Profile photo for Eduardo Celada
7447 messages
active 2 days ago

Eduardo Celada

My passion for showing the beauty of Guatemala began when I was traveling in Guatemala as a tourist in my own country. After working in several hotels and other tourism related businesses, I decided that there was nothing better than showing the rest of the world the beauties and destinations of my own country.

What places and activities do you specialize in?

"Guatemala
Honduras
El Salvador
Nicargua
Belize
Activities:
Adventure, Culture, Archaeological, Volunteeer, Language students"

How did you get involved in travel?

"I have always been interested in culture and relating to the communities surrounding our tourist areas. Along the way, my knowledge has expanded not only within Guatemala, but to other bordering countries as well.
I have had the opportunity to know Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua and Belize and strengthen my knowledge with regional tourism partners of Central America.
All this helps me to recommend the best experiences, hotels and destinations tailored to the needs of each client looking for incredible memories.
"

Please share a unique travel experience you will never forget.

"No doubt, that traveling is one of the most unforgettable things you can do in your life, always finding interesting people in each place.
The first long trip of my life was a trip to Belgium in 2002 where I looked for a new adventure every day. One day I bought my train ticket to visit a friend of mine who was living in Amsterdam and this was my first time on a train, a very different form of transportation from what I’m used to in Guatemala. I did not know how to make the train stop at my station, so I assumed someone else would be going to my same destination. Unfortunately nobody made the train stop and I started to worry because I could not speak Dutch and did not know if my broken English would work.
I started to speak English to everyone around me and fortunately someone helped me stop the train, although I was already far past my destination. I left the train into a village and tried my broken English again. It was a little town and not many people understood my English when I spoke, finally I found an old man who took me into a store where I bought a phone card and could call my friend. It took 2 hours more to finally meet my friend, it wasn´t a big deal but when you are traveling alone and are really away from your home these little things make you feel really nervous. Now I can see it as one of the maybe "simple things" that happened in my trip but certainly I will remember it forever because it was one of my first experiences traveling alone.
"

Top itineraries and travel advice
Family itineraries
Luxury itineraries

Recent trip reviews for Eduardo

Belize and Guatemala - Great trip
Belize | Mar 30 - Apr 8, 2024

S
Saba D.
Holly Springs, NC | Reviewed on Apr 13, 2024
We had a great time with Tomas and Michael in Belize. The tour guide in Guatemala gave us a good suggestion to do the tour at 4 am instead of later in the day bcoz the temperature was very high ( 101) and that helped us a lot!
Overall a great experience!
Read more

We had a great time with Tomas and Michael in Belize. The tour guide in Guatemala gave us a good suggestion to do the tour at 4 am instead of later in the day bcoz the temperature was very high ( 101) and that helped us a lot!
Overall a great experience!

Hotel Reviews
Black Rock Lodge
San Ignacio

Best experience ever! The staff is fantastic and the hotel is so close to nature- great way to disconnect!

Authenticity & Character
Location
The location is beautiful but the 6/7 mile long road going to the lodge can be improved.
Staff
Best experience ever- everyone was super nice!
Cleanliness & Comfort
Ramon's Village Resort
San Pedro

Paradise!

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Jaguar Inn Tikal
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Issue with water supply and fan in the summer heat
Jaguar Creek Lodge
Cayo District, Belize
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Staff is good but they can help with lugging the bags to the rooms especially if the room is far away from the reception. No one offered to help us
Cleanliness & Comfort
Activity Reviews
Actun Tunichil Muknal (ATM) caves day tour
Actun Tunichil Muknal (ATM) caves day tour
San Ignacio
Quality of Experience
Food
Guides, Drivers and Staff
He could have planned for the tubes to be at the cave and not for us to carry it along the way. We saw other guides doing that and even offering to take family pics - he didn’t even ask
Transport
Cacao Farm & Chocolate Making Tour
Cacao Farm & Chocolate Making Tour
San Ignacio

Very enriching experience!

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Explore Tikal National Park
Explore Tikal National Park
San Ignacio
Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
He charged us extra money for the 4 am tour
Transport
Canopy Tour in Tikal National Park
Canopy Tour in Tikal National Park
Belize
Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Awesome staff
Transport
Hol Chan/Shark Ray Alley - from Ramon's Village
Hol Chan/Shark Ray Alley - from Ramon's Village
Belize

Dream come true!

