2470 messages
active 3 mins ago

Sotiria Prodromiti

While visiting Iceland, I fell in love with this very unique country. The wilderness of the landscape added to the welcoming people make it easy to love it and want to return again and again.
I therefore decided to relocate to Reykjavik and am very proud and happy to say that I have since then helped many guests to see Iceland and experience it the way we intend it here at Iceland Unlimited, independently and at their own pace.

I find it very hard to tell what part of Iceland I prefer, but I would say I am always amazed by the North and its unique features and have a very special place in my heart for the small colourful capital, Reykjavik.

What places and activities do you specialize in?

"I specialize in customized holidays all over Iceland, mostly for our self drive tours but also guided. I have myself experienced many of the day tours our guests are interested in and would always recommend a horse riding tour, zodiac or amphibian boat tour at the glacier lagoon and ice caving! "

How did you get involved in travel?

"Travelling started as a personal interest for me and coming from a family that was always keen on providing me with new experiences, I have had a desire to see as much of our world as possible since I was very young. My studies could not have been related to anything other than tourism and I am very happy to have turned my personal passion into my everyday life by working at Iceland Unlimited and being in touch with people excited to travel and discover what Iceland has to offer. "

Please share a unique travel experience you will never forget.

"Cliche as it sounds, I can never forget the first time I saw the Northern Lights when I visited Iceland! I consider myself lucky because, although it was in Reykjavik, it was one of the most spectacular viewings I ve experienced until today. They seemed so close that I felt I could reach them with my hands! Since then, I have been determined to help my guests as much as possible to spot them. I think everyone travelling all the way to Iceland at the right (winter!) time, should get lucky enough to have this life time experience! "

Featured trips & expertise

Northern Lights & Snowboarding on Iceland's South Coast : 6 Days

Looking for an eventful winter vacation? The South Coast of Iceland is chock-full of fun winter activities, from glacier hiking to snowboarding, snowmobiling and more. If you're lucky, you'll have the chance to witness the unparalleled beauty of the Northern Lights that often grace the crisp Arctic sky. Here's our recommended way to spend the winter on Iceland's South Coast.

Highlights and Beyond: How to Spend 2 Weeks in Iceland

Glaciers, waterfalls, and wildlife like you've never seen: fourteen days is plenty of time to experience Iceland beyond what you'll find in any guidebook—both on and off the beaten path. Here are two itineraries that make the most of two weeks in the Land of Fire and Ice.

How to Spend 7 Days in Iceland

Iceland doesn't need a London, Paris, or Rome to fill any travel itinerary — budget, luxe, adventure, or otherwise. With no shortage of beautiful landscapes, untamed wildlife, and plenty of both nature and nightlife, you'll have no trouble keeping busy and entertained throughout your week-long vacation.

Beyond Hotels: 9 Unique Lodging Options in Iceland

Iceland has no shortage of hotels, but if you're looking for a truly memorable travel experience, why not defy convention? From camping on a glacier to overnighting in a historic herring factory, you're sure to find a unique lodging option for your Iceland trip that's more than just a place to rest your head.

Here's How to Spend the Perfect Honeymoon in Iceland

Looking for a unique destination to celebrate your marriage? Iceland offers the perfect escape for a newlywed couple, and with so many thrilling adventures that await you there, you can rest assured that your honeymoon will be an unforgettable experience.

Recent trip reviews for Sotiria

Iceland natural beauty, Iceland - Aug 18 - Aug 25, 2018

Traveler: Gary H. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

Myvartn

Trip to iceland, Iceland - Aug 26 - Aug 31, 2018

Traveler: kirsten b. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

We had an amazing trip. We went horseback riding on the beach, we visited the secret lagoon, saw amazing waterfalls, went on a lava cave tour, went on the sushi boat tour and the blue lagoon. Everything worked out perfectly, not one snag. So happy we did this :)

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Kirsten,

I am so glad to hear that you had a nice trip here in Iceland!

Thanks a lot for taking the time to write this review and I hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best,
Sotiria

Trip to iceland, Iceland - Jul 19 - Jul 23, 2018

Traveler: Emily H. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

Was super helpful in planning our trip and coordinating the moving pieces. Sotiria was super responsive and knowledgeable!

