Trip Reviews for Bhutan

The latest reviews by travelers who booked their trip on kimkim
carole

Bhutan, Bhutan - May 13 - May 31, 2018

Traveler: carole c. - Local specialist: Bas Naus

Overall, the trip was fantastic and I am truly grateful that you suggested India before Bhutan. However, the hotel in Delhi was superb. They upgraded us to a fabulous room the the 2nd and 3rd times that we were there which was lovely. Our guides in India were fine. I do have a couple of suggestions....I think we could have done with 1 night in Rathombore. We saw 1 tiger on all our safaris, although others saw many more...just lucky. We really liked Jaipur and maybe should have had 2 nights... read more

Overall, the trip was fantastic and I am truly grateful that you suggested India before Bhutan. However, the hotel in Delhi was superb. They upgraded us to a fabulous room the the 2nd and 3rd times that we were there which was lovely. Our guides in India were fine. I do have a couple of suggestions....I think we could have done with 1 night in Rathombore. We saw 1 tiger on all our safaris, although others saw many more...just lucky. We really liked Jaipur and maybe should have had 2 nights there instead. Darjeeling. Bhutan was really spectacular...we loved it. But there are some suggestions...It was a long drive to the Probjika Valley and we were not excited about it. The hotel was pretty bad and after we hiked a bit and saw Karma the crane, we were ready to leave. We thus stayed only 1 night and went back to Thimphu and stopped for a long hike en route. This was fine. We enjoyed trekking around Paro. However, our trip to Tigernest on May 29 was the same day as a major Buddhist holiday. Could not stand the idea of hiking in the crowds so we convinced out guide to substitute another trek We went to Tigernest about 3PM and started walking up as hordes of Indians were descending. Our guide tried to convince us to stop...turned out he and driver did not have a hotel to stay in and I think they were mostly worried about where they would be. The previous night they had to stay in Thimphu and I think they were anxious about getting back....Not clear to me why they had not booked their own rooms when they new the schedule. They did try to be accommodating to us and were very concerned that we were "happy," although there is no question that they would have preferred we just look at the Tigernest from the highway rather than climbing up. I had a difficult time separating what was convenient for them from what was in our interest. As an example, they left us at Paro airport at 7AM for the 9:30 flight. I realize that it is important to be early but that was really very early...we were the first to check in.

Bas Naus, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Carole,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review for your trip! Glad to hear that overall your trip was fantastic. Great that you enjoyed your visit to India , Sikkim and Bhutan. I addressed some of the things you mention here already in my email. Also, I will also talk to our guide to see what happened on the Tiger's Nest hike and after that I will come back to you. Thanks for travelling with us and see you again some time at kimkim! Best regards, Bas.

Bhutan adventure, Bhutan - May 2 - May 12, 2018

Traveler: Simons A. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

We could not have been better paired with our guide and driver - Yenten and MigMar. Yenten was excellent company throughout the trip and was able to explain complicated subjects clearly and easily to us.

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you, Simon, for the wonderful review. Will make sure to let the boys know about your feedback. They will be happy to find out.

Bhutan adventure, Bhutan - May 2 - May 12, 2018

Traveler: Jacqui W. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

OK. Firstly Bhutan. ..... What an Amazing country.
Our trip was very well designed by Vishal. I gave him information on What exactly I wanted to do & he designed a wonderful 10 day journey which included more than I expected......
Our Guide & Driver (Younten & Migma) were the most beautiful souls one could ever want to share time with....
Our guide was well extremely well informed about the Bhutanese Buddhist Culture & also a very experienced Mountain Guide.... They both gave us a humbled ,... read more

OK. Firstly Bhutan. ..... What an Amazing country.
Our trip was very well designed by Vishal. I gave him information on What exactly I wanted to do & he designed a wonderful 10 day journey which included more than I expected......
Our Guide & Driver (Younten & Migma) were the most beautiful souls one could ever want to share time with....
Our guide was well extremely well informed about the Bhutanese Buddhist Culture & also a very experienced Mountain Guide.... They both gave us a humbled , interesting & heart warming experience of Bhutan.
Every day we were exposed to new, unexpected & intersting experiences. The programme was well designed , with unexpected extra experiences added.
Our Tour designers (Vishal & Sonam) gave us first class attention, from meeting us at the airport on arrival to inviting us to dinner with them .
They were friendly & helpful making sure that our Bhutan Experience was the best it could possibly be.

