Kimkim Trip Reviews for Albania

Reviews from actual kimkim travelers. We publish all reviews.
4.8
(11 reviews)
Read 11 reviews by travelers who booked their trip on kimkim

Drive and bike albania, Albania - Oct 21 - Nov 2, 2018

Traveler: Harley W. - Local specialist: Ed Reeves

Ed with Driving Albania put together a great 12 day Albania trip for us., filled with superb biking opportunities. Although occasionally we would have enjoyed road bikes, the mountain bikes Ed provided were perfect for the lesser roads with some broken pavement, and we appreciated the low gears for the mountain climbs. After a couple nights in Tirana to see the city and recover from jet lag, we hit the road , enjoying 25 kms of downhill riding to kick off our trip. After that our biking... read more

Ed with Driving Albania put together a great 12 day Albania trip for us., filled with superb biking opportunities. Although occasionally we would have enjoyed road bikes, the mountain bikes Ed provided were perfect for the lesser roads with some broken pavement, and we appreciated the low gears for the mountain climbs. After a couple nights in Tirana to see the city and recover from jet lag, we hit the road , enjoying 25 kms of downhill riding to kick off our trip. After that our biking days ranged from 30 to 70kms on paved rolling roads through the mountain countryside and villages. Vehicular traffic was light. Our guide Nick, a former Olympian and Albanian road bike champion was always near by in the 4wd vehicle with water and snacks while we were on the bikes. Nick proved a conscientious driver when the bikes were loaded and we were in the vehicle and a competent guide to the many historical and nature spots we toured. We appreciated the dash cam videos Nick took for us showing the scenic landscapes and us on the bikes. Ed set us up in great hotels every night; food was plentiful, tasty and inexpensive. We would definitely recommend Albania as a destination and Ed to set up your Albania tour.

Ed Reeves, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks for the great review, Harley! Glad you enjoyed your time in Albania with us, and that Nick looked after you well! Hope you can make it back some time to explore north Albania & Kosovo, and maybe a bit of Montenegro as well - there are some great cycling routes to discover. And now we know how fit you two are we'll use serious road bikes!!! You were shumë rapido as we say here.

Best,

Ed

Tirana to zagreb road trip, Albania - Sep 6 - Sep 20, 2018

Traveler: Mary L. - Local specialist: Ed Reeves

Our trip to the Balkans, beginning in Tirana, Albania and terminating in Zagreb has been a wonderful trip for us. Ed helped me plan the trip and our Driver guide was Ardi. We cannot thank Ardi enough for taking us on this journey. We got to go high into the mountains of Albania and do some hiking, and visit many places throughout the Balkans... Ardi is a remarkable young man. He is prompt, responsible, kind and patient. Very good company and an excellent driver. Ardi speaks several languages which and was a great asset and he speaks excellent English.

Ed Reeves, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks for the kind words, Mary! That was one epic road trip (Tirana to Zagreb, five countries in one go!) and I'm glad to hear Ardi looked after you so well. Hope your time in Slovenia and Venice was good too! Thanks so much for travelling with us and if you want to come back to discover south Albanian and Greek Epirus next year, let us know! Ed

Hiking in the mountains, Albania - Jul 17 - Jul 21, 2018

Traveler: Timothy E. - Local specialist: Ed Reeves

I’m not much into planning ahead but knew that we were heading to Albania and Montenegro for a week. Stumbled upon KimKim on line and wouldn’t usually use a service like this because I like to deal directly with people I will interact with during a trip but I have to say this worked out brilliantly this time around. Ed whipped up an itinerary on short notice and we accepted. We got ourselves to Tirana in Albania to spend some days on our own, after that the plan was to do some hiking in... read more

I’m not much into planning ahead but knew that we were heading to Albania and Montenegro for a week. Stumbled upon KimKim on line and wouldn’t usually use a service like this because I like to deal directly with people I will interact with during a trip but I have to say this worked out brilliantly this time around. Ed whipped up an itinerary on short notice and we accepted. We got ourselves to Tirana in Albania to spend some days on our own, after that the plan was to do some hiking in the mountains which is when we met our guide Ardi who helped us out the entire way. We had a car ride to the lake Komani ferry which is a spectacular 3 hour journey through the mountains to Valbona. We stayed at an awe inspiring home stay in the valley. The views and lifestyle of the locals are what dreams are made of. We stayed at Kol Gjoni’s homestay which is a must. The food and hospitality was terrific as well of course as the room. In the morning we started our hike to Thethi, which took all morning and well into the afternoon. One of the most spectacular hikes I’ve ever been on. Once in Thethi, we had another remarkable homestay location beside the river. Two nights here with another day trip to visit a waterfall and swimming hole called “Blue Eye”. This ended our trip in the mountains, so we then headed to Shkodër for a quick night and finished our package with KimKim in Ulcinj. Every step of the way, our guide Ardi was terrific in helping us understand the local cultures and experiences. Terrific service and looking forward to heading back to Albania again.

