Profile photo for Sotiria Prodromiti
4389 messages
active 21 mins ago

Sotiria Prodromiti

While visiting Iceland, I fell in love with this very unique country. The wilderness of the landscape added to the welcoming people make it easy to love it and want to return again and again.
I therefore decided to relocate to Reykjavik and am very proud and happy to say that I have since then helped many guests to see Iceland and experience it the way we intend it here at Iceland Unlimited, independently and at their own pace.

I find it very hard to tell what part of Iceland I prefer, but I would say I am always amazed by the North and its unique features and have a very special place in my heart for the small colourful capital, Reykjavik.

What places and activities do you specialize in?

"I specialize in customized holidays all over Iceland, mostly for our self drive tours but also guided. I have myself experienced many of the day tours our guests are interested in and would always recommend a horse riding tour, zodiac or amphibian boat tour at the glacier lagoon and ice caving! "

How did you get involved in travel?

"Travelling started as a personal interest for me and coming from a family that was always keen on providing me with new experiences, I have had a desire to see as much of our world as possible since I was very young. My studies could not have been related to anything other than tourism and I am very happy to have turned my personal passion into my everyday life by working at Iceland Unlimited and being in touch with people excited to travel and discover what Iceland has to offer. "

Please share a unique travel experience you will never forget.

"Cliche as it sounds, I can never forget the first time I saw the Northern Lights when I visited Iceland! I consider myself lucky because, although it was in Reykjavik, it was one of the most spectacular viewings I ve experienced until today. They seemed so close that I felt I could reach them with my hands! Since then, I have been determined to help my guests as much as possible to spot them. I think everyone travelling all the way to Iceland at the right (winter!) time, should get lucky enough to have this life time experience! "

Featured trips & expertise

Northern Lights & Snowboarding on Iceland's South Coast : 6 Days
Northern Lights & Snowboarding on Iceland's South Coast : 6 Days

Looking for an eventful winter vacation? The South Coast of Iceland is chock-full of fun winter activities, from glacier hiking to snowboarding, snowmobiling and more. If you're lucky, you'll have the chance to witness the unparalleled beauty of the Northern Lights that often grace the crisp Arctic sky. Here's our recommended way to spend the winter on Iceland's South Coast.

Northern Lights
Chasing the Northern Lights in South Iceland - 4 Days

Check the spectacular Northern Lights off your bucket list with this quick-hit trip to southern Iceland. In addition to nighttime expeditions in search of the Aurora Borealis, you'll tour some of the country's most dramatic natural wonders and unforgettable landscapes. Visit impressive waterfalls, vast glaciers, volcanic beaches, and more on this exciting winter adventure.

Ice Cave and Northern Lights
Iceland's South Coast Guided Tour - 5 Days

This 5-day tour of Iceland's South Coast hits the top natural sights. Visit Thingvellir National Park and Gullfoss Waterfall, see the Reynisfjara black sand beach, and drop by the small village of Vik for coffee and local history. Stop and see the Jokulsarlon lagoon and Skaftafell National Park's many glaciers. Enjoy viewing the Northern Lights in comfort.

A light snow covers the quaint town of Vik along the south coast
Best of Iceland's South Coast & Golden Circle - 6 Days

Starting in Reykjavik, this 6-day Icelandic road trip lets you visit classic highlights along the country's south coast including waterfalls, black sand beaches, basalt columns, massive glaciers, and icebergs at your own pace. You'll then join the popular Golden Circle route where you can see Gullfoss waterfall, the geothermal area of Geysir (watch Strokkur erupt like clockwork), and Thingvellir National Park where tectonic plates meet. Finish the adventure with a soak in the Blue Lagoon before your return flight home.

Iceland's lesser-visited west coast
Iceland West Coast Road Trip - 6 Days

This unique self-drive tour travels through Iceland's beautiful west coast and Westfjords region where few travelers roam. Starting in Reykjavik, you'll drive to the volcanic Snaefellsnes Peninsula before taking a car ferry to some of the most dramatic landscapes in Iceland. Here you'll hike the jagged cliffs at Londrangar, visit black, gold, and red sand beaches, and see the powerful Dynjandi Waterfall. End the trip in Isafjordur—a great base for activities in Hornstrandir Nature Reserve, accessible only by boat and trail.