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Emily,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your trip here in Iceland!

I am very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the arrangements and with our communication. It has been a pleasure working with you!

Best,
Sotiria

Iceland adventure, Iceland - Jun 30 - Jul 8, 2018

Traveler: Alexandra L. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

Overall the trip was great. We loved Iceland. The printed book that was given to us had several errors. For instance, a waterfall recommended for us to see was listed on two days. It was a clear mistake but confusing for me at first. Also, one night there was a hotel listed in the written part of our itinerary but there was a different hotel listed on the back. Errors like this are unacceptable to me. I also could have used a phone call immediately prior to departure to walk me through... read more

Overall the trip was great. We loved Iceland. The printed book that was given to us had several errors. For instance, a waterfall recommended for us to see was listed on two days. It was a clear mistake but confusing for me at first. Also, one night there was a hotel listed in the written part of our itinerary but there was a different hotel listed on the back. Errors like this are unacceptable to me. I also could have used a phone call immediately prior to departure to walk me through everything. Our point of contact was responsive so can't fault her for that. Our trip turned out great but I don't think I would recommend your service. I'm a neutral supporter.

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Alexandra,

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip here in Iceland, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip! I am sorry that you were not as happy with the description in the final itinerary and I apologize for the confusion regarding the hotel, I must have failed to change it when the change of accommodation was made. However, I have been reviewing the itinerary and I could not figure which waterfall was suggested twice.

Regarding the phone call, we don't usually... read more

Hi Alexandra,

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip here in Iceland, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip! I am sorry that you were not as happy with the description in the final itinerary and I apologize for the confusion regarding the hotel, I must have failed to change it when the change of accommodation was made. However, I have been reviewing the itinerary and I could not figure which waterfall was suggested twice.

Regarding the phone call, we don't usually call our guests upon arrival due to the different arrival times, but you are always welcome to visit us in the office and go through the details of your trip, as mentioned in your itinerary.

Thanks again for travelling with us and the great collaboration in organizing your tour.

I wish you many more great trips in the future!

Best,
Sotiria

Trip to iceland, Iceland - Jun 14 - Jun 22, 2018

Traveler: Jan O. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

Our guide, Birgir Jóhannsson was very good. He was intersting, polite, accommodating to our needs. The hotels/guest houses which were booked were very modest. Of the five nights there, four were very bare. Two had no TV, no soap in some of them, no bath mats, no face cloths, about two clothes hangers. They all had private bathrooms with wonderful hot and cold water.
My biggest complain was the bus. There were 17 people plus driver crammed into a very tight space. There was absolutely no... read more

Our guide, Birgir Jóhannsson was very good. He was intersting, polite, accommodating to our needs. The hotels/guest houses which were booked were very modest. Of the five nights there, four were very bare. Two had no TV, no soap in some of them, no bath mats, no face cloths, about two clothes hangers. They all had private bathrooms with wonderful hot and cold water.
My biggest complain was the bus. There were 17 people plus driver crammed into a very tight space. There was absolutely no leg room, particularly for tall people. The overhead bins were very shallow , so would not accommodate a full backpack, only some jackets. We sat for hours driving with out packs on our knees. We did make frequent stops to stretch our legs but that also meant a lot of off and on the bus. Our group of passengers was very good at rotating seats, but when you got over the wheel well, there was even less space. Either get a bigger bus or less passengers. We specifically choose this tour because there were less passangers than the big tour buses.

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Jan,

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip here in Iceland. I am saddened to hear that you did not find the minibus of your tour comfortable enough.

I hope you made some good memories here in Iceland and got to enjoy unique scenery around the ring road!

Thanks again for working with us on the planning of your trip!

Sotiria

Iceland, Iceland - Jun 17 - Jun 22, 2018

Traveler: Kelly S. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

We had a great 1st trip to Iceland. It was very memorable. Our favorite outings were the glacier lagoon and the glacier hike. The Wifi in the car was great. We were not very happy with our accomodations at Hotel Katla. The entire room size was for the beds. The bathroom was clean but old and so small that the toilet and shower had to overlap in space. We would not stay there ever again. Hotel Stracta was the best place we stayed.