Quality of Experience
Food
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Best staff - so helpful and made me and my daughter so comfortable
Transport
Local specialist: Eduardo Celada
Eduardo
Eduardo Celada
Local specialist in Antigua, Guatemala | Replied on Apr 13, 2024

Thank you for all this feedback, we do not doubt that this will help us to get more folks interested in this impressive route.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review !!
I'm thrilled you had a great time on the Program activities you and I built for this unforgettable tour. Knowing that you had a great time with our team guiding you around the country is very helpful. Be sure to spread the word to your friends and family, the more people know about Guatemala the better. Hope to see you back again soon, cheers!

Lots of driving
Guatemala | Feb 16 - Feb 29, 2024

B
Bruce D.
Canada | Reviewed on Mar 07, 2024

Some of the hotels were substandard ... In particular Coban, Lake Atitlan and Antigua.. Rooms were dirty and internet was poor. We indicated that 3-4 star was acceptable but these hotels were more like 2 star by international standards.

Local specialist: Eduardo Celada
Eduardo
Eduardo Celada
Local specialist in Antigua, Guatemala | Replied on Mar 29, 2024

Thank you very much for your words with definitely will take care of this advices for future clients!
Eduardo

This trip could have been so much better
Guatemala | Feb 22 - Feb 28, 2024

P
Pedro J C.
Dallas, TX | Reviewed on Mar 06, 2024
Our first time in Guatemala was amazing and disappointing at the same time. The beauty of Guatemala surprised us with its mesmerizing volcanoes and lake Atitlan. The logistics left us puzzled at best. This is the first time a guide does not receive us at the airport. The only time with the trip planner Eduardo was the night before we departed after we had voiced repeatedly our concerns. We did not feel well informed of the plan. In fact the printout given to us by the driver upon arrival was... Read more

Our first time in Guatemala was amazing and disappointing at the same time. The beauty of Guatemala surprised us with its mesmerizing volcanoes and lake Atitlan. The logistics left us puzzled at best. This is the first time a guide does not receive us at the airport. The only time with the trip planner Eduardo was the night before we departed after we had voiced repeatedly our concerns. We did not feel well informed of the plan. In fact the printout given to us by the driver upon arrival was not accurate or thorough. The culmination of the concerns was reached when a vehicle we were riding broke down and we could not complete our day of excursion. We wasted an entire day. For that we were reimbursed $287. We gave Eduardo a list of 12 points that we think will help improve his business. We are experienced travelers and we feel that amount we paid for this trip was not worth it at all.

Local specialist: Eduardo Celada
Eduardo
Eduardo Celada
Local specialist in Antigua, Guatemala | Replied on Mar 29, 2024

Muchas gracias por tus comentarios Pedro y como tuvimos la oportunidad de platicar muchos de los inconvenientes forman parte de los sucesos que podemos afrontar dentro de los tours que, en ningún momento, son pensados para trabajar de esa forma y resultan de forma inesperada del trabajo diario con hoteles transportes y guías.

Quiero agradecerte personalmente por dejar tu comentario y que tengas la certeza que siempre trataremos de trabajar de la mejor manera con nuestros clientes.
Saludos,
Eduardo

This trip exceeded our expectations...
Guatemala | Feb 16 - Feb 29, 2024

Teresa
Teresa D.
Canada | Reviewed on Mar 04, 2024
Loved the authenticity of Coban.
Semuc Champey was great but we would have liked more warning/info about what the "water cave" experience was going to involve. This was complicated by the fact that the guide's English was inadequate.
Flores was lovely.
LOVED Yaxha - Guide Oliveiro was superb. Tikal also great.
Really enjoyed Rio Dulce, the hotel we stayed at (Tixal?) and the whole river experience. Livingston was very interesting. Great guide too - Fernando.
Best was the hot...
Read more

Loved the authenticity of Coban.
Semuc Champey was great but we would have liked more warning/info about what the "water cave" experience was going to involve. This was complicated by the fact that the guide's English was inadequate.
Flores was lovely.
LOVED Yaxha - Guide Oliveiro was superb. Tikal also great.
Really enjoyed Rio Dulce, the hotel we stayed at (Tixal?) and the whole river experience. Livingston was very interesting. Great guide too - Fernando.
Best was the hot springs!! Great experience!
Chichicastanango was absolutely fantastic - the market! and the cemetary.
Lake Atitlan was beautiful. We loved the kayaking & hiking experience. The towns we visited were tourist-y (San Juan, San Pedro, Santiago) but the things we visited (chocolate factory, weaving cooperative, shaman house) were really! interesting.
We really, really enjoyed this trip - it exceeded our expectations.

