Profile photo for Lize Enderstein
6742 messages
active 16 hours ago

Lize Enderstein

I work as a senior consultant for African Travel Gateway and have 18 years of experience in the travel industry. We plan, book and implement tailor-made holidays for our clients that fit within their budget but still give them a true African experience and a trip of a lifetime. I love traveling and meeting interesting people, experiencing different cultures and always say “life is too short not to travel”.

What places and activities do you specialize in?

"We specialize in 10 Southern & East Africa countries, namely: South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Swaziland, Tanzania, Kenya & Zanzibar. Our activities range from various types of safaris to the more regular tours to cities and non-safari adventures in the region like Cape Town, train journeys, beach holidays and horse back safaris."

How did you get involved in travel?

"After studying food and hotel management and working a couple of years in the industry I decided it was time for a change…..I always loved to travel as I have a bucket list to tick off as life is just too short to waste any time. I applied for a job in the travel business and since that time never looked back. I love my work and is passionate about what I do. "

Please share a unique travel experience you will never forget.

"My first ever safari was in Botswana, a truly African safari experience, we stayed at Sanctuary Stanley's Camp in the Okavango Delta and after a fantastic safari with mokoros on the river we went for a picnic lunch and while enjoying the beautiful scenery a herd of Elephants came walking through the big trees making their way towards the the river to drink water, it was a very scary feeling but also excited as I have never witnessed anything like that before, it was truly something I would remember forever."

Top itineraries and travel advice
Family itineraries
Luxury itineraries
Road trip itineraries

Recent trip reviews for Lize

Namibia
Namibia | Jul 8 - Jul 18, 2023

K
kai r.
Finland | Reviewed on Jul 20, 2023

The Namibia travel experience was amazing. All places visited and stays overnight were special in one way or the other. Onguma was out of this world whereas Madisa was a lot more down to earth. I might change make some changes if I did it again, but that is the benefit of hindsight. Anyway, thank you for setting it up Lize.

Local specialist: Lize Enderstein
Lize
Lize Enderstein
Local specialist in South Africa | Replied on Jul 21, 2023

Hi Kai,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Namibia.
Hope to hear from you again should you wish to return to the beautiful Southern Africa.
Take care.
Best wishes, Lize

We had a bad experience with a substandard lo...
Namibia | Jun 11 - Jun 29, 2023

M
Matt F.
Singapore | Reviewed on Jul 10, 2023

We had a bad experience with a substandard lodge suggested by kimkim. Our concerns and criticisms were brushed aside rather than addressed. I would not entrust kimkim with my travel plans again.

Local specialist: Lize Enderstein
Lize
Lize Enderstein
Local specialist in South Africa | Replied on Jul 20, 2023

Hi Matt,
Thanks for the feedback. I am sorry to hear your experience at the lodge in question tainted your 14-day trip, which you otherwise described as an amazing experience. I’d like to draw your attention to the fact that your complaint was certainly not brushed aside. It was addressed on the KimKim platform in a message to you that remains on the system as unread. I can assure you we take all comments & observations from clients, (both positive & negative), very seriously and do give... read more

Hi Matt,
Thanks for the feedback. I am sorry to hear your experience at the lodge in question tainted your 14-day trip, which you otherwise described as an amazing experience. I’d like to draw your attention to the fact that your complaint was certainly not brushed aside. It was addressed on the KimKim platform in a message to you that remains on the system as unread. I can assure you we take all comments & observations from clients, (both positive & negative), very seriously and do give them the appropriate attention. Suppliers are made to respond, and any lessons learned in the process are taken on board.
Kind Regards, Lize

The trip was amazing. Nicholas in saby sand w...
South Africa | Jun 13 - Jun 25, 2023

S
Smita B.
Hinsdale, IL | Reviewed on Jul 05, 2023

The trip was amazing. Nicholas in saby sand was amazing. game rides were awesome. Thank you!! read more

The trip was amazing. Nicholas in saby sand was amazing. game rides were awesome. Thank you!!

Local specialist: Lize Enderstein
Lize
Lize Enderstein
Local specialist in South Africa | Replied on Jul 05, 2023

Hi Smita,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am really happy that you enjoyed your trip, and that safari was amazing.
Take care and keep well.
Best Wishes, Lize

2023 African Safari Trip
South Africa | Jun 13 - Jun 25, 2023

Nigam
Nigam T.
Birmingham, MI | Reviewed on Jun 30, 2023

Nicholas and Dion were the best guide and tracker at Sabi Sands.
Harry was the best guide at Xakanaxa Delta.
People were extremely friendly at all safaris as well as Cape Town and Victoria Falls. Each safari provided unique experience that we will cherish forever. Great time. read more

Nicholas and Dion were the best guide and tracker at Sabi Sands.
Harry was the best guide at Xakanaxa Delta.
People were extremely friendly at all safaris as well as Cape Town and Victoria Falls. Each safari provided unique experience that we will cherish forever. Great time.

Hotel Reviews
The Commodore Hotel
Cape Town

Very friendly people. Everything is on time and great service.

