Jewish heritage - Jul 9 - Jul 16, 2018

Traveler: Malka R. - Local specialist: Marco Degasper

My experience in Ethiopia was great. Our guide, Tadele Molla, was very accommodating and tried his best to to meet our needs. Since we did not eat all the meals we asked for our laundry to be paid for instead which worked our great.

There were a few miscommunications which were frustrating. When corresponding with Marco I asked about tipping and how much money I should bring. He said everything was covered and all we needed was for things I wanted to buy. Tadele had us tip the daily guides, of which there were 3 different ones. That needs to be made clearer. Two of the hotels did not have working toilets or showers so we asked for a change of rooms/hotels.

We had hoped to get into the Jewish village in Addis Ababa but that did not work out either. Our entire purpose in going to Ethiopia was to see our roots so it would have been nice to be told ahead of time that that excursion might be difficult. We talked to so Israeli volunteers that said they had no difficulty and all that needed to be done was contact the local rabbi of the village.

I know language can be an issue in communication so I am willing to take on some of the responsibility and tried to be clear in my questions and concerns.

Marco Degasper profile photo
Marco Degasper, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Melka
It is nice to know that you have enjoyed the trip. It is also great that you had two fantastic events,despite the fact that there has been some disappointment which will be a good feeback for us. We wish you had an opportunity to meet those jewish family in Addis and we will be aware of that in the future, if we receive the same kind of people like you, having the same interest.
Thank you very much for all
Best regards
Marco