Hotel Review
Hotel La Posada
coban

we found this hotel underwhelming - may have been because it was rainy and cold.

Local specialist: Eduardo Celada
Eduardo
Eduardo Celada
Local specialist in Antigua, Guatemala | Replied on Mar 06, 2024

thank you very much for any word you put into this review I am pretty sure when other people read these comments they will feel like visiting the same places you have done in this program which is a good way to get to know Guatemala and its beautiful places.

I hope you can spread the word with friends and family to encourage people to visit this beautiful country
Eduardo

Our trip was terrific and exceeded our expect...
Guatemala | Feb 16 - Feb 29, 2024

Nicole
Nicole D.
Canada | Reviewed on Mar 04, 2024
Our trip was terrific and exceeded our expectations. With the itinerary that was created for us, we saw many different areas of the country. What we hope to have, on a trip like this, is a wide variety of activities and experiences. This trip delivered. We were in cities and villages; we saw nightlife and wildlife; we were on lakes, in mountains and in jungles; we hiked, walked, swam, motor-boated and kayaked ; we visited wide open plazas and packed markets; we explored centuries-old pyramids... Read more

Our trip was terrific and exceeded our expectations. With the itinerary that was created for us, we saw many different areas of the country. What we hope to have, on a trip like this, is a wide variety of activities and experiences. This trip delivered. We were in cities and villages; we saw nightlife and wildlife; we were on lakes, in mountains and in jungles; we hiked, walked, swam, motor-boated and kayaked ; we visited wide open plazas and packed markets; we explored centuries-old pyramids and temples and modern churches; we learned ancient customs and current practices. Our local guides, lined up by Eduardo, were knowledgeable, personable and flexible. And the people of Guatemala were friendly and welcoming. Definitely a great trip overall.

Local specialist: Eduardo Celada
Eduardo
Eduardo Celada
Local specialist in Antigua, Guatemala | Replied on Mar 29, 2024

Thank you very much Nicole you and I did a great job building this itinerary and I'm pretty sure you got a great experience from the places to visit in Guatemala!

Eduardo

We recently got back from a 2 week trip to Gu...
Guatemala | Feb 6 - Feb 18, 2024

Denise
Denise M.
Denver, CO | Reviewed on Feb 25, 2024
We recently got back from a 2 week trip to Guatemala. This was my second time using KimKim to help plan a trip and I honestly feel like I will use them for all my future international trips. Eduardo was our Local Expert and he and I chatted on the KimKim platform for months planning the trip. There were several activities and places I wanted to go on the trip and based on what my partner and I like to do and the specifics that I discussed with Eduardo, he recommended several additional... Read more