Authenticity & Character
Very friendly people
Location
Walking distance from mall and water
Staff
Always ready to help. Also, paid attention to our dietary needs.
Cleanliness & Comfort
Clean rooms as hallways. Breakfast area was greatly organized.
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Bushbuckridge

The whole staff from Kelly (Camp Manager) to our guide (Nicholas) and Tracker (Dion) were great people. Chef took take care of us due to our vegetarian diet needs. Nicholas and Dion were great to take us closest to animals as possible.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls

Beautiful location for the lodge. Great rooms and excellent cleanliness. Happy (The guide) was helpful in showing us falls from all different aspects. Shopping was great.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Little away from town at the same time close driving distance to town
Staff
Knowledgeable
Cleanliness & Comfort
Very good service
Chobe Game Lodge
Serondela

Overall great experience. Not too happy with the guide. She seemed little less aggressive to find animals for us to see.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Great location
Staff
Great food.
Cleanliness & Comfort
Excellent
Camp Xakanaxa
Maun

It was like living in a true jungle. Everyone from Ipeleng (Camp Manager) to Harry (The Guide) were very helpful. They provided great communication and safety walk to make us feel totally at home.

Authenticity & Character
True experience of nature.
Location
Can't expect better location than pure jungle experience.
Staff
Unbelievable. Everyone is great, specially our guide Harry
Cleanliness & Comfort
Extremely clean. Not a single issue.
Activity Reviews
Private City & Table Mountain Tour - Half Day
Cape Town

Mario (The Guide) is the best. Very knowledgable.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Full Day Cape Peninsula Tour (including lunch)
South Africa

Mario was very accommodating to our needs. He took us to shopping places after Peninsula Tour. Lunch was great and catered to our dietary needs.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Staff and drivers are always either on time or ahead of time as well as ready to help.
Transport
Afternoon Game Drive
Sabi Sands Game Reserve

Great beginning of our Safari tour.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Morning and Afternoon Game Drives
Sabi Sands Game Reserve

Nicholas and Dion are top of their game. They knew exactly what our wishes were and how to fulfill them. This team of duo is great at informing us as well as finding animals based on our wishes. Great time.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Days on Safari
South Africa

Another day in paradise. Nicholas and Dion exposed us to breathe taking moment of roaring lions, within 6 inches of Elephant. What a game drive!!!!! We never imagined such a close exciting, thrilling encounter with the help of Dion and Nicholas.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Tour of the falls
Victoria Falls

Happy (The guide) is very knowledgeable. Nice tour of the falls. Gave us totally new perspective after visiting the falls

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Sunset cruise
Victoria Falls

Nice relaxing evening. Great view. Enjoyed.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Victoria Falls to Chobe
Botswana

Everything was on time and no issue with transportation.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Chobe Safari
Chobe National Park

The guide was not as enthusiastic and aggressive as Sabi Sands and Okavango Delta. We believe she could have done lot more to make it significantly more exciting for us.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Chobe Safari Day
Botswana

Lodge was outstanding. Only disappointment was guid and Game Drive.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Guide was disappointment.
Transport
Chobe National Park to Okavango Delta
Botswana

One of the best experience in charter plane. Travel was flawless.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Okavango Delta Safari
Okavango Delta

One of the best experience. Our guide Harry was extremely knowledgeable. He knew exactly how to track animals. He listened to our wishes very clearly and tried his best to execute them. He has no fear of taking us close to animals while keeping our safety in mind. One of the best highlight of our tour.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Local specialist: Lize Enderstein
Lize
Lize Enderstein
Local specialist in South Africa | Replied on Jul 03, 2023

Hi Nigam,
Thank you for your wonderful and detailed feedback on all accommodations, tours, and guides.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your overall trip, and the safari experience was good.
It was lovely working with you all. Please send my regards and special thanks to all.
Hope to hear from you again should you wish to return to beautiful Southern Africa.
All the best, Lize

Lovely trip overall with some suggestions for improving trip planning services
Botswana | Jun 13 - Jun 22, 2023

J
jackie d.
Uganda | Reviewed on Jun 26, 2023

The first two lodges we stayed at, Leroo La Tau lodge and Xugana Island Lodge were fantastic with the staff members delightful, helpful, and providing excellent service. We saw beautiful wildlife and enjoyed the beauty of the Botswana landscape for the 8 nights of our trip. We did book this trip last minute and Lize, our local specialist, worked hard to ensure we had luxury accomodations for 4 adults. However, there was a lot of misinformation provided in the finalized itinerary as if the... read more

The first two lodges we stayed at, Leroo La Tau lodge and Xugana Island Lodge were fantastic with the staff members delightful, helpful, and providing excellent service. We saw beautiful wildlife and enjoyed the beauty of the Botswana landscape for the 8 nights of our trip. We did book this trip last minute and Lize, our local specialist, worked hard to ensure we had luxury accomodations for 4 adults. However, there was a lot of misinformation provided in the finalized itinerary as if the descriptions were just copy and pasted into our itinerary; thus leading to an experience of unpersonalized trip planning and also confusion when checking into our lodges of what was actually paid for/included. For example, information about one lodge said we were booked for a 4WD safari, but the lodge only does water-based activities. As another example, the finalized KimKim itinerary said "private group" for some activities but we were actually in a "small group" so it was unclear if we paid more for private and yet were put in a small group. More attention to detail in the trip planning itinerary would have been appreciated. Additionally, providing more options with details (e.g., so we could have compared pricing, activities, etc.) before finalizing bookings would have been good. For example, two or three lodge options (with details on each lodge) on where to stay for each night would have been better than just providing one option before booking because we were unaware of which lodges were in the area and who KimKim partner lodges are.

