Kimkim Trip Reviews for Bhutan

Reviews from actual kimkim travelers. We publish all reviews.
4.9
(30 reviews)
Read 30 reviews by travelers who booked their trip on kimkim

Trek bhutan, Bhutan - Dec 23 - Dec 31, 2018

Traveler: stanley f. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

Gem and Migmar provided excellent professional service. There were few problems but when one occurred it was resolved quickly and in a professional manner. Gem was flexible and adapted the schedule to suit my individual needs when required.

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Stanley,

Thank you for this opportunity to showcase our country. Hopefully, Bhutan has inspired you.
I will be certain to pass on your kind comments to Gem and Migmar. Thank you once again and best for 2019.

With best regards Sonam

Bhutan nature trip, Bhutan - Nov 12 - Nov 27, 2018

Traveler: David R. - Local specialist: Bas Naus

The trip was fantastic everything worked perfectly - we saw many amazing birds (over 135 species and we are not twitchers), himalayan bears, golden langurs, squirrels , butterflies and plants and incredible landscapes and temples. We stayed in some good and reasonable hotels and the camping was fine. We enjoyed great food (especially by the camp cook). We became great friends with Subash Rai our truly excellent guide and also our safe and careful driver. The car was fine for the roads and the luggage. We shared a lot of laughs and remain in touch. Thousands of photos now to process!

Bas Naus, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear David and Liz,
So glad to hear you enjoyed your trip! Delighted also to hear you became friends with Subash, and that you appreciated his services as well as the skills of the driver and the cook! Seems like you did see a lot of bird species indeed. And spotting a Himalayan black bear also requires some luck - or karma? ;-) Great to hear this. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you again for choosing Wind Horse for your trip. We really enjoyed hosting your trip. We wish you all the best and hope to see you again sometime!
Best regards,
Bas.

Ryan

Bhutan , Bhutan - Nov 10 - Nov 23, 2018

Traveler: Ryan A. - Local specialist: Erin Green

Amazing trip to Bhutan and Nepal. Thanks Erin for your suggestions and trip planning. Bhutan guide Dorji was excellent. Fascinating road trip across the pristine lands of Bhutan! The mask festival at Trongsa was memorable. Also happy to meet guide Pratikshya in Nepal for a second time. Vespa ride with Ritesh to Kathmandu villages was also an awesome experience. I feel I have new friends in this part of the world!! Hope I can come again next year and discover new places!

Erin Green, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Ryan! So glad to hear you had a great trip, and had such great guides. Thank you for the feedback. Please do come back and visit us again next year! There's Tibet, and some more beauty to be experienced in Nepal, too.
See you again!

Dagala thousand lakes trek - 12 days, Bhutan - Oct 31 - Nov 11, 2018

Traveler: Guy P. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

we had a fantastic trip. everything was very well organised and we were looked after luxuriously. we got on great with our guide and he did a lot to anticipate our needs. I would definitely recommend them.

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Guy and Sara,

It was great fun for us to interact with you, while in Bhutan and truly appreciate the opportunity and faith to organize the trek. We will be pleased to pass on your lovely comments to Tek. Hopefully the uncharted trails of Bhutan have inspired you and look forward to organizing another one in not too distance future.

With best regards Sonam

Jane

Druk path trek and cultural highlights, Bhutan - Oct 29 - Nov 11, 2018

Traveler: Jane G. - Local specialist: Bas Naus

THe booking was easy and straight forward and Bas was efficient in responding promptly, however the order of activities could have been much better as we suffered from altitude sickness all through the hike - whihc we did only 2 days after arriving from sea-level. As we were there for two weeks with only 5 days on teh hike it would have been possible to do more of the lower altitude activities first so as to acclimatise better before the hike. The hotels turned out to have very different... read more

THe booking was easy and straight forward and Bas was efficient in responding promptly, however the order of activities could have been much better as we suffered from altitude sickness all through the hike - whihc we did only 2 days after arriving from sea-level. As we were there for two weeks with only 5 days on teh hike it would have been possible to do more of the lower altitude activities first so as to acclimatise better before the hike. The hotels turned out to have very different quality rooms and even though we paid 6 months in advance we seemed to get almost the worst room in each hotel. This may have been cost saving but was not even discussed with us if we would like to have a decent room and pay a bit more.