Ed Reeves, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks, Timothy! Really pleased you had a good trip, and that Ardi looked after you well. He had a great time with you, too, he says, so thanks for being such cool clients. Hope you can make it back in 2019! Best, Ed

Albania highlights, Albania - Jun 19 - Jun 21, 2018

Traveler: Chris R. - Local specialist: Ed Reeves

Ed Reeves provides a very unique, custom service. We enjoyed 3 private day trips from Tirana with Ed or Nesti, one of his excellent Albanian guides. Ed’s 4 wheel drive vehicles allow you to access the “real” Albania. Day 1 we visited Durres and then on to a little known beach and a fabulous seafood lunch right overlooking the sea. Day 2 took us to the historic Greek / Roman site of Apolonia, but then on to the lesser known, and less accessible Bylis (which we had to ourselves) and also the... read more

Ed Reeves provides a very unique, custom service. We enjoyed 3 private day trips from Tirana with Ed or Nesti, one of his excellent Albanian guides. Ed’s 4 wheel drive vehicles allow you to access the “real” Albania. Day 1 we visited Durres and then on to a little known beach and a fabulous seafood lunch right overlooking the sea. Day 2 took us to the historic Greek / Roman site of Apolonia, but then on to the lesser known, and less accessible Bylis (which we had to ourselves) and also the magical Ottoman city of Berat where we had a fabulous tasting meal of local Albanian dishes. Day 3 took us to stunning mountain scenery and we had the chance to hike through pristine landscapes. Our meal of lamb at a local hostelry was mouthwatering! Ed provides adventure, exceptional local experiences and the chance to reach remote and unspoiled parts of Albania. Highly recommend if you are looking to discover the lesser travelled places in this fascinating country that is only just opening up to tourism.

Ed Reeves, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Chris,

Thanks so much for the kind words! Can't believe you packed so much into three day trips from Tirana. We'll pass on you comments about Hajdar's slow-cooked lamb - he'll be really pleased.

Shame you had such a brief time in Albania, but we hope one day you'll be back to explore properly!

Best,

Ed

Richard

The accursed mountains experience , Albania - May 30 - Jun 12, 2018

Traveler: Richard P. - Local specialist: Ed Reeves

Drive Albania (Ed Reeves and Company) planned this two week trip faboulously. Our personal guide, Ernest Markeci, was top notch professional and knowledgeable as well as personalable. He became our family for the two weeks. I would highly recommend Drive Albania to anyone who wants to see this wonderful country in the manner in which we did. A true treasure.

Ed Reeves, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks so much, Richard. It was great to show you and Barbara around, and we're so glad Nesti looked after you well. However, Bubi the Office Dog is disappointed not to be singled out for praise as he felt his barking in Lepushë deserved more recognition. Hope you can come out again to discover Dibër and even the southern mountains!

Best, Ed

Albania trip, Albania - Jun 4 - Jun 16, 2018

Traveler: Ralph A. - Local specialist: Ed Reeves

We are a family of 3 adults that with the help of Ed from the Kim Kim team created a 2 week trip through Albania, Kosovo and Macedonia. I let him know that we liked hiking, culture and time to relax.
Ed put together a trip working with Outdoor Kosovo and Drive Albania to nicely cover everything. We hiked for 3 days in the Accursed Mountains then switched to culture and relaxation. Hiking and lake Ohrid were highlights. Our guides Mentor and Fatos were excellent for hiking. Ardie our... read more

We are a family of 3 adults that with the help of Ed from the Kim Kim team created a 2 week trip through Albania, Kosovo and Macedonia. I let him know that we liked hiking, culture and time to relax.
Ed put together a trip working with Outdoor Kosovo and Drive Albania to nicely cover everything. We hiked for 3 days in the Accursed Mountains then switched to culture and relaxation. Hiking and lake Ohrid were highlights. Our guides Mentor and Fatos were excellent for hiking. Ardie our guide/driver through Macedonia and Albania was great and highly entertaining 😉.
Overall we rate our quality of service as excellent.
We had previously used Kim Kim for a trip to Colombia last year with similar results.
Ralph

Ed Reeves, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Ralph,

Thank you so much for the kind words, and we're so pleased you enjoyed your second experience with KimKim. Great that Fatos and Mentor looked after you so well in the mountains, and we're pleased too that you found Ardi entertaining (don't tell him; he has no idea).