We recently got back from a 2 week trip to Guatemala. This was my second time using KimKim to help plan a trip and I honestly feel like I will use them for all my future international trips. Eduardo was our Local Expert and he and I chatted on the KimKim platform for months planning the trip. There were several activities and places I wanted to go on the trip and based on what my partner and I like to do and the specifics that I discussed with Eduardo, he recommended several additional activities/tours that we enjoyed immensely. When I wanted to add a trip to Altamira and Hobbitenango he helped figure that out. He was very responsive overall. He also took care of the domestic flight that we took to/from Flores. The hotels he selected (based on our style/preference) were all fine. I enjoyed the Tikal Jungle lodge and both tours we did of ruins (Tikal and Yaxha) were wonderful. We learned a lot from Oliverio, our guide. He was pleasant and knowledgeable. He took us to an animal sanctuary place when we were in Flores and that was unexpected and cool. Overall, I wish we'd stayed one more day at the Tikal Lodge and been able to do another day at Tikal. By far the best place we stayed was Casa Del Mundo at Lake Atitlan. I remain incredibly blown away by that place. We could have spent half a day or more just exploring all the nooks and crannies at that place and it was just incredibly beautiful. I am so glad we stayed there. Unfortunately, my partner got food poisoning at one of the "regular" lunch places in Pana and that had later ramifications for our trip. While he was recovering at Casa Del Mundo (there are far worse places to be sick for sure), I was able to go kayaking and hiking with our guide, Willy. We thoroughly enjoyed Willy. He was with us from our pick up at GC after Flores until we went on the Acatenango Double Fuego trek. We wish Willy had been with us for that too. He was our favorite guide by a long margin; we were also with him the longest so that's not entirely surprising. He was down to earth and humble and very fun to be around. We had a great time with him at the Lake, hiking the Mayan Nose, seeing various villages around the lake etc. We also had a local guide, Joel, for the Mayan Nose hike and village visiting day. Joel was fantastic, a young man with a good heart and really good energy. I ended up hiking with him and my partner with Willy that day. We also made a change to our Lake Atitlan itinerary on short notice, opting to go to La Reserva Natural near Pana rather than go to the big Chichicastenango market. After the long drive from GC to Pana, we just weren't at all interested in another drive, even a shorter one. So we changed that entire day. I'm very glad we did, La Reserva was so fun, we did an awesome "ultra" ziplines which were great (I only wish they had had someone taking photos/videos b/c I would definitely have purchased some). And the butterfly area was for me, totally worth the price of admission. I could have stayed at that place for hours. Loved it. In retrospect, I might have stayed an additional day at the Lake so I could visit more of the villages and also just to stay another day at Casa Del Mundo. Lake Atitlan is definitely one of the most beautiful places i've visited. I would absolutely go back there. Then we headed to Antigua (again, with Willy). With our first day with Willy in Antigua, we did the Valley Ride Biking tour which was totally fun and worth it. We visited a chocolate factory, macademia nut farm and a jade jewelry making place. and we saw a lot of little villages and churches. B/c of the food poisoning, I was worried that my partner wouldn't be recovered enough to do the volcano hiking so I contacted eduardo and he was able to help with all that. B/c we had Eduardo and b/c we had booked a private hiking tour, we were able to change the date we left for the trek. Eduardo make all of those changes for us with the guides and also helped secure our hotel room b/c of the change. Later, we also ended up adding a day to our trip and Eduardo, again, was super helpful in securing our hotel room for that. So before the trek we ended up going up to Altamira and Hobbitenango. I thoroughly enjoyed both of those places. The creative photo ops and surrounding beauty, views of the volcanoes. Just a really fun day overall. We ate lunch at Hobbitenango and it was excellent. We also did the bike zip lines at Altamira which were terrifying but so fun at the same time. The trek itself was amazing. Our guide, David, was good. He was nice, encouraging and attentive but again, he wasn't Willy. We have done a lot of hiking and I rated the Double Fuego trek as maybe a 7 on the difficulty scale. One of the most challenging parts of the hike is the footing. Hiking on a volcano is like hiking up sand/gravel. The traction was nil. it was incredibly slow going. BUT totally worth it. I was pretty tired by the 2nd day on the trek and wasn't sure if I would make the additional trek over to Fuego but I am REALLY glad that I did. the views at the base camp, views at fuego and sunrise on Acatenango were all extraordinary. Just a really cool, but challenging experience for sure. I was very happy when we were off the volcano and headed back to Antigua. On our additional day in Antigua, my partner and I visited a ton of the ruins throughout the city and we got to see an interesting religious procession (the first sunday after Ash Wednesday) throughout the city. Our hotel in Antigua (Meson de Maria) I have somewhat mixed views on. The beds were comfortable and the hotel interior is beautiful. I enjoyed the views from the upper terrace. There was one person there that was particularly friendly and helpful. The others, not so much. They weren't mean or anything, but not particularly welcoming or friendly which is very unlike all the other places I've travelled in S. America. The breakfast was not great either which was disappointing. The rooms were quite small. That said, they helped get our laundry done one day while we were out and about and I loved the location. They also accommodated our schedule changes and we were able to stay at the same place, just in different rooms, which made things easier.
I got interested in Guatemala b/c I wanted to hike volcanoes. But was really happy with the entire trip. It is more Americanized than places we've gone in S. Am (Bolivia, Chile, Peru, Argentina) but that was okay with me. I had no interest in Guatemala City and glad we didn't spend any time there. For me, using KimKim is so worth it; as is booking private tours b/c it allows you to change your schedule with ease which we did twice. I should add that we mostly had one driver, Ivan, and he was SO AWESOME. he was super friendly and a GREAT driver. he ruled. Thank you so much Eduardo for all your help with this trip. You were great to work with.