Local specialist: Lize Enderstein
Lize
Lize Enderstein
Local specialist in South Africa | Replied on Jun 28, 2023

Hi Jackie,
Thank you for your detailed feedback. I really appreciate it.
We will take forward all the comments and criticism as it will help us to improve. We do know there is always room for improvement!
Best wishes, Lize

South Africa and Zimbabwe
South Africa | Mar 15 - Mar 28, 2023

David
David B.
United Kingdom | Reviewed on Mar 29, 2023

4-5 days in Cape Town(V&A hotel is a great location )is perfect, table mountain and Robben island were great experiences. 2 days Franschhoek was perfect and Avonrood accommodation excellent.Ryan was a brilliant guide for both above . Thabamati luxury tented lodge was just brilliant (food, safari’s,service all excellent) and 4 nights was just enough. To finish at Victoria falls and sunset cruise was a fantastic finish to our brilliant holiday.
read more

4-5 days in Cape Town(V&A hotel is a great location )is perfect, table mountain and Robben island were great experiences. 2 days Franschhoek was perfect and Avonrood accommodation excellent.Ryan was a brilliant guide for both above . Thabamati luxury tented lodge was just brilliant (food, safari’s,service all excellent) and 4 nights was just enough. To finish at Victoria falls and sunset cruise was a fantastic finish to our brilliant holiday.

Hotel Reviews
The Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Cape Town

Great location.Clean room. Service could be a bit better at breakfast.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Location
Staff
Help at front of hotel for taxi’s etc
Cleanliness & Comfort
Avondrood Luxury Guest House
Franschhoek, Western Cape

Friendly, very comfortable accommodation in great location. Very high standard. Great breakfast.

Authenticity & Character
Great character, lovely furnishings
Location
Staff
Very friendly and helpful
Cleanliness & Comfort
Thabamati Luxury Tented Camp
Timbavati Game Reserve

Overall fantastic experience, luxury accommodation, excellent setting,service, safari’s, staff friendliness .The experience surpassed our expectations.

Authenticity & Character
Excellent quality of accommodation. Really friendly feel to the camp. The staff are all great
Location
Timbavati game reserve offers a lot of spotting from start to finish.
Staff
All helpful with everything
Cleanliness & Comfort
Extremely high standard in communal and private areas
Ilala Lodge
Victoria Falls

Great location, saw wild animals in the lovely garden areas. You can hear the sound of the falls which we liked

Authenticity & Character
Dining , pool and bar areas very well laid out
Location
Staff
Reception staff really helpful
Cleanliness & Comfort
Activity Reviews
Full Day Cape Peninsula Tour (including lunch)
South Africa

Great day tour. Great sights. Our lunch was average on this trip , I think because they rushed leading up to load shedding.

Quality of Experience
Seeing great sights and scenery
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Ryan provides just the right amount of information and is relaxed and friendly
Transport
Table Mountain Hike and Cable Car
Cape Town

Great hike, great guide who was really friendly and knowledgeable

Quality of Experience
Good sense of achievement in completing the hike
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Knowledgeable, friendly
Transport
Afternoon Game Drive
South Africa

Brilliant

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Private Cape Town City and Scheduled Robben Island Tour
Cape Town

Robben island is a must do item. Really interesting. City tour informative and pleasant to see the different areas.

Quality of Experience
Informative and interesting
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Full Day Winelands Tour
South Africa

We really enjoyed the day especially the cheese and wine pairing and the final stop location, setting and scenery was spectacular(Stark Conde). We felt 2 wine tastings would have been better than 3 , also a slightly later start would be good to allow a bit more free time in Franschhoek

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Location choices arranged by Ryan
Transport
Days on Safari
South Africa

Brilliant

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Timbavati Private Game Reserve Safari Day
Timbavati Game Reserve

Brilliant

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Boma Dinner
Victoria Falls

Slow start but got better and better. Food was nice also

Quality of Experience
Drumming, singing
Food
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Didn’t always have transportation cool enough
Tour of the falls and sunset cruise
Victoria Falls

Excellent tour of the falls, great experience

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Local specialist: Lize Enderstein
Lize
Lize Enderstein
Local specialist in South Africa | Replied on Mar 29, 2023

Hi David,
Thank you so much for your detailed feedback on the hotels, tours and safari lodge.
Wonderful to read that you had a brilliant holiday.
Hope to see you return someday to Southern Africa.
Best Regards, Lize

Go to South Africa and let Lize plan the trip!
South Africa | Mar 13 - Mar 21, 2023

Amanda
Amanda B.
South Burlington, VT | Reviewed on Mar 28, 2023

Lize planned an unforgettable trip to South Africa for us! Our tour guides in both Cape Town (Bonnie) and Johannesburg (Natasha) were super friendly and knowledgeable. And of course, the safari experience was 10/10 incredible! Lize planned the perfect amount of time in each location, and she was super flexible as our needs and wants changed. I highly recommend South Africa as a destination and Lize as a travel specialist!