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Kelly,

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip here in Iceland, I am very happy to hear that you made some great memories in the county! I am sorry that you did not find the accommodation in Vik satisfying and hopefully all other hotels fulfilled your expectations.

I will be happy to work with you again in the future, if you decide to visit Iceland again! Thanks again for the great cooperation in planning your trip!

Best,
Sotiria

Iceland 2018, Iceland - Jun 18 - Jun 24, 2018

Traveler: Jeff S. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

Our trip to Iceland was terrific! Sotiria done a great job planning our trip and the information provided to us both before we arrived and with the information packet we received upon arrival made the trip go without a flaw. Gullfoss, Geysir, Skafoss waterfall, the black sand beach of Reynisdrangar, Glacier Lagoon and the Blue Lagoon all were amazing and did not disappoint. Our trip to the Westman Islands fulfilled my wife's bucket list of watching Puffins in their habitat. The hotels ... read more

Our trip to Iceland was terrific! Sotiria done a great job planning our trip and the information provided to us both before we arrived and with the information packet we received upon arrival made the trip go without a flaw. Gullfoss, Geysir, Skafoss waterfall, the black sand beach of Reynisdrangar, Glacier Lagoon and the Blue Lagoon all were amazing and did not disappoint. Our trip to the Westman Islands fulfilled my wife's bucket list of watching Puffins in their habitat. The hotels Sotiria set us up with were top notch and the breakfasts included with each location made the day start out great. Our family thanks you for making our trip to Iceland one of our most memorable trips to date. Iceland is such a beautiful country. Kimkim and Sotiria made our experience something we will always cherish.

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Jeff,

I am so happy to hear that you made some great memories here in Iceland and you enjoyed your trip to the maximum!

Thanks a lot for taking the time to post a review about Kim Kim and myself and I hope I will have the chance to welcome you in Iceland in the future.

Until then, I wish you many more great trips.

Best,
Sotiria

Top 12 family activities in iceland, Iceland - Jun 11 - Jun 18, 2018

Traveler: karen k. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

It would be difficult to point to a favorite activity. Our snorkeling (Andy), kayaking (Reiner) and ATV guides were all terrific. Really friendly and helpful with driving and dinner suggestions. Our hotels were all really nice and well-located. It was nice to have both city and outside of the city accomodations. We loved everything.

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Karen,

I am so happy to hear that you had a good time in Iceland and were satisfied with all the arrangements for your trip.

It has been a pleasure working with you and I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in Iceland in the future!

Take care,
Sotiria

Iceland northern lights, Iceland - Feb 24 - Mar 2, 2018

Traveler: Samuel M. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

Weather was terrible for five and one half days. The trip back from Vic on the last day was beautiful as were the beaches, waterfalls and glaciers along the way. Our last night we got to see the northern lights. Food the whole trip was great. We enjoyed all the hotels.

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Sam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your trip in Iceland.

The weather unfortunately did not cooperate during your visit but I am very glad that you still got to see the Northern Lights!

I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with all the other aspects of your trip and hope to welcome you again in Iceland in the future.

Best,
Sotiria

Iceland dec 2017, Iceland - Dec 27 - Dec 30, 2017

Traveler: Catherine B. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

We had a great experience with kimkim. We were three generations wanting to do different things. Sotiria helped us figure out options and set it up so the grandparents settled in Reykjavik while parents and kids did a two day excursion into other parts of Iceland. The snorkeling in Silfra was the best adventure of the trip. We checked out all the highlights created for our tour, and following the suggestion booked some time at the Secret Lagoon which warmed us up after snorkeling. Another highlight was being at the the black beach at Vik for sunrise. All in all a spectacular trip!

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Catherine,

I am very glad to hear that you were happy with your trip here in Iceland and thank you for the great collaboration in organizing your vacation and your feedback!

Have a happy new year and I hope to welcome you again in Iceland in the future.

Best Regards,
Sotiria