Hotel Reviews
Jungle Lodge Tikal
Peten

no complaints about this place at all. Breakfast good. howler monkeys, LOUD :)

Authenticity & Character
Location
super location for a tour of Tikal Ruins
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Hotel Casa Amelia
flores

breakfast was good, but no included with rate. good location. nothing spectacular but nothing to complain about either

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Casa del Mundo
Lake Atitlán

literally one of the best and most beautiful hotels I've stayed at or seen anywhere

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Hotel Meson de Maria
Antigua Guatemala

Rooms very small, breakfast not great. One very friendly and helpful employee; others weren't unfriendly but did not go out of their way to be helpful/friendly/welcoming. Thank goodness they had a small floor fan or else I would have been very warm at night. Interior is beautiful, upstairs roof terrace very nice. Good location but area was very loud on weekends.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Activity Reviews
Hike Acatenango Volcano & Camp Overnight
Hike Acatenango Volcano & Camp Overnight
Guatemala

Loved this experience! We opted for 2-night in the camp on the volcano, and I would recommend it because you have much more time to enjoy the experience.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Hobbitenango/Altamira Visits
Hobbitenango/Altamira Visits
Antigua

Hobbitenango was nice, but Altamira was the highlight of the visit. It was so much fun to be there, and there were plenty of photo spots!

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Local specialist: Eduardo Celada
Eduardo
Eduardo Celada
Local specialist in Antigua, Guatemala | Replied on Mar 06, 2024

thank you very much Denise for a very detailed review of what you made in Guatemala I'm really happy to hear that this trip that you and I built it was a success and you got great souvenirs and memories from this trip along Guatemala. Since you got the opportunity to immerse and get to know our local guides drivers and partner hotels in the whole country.

And the most important thing, you got to hike the Acatenango volcano which was your goal in this trip.
Saludos de Guatemala

Fabulous Guatemala
Guatemala | Feb 2 - Feb 11, 2024

Tanuja
Tanuja R.
Brentwood, TN | Reviewed on Feb 13, 2024
We had the most incredible trip to Guatemala! This tiny country has so much to offer and we only experienced a fraction of it. Eduardo was amazing, he listened and arranged everything we wanted and more. I said “Acatenango Atitlan Antigua Chichicastenango and Semuc Champey”! Then in a fun tongue in cheek way said, “it would be nice to see a Quetzel!” Guess what????
He delivered every request including the rare bird! It’s hard to pick a favorite as all were awesome but we all agreed...
Read more

We had the most incredible trip to Guatemala! This tiny country has so much to offer and we only experienced a fraction of it.

Eduardo was amazing, he listened and arranged everything we wanted and more. I said “Acatenango Atitlan Antigua Chichicastenango and Semuc Champey”! Then in a fun tongue in cheek way said, “it would be nice to see a Quetzel!”

Guess what????
He delivered every request including the rare bird! It’s hard to pick a favorite as all were awesome but we all agreed that volcano Fuego erupting and seeing a Quetzel will be the most memorable parts of trip.

Our driver David was wonderful… knowledgeable attentive and we felt safe being driven around the narrow busy hilly roads.

Our guide Rudy was fantastic! He is young but so mature and responsible. He was kind, thoughtful, paid much attention to detail and his sense of humor was very much appreciated.

We have to say that a big part of this trip was not the destination itself but the journey and people we shared it with. Eduardo, David and Rudy and all the beautiful friendly people of Guatemala will be as much a part of our memories as the volcanoes and birds.

Will be recommending this trip to family members and friends!

Local specialist: Eduardo Celada
Eduardo
Eduardo Celada
Local specialist in Antigua, Guatemala | Replied on Feb 13, 2024
Thank you for all this feedback, we don't doubt that this will help us to get more folks and traffic to our company. You have visited one of the gems in Central America. To be honest it was really easy to organize a trip wtih you! Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review !! I'm highly glad you had a great time on the Program activities you and I built for this unforgettable tour. It is very helpful to know that you had a great time with our team guiding you around the... Read more

Thank you for all this feedback, we don't doubt that this will help us to get more folks and traffic to our company. You have visited one of the gems in Central America. To be honest it was really easy to organize a trip wtih you!

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review !!

I'm highly glad you had a great time on the Program activities you and I built for this unforgettable tour. It is very helpful to know that you had a great time with our team guiding you around the country. Be sure to spread the word to your friends and family, the more people know about Guatemala the better.