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Jacqui,

Many thanks for sharing your trip report on your Bhutan adventure.

Vishal and I had a great time hosting and interacting with you and Simon. And it is such a nice feeling to hear that arrangements had been well executed, especially after working on it for soooooo long. I will be pleased to pass on your compliments to the boys. As we always say kindness beckons kindness and I believe this has made all the difference in your trip.

Till we meet again, Take care & stay healthy. Sonam.

Richard

Richard masla bhutan , Bhutan - Apr 18 - Apr 24, 2018

Traveler: Richard M. - Local specialist: Bas Naus

Our group of 4 just returned from a 7 day tour of Bhutan. From the beginning of my contact with Bas, to touring the amazing countryside of Bhutan with Sonam and Tawa (guides from Bhutan). My experience was phenomenal, two thumbs up for the curtosy, kindness and professionalism of all the staff.

Bas Naus, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Richard,
So glad to hear your experience was phenomenal! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to Bhutan as well as our service. Thanks for your kind words also, we appreciate it! All the best to you and see you again some time!
Bas.

Surprise trip for husband , Bhutan - Mar 22 - Apr 2, 2018

Traveler: Sarah G. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

Working with Vishal and Sonam in planning, booking and enjoying this trip was great from start to finish. They provided good advice on what to do and see during the given time of year and the duration of our trip. We had to chop and change the trip as we had some members of our party drop out and some new people enter during the planning portion. They were very patient and flexible during the whole process and were consistent in their expert professionalism. Our guide, Tek, was very... read more

Working with Vishal and Sonam in planning, booking and enjoying this trip was great from start to finish. They provided good advice on what to do and see during the given time of year and the duration of our trip. We had to chop and change the trip as we had some members of our party drop out and some new people enter during the planning portion. They were very patient and flexible during the whole process and were consistent in their expert professionalism. Our guide, Tek, was very knowledgeable, punctual, and had the bonus of being fun to be around. Vishal and Sonam actually took to the time to check in with us personally multiple times during the extent of our trip, to ensure that everything was to standard and to see if there were any reasonable ways to improve the trip. Bhutan is an extraordinary place and Vishal/Sonam's exceptional customer service made it easy and comfortable the whole way through. I was dubious of the guided nature of this trip as I usually travel freestyle, however Tek and the team made this one of the best trips I have ever embarked on!

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Sarah, Shannon, Josh, Emilio,

First and foremost, thank you ladies for doing this for the boys!

And Thank you again for giving us this opportunity to showcase Bhutan to Josh and Emilio.

Me and my team thoroughly enjoyed the interaction and glad to hear that we able to cater to your expectation.

We look forward welcoming you again in too not distance future, till then Take Care and best regards from Bhutan.

Sonam

Tom

Trip to bhutan, Bhutan - Mar 31 - Apr 5, 2018

Traveler: Tom L. - Local specialist: Bas Naus

I have traveled a lot--around 130 countries--and I almost never use an organized tour. I thought I didn't like them. But this trip changed my mind. Mr. Pema, my guide, was impeccable, as was my driver, Mr. Ugee. They anticipated my every need, were beautifully friendly and polite and quite interesting people. I felt like I was traveling with friends. Mr. Pema was very skillful and knowledgeable as a guide to both the sites and the culture, and we had philosophical as well as historical... read more

I have traveled a lot--around 130 countries--and I almost never use an organized tour. I thought I didn't like them. But this trip changed my mind. Mr. Pema, my guide, was impeccable, as was my driver, Mr. Ugee. They anticipated my every need, were beautifully friendly and polite and quite interesting people. I felt like I was traveling with friends. Mr. Pema was very skillful and knowledgeable as a guide to both the sites and the culture, and we had philosophical as well as historical conversations of some depth. Windhorse made all the arrangements painless, kept in touch just enough, and everything, top to bottom, was perfectly done. The wifi in hotel rooms, as it is in many countries with a similar economic base, left something to be desired, but that was outside their control, and I'm sure it will continue to improve as the tourist infrastructure continues to grow. My only wish was that I had been able to stay longer and go further into the country.

