Profile photo for Petru van Zyl
2643 messages
active 5 hours ago

Petru van Zyl

I started in the travel industry in August 1998 and have 25 years experience as a travel consultant. I am a senior consultant who specializes in FIT travel, group travel, VIP clients, luxury safaris and self-drive tours. I excel in handling complex itineraries in a professional and dedicated manner. I am passionate about travelling; has travelled extensively throughout South Africa, and visited Botswana, the Victoria Falls, Zambia, Namibia, Mozambique and Madagascar. I live on a farm outside Clanwilliam in the Western Cape with my husband, two children and a variety of animals.

What places and activities do you specialize in?

"I specialize in FIT travel, group travel, VIP clients, luxury safaris and self-drive tours and excel in handling complex itineraries in a professional and dedicated manner. "

How did you get involved in travel?

"Some would say, by chance. I choose to believe Travel has chosen me."

Please share a unique travel experience you will never forget.

"There are too many to list, but if I have to choose a unique experience, it would be the interaction with elephants in Zambia - it left me in awe of the gentleness of those huge animals."

Top itineraries and travel advice
Family itineraries
Luxury itineraries
Road trip itineraries

Recent trip reviews for Petru

Wonderful family trip to Cape Town & Safari
South Africa | Dec 23 - Dec 30, 2023

J
John C.
Newton, MA | Reviewed on Jan 01, 2024
We had a wonderful family trip to Cape Town and safari. Petru arranged the hotel, safari lodge, drivers and guides, and in-country air flights. She really listened to our priorities and was very flexible and responsive with arrangements. The hotel in Cape Town was excellent, wonderful location, nice rooms, good food, great for our 3-generation family of 7 adults and teens. The Senalala safari lodge was everything we could have wanted, with a great guide (Gina), fantastic animal viewing... Read more

We had a wonderful family trip to Cape Town and safari. Petru arranged the hotel, safari lodge, drivers and guides, and in-country air flights. She really listened to our priorities and was very flexible and responsive with arrangements. The hotel in Cape Town was excellent, wonderful location, nice rooms, good food, great for our 3-generation family of 7 adults and teens. The Senalala safari lodge was everything we could have wanted, with a great guide (Gina), fantastic animal viewing (we got all the Big 5 in 3 days with some extra special viewings of family groups, leopard/hyena food contest, etc.), terrific meal (including special consideration for several allergies and our youngest, a choosy eater), well organized daily schedule, rooms that were better than almost any hotel, and a view of a watering hole that treated us to several visitors. Would recommend to anyone.

Local specialist: Petru van Zyl
Petru
Petru van Zyl
Local specialist in Western Cape, South Africa | Replied on Jan 09, 2024

Hi John,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. It was a pleasure to assist you arranging your holiday with your family. I am delighted to hear that all went well and that you have so many memories to cherish of South Africa whilst in Cape Town and on safari.
So glad that you were looked after in both locations you stayed at.
Best wishes and thanks again for your feedback.
Kind regards, Petru

Everything was amazing! All the places all th...
Namibia | Nov 4 - Nov 19, 2023

Eirini
Eirini F.
Greece | Reviewed on Nov 21, 2023

Everything was amazing! All the places all the people, the organisation - everything is perfect!
I recommend it 100%! And I would do it over and over again!

Local specialist: Petru van Zyl
Petru
Petru van Zyl
Local specialist in Western Cape, South Africa | Replied on Nov 22, 2023

Hi Eirini,
Fantastic! So glad to hear your wonderful feedback and that you enjoyed your trip.
Hope to be of assistance again in the near future.
Best wishes, Petru

Worth every penny! Our trip was fantastic, it...
Namibia | Nov 4 - Nov 19, 2023

A
Aris P.
Greece | Reviewed on Nov 20, 2023
Worth every penny! Our trip was fantastic, it was planned in every detail. All the places we went were worth visiting. The lodges were fantastic as well as the services provided, the food and the activities. The car was very good. Thank you Petru for organizing an amazing trip for us. We will certainly get back to you to organize our next trip around there. Read more

Worth every penny! Our trip was fantastic, it was planned in every detail. All the places we went were worth visiting. The lodges were fantastic as well as the services provided, the food and the activities. The car was very good. Thank you Petru for organizing an amazing trip for us. We will certainly get back to you to organize our next trip around there.