A black sand beach near Vik
Iceland West & South Coast Highlights - 6 Days

This 6-day itinerary includes three key areas of Iceland for a spectacular, fast-paced road trip. Spend your first day getting a taste of downtown Reykjavik before you head to the volcanic Snaefellsnes Peninsula with a bit of everything (and a fraction of the crowds). You'll then spend a night in one of Iceland's most-popular regions, the Golden Circle, and visit the best sites after the bus tours are long gone. Wrap it up with a day along the south coast exploring massive waterfalls and black sand beaches.

Recent trip reviews for Sotiria

Trip to iceland, Iceland - Mar 10 - Mar 15, 2019

Traveler: Kent P. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

From the beginning the trip planning was very easy. Sotiria was very responsive to all my requests and followed up on all communication very quickly. The trip itself was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Iceland and were in awe of it's beauty. I was slightly concerned upon our arrival at the airport that our driver was not there to meet us. He arrived about 30 min. after our flight and then took us to our hotel. He was very apologetic and friendly. The information packet... read more

From the beginning the trip planning was very easy. Sotiria was very responsive to all my requests and followed up on all communication very quickly. The trip itself was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Iceland and were in awe of it's beauty. I was slightly concerned upon our arrival at the airport that our driver was not there to meet us. He arrived about 30 min. after our flight and then took us to our hotel. He was very apologetic and friendly. The information packet provided by Sotiria was very professional and she even included a map with our driving route highlighted and interesting sports marked along the way. We had a few episodes of bad weather during the trip including one road closure due to high winds however Sotiria communicated with me and made sure we were able to get to our hotel. It was nice to know we had a local agent we could call when weather conditions changed. I highly recommend using the kimkim service for trip planning.

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Kent,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and for your kind words. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your trip in Iceland despite the small weather issues!

Thanks again for working with me on this trip, hope to welcome you in Iceland again, in the future.

Best,
Sotiria

Iceland to the max, Iceland - Feb 13 - Feb 18, 2019

Traveler: Andrea E. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

Thanks Sotiria for an helping us plan an amazing trip to Iceland!
We had such a great time there and are so pleased we ended doing all the fun things you suggested. The waterfalls and the ice cave were the highlights of the trip!

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Andrea,

Thanks for posting your feedback here on Kim Kim and I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Iceland!

Hope to welcome you again in the future :)

Iceland south coast tour - 7 days, Iceland - Oct 5 - Oct 11, 2018

Traveler: Louise T. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

The hotel accommodation arranged were overall good and the travel map was well marked with the route and locations of hotels and places of interest clearly indicated.

However the following negative experiences limited the extent and the peace of mind for us to fully enjoy the trip despite a well planned itinerary.

i) Upon arrival, to our surprised we were informed that Hong Kong currency (eventhough it is a major currency which is accepted internationally) was not accepted at the money... read more

The hotel accommodation arranged were overall good and the travel map was well marked with the route and locations of hotels and places of interest clearly indicated.

However the following negative experiences limited the extent and the peace of mind for us to fully enjoy the trip despite a well planned itinerary.

i) Upon arrival, to our surprised we were informed that Hong Kong currency (eventhough it is a major currency which is accepted internationally) was not accepted at the money changer at the airport; which led to some initial concerns and delays resulting in our arriving late to Reykjavik.. This was a disappointment as we had chosen the itinerary to spend an extra day in Klauster instead of Reykjavik and had planned to explore Reykjavik on day of arrival.

ii) The pickup by Enterprise Car Rental was late and we have to call a few times to chase them. We were also surprised that the pickup to their office was only for 2 instead of the group which meant that the rest had to wait at the hotel. This delay resulted in a rush to cover the place of visits and we only arrived at the hotel in Henna very late.

iii) The rental car developed some noise after we went off-road to visit some of the places of interest on the very first day which was a Saturday. Eventhough we managed to contact their helpline, we were unable to have it checked at a service centre since it was a weekend. This created a overhanging worry over us for the next 2 days as we were worried that the car may fail any time and in a remote location.