Bas Naus, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Jane,
Thanks for letting me know. I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed with some arrangements and that you suffered from altitude sickness during your trek. We will surely use your feedback to evaluate our services and try to improve them for future guests.
All the best to you and Nigel, greetings from Bhutan and from the Netherlands!
Bas.

Vasanti

Highlights of bhutan - 5 days, Bhutan - Oct 8 - Oct 12, 2018

Traveler: Vasanti P. - Local specialist: Bas Naus

Amazing trip in Bhutan. Starting off with Bas who put together an itinerary to meet my requirements. My guide Namgay Dorji was fun and informative and I could not have felt more safer on those mountain roads with a driver like Dhanbir. An experience where the memories will stay with me forever. I’ll definitely be coming back.

Bas Naus, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Vasanti, very glad to hear you had an amazing trip! Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Till then, all the best for you! Regards, Bas.

Trip to bhutan, Bhutan - Oct 19 - Nov 3, 2018

Traveler: luke g. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

Bhutan was an incredible adventure and one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen. Vishal and Sonam put together a great trip!! I feel like Migmar and Gem were not only the best driver/guide in the whole country but lifelong friends as well. I had a great time and highly recommend Vishal and his team

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Luke,
Thank you for this opportunity to build lifelong friendship with us and off course Gem and Migmar.
We are glad to hear you had an incredible adventure and the kingdom lived up to your expectation.
We look forward to organizing yet another adventure in not too distant future.
With best regards Sonam

Nature and culture in bhutan - 10 days, Bhutan - Oct 16 - Oct 29, 2018

Traveler: Helen H. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

The whole trip was amazing. Thanks to the incredible organization by Vishal the trip ran smoothly and to plan, but we always felt there was flexibility to cater for the unexpected.
As I said, the trip was extremely well organized to cater for the two of us. Neither of us are young but we are both fairly energetic still. The activities, visits, walks suited us very well. Vishal constantly kept in contact with our guide to make sure everything ran smoothly for us.
We were both very pleased... read more

The whole trip was amazing. Thanks to the incredible organization by Vishal the trip ran smoothly and to plan, but we always felt there was flexibility to cater for the unexpected.
As I said, the trip was extremely well organized to cater for the two of us. Neither of us are young but we are both fairly energetic still. The activities, visits, walks suited us very well. Vishal constantly kept in contact with our guide to make sure everything ran smoothly for us.
We were both very pleased with the high standard of accommodation Vishal organized for us throughout the trip.
Vishal chose a driver and a guide both of whom can only be described as amazing.
I suffer from travel sickness. The driver and guide were both aware of this and kept a very close eye on me, particularly when we were on the very windy roads.The driving was also adjusted to ensure I had a comfortable ride. Our every need was anticipated.The driver never hesitated to find a safe place to stop when we wished to take photos.
My traveling companion doesn't like certain foods, our guide always checked to make sure that what was offered was suitable for her, and if not suitable had something else cooked for her.
Our guides general knowledge was amazing and he showed a great love for his country.
I can't say there was one place that was most memorable as each place we visited had its own story and its own beauty. Enhanced by an enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide.Every day and every activity provided us with an endless set of wonderful memories.There were no low points in the trip.
I have already started recommending Vishal and Bhutan to my friends who are interested in traveling there.

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Helen and Fay,

What a delighted it was for us to host you in Bhutan, brought along fond memories of Australia. We truly appreciate this opportunity to showcase our country and glad to hear that the services were up-to your expectation. Thank you once gain. Stay adventurous’ and blessings from Bhutan. Sonam

L

Trip to bhutan, Bhutan - Oct 16 - Oct 28, 2018

Traveler: L S. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

Karma and Sam were both very friendly, knowledgeable and extremely professional.
The Dagala trek was a highlight for me and a special adventure. Although the cultural sites were rich and came alive with Karma,s descriptions and history.
I hope to return to Bhutan again and I would certainly recommend Vishal and his team.

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Leigh,

Thank you for this opportunity and It was such delight hosting you on this solo adventure.

We are happy to hear of the positive comments, I am certain karma and Sam would be most delighted to hear of it.

Thank you once again and Till we work on another adventure, take care and best wishes from Bhutan.

With best regards sonam

Iain

Bhutan discovery, Bhutan - Sep 22 - Sep 29, 2018

Traveler: Iain L. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

Very enjoyable and well organised trip. Thank you Vishal. Hotels exceeded my expectations. Guide Younten was very effective and looked after everything without fail. I did not catch everything he told us but that was mainly due to my deafness. The driver Sonam was safe and alert at all times and despite challenging mountain roads I never felt nervous. The Hikes were just wonderful although the altitude and my old age made them fairly tough.