Bas Naus, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Tom,
Thanks for sharing this with us! Great to hear you had a nice trip to Bhutan with us. We are also glad to hear that our guide and driver changed your perspective on organized tours! Very nice that you enjoyed their services as well as their company and having conversations with them. If you ever plan to come back for a longer stay, we would be more than happy to host your trip again. All the best to you and see you again some time!
Bas.

Surprise trip for husband , Bhutan - Mar 22 - Apr 2, 2018

Traveler: Emilio V. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

Great. Tek was an amazing guide out in the mountains and in the cultural tour too.

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Emilio,

Great hearing from you.

It was a pleasure for me and our team to host you in Bhutan.

We are delighted to hear that Dagala Trek adventure lived up to your expectation.

Thank you once again for this opportunity and look forward to yet another adventure.

Sincerely,

Sonam

Trip to bhutan, Bhutan - Feb 19 - Feb 28, 2018

Traveler: warekois W. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

All was great-both the driver (Nema) and the guild(Lobzang) did as I asked. I like to see the real world so I tend to travel to places off the beaten path. They showed me the back places of your lovely country. Plan to return. The only mess up was the amount charged per day but Vishal explained the situation and all was straighten out. Well done to all that welcomed be to Bhutan.

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Will,

Thank you for penning down this feedback. Great to hear that our services were up to your expectations. Lobzang and Nima would be pleased to hear about it. These feedbacks are very critical to the service we strive to deliver and Thank you once again for your thoughts.
Very best to you and see you soon ! Sonam.

Hamilton

Snow leopard photography, Bhutan - Jan 30 - Feb 8, 2018

Traveler: Hamilton L. - Local specialist: Bas Naus

Our journey in the mountains of Bhutan was richly rewarding. A gift not wrapped in paper but bound instead in the thread of discovery and the characters we were blessed to encounter along the way. A journey of reflection and life in focus - so generously mentored by the welcoming will and inspiring talents of the Bhutanese people, Like our fabulous guides Yonten and Pema, who helped us climb higher..beyond....as each new step took our breath further away. Thank you!

And also thank you to... read more

Our journey in the mountains of Bhutan was richly rewarding. A gift not wrapped in paper but bound instead in the thread of discovery and the characters we were blessed to encounter along the way. A journey of reflection and life in focus - so generously mentored by the welcoming will and inspiring talents of the Bhutanese people, Like our fabulous guides Yonten and Pema, who helped us climb higher..beyond....as each new step took our breath further away. Thank you!

And also thank you to all our amazing crew and the nine ponies ... especially camera pony!
Everyone we encountered helped make our expedition an experience that will long be remembered as an outstanding example of living in the moment..

Thanks to Bas at Kimkim for making the arrangements so easy and to Wind Horse for organising everything on the ground. Thoroughly enjoyed this Bhut-Camp!

Bas Naus, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Hamilton,
Thanks for your kind words! So nice to hear you had a rewarding trip and that you were inspired by the people you met and by our guides and crew. Hope you will cherish your memories from Bhutan for a long time. I am sure the pictures you took will help with that, curious to see your work!
Thanks for visiting Bhutan with us, we were delighted to host your trip!
All the best, Bas.

Bhutan trip for nat, Bhutan - Jan 6 - Jan 10, 2018

Traveler: Nat Y. - Local specialist: Bas Naus

Trip was better than we could have ever expected. The entire process from the first messages with Bas till the fairwell hugs with tashi and Jigme at the airport and everything in between was beyond words! Tashi as a guide is phenomenal, can’t fault him. And Jigme was his perfect side kick. Nothing was too hard for the boys. Thank you for a wonderful trip!