iv) We managed to send the car to a service centre in Klauster on Monday. The time spend waiting and checking again cause further unnecessary delays. We also had to pay for the maintenance in advance.

v) As we only reach back to Reykjavik after 5pm, we could only drop-off the car at the bus terminal parking area and email the claims for reimbursement as we had opted for a Zero access insurance coverage. To-date we have not received even a acknowledgement of my email nor reimbursement.

vi) There was an initial error in the number of pax (2pax instead of 4pax) stated on the voucher for the Flybus transport to airport. After we reported this, a replacement voucher was subsequently received via email. We only realized that the new voucher was issued with a wrong travel date when pointed out by the staff at the bus-station. Prior to that we had to endure suspense and worries of missing our flight as there was no pickup from Bus Stop at the designated time and repeated calls to enquire and chasing for a pickup. Eventhough it was our error to only check that the number of pax was correct and not double checking the travel date on replacement voucher, we had not expected an error since the first voucher had the correct date. Luckily the management at the bus terminal was kind enough to arrange for a taxi to send us to the airport at no extra cost so that we could be on time to catch our return flight.

Regrettably the above bad experiences soured what could otherwise had been a great holiday and tour for our family with what Iceland has to offer.

Regards

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Louise,

Thanks for taking the time to review your trip here in Iceland.

Feedback from our guests is important so that we can improve our services and partnerships.

I am glad to hear that you were happy with the trip overall and the hotel arrangements I made for you!

I also would like to apologize for the confusion regarding the flybus, that was overlooked by me and I am very sorry for the inconvenience. I am glad that you changed the date directly with the operator with no further... read more

Hi Louise,

Thanks for taking the time to review your trip here in Iceland.

Feedback from our guests is important so that we can improve our services and partnerships.

I am glad to hear that you were happy with the trip overall and the hotel arrangements I made for you!

I also would like to apologize for the confusion regarding the flybus, that was overlooked by me and I am very sorry for the inconvenience. I am glad that you changed the date directly with the operator with no further issues.

Regarding the currency, I have looked into our conversation and can see that, on the 17th of September, I informed you that the ISK is the only currency accepted in Iceland and that you could use your cards for almost anything. I am not sure if you did not see this message that led you to expect that Hong Kong currency would be accepted.

I also wanted to apologize regarding the issues with the rental car. It would be great if you had let us know during your trip so that we could contact Enterprise directly to resolve the matter, without you having to worry during your trip.
I have contacted them now to raise the issue and will message you accordingly as soon as I have their response. Hopefully, you will be satisfied with the outcome!

Once again, I would like to thank you for travelling with us and hope that you made some long lasting memories in Iceland.

I wish you many more trips in the future!

Best,
Sotiria

Trip to iceland, Iceland - Oct 12 - Oct 16, 2018

Traveler: Lee G. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

Had a great time in Iceland for a sort visit. Only 4-5 days but included Circle, South Coast and Food tour, all great.

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Lee,

I m glad you enjoyed your trip here in Iceland and thank you for taking the time to write this review!

I hope we will get to welcome you again in the future.

Regards,
Sotiria

Matthew

Honeymoon iceland, Iceland - Sep 2 - Sep 15, 2018

Traveler: Matthew M. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

Sotiria,
I can't thank her enough for all her help and kindness. She planned the perfect trip for us, just wish we could have stayed another 2 weeks.

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Matt,

I am most happy to see that you enjoyed your honeymoon and it was a great pleasure to plan this trip with you guys!

I wish you all happiness together and hope to welcome you back in Iceland!!

Say hi to Natalie!
Sotiria

Trip to iceland, Iceland - Aug 26 - Aug 31, 2018

Traveler: kirsten b. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

We had an amazing trip. We went horseback riding on the beach, we visited the secret lagoon, saw amazing waterfalls, went on a lava cave tour, went on the sushi boat tour and the blue lagoon. Everything worked out perfectly, not one snag. So happy we did this :)

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Kirsten,

I am so glad to hear that you had a nice trip here in Iceland!