Hotel Review
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Sesriem

Amazing rooms, great service, well decorated main building, nice swimming pool and nice food. 10/10 for this lodge

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Local specialist: Petru van Zyl
Petru
Petru van Zyl
Local specialist in Western Cape, South Africa | Replied on Nov 21, 2023

Hi Aris,
I am delighted to hear that you had great trip!
Your feedback is so valuable and glad to hear that you enjoyed the lodges you stayed at.
My pleasure and wonderful to hear that all worked out so well.
I hope to be of assistance again in the near future.
Best wishes, Petru

Petru was a great source of knowledge helping...
South Africa | Oct 15 - Oct 28, 2023

Gigi
Gigi F.
Tampa, FL | Reviewed on Nov 04, 2023
Petru was a great source of knowledge helping us navigate South Africa. Everything was conveniently arranged to free us from any worries. The tourist companies she used were the very best in the business and we felt comfortable. We enjoy our trip to the fullest from Johannesburg to the rustic camps for ours game drives -And from Franschhoek and Cape Town touring the major attractions. We went from experiencing rustic camps to 5 stars hotels. It was an epic experience for mother/son trip.... Read more

Petru was a great source of knowledge helping us navigate South Africa. Everything was conveniently arranged to free us from any worries. The tourist companies she used were the very best in the business and we felt comfortable. We enjoy our trip to the fullest from Johannesburg to the rustic camps for ours game drives -And from Franschhoek and Cape Town touring the major attractions. We went from experiencing rustic camps to 5 stars hotels. It was an epic experience for mother/son trip. Thanks Petru 🙏🏼😊

Hotel Reviews
Tangala Safari Camp
Hoedspruit
Authenticity & Character
You get to experience Rustic setting
Location
Staff
Warm, accommodating and pleasant
Cleanliness & Comfort
More amenities, better lighting and wifi
Shindzela Tented Camp
Kruger National Park

We love the setting tent camp however it t needed a little more cleanest. Drawers had mice drops 🤦🏼‍♀️ Too many bugs in the bathroom. Aside from that we Love the staff as they were accommodating as their extend of their abilities.

Authenticity & Character
We experienced full tended camp experience
Location
A little to far of a ride from our other camp
Staff
Very warm and pleasant
Cleanliness & Comfort
Outlets for charging!, Better wifi. Clean furniture and let’s bugs
La Fontaine Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek

What a beautiful experience from the décor to the staff. Mountain Views were incredible and everything was conveniently located!! We absolutely love this hotel and will visit again!

Authenticity & Character
Its authentic yet lavished decor and warm appeal with different themes gave us a luxury unwind experience!, we love this hotel!!!
Location
Walking distance to great restaurants and galleries. Hotel location was close to all but still situated in a peaceful and quite street!
Staff
Cecilia went above and beyond to make our stay memorable!!
Cleanliness & Comfort
Everything
Table Bay Hotel
Waterfront

Conveniently located. Staff was warm and cultured. Hotel was kept excellently cleaned and elegantly decorated.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Close to everything.
Staff
Ragmah was our housekeeper and she was the finest in the profession. We absolutely love her!!
Cleanliness & Comfort
Super clean and fresh local flowers!
Intercontinental Johannesburg O.R Tambo Airport
Johannesburg

Ritz Carlton Experience ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Local specialist: Petru van Zyl
Petru
Petru van Zyl
Local specialist in Western Cape, South Africa | Replied on Nov 08, 2023

