6 days of trekking and culture, Nepal - Nov 1 - Nov 6, 2016

Traveler: kayla b. - Local specialist: Raj Gyawali

I had to follow up a pick up time and itinerary several times. The first guide was late, thought I was being transferred to a different hotel, because he had his bike we walked for a decent while before being able to get a taxi which would take us and the bike.

The cycle tour was quite good. But the ending was disappointing being a festival there was no pizza and a drink. We found a place to have a drink and I was left to pay for my own taxi back to the hotel.

The following day the monkey temple and the monastery were great. The monk was very illuminating and spoke very well. It was disappointing however that we could only talk for an hour and the monastery and library closed 15 minutes after finishing our discussion with the monk.

The welcome dinner was very nice and the social tours consultant (the young girl) she was very friendly and nice to talk to.

I enjoyed my time with Juman over the next few days hiking. The villages and scenary were nice even if majority of the time we were walking on the road.

I was disappointed that the hiking times were advertised 3.5-4.5 hours every day when the first day I walked for 2 hours and 10 minutes only and was eating lunch by 10am in an effort to stall time. On the second day we walked to Bhaktapur and again I was there much earlier then expected.

Juman was great company and the local guide in Bhaptapur had a lot of knowledge of the area.

Getting back to Kathmandu was very unorganised. I had to insist that the Peacock guest house organise and pay for the taxi back to Kathmandu as I was having trouble with my bank cards so couldn't get money out of the ATM's.

I was supposed to stop off at the coffee plantation on the way back which never happened, and the taxi driver asked for money when I arrived at the hotel implying that he hadn't been paid. He called the Peacock guest house and thank fully they sorted it out for me.

I thought that a transfer to the airport was included on the final day but this was not.

Whilst I liked the accommodation and it was very nice compared to the hostels I had been staying in, it was apparent that there was lots of other options (cheaper options) in the areas where I stayed which would have drastically reduced the amount which I paid for the trip, and I was disappointed that despite my request that this wasn't looked into.

Raj Gyawali profile photo
Raj Gyawali, local specialist, responded to this review:

Kayla, am sorry to hear that some of the experiences we developed were not quite what you expected. I can assure you however that from our side, we have made every effort to ensure that it does match your expectations, in fact, exceed it.

Some of the errors have been pure misunderstandings which should not happen. I agree, and the feedback you have provided will ensure that we avoid these errors in the future.

Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback. I must assure you that... read more

Kayla, am sorry to hear that some of the experiences we developed were not quite what you expected. I can assure you however that from our side, we have made every effort to ensure that it does match your expectations, in fact, exceed it.

Some of the errors have been pure misunderstandings which should not happen. I agree, and the feedback you have provided will ensure that we avoid these errors in the future.

Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback. I must assure you that we do take peoples dream trips very seriously, and nothing that we did was done frivolously, but sometimes, situations make us have to adjust programs. Usually these adjustments enhance the trips even more, but unfortunately in this case, was not so! I regret that, as I feel bad that you did not have a fulfilling experience. That is never our intention!