Thanks a lot for taking the time to write this review and I hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best,
Sotiria

Trip to iceland, Iceland - Jul 19 - Jul 23, 2018

Traveler: Emily H. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

Was super helpful in planning our trip and coordinating the moving pieces. Sotiria was super responsive and knowledgeable!

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Emily,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your trip here in Iceland!

I am very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the arrangements and with our communication. It has been a pleasure working with you!

Best,
Sotiria

Iceland adventure, Iceland - Jun 30 - Jul 8, 2018

Traveler: Alexandra L. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

Overall the trip was great. We loved Iceland. The printed book that was given to us had several errors. For instance, a waterfall recommended for us to see was listed on two days. It was a clear mistake but confusing for me at first. Also, one night there was a hotel listed in the written part of our itinerary but there was a different hotel listed on the back. Errors like this are unacceptable to me. I also could have used a phone call immediately prior to departure to walk me through... read more

Overall the trip was great. We loved Iceland. The printed book that was given to us had several errors. For instance, a waterfall recommended for us to see was listed on two days. It was a clear mistake but confusing for me at first. Also, one night there was a hotel listed in the written part of our itinerary but there was a different hotel listed on the back. Errors like this are unacceptable to me. I also could have used a phone call immediately prior to departure to walk me through everything. Our point of contact was responsive so can't fault her for that. Our trip turned out great but I don't think I would recommend your service. I'm a neutral supporter.

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Alexandra,

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip here in Iceland, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip! I am sorry that you were not as happy with the description in the final itinerary and I apologize for the confusion regarding the hotel, I must have failed to change it when the change of accommodation was made. However, I have been reviewing the itinerary and I could not figure which waterfall was suggested twice.

Regarding the phone call, we don't usually... read more

Hi Alexandra,

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip here in Iceland, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip! I am sorry that you were not as happy with the description in the final itinerary and I apologize for the confusion regarding the hotel, I must have failed to change it when the change of accommodation was made. However, I have been reviewing the itinerary and I could not figure which waterfall was suggested twice.

Regarding the phone call, we don't usually call our guests upon arrival due to the different arrival times, but you are always welcome to visit us in the office and go through the details of your trip, as mentioned in your itinerary.

Thanks again for travelling with us and the great collaboration in organizing your tour.

I wish you many more great trips in the future!

Best,
Sotiria

Trip to iceland, Iceland - Jun 14 - Jun 22, 2018

Traveler: Jan O. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

Our guide, Birgir Jóhannsson was very good. He was intersting, polite, accommodating to our needs. The hotels/guest houses which were booked were very modest. Of the five nights there, four were very bare. Two had no TV, no soap in some of them, no bath mats, no face cloths, about two clothes hangers. They all had private bathrooms with wonderful hot and cold water.
My biggest complain was the bus. There were 17 people plus driver crammed into a very tight space. There was absolutely no... read more

Our guide, Birgir Jóhannsson was very good. He was intersting, polite, accommodating to our needs. The hotels/guest houses which were booked were very modest. Of the five nights there, four were very bare. Two had no TV, no soap in some of them, no bath mats, no face cloths, about two clothes hangers. They all had private bathrooms with wonderful hot and cold water.
My biggest complain was the bus. There were 17 people plus driver crammed into a very tight space. There was absolutely no leg room, particularly for tall people. The overhead bins were very shallow , so would not accommodate a full backpack, only some jackets. We sat for hours driving with out packs on our knees. We did make frequent stops to stretch our legs but that also meant a lot of off and on the bus. Our group of passengers was very good at rotating seats, but when you got over the wheel well, there was even less space. Either get a bigger bus or less passengers. We specifically choose this tour because there were less passangers than the big tour buses.

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Jan,

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip here in Iceland. I am saddened to hear that you did not find the minibus of your tour comfortable enough.

I hope you made some good memories here in Iceland and got to enjoy unique scenery around the ring road!

Thanks again for working with us on the planning of your trip!

Sotiria

Iceland, Iceland - Jun 17 - Jun 22, 2018

Traveler: Kelly S. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

We had a great 1st trip to Iceland. It was very memorable. Our favorite outings were the glacier lagoon and the glacier hike. The Wifi in the car was great. We were not very happy with our accomodations at Hotel Katla. The entire room size was for the beds. The bathroom was clean but old and so small that the toilet and shower had to overlap in space. We would not stay there ever again. Hotel Stracta was the best place we stayed.