Hope to see you back again soon, cheers!

Two wonderful weeks in Belze....
Belize | Nov 28 - Dec 12, 2023

belinda
belinda m.
Denver, CO | Reviewed on Jan 21, 2024
We spent two wonderful weeks in San Pedro, San Ignacio and Guatemala with one other couple. Our vacation was arranged by Eduardo. Eduardo took care of everything for us. During our vacation he kept in touch with me to make sure all was going well. He genuinely wanted to make sure we had a good trip. One thing I greatly appreciated was that for most of our tours Eduardo planned them for just the four of us. We were very lucky to NOT be part of the big groups. Being this was our first... Read more

We spent two wonderful weeks in San Pedro, San Ignacio and Guatemala with one other couple. Our vacation was arranged by Eduardo. Eduardo took care of everything for us. During our vacation he kept in touch with me to make sure all was going well. He genuinely wanted to make sure we had a good trip. One thing I greatly appreciated was that for most of our tours Eduardo planned them for just the four of us. We were very lucky to NOT be part of the big groups. Being this was our first time to Belize we were really unsure of where to go and what to expect. Our transportation was all pre-arranged which took a ton of stress off of me. Our first driver, (Cameron) was waiting for us at the airport and took us to the water taxi to get us to San Pedro. He was full of conversation and pointed so many things out on our way. He was wonderful. We started our vacation in Belize on San Pedro. We stayed at Tres Cocos Resort. This is a very clean resort. The staff, be it office or grounds, they were all so nice and went out of their way to help us. We went night snorkeling and also did a whole day snorkel with Inland and Sea Adventure (Eric and Maya). We had a really good time going to Hol Chan, Shark Ray Alley, and Caye Caulker for lunch. We were able to see manta rays, sea turtles, mannatees, and lots of different fish. The water was a little rough which made for the water being murky and having to deal with alot of human "trash". The tour company was wonderful. They made sure that we all had a really good time and of course safety was number one. The main transportation to get around San Pedro is a golf cart. Do know that the roads are full of pot holes and very rough. We ate at a couple different restaurants that in my opinion are worth mentioning: 1. for dinner Caramba 2. for breakfast Tres Cocos Waffles and Smokehouse. One thing to be prepared for while on the island: Things are very expensive. For example a pound of butter was $21.95 BZE. After spending 5 days on San Pedro we headed inland. Our next destination was San Ignacio. On our way there we again had Cameron as our driver. We learned so much from him. We made a stop to do a river tubing tour. Our guide for this tour was Victor. He was always talking and sharing his knowledge. I do wish that he had slowed down a little as my husband and I were a tad slower on the walk to the river and we missed out on most of his conversation. We also felt that we were rushed during the tubing part of the tour. Not sure we would do this again, but perhaps the kayaking instead. While in San Ignacio we stayed at the "Falling Leaves Lodge". I can't say enough good about this lodge. I absolutely loved it. ALL of the staff were so friendly and helpful. We ate breakfast there every morning, delish... One of the chefs is Mo. He personally came out of the kitchen at every meal to make sure that we had enjoyed everything. Paula (the manager) is the most wonderful person. She went out of her way to make our stay memorable. She really should be proud of her staff. The grounds are well kept and it is a very beautiful layout. The pool was not finished when we were there (December 2023), but it was being worked on between rainy days. We definitely will be staying with them on our next trip. On a side note there is a ruins that is just a walk from Falling Leaves Lodge: Cahal Pech. This is a self guided tour, but definitely worth it. A most interesting tour was the Cacao Farm and Chocolate making. If you want to know where chocolate really comes from and not a "Willy Wonka tour" this tour is for you. Adrian took us to the small farm where the cacao trees grow and then his family demonstrated how the Mayans make chocolate back in town at their shop. One tour that you do not want to miss is the ATM cave tour! There are many different comments on this tour about it being hard, and what you can bring with on the tour. I am 58 years old, not in the best shape: I did it!! You do have to cross 3 "river spots", but there is a big ol' rope to hang on to. There is a bit of swimming, but most of it is "walking" through the water. There is climbing on and through rocks (water shoes are a must). There is one spot where you have to climb up rocks, but there are so many helping hands in the groups to help, everyone makes it up and also down. Our driver, Hugh, stayed with the van and had a