Local specialist: Lize Enderstein
Lize
Lize Enderstein
Local specialist in South Africa | Replied on Mar 28, 2023

Hi Amanda,
Thank you so much for a very special message. It was great working with you, and I am happy that you enjoyed your trip to our beautiful country South Africa!
Hope to see you return someday to Southern Africa.
All the best, Lize

Lize is a miracle worker!
South Africa | Mar 11 - Mar 15, 2023

A
Arianne P.
Los Angeles, CA | Reviewed on Mar 21, 2023

My husband and I booked a pretty last-minute trip to south Africa and we were not easy customers! Lize was so incredible patient and helpful, and communicated well, and quickly. This trip wouldn't have happened without her, and it really was glorious! Tangala Lodge was perfect for us, even though it wasn't originally where we were planning to stay. Amenities were basic and clean, yet service was absolutely 5 star! And not a trivial detail--the transfers our stay involved we're SO smooth they... read more

My husband and I booked a pretty last-minute trip to south Africa and we were not easy customers! Lize was so incredible patient and helpful, and communicated well, and quickly. This trip wouldn't have happened without her, and it really was glorious! Tangala Lodge was perfect for us, even though it wasn't originally where we were planning to stay. Amenities were basic and clean, yet service was absolutely 5 star! And not a trivial detail--the transfers our stay involved we're SO smooth they were easy to forget! My husband and I never had to wonder how we were going to get from point A to point B.

Hotel Review
Tangala Safari Camp
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Local specialist: Lize Enderstein
Lize
Lize Enderstein
Local specialist in South Africa | Replied on Mar 21, 2023

Hi Arianne,
Thank you for a wonderful review!
I am happy that you enjoyed your safari at Tangala Safari Camp.
Take care and keep well.
Hope to hear from you again should you wish to return to Africa!
Best Regards, Lize

Amazing 14 day vacation!
South Africa | Feb 10 - Feb 23, 2023

L
Leonard H.
Bismarck, ND | Reviewed on Feb 26, 2023

Lize correspondence and attention to detail was perfect. The itinerary worked out amazingly well.
Victoria Falls was beautiful and guide Ernie was patient and thorough. Zambezi sunset cruise was relaxing and hippos a plus. Boma dinner entertainment was fun and Mopani worm a little chewy.
Cape Town accommodations at Victoria & Alfred hotel were ideal on the Victoria wharf area. Many available restaurants a short distance away associated with shopping mall. Unable to visit Table Top... read more

Lize correspondence and attention to detail was perfect. The itinerary worked out amazingly well.
Victoria Falls was beautiful and guide Ernie was patient and thorough. Zambezi sunset cruise was relaxing and hippos a plus. Boma dinner entertainment was fun and Mopani worm a little chewy.
Cape Town accommodations at Victoria & Alfred hotel were ideal on the Victoria wharf area. Many available restaurants a short distance away associated with shopping mall. Unable to visit Table Top mountain due to high winds and cloud cover.
First visit to South Africa and safari trips were amazing. We went to two different game preserves & lodges. Hostess Kelly at Elephant Plains lodge was very accommodating and safaris guide Dennis/tracker Dumi found so many animals Lions, elephants, rhinos, zebra, hyenas, leopards and wild dogs to mention a few. Staff always available and friendly.
Our final lodge Thabamati Luxury Tented Camp was unbelievable and a special experience. The hostesses Mich & Lorna were there to greet us on arrival from every safari with wet cloths and drinks. Intimate camp with only 8 guests and service & food was amazing. Guide Charel and tracker Caswell were so knowledgeable and helpful. You could tell they really loved their job. Simply an awesome experience. Thank you!!

Local specialist: Lize Enderstein
Lize
Lize Enderstein
Local specialist in South Africa | Replied on Feb 27, 2023

Dear Leonard,
Thank you for your wonderful, detailed and great trip feedback.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your trip and had a good time in Cape Town, wildlife sightings on safari sounded amazing and enjoyed Victoria Falls.
Hope to see you return soon.
Take care and keep well.
Best Regards, Lize

Namibian AdventureTo Lize Enderstein and Ci...
Namibia | Aug 28 - Sep 30, 2022

Peter
Peter L.
New Zealand | Reviewed on Oct 05, 2022

Namibian Adventure

To Lize Enderstein and Cindy Botha, a huge THANK YOU !!