Hi Gigi,
It was my pleasure to assist you and I am delighted to hear that you had a great trip.
South Africa does have so much to offer and glad you were able to experience that.
We really appreciate your feedback, it is very valuable to receive and good to inform the camps about it too.
Thanks again and best wishes, Petru

A South African trip of a lifetime! Thank you KimKim and thank you, Petru!
South Africa | Oct 15 - Oct 28, 2023

Joe
Joe G.
Newark, NJ | Reviewed on Nov 04, 2023
My mother, Gigi, and I had a spectacular time on our South African adventure. We were very happy with KimKim as the entire process and planning was made simpler for us. It gave us a peace of mind that everything from accommodations and attractions were taken care of by the planning and execution of the staff at KimKim. Petru was our superstar planner. We were very happy with her service as she was extremely patient and thorough with us. We were very confused and disoriented with the... Read more

My mother, Gigi, and I had a spectacular time on our South African adventure. We were very happy with KimKim as the entire process and planning was made simpler for us. It gave us a peace of mind that everything from accommodations and attractions were taken care of by the planning and execution of the staff at KimKim.

Petru was our superstar planner. We were very happy with her service as she was extremely patient and thorough with us. We were very confused and disoriented with the planning process before hiring KimKim (Petru) as our planner.

The staff at Tangala Safari Camp at Thornybush and Timbavati Game Reserve were delightful. Our accommodations and attractions planned for Franschhoek and Capetown were top notch. We enjoyed every step of the experience. The animals! Wow! Watching anything on the National Geographic channel will never be the same as it'll always come second to our up-close experience with every animal we had encountered.

Our favorite part of our trip was experiencing the amazing and beautiful South African people. Everyone was so genuine, kind, charming and welcoming. A giant thank you goes out to everyone from every step of the way who made our trip that much more enjoyable and memorable. We even learned a few words in Afrikaans.

Thank you, Petru! You made it an exciting trip and we'll always remember how good you were to us.

Until next time!

Joe Gilani

Hotel Reviews
Intercontinental Johannesburg O.R Tambo Airport
Johannesburg

Super clean hotel and wonderful staff! Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Tangala Safari Camp
Hoedspruit

Can't say enough about this place. We had a great stay and every was so kind. We appreciate the hospitality.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Shindzela Tented Camp
Kruger National Park

Sam was our superstar guide. He made our stay at Shindzela so delightful. We appreciate his effort in ensuring we were up close with the animals. We'll always remember our experience here.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
La Fontaine Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek

Top-notch hotel and super clean. We loved the staff! Everyone was genuine and so kind.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Table Bay Hotel
Waterfront

Great hotel and the food was delicious. Definitely would recommend a stay here as its super convenient to get in and out of depending on what your plans are.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Local specialist: Petru van Zyl
Petru
Petru van Zyl
Local specialist in Western Cape, South Africa | Replied on Nov 08, 2023

Hi Joe,
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and wonderful review! It was my pleasure to assist you and I am delighted to hear that all went well. All these wonderful experiences you had makes up so many memories you can take back home. South Africa truly is so unique, diverse and has a lot to offer which you have summed up so nicely. Thank you again for this review!
Hope to be of assistance again in the near future.
Best wishes, Petru

Loved our 10-day trip to South Africa that Pe...
South Africa | Aug 15 - Aug 25, 2023

C
Carter M.
Atlanta, GA | Reviewed on Sep 01, 2023
Loved our 10-day trip to South Africa that Petru helped us plan. Highly recommend Franschhoek and the Bush Lodge at Amakhala as the highlights of our trip. Also, loved our guide Zane through Paradise Tours, very knowledgeable and friendly. Zane made us feel safe and added to our overall experience on our honeymoon. We had the trip of a lifetime and would recommend our travel plan to anyone! Read more

Loved our 10-day trip to South Africa that Petru helped us plan. Highly recommend Franschhoek and the Bush Lodge at Amakhala as the highlights of our trip. Also, loved our guide Zane through Paradise Tours, very knowledgeable and friendly. Zane made us feel safe and added to our overall experience on our honeymoon. We had the trip of a lifetime and would recommend our travel plan to anyone!