most delicious lunch waiting for us. Now as to what you can bring on this tour: Nothing, no wet bag, water, camera or anything. The guide carries it all in their bag. The one thing that you will need is an old pair of socks that you can throw away. You can bring a change of clothes as you will get wet. But that is left in the van. After you get to the top of the one climbing spot you may NOT wear shoes, that is where the socks come into play. Our guide here was Gonzo. Talk about a great guide, he is the best! Our next couple days were spent in Guatemala, heading to Tikal Lodge. Our driver to the border was again Hugh. As always he is so pleasant and full of knowledge as he is a retired tour guide. He made sure we got into Guatemala without trouble and found our connecting ride and guide. At the border on both sides there are many currency exchangers waiting to make sure you have Guatemalen money. Do make sure you get small bills not just large ones as the small shops aren't always able to make change. On our way to Tikal Lodge we stopped for lunch. Please know that Spanish is the main language in Guatemala so ordering lunch was a bit of a challenge since we don't speak Spanish. After lunch we headed to Yaxha Maya Ruins. This is an out of the way ruins. But boy is it worth seeing. Our guide, Oliver, was hoping that we would be able to see the sunset here, but due to the incoming rain, we missed out on that. This is one place that we got to see the howler monkeys and various birds. One suggestion I have is to leave earlier than 10 a.m. from San Ignacio if you are heading to Guatemala to do this tour. The travel time is a bit long due to ALL the "potholes" and rough road. We stayed at Jungle Lodge Tikal while in Guatemala. This was a clean lodge But... be prepared for no hot water, they shut the lights and electricity off at 11 p.m. (as they are basically off grid) in the rooms, the only internet is at the lodge not in your room, the restaurant is fair (it seemed that they were out of things on the menu and usually things we wanted to order) and again they only speak Spanish which makes things difficult. The staff wasn't overly friendly either. We were scheduled to have a free day in Flores on our own. Had it not been for our guide, Oliver, offering his services for the day it would not have been such a fun day. Again, we don't speak Spanish and it would have been a struggle without him. His helpfulness with the language barrier was most appreciated. He also took us places that we never would have known about, such as a wood carving school where the students are able to sell their projects and get the money, the animal sanctuary (Arca's) and another off the beaten path ruins. Our main reason for going to Guatemala was the sunrise tour at Tikal National Park. The nice thing about staying at Jungle Lodge Tikal is for the sunrise tour you're right there to start the walk to the temple. So with that in mind we would over look some of the down sides and stay here again so that we are right there for the sunrise tour. One thing to bring is a flashlight or even better a head lamp so your hands are free. One thing we wished is that we had allowed a couple days for Tikal, as our guide told us that about 2-3 days is what you need to see it all. We really didn't get to see much of Tikal because we didn't realize it was such a huge ruins. After getting back to Belize the next day we did a horse riding tour of Xunantunich Maya Ruins. This was alot of fun with our guides, Elio and Miguel. You get to see a bit of different scenery off the beaten path . One thing to remember this is a half day tour so there is no lunch provided. We ended our vacation with a Cooking Class in San Ignacio at Marie Sharp's Tourist Center. This was a blast! We were taken to the market by William (our instructor). He shared alot of information about San Ignacio while at the market. We all pitched in and helped prepare our lunch which was very tasty chicken, rice, bread pudding and other tasty things. This was a hands on cooking class. One thing to remember about Belize and Guatemala even though you go during the "dry season" this does not mean it won't rain. We found this out on many days. Our vacation was incredible! Alot of the credit goes to Eduardo for planning things out so well. We can't wait to start planning our next visit to Belize and Guatemala.

Local specialist: Eduardo Celada
Eduardo
Eduardo Celada
Local specialist in Antigua, Guatemala | Replied on Jan 26, 2024

Hola Belinda,
I want to thank for your words. I make feel happy because i know you and I built a great experience and of course that you enjoyed and you will remind this forever. I will be alway happy to assist you with the destinations we promote.
I'm highly glad you had a great time on the Program activities you and I built for this unforgettable tour. Be sure to spread the word to your friends and family, the more people know about Guatemala the better. Hope to see you back again soon, cheers!
Cheers,
Eduardo