We have just returned from a 33 day, Namibia self drive, which was initially scheduled for 2020. Cindy and Lize you have had to contend with postponing our trip by, first one, then two years. You have always been informative, accomodating, courteous and prompt with all our correspondence. Your Kimkim appointed travel consultant Pepe, who met us at the airport to send us off, was also very helpful and... read more

Namibian Adventure

To Lize Enderstein and Cindy Botha, a huge THANK YOU !!

We have just returned from a 33 day, Namibia self drive, which was initially scheduled for 2020. Cindy and Lize you have had to contend with postponing our trip by, first one, then two years. You have always been informative, accomodating, courteous and prompt with all our correspondence. Your Kimkim appointed travel consultant Pepe, who met us at the airport to send us off, was also very helpful and informative.

Although we provided the skeleton of the trip from Windhoek via, Sossusvlei, Swakopmund, Twyfelfontein, Etosha, Caprivi, Waterberg, Erindi and finally Witvlei, your choices of accomodation and the comprehensive itinerary booklet, with suggested activities were excellent. You left nothing to chance, so there were no unpleasant surprises. On the contrary, our accomodation was, without fail perfectly matched to our budget and in all cases exceeded our expectation.

Our trip has so many highlights, however, two need special mention, our first night at Namibgrens Guest Farm with their quirky accomodation and friendliness and Fishermans Guesthouse for their kind hospitality and a truly delicious meal. We come away from Namibia with such a positive impression of the place and its people. All our hosts, staff and the public have been helpful and fun to deal with. It is difficult to imagine an improvement to what has been a wonderful Namibian adventure.

To Lize, Cindy and Kimkim, thank you again,
Peter, Wendy, Jon and Jan Lorentz.

Local specialist: Lize Enderstein
Lize
Lize Enderstein
Local specialist in South Africa | Replied on Oct 05, 2022

Hi Peter, Wendy, Jon and Jan,
Thank you so, so much for the beautiful review and amazing feedback.
Namibia is an amazing country, and I am happy that your holiday was special.
I hope to hear from you again in the near future when you decide to return to Southern Africa.
Take care and keep well.
Best Wishes, Lize

Botswana review
Botswana | Sep 16 - Sep 21, 2022

jo
jo b.
New Zealand | Reviewed on Sep 26, 2022

We had a pre arranged trip in Botswana for the first part of our holiday and worked with kimkim and Lize to provide an itinerary for an additional 5 days.

We had a great trip and the Lodge/Salt Pan overnight trip in Makgadikgadi and House boat in Chobe were all excellent.

Local specialist: Lize Enderstein
Lize
Lize Enderstein
Local specialist in South Africa | Replied on Sep 26, 2022

Dear Jo and Jens,
Thank you for your great feedback of your trip to Makgadikgadi and Chobe Houseboat experience. I am happy that you enjoyed your safari, and the river cruise. It was lovely working with you.
Take care and keep well.
Best Wishes, Lize

Flawlessy Executed Trip to Namibia and South Africa
Namibia | Aug 15 - Aug 31, 2022

N
Nick R.
San Jose, CA | Reviewed on Sep 12, 2022

We just returned from one of the best trips of our life. An amazing trip plan was put together by Lize and team to navigate us through 3 weeks of Safari, wildlife viewing, amazing accomidation and so much more. I had been working with Lize for the better part of a year initially to get this trip planned and everything went off without a hitch. Truly thankful for this expirence and the people that all made it happen. Would not hesitate to use again or reccomend this service to any of our... read more

We just returned from one of the best trips of our life. An amazing trip plan was put together by Lize and team to navigate us through 3 weeks of Safari, wildlife viewing, amazing accomidation and so much more. I had been working with Lize for the better part of a year initially to get this trip planned and everything went off without a hitch. Truly thankful for this expirence and the people that all made it happen. Would not hesitate to use again or reccomend this service to any of our friends. Thanks again for everything!

Hotel Reviews
The Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Cape Town
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel
Windhoek
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Sesriem
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Swakopmund
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Mowani Mountain Camp
Damaraland
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Etosha Oberland Lodge
Okaukuejo
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Naankuse Lodge
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Local specialist: Lize Enderstein
Lize
Lize Enderstein
Local specialist in South Africa | Replied on Sep 12, 2022

Hi Nick,
Thank you for a wonderful review and amazing feedback of your trip to South Africa and Namibia.
I am delighted to hear that you loved all accommodations and the trip was one of the best of your life!! Just amazing.
I hope to hear from you again in the near future should you wish to return to the beautiful Southern Africa, or experience the exceptional East Africa.
Take care and best wishes, Lize

Amazing Trip to South Africa
South Africa | Aug 13 - Aug 23, 2022

Brad
Brad P.
Canada | Reviewed on Aug 27, 2022

thank you Lize and the Kimkim team and our wonderful knowledgeable guides. Rehana and Leisel for a fantastic trip . The experiences from the hike up Table Mountain, Cape Tour and phenomenal Garden Route and all their suggestions made for unforgettable memories! First rate!