Hotel Review
Rickety Bridge Manor House
Franschhoek

Rickty Bridge was a beautiful experience. Cute home with a great staff. Stayed for 2 nights and we loved our experience.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Local specialist: Petru van Zyl
Petru
Petru van Zyl
Local specialist in Western Cape, South Africa | Replied on Sep 05, 2023

Hi Carter,
Thank you very much for this wonderful review.
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that all went well.
I have shared your feedback with Zane & Rickety Bridge, as they would love to hear it.
I do appreciate to receive such positive feedback and it really means so much to me.
Thank you!
Best wishes, Petru

Wonderful trip to Cape Town and Greater Kruger
South Africa | Jul 2 - Jul 9, 2023

Mayukh
Mayukh C.
Gaithersburg, MD | Reviewed on Jul 15, 2023
Our local South African specialist, Petru, organized a wonderful trip for us to Cape Town and Greater Kruger that ranks amongst our most memorable experiences. Jimmy, our local guide in Cape Town (Paradise Touring), was welcoming and kind, with a warm, energetic, and enthusiastic personality, and had deep knowledge about life and history in Cape Town and South Africa. He made sure that our experience was top-notch, and we recommend him highly to any future travelers to the Cape Town area. We... Read more

Our local South African specialist, Petru, organized a wonderful trip for us to Cape Town and Greater Kruger that ranks amongst our most memorable experiences. Jimmy, our local guide in Cape Town (Paradise Touring), was welcoming and kind, with a warm, energetic, and enthusiastic personality, and had deep knowledge about life and history in Cape Town and South Africa. He made sure that our experience was top-notch, and we recommend him highly to any future travelers to the Cape Town area. We visited the city of Cape Town, went to the the top of Table Mountain via cable car, visited Robben Island, and toured the Cape Peninsula all the way to the Cape of Good Hope. The beautiful scenery that we saw in the city and during our Cape Peninsula tour will always remain in our minds.

We then took a short flight and visited a private reserve (Timbavati) in the Mpumalanga area, just outside of Kruger National Park. Our transfers to and from the reserve were seamless, and the accommodations at the camp impeccable. During our stay, our safari guide Christian and wildlife tracker Temba ensured that we were able to fully experience the breadth of amazing wildlife and the natural environment of the reserve, and made an extra effort to find animals that we were interested in viewing. We were very fortunate to see 4 of the "Big 5" on our trip, in addition to numerous other animals, including a pair of cheetah.

We would highly recommend Petru and the Kimkim service for any travelers wishing to experience the highlights of South Africa. Their ability to create a personalized itinerary for all budget ranges, with convenient communication and payment options, makes them one of the top choices for booking international travel. Based on this experience, we plan to use Kimkim for other future travel plans.

Hotel Reviews
Portswood Hotel V&A
Cape Town

Excellent hotel, conveniently located within walking distance of most shops and restaurants at the V&A Waterfront, with nice views of Table Mountain depending on room. Room accommodations are top-notch, and are on par with other 4-star hotels. Breakfast consists of a variety of hot and continental options, including hash browns, sausage, baked beans, cereals, yogurts, tea, and coffee, and a large variety of fresh fruit. Eggs can be made to order as well. The hotel restaurant is also quite nice, with a wide variety of food options, and dinner meals can be enjoyed in the convenience of one's room or in the dining area.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Close to V&A Waterfront, with amazing views of Table Mountain.
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Bateleur Safari Camp
Hoedspruit