Honduras
Honduras | Jan 5 - Jan 10, 2024

B
Barbara C.
Denver, CO | Reviewed on Jan 19, 2024
We met with Eduardo, our local specialist, in Antigua.
I believe he tried his best, but he had to deal with an agency in Honduras that did not process requests in a timely manner and that caused unnecessary anxiety.
We had a fantastic time in Copan, liked our hotel and loved our guide ! (Yovan?)
We were disappointed with Roatan (overdeveloped, too many cruise ships) but this had nothing to do with Eduardo.
However, the hotel room at Caribe Tesoro was the least desirable in the whole complex-...
Read more

We met with Eduardo, our local specialist, in Antigua.
I believe he tried his best, but he had to deal with an agency in Honduras that did not process requests in a timely manner and that caused unnecessary anxiety.
We had a fantastic time in Copan, liked our hotel and loved our guide ! (Yovan?)
We were disappointed with Roatan (overdeveloped, too many cruise ships) but this had nothing to do with Eduardo.
However, the hotel room at Caribe Tesoro was the least desirable in the whole complex- no privacy, no view, and all day noise from the construction going on in the building. I suspect Eduardo was not properly informed about this while booking...

Hotel Reviews
Hotel Casa del Cafe
copan

Nice room. nice view, good location, good breakfast. Extremely nice staff.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Hotel Caribe Tesoro
Roatan

Windows of the rooms with a "garden view" face a walkway and the reception and need to be covered at all times to provide any privacy. They are also located on the ground floor of the building under construction with associated noise and workers all around. Mediocre breakfast. However, staff is nice and try to help.

Authenticity & Character
Location
West Bay. Near the water.
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Local specialist: Eduardo Celada
Eduardo
Eduardo Celada
Local specialist in Antigua, Guatemala | Replied on Jan 23, 2024
Hola Barbara,
Thank you very much for your opinion on this trip. I am prettysure we will take into account your comments to get better for future references on this destination.
I am happy to hear you enjoy Copan. and its ruins. We certainly have a great popularity of this place to oset in the hotels we assing. For Roatan, I have talked ot the hotel, they told me uunfortunately they were under construction on of their sections and this was a very bad time to start this actions. I am... Read more

Hola Barbara,
Thank you very much for your opinion on this trip. I am prettysure we will take into account your comments to get better for future references on this destination.

I am happy to hear you enjoy Copan. and its ruins. We certainly have a great popularity of this place to oset in the hotels we assing.

For Roatan, I have talked ot the hotel, they told me uunfortunately they were under construction on of their sections and this was a very bad time to start this actions. I am agreed with you that they should have told us about this and closed the area or get you on a different room wtih more affordable relax time for you.

I hope you can be in touch soon since we have a bunch of destinations that we can take you out.

Once again for your opinion on this tirp.
Eduardo

Great trip to Guatemala and Belize with Eduardo!
Guatemala | Dec 13 - Dec 28, 2023

S
Sharone B.
Canada | Reviewed on Dec 29, 2023
Eduardo was highly attentive and truly expert in planning phase, resulting in a very smooth (not to mention interesting, exciting, and highly tailored to our preferences!) experience where even the tiniest of details was thought out. In advance. Throughout the trip he responded immediately to any query or request. As a result, we had an absolutely phenomenal Guatemala-Belize trip! If you’re travelling to Guatemala it is important to note that English is not common and not all... Read more

Eduardo was highly attentive and truly expert in planning phase, resulting in a very smooth (not to mention interesting, exciting, and highly tailored to our preferences!) experience where even the tiniest of details was thought out. In advance. Throughout the trip he responded immediately to any query or request.

As a result, we had an absolutely phenomenal Guatemala-Belize trip!

If you’re travelling to Guatemala it is important to note that English is not common and not all guides speak it perfectly. As well, not all guides have extensive training in the history of the country etc. Make sure to talk to Eduardo about booking the most seasoned and best-English-speaking guides, and your trip will be superb!

Local specialist: Eduardo Celada
Eduardo
Eduardo Celada
Local specialist in Antigua, Guatemala | Replied on Jan 03, 2024

Thank you for all this feedback, we have no doubt that this will help us to get more folks interested in this route which is impressive.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review !!
I'm highly glad you had a great time on the Program activities you and I built for this unforgettable tour. It is very helpful to know that you had a great time with our team guiding you around the country. Be sure to spread the word to your friends and family, the more people know about Guatemala the better. Hope to see you back again soon, cheers!