Local specialist: Lize Enderstein
Lize
Lize Enderstein
Local specialist in South Africa | Replied on Sep 06, 2022

Dear Brad,
Thank you for your wonderful review and positive comments.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your trip and had a great time in South Africa!
Hope to see you return soon.
Best Wishes, Lize

Our trip was wonderful from start to finish. ...
South Africa | Aug 6 - Aug 13, 2022

Joanne
Joanne B.
Canada | Reviewed on Aug 16, 2022

Our trip was wonderful from start to finish. The hotel in Capetown was great and such a good location. Our guide Chris was fantastic. Some of the items listed to see we did not see and I was disappointed about some of those. I felt they should not have been listed if we actually could not get to see them because I chose this trip based on some of them. The things we did do were terrific.
The Nkorho lodge was another highlight - the food, services and amenities were wonderful and the safari... read more

Our trip was wonderful from start to finish. The hotel in Capetown was great and such a good location. Our guide Chris was fantastic. Some of the items listed to see we did not see and I was disappointed about some of those. I felt they should not have been listed if we actually could not get to see them because I chose this trip based on some of them. The things we did do were terrific.
The Nkorho lodge was another highlight - the food, services and amenities were wonderful and the safari experience was top notch.

Hotel Reviews
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Kruger National Park

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! I would chose this lodge again in a heartbeat!!

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
The Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Cape Town
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Local specialist: Lize Enderstein
Lize
Lize Enderstein
Local specialist in South Africa | Replied on Aug 17, 2022

Hi Joanne,
Thank you so much for your detailed feedback, we appreciate it. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience. The photos taken are beautiful! Especially of all the animals seen at Nkorho Bush Lodge. The feedback you send always provide us with clear insight and give a true reflection of your overall experience. We will take forward all the comments and criticism as it will help us to improve. We do know there is always room for improvement! Hope to be of assistance again in the near future.
All the best, Lize

Lize did a good job. Some suggestions in hin...
South Africa | Jul 20 - Aug 1, 2022

M
Mark D.
Draper, UT | Reviewed on Aug 03, 2022

Lize did a good job. Some suggestions in hindsight:
At Victoria Falls, I recommend doing both sides of the falls. Pioneer Lodge is very good. The trip to Chobe is very good.
At Cape Town our guide Mario was very good.
Tangala--the tents have no heat. The sleeping and shower were accordingly very uncomfortable. Guests should be made aware of that before hand; we were not.
Elephant Plains is a great property, but the wi-fi is very limited to the bar area--nothing in the rooms. ... read more

Lize did a good job. Some suggestions in hindsight:
At Victoria Falls, I recommend doing both sides of the falls. Pioneer Lodge is very good. The trip to Chobe is very good.
At Cape Town our guide Mario was very good.
Tangala--the tents have no heat. The sleeping and shower were accordingly very uncomfortable. Guests should be made aware of that before hand; we were not.
Elephant Plains is a great property, but the wi-fi is very limited to the bar area--nothing in the rooms. The quality of the wildlife viewing was good, but the quantity was lacking. The quantity at Chobe and Tangala was much greater.

Local specialist: Lize Enderstein
Lize
Lize Enderstein
Local specialist in South Africa | Replied on Aug 04, 2022

Hi Mark,
Thank you so much for your detailed feedback, we appreciate it. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience. The feedback you send always provide us with clear insight and give a true reflection of your overall experience. We will take forward all the comments and criticism as it will help us to improve. We do know there is always room for improvement! Hope to be of assistance again in the near future.
All the best, Lize

Beautiful Botswana and more.
Botswana | Jul 2 - Jul 11, 2022

A
Anne O.
United Kingdom | Reviewed on Jul 16, 2022

Lize
The remoteness of the Okavango was the perfect start to our trip and the attention to detail and quality of the staff at the lodge was exceptional we loved the walking safari and the mojito and when they handed us our hot water bottles on the first night I’ve never seen a happier bunch of ladies.
Our next stop at Chobe lodge felt a little more luxurious in terms of the lodge and rooms and the setting on the river was lovely. Our game drives were early but interesting and in spite of... read more

Lize
The remoteness of the Okavango was the perfect start to our trip and the attention to detail and quality of the staff at the lodge was exceptional we loved the walking safari and the mojito and when they handed us our hot water bottles on the first night I’ve never seen a happier bunch of ladies.
Our next stop at Chobe lodge felt a little more luxurious in terms of the lodge and rooms and the setting on the river was lovely. Our game drives were early but interesting and in spite of the lion remaining elusive we saw lots of elephant, hippo, giraffe, crocodile, many different antelope species and birds galore. The variety of dining there was excellent and we felt that the experienced so far was the right way round. A tricky transfer to Zimbabwe followed as we had not been alerted by anyone or taken on board ourselves that we were going to need crisp US dollars in cash to pay for our visas. Eventually with help from our driver and a trip back to the cash point and bureau de change we succeeded in getting our visas and passed through emigration.
The setting at the Victoria Falls game lodge was lovely and having the balcony overlooking the waterhole an added bonus. Victoria Falls itself lived up to expectations and we did the scenic helicopter ride which provided us with some amazing photos. Back through the borders and onto the Zambezi Queen which was everything and more. A combination of the excellent food and staff on board meant we had some relaxation time, gentle river safaris in the sunshine, elephants, crocs and hippos in abundance topped off by a rare sighting of a leopard. The perfect end to what was most definitely a very special holiday.
Thank you.