We sometimes wished for additional activities... read more

Very enjoyable and well organised trip. Thank you Vishal. Hotels exceeded my expectations. Guide Younten was very effective and looked after everything without fail. I did not catch everything he told us but that was mainly due to my deafness. The driver Sonam was safe and alert at all times and despite challenging mountain roads I never felt nervous. The Hikes were just wonderful although the altitude and my old age made them fairly tough.

We sometimes wished for additional activities between 3.30 and 6 pm. I think many customers would have been happy with the free time and we would have been happy to have a swim but hotels do not have pools. Of course the highlight was Tigers nest but the Simply Bhutan experience was also fun and informative. The Archery and Darts were also a lot of fun albeit seemed a bit dangerous by european health and safety standards.

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Iain,

Thank you for this lovely feedback and the opportunity to host you. We are glad to hear that you had a great time with your son. I am certain Yonten and sonam would be thrilled to hear about your feedbacks.

Duly noted your constructive comments, truly appreciate it. Going forward we will certainly provide background information on the traditional archery’s and Khuru. Tourism infrastructure stills remains rudimentary and hopefully our hotel infrastructure will come up to that level soon.

Take care and hope to host another trip soon.

With fond memories and best regards Sonam

Mark

Hummingbird bhutan, Bhutan - Aug 26 - Aug 31, 2018

Traveler: Mark P. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

Vishal and his lovely wife, Sonam, looked after our group of 19 people as if we were family. I recommend their services because they have provided 100% of what they promised to us, plus more. I will certainly continue to use their skills because they are honest, genuine people who made all the arrangements for our complicated group, easy. Thank you Vishal and Sonam.

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Mark,

Thank you for trusting us to execute this group. It gives us great pleasure to note that months and months of planning had come to fruition. While, it was complicated, however, we thoroughly enjoyed the challenges and had excellent learnings. We thank you and the entire group for bearing with us and limitations of destination and lastly giving us this opportunity.

Wishing you the best and look forward hosting you again in Bhutan soon.

With lots and lots of blessing from Bhutan. Sonam

Sarita

Trip to bhutan, Bhutan - Aug 26 - Aug 31, 2018

Traveler: Sarita M. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

Absolutely loved what the Kim Kim Team offered. Professional, fun, informative tour guides that made my stay absolutely wonderful. Can't wait to go back to Bhutan and check out more.

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Sara,

Lovely hearing from you. I and the team take great pride in learning that you have a great time in Bhutan. Wishing you the best and look forward hosting you again in Bhutan soon.

With lots and lots of blessing from Bhutan. Sonam

4 night add on trip, Bhutan - Aug 22 - Aug 26, 2018

Traveler: kerrie m. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

The trip was outstandingly well prepared and the tour guide and driver were meticulous in their care and service throughout the time in Bhutan. I could not have wished for more. I felt comfortable, safe and very well looked after. Further there was good intuition about what it was we wanted to do and this was well met. Bhutan was an exciting and different place to visit. it was gentle, clean, safe and spectacular throughout the four days.

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Kerrie,

Truly appreciate your kind words. We are fortunate to have had an opportunity to create meaningful experiences for you. We are hopeful that our paths will cross again in future. Till then take care and lots of blessings from Bhutan.

With best regards Sonam

4 night add on trip, Bhutan - Aug 22 - Aug 26, 2018

Traveler: Beth T. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

We had a fantastic trip to Bhutan guided by Ut. He was such a lovely person and went out of his way to make sure everything was going well. We covered a lot of Bhutan, but it was also varied. Our homestay was a highlight of the trip getting to know a beautiful family. I would highly recommend the Kim Kim team when planning a trip to Bhutan, especially Vishal.

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Beth,

We are humbled to hear of your kind words. Sonam and I had a great time hosting and interacting with you in our country. I am hopeful, that you take back home, beautiful and meaningful experiences. I am certain UT would be pleased to hear of your feedback and rest assured as suggested we will actively promote the homestays.

With lots of love - Sonam and Vishal

Friend trip, Bhutan - Aug 23 - Aug 25, 2018

Traveler: Meredith V. - Local specialist: Bas Naus

Awesome! Guides were great and trip was wonderful. Thank you so much!