Travelers looking for an experience that is rustic yet luxurious will enjoy this camp quite a bit. With a commitment to green and sustainable living, the camp is off the electric grid, and generates all its energy through solar panels. A local underground water source ensures a fresh supply of mineral water that is regularly quality tested and safe to drink directly from the tap. While an electric fence keeps out elephants, all other animals regularly visit and walk through the camp (including a resident group of Nyala; hyenas are also common). All meals are provided, with a large variety of fresh options for breakfast, and a 3-course dinner meal each night. Visitors returning from an afternoon game drive can enjoy a warm campfire with beverages prior to dinner. Lodges are well furnished, with luxurious beds and furniture.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Activity Reviews
Full Day City, Table Mountain & Robben Island Tour (excluding lunch)
Full Day City, Table Mountain & Robben Island Tour (excluding lunch)
South Africa
Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Full Day Cape Peninsula Tour (excluding lunch)
Full Day Cape Peninsula Tour (excluding lunch)
South Africa
Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Afternoon Game Drive
Afternoon Game Drive
South Africa
Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Timbavati Private Game Reserve Safari Day
Timbavati Private Game Reserve Safari Day
Timbavati Game Reserve
Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Final Morning Game Drive
Final Morning Game Drive
South Africa
Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Local specialist: Petru van Zyl
Petru
Petru van Zyl
Local specialist in Western Cape, South Africa | Replied on Jul 18, 2023

Hi Mayukh,
Thank you so much for taking the time to send me your valuable feedback.
This is wonderful to receive and to share with the suppliers involved.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed Cape Town and your safari and that all went so well.

Hope to be of assistance again in the near future.
Best wishes, Petru

Safari & City Exploreration in South Africa
Zimbabwe | Jun 30 - Jul 9, 2023

L
Linda S.
Darien, CT | Reviewed on Jul 10, 2023
I’ve traveled with KimKim before; all experiences have been exceptional.

This trip covered Zimbabwe, Botswana, Johannesburg & Soweto.
This trip required lots of work, coordinating & communication with more than one person & at several meeting points ( which wasn’t always smooth). I’m sure KimKim can address this without issues. However, know that coordinators simply want to get it right as they get to know you & your interests. The end of the trip ran smoothly based on my continued... Read more

I’ve traveled with KimKim before; all experiences have been exceptional.

This trip covered Zimbabwe, Botswana, Johannesburg & Soweto.

This trip required lots of work, coordinating & communication with more than one person & at several meeting points ( which wasn’t always smooth). I’m sure KimKim can address this without issues. However, know that coordinators simply want to get it right as they get to know you & your interests. The end of the trip ran smoothly based on my continued communication with Petru, the coordinator.

All lodges, staff & meals were wonderful. One lodge was dated, but staff & meals were exceptional. The camp had lovely staff and exceptional meals, despite frigid temperatures. Early morning departures for game drives could be improved, perhaps a later hour. Do note that it was all inclusive.

I made a stop in Johannesburg to learn about its history. I spent time in the city proper & in Soweto. The guides were exceptional.
A meaningful time spent with community members. This was a walking & tuk tuk tour.

If you love nature this trip may be for you. Prepare for frigid temperatures and remaining sedentary as the day is either spent on a jeep or a boat with bumpy rides. If you are the active type, you’ll need to set up your own routine. There was one Safari walk & another at Victoria Falls, which were greatly desired. Thanks.

Activity Reviews
Johannesburg Private Historic Walking and Tuk Tuk Tour
Johannesburg Private Historic Walking and Tuk Tuk Tour
South Africa

Exceptional!

