was the best. We had her redo our itinerary maybe a dozen times and consistently received prompt responses and a ton of help. Nathalie even helped us with arrangements not booked through her, like finding tickets for a football game in Medellin. Within the first ten minutes of arriving to our first destination, Nathalie called us to make sure we were okay. Everything about her service exceeded our expectations.

Nathalie Clavel, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you for your comments Susan!
It was a pleasure to organize this trip for you, I am glad you enjoyed it and hope you will come back to see more of Colombia!

The lost city trek, Colombia - Jan 3 - Jan 7, 2017

Traveler: Clara S. - Local specialist: Nathalie Clavel

It was chaotic from the get go

she was really lovely, however a few things could have more clear

Nathalie Clavel, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Clara,

After revising everything, I haven´t heard from you. I hope you keep good memories of the Ciudad Perdida after all, and that you received the compensation for these exceptionnal circumstances.

Best regards,
Nathalie

Colombia overview, Colombia - Dec 4 - Dec 11, 2016

Traveler: Howard B. - Local specialist: Nathalie Clavel

Nathalie was fantastic in helping me plan my trip in such short notice (4 days prior to travel). All of my accommodations were in the heart of each city, and had an authentic local feel to them (Just what I asked for). Nathalie also sent me plenty of restaurant recommendations, and additional activities we could take advantage of on our free time. She kept in touch with me throughout the trip and she went above and beyond to quickly resolve a minor issue I had.
Overall great, despite one of... read more

Nathalie was fantastic in helping me plan my trip in such short notice (4 days prior to travel). All of my accommodations were in the heart of each city, and had an authentic local feel to them (Just what I asked for). Nathalie also sent me plenty of restaurant recommendations, and additional activities we could take advantage of on our free time. She kept in touch with me throughout the trip and she went above and beyond to quickly resolve a minor issue I had.
Overall great, despite one of the guides not showing up (he had the times switched), but that was resolved by Nathalie, the guides that showed up were awesome, their historical knowledge in Bogota, and the 2 in Villa de Leyva, was phenomenal. The people (guides, drivers, and locals) were extraordinarily friendly, and open to sharing their customs.

If I could change one thing it would have been longer planning time (not on you), because I would have altered my itinerary slightly to avoid a lot of movement from town to town, probably returned from Villa de Leyva to Bogota rather than go to Barichara just to avoid the transportation time, and likely headed to Cartagena a day earlier since it was a place I needed more time at. Nothing major, overall great support by Nathalie, and a fantastic trip.

Thanks, looking forward to using your services again.

Regards,

Howard

She was very helpful in such short notice and provided great recommendations. She resolved a minor issue and compensated the hiccup with a great dinner in Cartagena. Fantastic service, and fully recommend her.

Nathalie Clavel, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Howard,

Thank you so much for your comments. I will take them into account for the organization of next trips. I am glad you enjoyed your trip! Do not hesitate to contact me again if you want to visit more of Colombia!

Thank you,

Best regards,

Nathalie

1445 messages
active 19 mins ago