Bas Naus, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Meredith, Wonderful to hear that! We are happy we got the opportunity to show you Bhutan for a few days. Be well and see you again! Best regards, Bas.

jumolhari round trek and cultural tour - 17 days, Bhutan - Jun 3 - Jun 14, 2018

Traveler: Ellen C. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

Wow where to even start. Our time in Bhutan was so incredible we are still dreaming about it, and it would not have been the same without the amazing care from Vishal and Sonam.

They put in so much attention to customize the perfect trip for your needs. (They even know which room in the hotel has the best views!) Vishal and Sonam will go out of their way to ensure your stay in Bhutan is comfortable.

Our guide, Tek, was very accommodating. My boyfriend and I were doing our first multi-day... read more

Wow where to even start. Our time in Bhutan was so incredible we are still dreaming about it, and it would not have been the same without the amazing care from Vishal and Sonam.

They put in so much attention to customize the perfect trip for your needs. (They even know which room in the hotel has the best views!) Vishal and Sonam will go out of their way to ensure your stay in Bhutan is comfortable.

Our guide, Tek, was very accommodating. My boyfriend and I were doing our first multi-day backpacking trip, and Tek was supportive through the whole journey. He gave us the perfect balance of personal attentiveness and space, had answers to all our questions, and also was very easy to get along with.

I am definitely coming to Trophel tours for our next trip to Bhutan- :)

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Ellen,

Thank you for your lovely feedback and that we were able to make your trip to Bhutan a memorable one. Sonam and I, are very glad that we could meet with you and Jonathan after all the interactions that we have had long before your trip. We will make sure we share your thoughts with Tek and rest of the team.

I hope everything went well in Mongolia and that you enjoyed the beautiful wedding in Bali.

Till we meet again.

With lots of love and prayers from Bhutan

Vishal

Trip to bhutan, Bhutan - May 1 - May 6, 2018

Traveler: Hilary M. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

Bhutan has a special place in my heart, not least due to the superb, seamless organisational efforts of Vishal and Sonam at Trophel Tours, and the excellent, informative and gracious care of our "walking encyclopaedia" guide UT. Pre-trip communications built an impression of courteous, lovely people who know their country intricately, and I felt in capable hands before we even set foot in beautiful Bhutan. Such a relief to have all the administrative intricacies of permits and visas dealt... read more

Bhutan has a special place in my heart, not least due to the superb, seamless organisational efforts of Vishal and Sonam at Trophel Tours, and the excellent, informative and gracious care of our "walking encyclopaedia" guide UT. Pre-trip communications built an impression of courteous, lovely people who know their country intricately, and I felt in capable hands before we even set foot in beautiful Bhutan. Such a relief to have all the administrative intricacies of permits and visas dealt with fully and efficiently on our behalf. All t's crossed and all i's dotted. Given our relatively short time there (only 5 days of activity), we packed in a huge amount without feeling squeezed and rushed - many thanks for all the suggestions and working them into a terrific short itinerary. Bumdra Camp, "sky burial", the wonderful hot stone bath (what a lodge!), CheLa Pass, the forest/rhododendron walk to the nunnery and the exhilarating downhill cycle were unforgettable, ditto the visit to Tigers Nest monastery, without which no trip to Bhutan is really complete! So lucky also to be there for the final of the national archery competition. The cultural visits and museum are fabulous (and I'm not generally a museum person). UT's knowledge brought everything alive - a big thanks to him, and for the careful driving by our lovely driver in a superbly comfortable vehicle. The food - well, yum! I would happily travel with Trophel Tours again; many thanks to all concerned.
On a general note, I hope that Bhutan develops a strong policy to take care of its pristine environment well at this relatively early stage in its touristic development - it was sad to see a large quantity of toilet paper and human waste scattered amongst the trees and bushes around Bumdra. Could something be done about this by the local and tourism authorities so it doesn't become a huge problem like on Mt Everest and parts of Nepal? I hope so!

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Hilary

Great hearing from you and thank you soooo much for the lovely feedback.

I believe, it was you and all the ladies, who helped us to make this trip special. We are so fortunate to have been able to build lifelong friendships with you, Pat, Mary and Karen.

Duly noted the constructive feedback on the Bumdra Camp. Rest assured will be sharing the feedback with folks in Tourism council of Bhutan.