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Kelly,

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip here in Iceland, I am very happy to hear that you made some great memories in the county! I am sorry that you did not find the accommodation in Vik satisfying and hopefully all other hotels fulfilled your expectations.

I will be happy to work with you again in the future, if you decide to visit Iceland again! Thanks again for the great cooperation in planning your trip!

Best,
Sotiria

Iceland 2018, Iceland - Jun 18 - Jun 24, 2018

Traveler: Jeff S. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

Our trip to Iceland was terrific! Sotiria done a great job planning our trip and the information provided to us both before we arrived and with the information packet we received upon arrival made the trip go without a flaw. Gullfoss, Geysir, Skafoss waterfall, the black sand beach of Reynisdrangar, Glacier Lagoon and the Blue Lagoon all were amazing and did not disappoint. Our trip to the Westman Islands fulfilled my wife's bucket list of watching Puffins in their habitat. The hotels ... read more

Our trip to Iceland was terrific! Sotiria done a great job planning our trip and the information provided to us both before we arrived and with the information packet we received upon arrival made the trip go without a flaw. Gullfoss, Geysir, Skafoss waterfall, the black sand beach of Reynisdrangar, Glacier Lagoon and the Blue Lagoon all were amazing and did not disappoint. Our trip to the Westman Islands fulfilled my wife's bucket list of watching Puffins in their habitat. The hotels Sotiria set us up with were top notch and the breakfasts included with each location made the day start out great. Our family thanks you for making our trip to Iceland one of our most memorable trips to date. Iceland is such a beautiful country. Kimkim and Sotiria made our experience something we will always cherish.

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Jeff,

I am so happy to hear that you made some great memories here in Iceland and you enjoyed your trip to the maximum!

Thanks a lot for taking the time to post a review about Kim Kim and myself and I hope I will have the chance to welcome you in Iceland in the future.

Until then, I wish you many more great trips.

Best,
Sotiria

Top 12 family activities in iceland, Iceland - Jun 11 - Jun 18, 2018

Traveler: karen k. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

It would be difficult to point to a favorite activity. Our snorkeling (Andy), kayaking (Reiner) and ATV guides were all terrific. Really friendly and helpful with driving and dinner suggestions. Our hotels were all really nice and well-located. It was nice to have both city and outside of the city accomodations. We loved everything.

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Karen,

I am so happy to hear that you had a good time in Iceland and were satisfied with all the arrangements for your trip.

It has been a pleasure working with you and I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in Iceland in the future!

Take care,
Sotiria

Iceland northern lights, Iceland - Feb 24 - Mar 2, 2018

Traveler: Samuel M. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

Weather was terrible for five and one half days. The trip back from Vic on the last day was beautiful as were the beaches, waterfalls and glaciers along the way. Our last night we got to see the northern lights. Food the whole trip was great. We enjoyed all the hotels.

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Sam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your trip in Iceland.

The weather unfortunately did not cooperate during your visit but I am very glad that you still got to see the Northern Lights!

I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with all the other aspects of your trip and hope to welcome you again in Iceland in the future.

Best,
Sotiria

Iceland dec 2017, Iceland - Dec 27 - Dec 30, 2017

Traveler: Catherine B. - Local specialist: Sotiria Prodromiti

We had a great experience with kimkim. We were three generations wanting to do different things. Sotiria helped us figure out options and set it up so the grandparents settled in Reykjavik while parents and kids did a two day excursion into other parts of Iceland. The snorkeling in Silfra was the best adventure of the trip. We checked out all the highlights created for our tour, and following the suggestion booked some time at the Secret Lagoon which warmed us up after snorkeling. Another highlight was being at the the black beach at Vik for sunrise. All in all a spectacular trip!

Sotiria Prodromiti, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Catherine,

I am very glad to hear that you were happy with your trip here in Iceland and thank you for the great collaboration in organizing your vacation and your feedback!

Have a happy new year and I hope to welcome you again in Iceland in the future.

Best Regards,
Sotiria