Best,

Ed

Barbara

The accursed mountains experience , Albania - May 30 - Jun 12, 2018

Traveler: Barbara F. - Local specialist: Ed Reeves

AMAZING is the word I have been using. I didn’t feel at all like I was on one of your typical tourist Trips. Ed was great and determined to make it an adventure which he did. Our guide Nesti was as some of us Americans say “The Cats Meow “. Just wonderful. So caring, so knowledgeable, on time, a complete joy to be with and like Ed out to give us adventurous . Good ones at that. We met Ardi another one of their guides. Great guide. Guess I can’t say enough about the team (including... read more

AMAZING is the word I have been using. I didn’t feel at all like I was on one of your typical tourist Trips. Ed was great and determined to make it an adventure which he did. Our guide Nesti was as some of us Americans say “The Cats Meow “. Just wonderful. So caring, so knowledgeable, on time, a complete joy to be with and like Ed out to give us adventurous . Good ones at that. We met Ardi another one of their guides. Great guide. Guess I can’t say enough about the team (including Boobie, Ed’s dog) and the trip. Would recommend them to anyone. The lodges and all the people running them were so nice as were ALL the people I came across in Albania. I have my Albanian bracelet that I wear all the time because it has now become a special place to me.

Ed Reeves, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Barbara,

Thanks so much for the kind words. Nesti (and Bubi) are very pleased you had such a good time in Albania and Kosovo and we hope you make it back again soon!

Best,

Ed

Rick

Spring 2018, Albania - May 10 - Jun 10, 2018

Traveler: Rick W. - Local specialist: Ed Reeves

Okay, assuming you want a blunt assessment. The planning was great as was the booking and with a few exceptions which you will see when I rate the hotels.

Not to sound like a broken record but the problem was with the execution and I am not referring to the choice of vehicle exclusively but rather as I voiced to Henri on my last day it was how the send off from Tirana was handled. My agreement with your company included an English speaking GPS similar to the one I used when I drove in... read more

Okay, assuming you want a blunt assessment. The planning was great as was the booking and with a few exceptions which you will see when I rate the hotels.

Not to sound like a broken record but the problem was with the execution and I am not referring to the choice of vehicle exclusively but rather as I voiced to Henri on my last day it was how the send off from Tirana was handled. My agreement with your company included an English speaking GPS similar to the one I used when I drove in Iceland. Instead I was sent off with a Vodaphone mobile Wifi and my own phone. My google maps turned out to be unreliable off and on during the entire trip. My issue is/was, if the GPS had been supplied on Day 1 we would have discovered the issues with the car and with the Tom Tom immediately (except for the air conditioning of course) and I assume gone to Kia for repair of the vehicle issues and also presumable repaired or purchased a new Wifi. Ed certainly tried but the issue should never have arisen in the first place.

Ed Reeves, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Rick - glad at least the route planning was satisfactory! Shame the sat-nav created so many issues but hope the refund ameliorates some of the pain. The broken AC was due to a fuse and could have been fixed easily if you'd let us know about it during the trip. Best, Ed

Short stay in tirana, Albania - May 26 - May 27, 2018

Traveler: Jeremy P. - Local specialist: Ed Reeves

I had very limited time in Albania and I felt that I got a true exposure to genuine Albanian life and the Albanian people. Henri was great. Nothing but amazing kudos for the experience. I definitely would use them again if I choose to go back to Albania, which I hope to do in the future. Thank you.