Local specialist: Lize Enderstein
Lize
Lize Enderstein
Local specialist in South Africa | Replied on Jul 18, 2022

Dear Anne,
Thank you for your wonderful review of your trip to Botswana, Victoria Falls and Namibia. I am happy that you enjoyed your safari, falls experience and the river cruise. It was lovely working with such a bunch of special ladies.
Take care and keep well.
Best Wishes, Lize

Lize is amazing, helpful, knowledgable, quick turnaround and fun to interact
South Africa | May 31 - Jun 8, 2022

A
ashish s.
Fremont, CA | Reviewed on Jun 10, 2022

The trip was fantastic. The suggestions were very good. We started communicating last minute with very little time left before our departure to cape town.
We didn't figure out the Kruger Safari and we are glad that we connected with Lize and booked our Kruger Safari experience and the Shark cage diving day trip through her.

She is super helpful, knowledgable and our go to person for another trip to SA in future.
Thank you Lize once again, you are awesome!
read more

The trip was fantastic. The suggestions were very good. We started communicating last minute with very little time left before our departure to cape town.
We didn't figure out the Kruger Safari and we are glad that we connected with Lize and booked our Kruger Safari experience and the Shark cage diving day trip through her.

She is super helpful, knowledgable and our go to person for another trip to SA in future.
Thank you Lize once again, you are awesome!

Hotel Review
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Bushbuckridge

Great hospitality, food and service. The staff is super nice, pleasing and fun! Everyone was so good. Highly recommended.

Tips for future travelers

None

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Activity Reviews
Shark Cage Diving
South Africa
Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Days on Safari
South Africa
Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Local specialist: Lize Enderstein
Lize
Lize Enderstein
Local specialist in South Africa | Replied on Jun 10, 2022

Hi Ashish,
Thank you so much for your detailed feedback, we appreciate it. The feedback you send always provide us with clear insight and give a true reflection of your overall experience.
Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your safari and the Shark Gage Diving experience.
Hope to be of assistance again in the near future.
All the best, Lize

Great trip to South Africa - paying attention to the details.
South Africa | Apr 15 - Apr 25, 2022

J
Jeana C.
Waverly, MI | Reviewed on May 02, 2022

Our trip to South Africa was fantastic. We spent some time in Cape Town, drove the garden route, then stayed at Lions Sands for the safari experience. There has not been any major issues and we were very happy with the entire trip. Lize was very responsive and remained very flexible as we planned our trip. She is a professional and I enjoyed working with her. Our guide in Cape town, Rehanna was an outstanding guide, going above and beyond to ensure we had a great trip. We firmly believe our... read more

Our trip to South Africa was fantastic. We spent some time in Cape Town, drove the garden route, then stayed at Lions Sands for the safari experience. There has not been any major issues and we were very happy with the entire trip. Lize was very responsive and remained very flexible as we planned our trip. She is a professional and I enjoyed working with her. Our guide in Cape town, Rehanna was an outstanding guide, going above and beyond to ensure we had a great trip. We firmly believe our trip was that much better due to her passion and knowledge about South Africa.

There were some minor things I wasn't too happy about. Again, these are not anything major but because I am a detailed person, it bothered me. One could argue I should've caught all these ahead of time but I suppose I trusted that there won't be any surprises since, well, that's why I am paying someone from the area to plan it.

When we arrived and met with our guide, she told us there was a marathon going on the day we were supposed to go to Cape Peninsula. Because of the road closures, we would not be able to go on the designated day. However, thankfully she worked it out and we were still able to visit Cape Peninsula on a different day and get other tours in. A marathon is a well-planned event that should've already been identified when planning our trip. Also, when Lize asked about visiting the winery area, I told her no because my husband and I do not drink. However, Rehanna had a different opinion and told us it was well-worth the visit despite the fact that we don't drink wine. We trusted her and we were glad we did! It was such a beautiful area and she was able to get us in for an Easter lunch at Delaire graff restaurant with an excellent view. We lucked out because she knew someone there so we were still able to get in despite not having a reservation.

There were also some minor confusion with the costs and specific details in the plan. There were few times I had to ask about what was laid out on the plan and Lize had to assure me. For example, she did not provide what time we were supposed to meet our guide in Cape town. When I asked, she said it was in another section(?) of the plan. However, I did not see that in the plan nor was able to access it on my phone. In addition, the plan had stated what meals were covered. However, all the meals were covered at Lions Sands but on the plan, it stated breakfast only.