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Johannesburg Departure
South Africa

Ran smoothly. Thanks.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Walking Safari
Walking Safari
Victoria Falls

Great stories & learning. Nice calm walk.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Local specialist: Petru van Zyl
Petru
Petru van Zyl
Local specialist in Western Cape, South Africa | Replied on Jul 12, 2023

Hi Linda,
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.
I do appreciate you taking the time to complete the review and for your comments and thoughts.
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your experiences.
Best wishes, Petru

Great planned trip. Good use of 7 nights.
South Africa | Jun 11 - Jun 23, 2023

I
Irfan S.
Houston, TX | Reviewed on Jul 04, 2023
Great planned trip. Good use of 7 nights. Liked the split and a break between both major safari (Sabi Sand and Chobe NP). The break covered lookouts and hiking in Blyde Canyon areas, staying in White River, and trip to Victoria Falls. We intentionally added an additional game drive in the Zambezi NP one free morning ourselves. All three places (in Sabi Sands, Victoria Falls and Chobe NP) were great. Chobe NP resort inside the park was very good and definitely 5 stars. Nkorho bush lodge... Read more

Great planned trip. Good use of 7 nights. Liked the split and a break between both major safari (Sabi Sand and Chobe NP). The break covered lookouts and hiking in Blyde Canyon areas, staying in White River, and trip to Victoria Falls. We intentionally added an additional game drive in the Zambezi NP one free morning ourselves. All three places (in Sabi Sands, Victoria Falls and Chobe NP) were great. Chobe NP resort inside the park was very good and definitely 5 stars. Nkorho bush lodge in Sabi Sands was very good with excellent guides. The river Cruise was on Zambezi was excellent. Location for Victoria Falls lodge was excellent. Place was slightly dated. Local tour outfitters / transport (Sable Tours for Sabi Sands & White River, Wild Horizons in Zambezi tours/river cruise, and local Botswana transfer to Chobe) were excellent. Both flights on Airlink Airlines and one flight on FastJet were well planned.

Hotel Reviews
Chobe Game Lodge
Serondela

Really awesome place. Easily the best place on our trip. Only complaint was overuse of bottled waters. They could use reusable water bottles and filter water station on site. same for sparkling water.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Kruger National Park

Great place and amenities. Only complaint was too much food and lunch and dinner lol

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls

Excellent location, slightly dated but still very good.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Oliver's Lodge
White River

Slightly dated, but place was excellent. clean, great food, and beautiful.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Local specialist: Petru van Zyl
Petru
Petru van Zyl
Local specialist in Western Cape, South Africa | Replied on Jul 05, 2023

Hi Irfan
Thank you so much for this great review.
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your experiences and the places you visited.
It was a pleasure planning this trip for you and happy to hear that you were looked after.
Thank you for taking the time to send us this valuable feedback.
Best wishes, Petru

Organization was excellent - quality of lodge...
Namibia | Apr 28 - May 6, 2023

S
Sandro P.
Italy | Reviewed on May 07, 2023
Organization was excellent - quality of lodges and activities. All superb Read more

Organization was excellent - quality of lodges and activities. All superb

Hotel Reviews
Zebra Kalahari Lodge
Intu Afrika Kalahari Private Reserve
Authenticity & Character
Food could be better, rooms might nneed some renovation
Location
In the middle of Kalahari desert, great landscape
Staff
All very gentle
Cleanliness & Comfort
Room should be a bit cleaner
Namib Outpost
Windhoek

Just opened, location and view superb, rooms super. Just excellent, staff amazingly friendly. Great food

Authenticity & Character
Location
Great view on Namib desert
Staff
All friendly and professional and always available. Rian, Sameel, Hendrik and Josie just amazing
Cleanliness & Comfort
Just perfect
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Swakopmund

Very good after few days in the desert

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Twyfelfontein Adventure Camp

Great location - very nice atmosphere, good food, great staff

Authenticity & Character
Location
In the middle of Damaraland, great sunset deck
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Ongava Tented Camp
Etosha

Just a fantastic experience

Authenticity & Character
Location
In the middle of Ongava reserve - elephants and rhynos coming to drink in front of us
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Local specialist: Petru van Zyl
Petru
Petru van Zyl
Local specialist in Western Cape, South Africa | Replied on Jun 11, 2023

Hi Sandro,
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in Namibia and that all went well.
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback about the lodges you stayed at.
Best wishes, Petru