Bas Naus, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Nat, thanks for your kind words. It was an honor to host your trip to Bhutan! Thanks for visiting! Bas.

Nepal and bhutan, Bhutan - Nov 17 - Dec 5, 2017

Traveler: Moni O. - Local specialist: Mads Mathiasen

My 6 days in Bhutan were amazing . My guide Sonam was so wonderful , full of knowledge and patience. I loved talking to him and I learned so much about the country , the people and the culture . My hike up to Tiger’s Nest was the biggest highlight of the trip. I didn’t think I could hike all that way , but Sonam had confidence in me and I did it! I am so proud . Thank you for a trip of a lifetime!

Mads Mathiasen, local specialist, responded to this review:

So glad you enjoyed your time in Bhutan and congratulations on making it up to Tigers Nest it truly is an amazing place, so I am glad you got to see it. Thanks for taking the time to write this review and traveling with us, we hope to see you back in the Himalaya soon!

Lynne

Trip to bhutan, Bhutan - Oct 2 - Oct 8, 2017

Traveler: Lynne N. - Local specialist: Mads Mathiasen

Our guide Sangay went out of his way to provide us with the additional activities that we requested. This included visiting the Faculty of Traditional Medicine in Thiumpu, walking accross a suspension bridge, purchasing certain meditation items and some of Bhutan’s products (honey). This he managed despite our very full and busy schedule. The flight times were out of the control of the tour operators. The time of our booking was late due to a previous tour falling through and this restricted... read more

Our guide Sangay went out of his way to provide us with the additional activities that we requested. This included visiting the Faculty of Traditional Medicine in Thiumpu, walking accross a suspension bridge, purchasing certain meditation items and some of Bhutan’s products (honey). This he managed despite our very full and busy schedule. The flight times were out of the control of the tour operators. The time of our booking was late due to a previous tour falling through and this restricted the available flights at the optimal times. The flight times to and from Bhutan restricted the time and activities possible on the first and last day. This was disappointing because the other days were full of interesting and enjoyable activities and left us longing for more time.

Mads managed to put together a tour which packed in a lot despite the late notice. He was very responsive to requests and extremely prompt and thorough with communication and information.
Mads choice of accommodation suited us perfectly. He also organised, at very short notice, to swap a vesper for a Royal Enfield motorcycle when one of our group expressed a desire to ride one! I would not hesitate to use Mads again for a trip/holiday or to recommend him to others (which I have already done)

Mads Mathiasen, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks for your lovely review Lynne, it was great meeting all of you in Kathmandu! You time in Bhutan was a bit short but it is also good to leave something to come back for another time :-) Glad we could make this happen for you at the last minute it as and that you had a good time both in Bhutan and Nepal. Thanks for traveling with us and we hope to see you in the Himalayas again soon. Mads.

Bhutan, Bhutan - Oct 6 - Oct 16, 2017

Traveler: Ben A. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

The first thing is that I had never done an organised tour before. Of course with the regulations in Bhutan it is the only way to see the country that I had wanted to visit for so long.  In my early exchanges with Vishal he made me extremely comfortable that a tour did not mean bus rides with many people; controlled timings on visits to places; and having to ensure we experienced the country at the pace of the slowest person in the group. Vishal carefully asked me what it was I wanted to see... read more

The first thing is that I had never done an organised tour before. Of course with the regulations in Bhutan it is the only way to see the country that I had wanted to visit for so long.  In my early exchanges with Vishal he made me extremely comfortable that a tour did not mean bus rides with many people; controlled timings on visits to places; and having to ensure we experienced the country at the pace of the slowest person in the group. Vishal carefully asked me what it was I wanted to see in Bhutan, which Places drew me to the county, and what kind of experience I wanted to take away.  He built an itinerary that combined my need to experience the history, the landmarks, the culture and the trekking, suggesting timeframes that would encompass all of these things without needing to rush, and giving me options throughout the itinerary that gave complete flexibility for us to enjoy. The planning became an exciting part of the trip (as it should be) and was an excellent experience.

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you Ben for visiting us. We are glad we could make this trip a success and an adventurous one for you.