When we picked up the rental car, I was surprised to find there was an additional cost we owe for dropping the car off in another city. When I asked, Lize did provide me the rental car document and it sure did say it was not included. Hence, it was my fault for not reading the fine print. But in some ways, I felt like this should have been identified up front, not me having to read the fine print. Our entire trip was about $17K (excluding international airfare) so it wasn't so much about the cost itself; it was the fact that I was surprised. In addition, I was not informed of the additional cost that we would've incurred if the rental car company picked up the car from the hotel vs us dropping it off. Our flight was early and we did not know how far it was from one another. Lize did inform me before that there may be a cost but never came back and said what the cost was. I "assumed" there wasn't any cost. Again, another minor surprise. We ended up dropping the car off on our own because it was a very small airport so it was just a walking distance.

Prior to the trip, I asked who I'd contact if there were issues. Lize provided her number but told me nothing should go wrong. I was glad to have her number because the only other method I was able to contact her was through the email/Kimkim conversation. Since I am sure she has other clients, it took little longer for her to respond while we were in Africa.

I also looked up some places to visit on the garden route since Lize recommended we spend 3 days in Knysna. However, we realized all the places we visited were either prior to Knysna or past Knysna. I am not so sure if that was a good recommendation. Furthermore, we had to find our own what places to stop by in that area as it was never recommended prior to the trip. Again, we had to learn it once we got there but in my mind, isn't that the reason why we would hire someone local so he or she can share with us what they recommend vs what we read on google?

In addition, we did not know we had to drive on the other side of the road and the steering wheel was also on the other side. Lize told us many do drive on their own and it's easy. Yes, we did not have any major issues other than the fact that my husband struggled a little since he is left handed and I drove some of the way (my husband is usually the one who drives). I think it would've been good to know that ahead of time.

There were some other minor things that did irritate me a little but perhaps due to managing my expectations. In some ways, I am not sure if it was worth paying that much money to plan the trip esp since I am used to planning our trips and we've been to over 40 countries. To be fair, there were things that I am not aware of which I am sure Lize was able to work it out.

Again, those things mentioned above is very detailed, minor things I found that can be improved. Overall, Lize was great and pleasant to work with and our trip was definitely once in a lifetime trip that we will never forget. Devils are in the details so it was a good lesson learned on my end as well - not to assume and manage my expectations.

Will we use Kimkim again? Probably. But next time, I'd be more hands on and go through the plan with a fine tooth comb so there won't be any surprises :)

Local specialist: Lize Enderstein
Lize
Lize Enderstein
Local specialist in South Africa | Replied on May 20, 2022

Hi Jeana,
Thank you so much for your detailed feedback, we appreciate it. The feedback you send always provide us with clear insight and give a true reflection of your overall experience. We will take forward all the comments and criticism as it will help us to improve. We do know there is always room for improvement! Hope to be of assistance again in the near future.
All the best, Lize

Victoria Falls and South Africa
South Africa | Jan 12 - Jan 24, 2020

D
Dennis M.
Atlantic Beach, FL | Reviewed on Jan 26, 2020

My wife and I traveled with another couple to Victoria Falls (2 nights) and South Africa. We toured the garden route (5 nights), had 3 nights in Cape Town, and had 2 nights at Inyati Game Lodge. Kimkim did an excellent job in making all our travel arrangements. This included internal flights, rental car, and all hotels. All our hotels were excellent with the exception of Ibhayi Guest Lodge in Port Elizabeth.

Our rooms in Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooked a watering hole. From our... read more

My wife and I traveled with another couple to Victoria Falls (2 nights) and South Africa. We toured the garden route (5 nights), had 3 nights in Cape Town, and had 2 nights at Inyati Game Lodge. Kimkim did an excellent job in making all our travel arrangements. This included internal flights, rental car, and all hotels. All our hotels were excellent with the exception of Ibhayi Guest Lodge in Port Elizabeth.

Our rooms in Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooked a watering hole. From our balcony we saw hyenas, elephants, zebras, giraffes, and multiple antelopes. Outside of Knysna we stayed at Brenton Haven. The rooms were large, self catering, and had excellent views of the beach. We also enjoyed the food at their restaurant.

Our last two nights were spent at the Inyati Game Lodge in Sabi Sand Private Game Reserve. Their food was excellent and plentiful. The rooms were also very nice. We loved our guide Diff and tracker Rodger and highly recommend both of them. We were fortunate to see a pack of dogs and a clan of hyenas fighting over a kill. We also saw a leopard in a tree eating an impala. Both Diff and Rodger were friendly and informative. Diff also would identify all the birds. We were able to see the big five before our trip was over.

The service from our travel specialist Lize was prompt and efficient. This included fulfilling our request to move our pick up time up by 30 minutes on our last day. (request was made at 9 am, pickup at 1230). She also arranged to have another couple added to our Cape Town tour with short notice.

This is the third trip my wife and I have taken with kimkim. We highly recommend them.

Local specialist: Lize Enderstein
Lize
Lize Enderstein
Local specialist in South Africa | Replied on Jan 27, 2020

Dear Dennis,
Thank you kindly for your positive feedback.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Victoria Falls and South Africa.
Hope to hear from you again in the near future.
Keep well.
Best Wishes, Lize