Jeremy

Ed Reeves, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Jeremy - thanks so much for the review; it means a lot to us! Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can make it to the western Balkans again some day soon! Best, Ed

David

Cold war experience , Albania - Mar 10 - Mar 21, 2018

Traveler: David S. - Local specialist: Ed Reeves

Road trip with Ernesto. Had Ed put together a 10 day road trip through Albania, Macedonia and Kosovo, had the great fortune of being paired up with Nesti. Here is the kind of guide who makes a journey. While sticking to the basic itinerary, he was always flexible, with grace and humor at all times. Had a great time, travelled many miles, had great dining experiences (none of the stupid crap with pre-arranged, tour approved restaurants) and many opportunities to travel the road less... read more

Road trip with Ernesto. Had Ed put together a 10 day road trip through Albania, Macedonia and Kosovo, had the great fortune of being paired up with Nesti. Here is the kind of guide who makes a journey. While sticking to the basic itinerary, he was always flexible, with grace and humor at all times. Had a great time, travelled many miles, had great dining experiences (none of the stupid crap with pre-arranged, tour approved restaurants) and many opportunities to travel the road less traveled. I've been to over 70 countries and this has been one of my favorite trips, I cannot say enough about the beauty of Albania, its unspoiled vibe, friendliness of her people, and of course the superb services of Nesti and Drive Albania. Go before it all changes!
-Dave Spaeth March 2018

Ed Reeves, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks so much for the great review, David! Nesti had a great time showing you Albania, Macedonia and Kosovo - was a brilliant first tour for 2018! Hope you can make it back to the Balkans in the future. Best, Ed & Nesti

Experiencing albania, Albania - Jul 12 - Jul 22, 2017

Traveler: Jim G. - Local specialist: Ed Reeves

We are over the moon with getting such a taste of Albania in such a short time. We were visiting family in Europe and had limited time to visit Albania. Five days and four nights to fit in with flights into the capital Tirana. The four wheel-drive was able to get us to some places off the beaten track in just the short time. We had given just a brief outline to the team about our interests and basically left it up to them. We think we’ve got a pretty fair idea now of what Albania and its... read more

We are over the moon with getting such a taste of Albania in such a short time. We were visiting family in Europe and had limited time to visit Albania. Five days and four nights to fit in with flights into the capital Tirana. The four wheel-drive was able to get us to some places off the beaten track in just the short time. We had given just a brief outline to the team about our interests and basically left it up to them. We think we’ve got a pretty fair idea now of what Albania and its people are all about.

Being met at the airport was great when arriving in a strange place. We didn’t get dropped into the city hotel but took off straight away for the old castle city of Kruja where we liked the hotel right above the bazaar. Time to wander through it with help and lovely not to be hassled. A few purchases. Time to walk up to the old castle and also see some of the museum where we started to understand some of the history that goes way back for this land.

Of course the secret was to have such a good driver as Nesti, Albanian born and very knowledgeable of the country and its history. While it was strange to meet this tall fit young mean, it didn’t take long to relax in his care and he was fantastic in answering all out questions and explaining things as we went.

After dinner and the night there we were off next day to a great beach on the Adriatic: a colorful spot with the bright umbrellas, crystal clear water and a wonderful seafood lunch to finish. Then we went chasing a look at some of the gun placements.

Back to Tirana and the same hotel for two nights. We were able to walk around and experience how the city and its people work and live. Even did some shopping, though both items turned out to be Italian leather.

Driving around next day showed another side to the city with the civic buildings and public places. A guide met us to take us through the mosque and also the museum though it was very hot and too much to see everything so we were happy with viewing some. The history of Albania is very different from our own.

Albania is a land of mountains, or so it seemed, and we took a good road …. at least two or three, then to the off road bit to meet a special couple who provided a typical country meal. This was the time we met Ed, who joined for the drive and meal. The weather was extremely hot but sitting under the shade of the vine made for a pleasant time.

The Ottoman old city of Berat was another experience and Nesti sure knows the places to eat as well as the short way up to the castle. Joining the evening stroll down the main street made us feel part of the local scene. The last day took us back from Berat to Tirana but have to share a secret: Nesti and his mates know the best seafood restaurant ever, duly booked of course. Safely back at the airpot to catch the plane it was a sad goodbye to our guide Nesti whom we had come to regard as a good friend. So…hot weather, short trip, one off-colour day for one of us BUT it was left to Kim Kim and they organised around the weather and our interests, our photos, our interest in the history and culture even if we didn’t drive all of the roads that they know about but that’s for longer trips. We think we covered a fair bit in the short time, made possible by kimkim.
Jim and Genevieve

Ed Reeves, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks so much for the kind words! We're so glad you enjoyed the trip and hope you make it back to the western Balkans some day soon! Ed & Nesti