Till we meet again ! Take care, blessings from Bhutan & stay healthy. Sonam

carole

Bhutan, Bhutan - May 13 - May 31, 2018

Traveler: carole c. - Local specialist: Bas Naus

Overall, the trip was fantastic and I am truly grateful that you suggested India before Bhutan. However, the hotel in Delhi was superb. They upgraded us to a fabulous room the the 2nd and 3rd times that we were there which was lovely. Our guides in India were fine. I do have a couple of suggestions....I think we could have done with 1 night in Rathombore. We saw 1 tiger on all our safaris, although others saw many more...just lucky. We really liked Jaipur and maybe should have had 2 nights... read more

Overall, the trip was fantastic and I am truly grateful that you suggested India before Bhutan. However, the hotel in Delhi was superb. They upgraded us to a fabulous room the the 2nd and 3rd times that we were there which was lovely. Our guides in India were fine. I do have a couple of suggestions....I think we could have done with 1 night in Rathombore. We saw 1 tiger on all our safaris, although others saw many more...just lucky. We really liked Jaipur and maybe should have had 2 nights there instead. Darjeeling. Bhutan was really spectacular...we loved it. But there are some suggestions...It was a long drive to the Probjika Valley and we were not excited about it. The hotel was pretty bad and after we hiked a bit and saw Karma the crane, we were ready to leave. We thus stayed only 1 night and went back to Thimphu and stopped for a long hike en route. This was fine. We enjoyed trekking around Paro. However, our trip to Tigernest on May 29 was the same day as a major Buddhist holiday. Could not stand the idea of hiking in the crowds so we convinced out guide to substitute another trek We went to Tigernest about 3PM and started walking up as hordes of Indians were descending. Our guide tried to convince us to stop...turned out he and driver did not have a hotel to stay in and I think they were mostly worried about where they would be. The previous night they had to stay in Thimphu and I think they were anxious about getting back....Not clear to me why they had not booked their own rooms when they new the schedule. They did try to be accommodating to us and were very concerned that we were "happy," although there is no question that they would have preferred we just look at the Tigernest from the highway rather than climbing up. I had a difficult time separating what was convenient for them from what was in our interest. As an example, they left us at Paro airport at 7AM for the 9:30 flight. I realize that it is important to be early but that was really very early...we were the first to check in.

Bas Naus, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Carole,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review for your trip! Glad to hear that overall your trip was fantastic. Great that you enjoyed your visit to India , Sikkim and Bhutan. I addressed some of the things you mention here already in my email. Also, I will also talk to our guide to see what happened on the Tiger's Nest hike and after that I will come back to you. Thanks for travelling with us and see you again some time at kimkim! Best regards, Bas.

Bhutan adventure, Bhutan - May 2 - May 12, 2018

Traveler: Simons A. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

We could not have been better paired with our guide and driver - Yenten and MigMar. Yenten was excellent company throughout the trip and was able to explain complicated subjects clearly and easily to us.

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you, Simon, for the wonderful review. Will make sure to let the boys know about your feedback. They will be happy to find out.

Bhutan adventure, Bhutan - May 2 - May 12, 2018

Traveler: Jacqui W. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

OK. Firstly Bhutan. ..... What an Amazing country.
Our trip was very well designed by Vishal. I gave him information on What exactly I wanted to do & he designed a wonderful 10 day journey which included more than I expected......
Our Guide & Driver (Younten & Migma) were the most beautiful souls one could ever want to share time with....
Our guide was well extremely well informed about the Bhutanese Buddhist Culture & also a very experienced Mountain Guide.... They both gave us a humbled ,... read more

OK. Firstly Bhutan. ..... What an Amazing country.
Our trip was very well designed by Vishal. I gave him information on What exactly I wanted to do & he designed a wonderful 10 day journey which included more than I expected......
Our Guide & Driver (Younten & Migma) were the most beautiful souls one could ever want to share time with....
Our guide was well extremely well informed about the Bhutanese Buddhist Culture & also a very experienced Mountain Guide.... They both gave us a humbled , interesting & heart warming experience of Bhutan.
Every day we were exposed to new, unexpected & intersting experiences. The programme was well designed , with unexpected extra experiences added.
Our Tour designers (Vishal & Sonam) gave us first class attention, from meeting us at the airport on arrival to inviting us to dinner with them .
They were friendly & helpful making sure that our Bhutan Experience was the best it could possibly be.

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Jacqui,

Many thanks for sharing your trip report on your Bhutan adventure.

Vishal and I had a great time hosting and interacting with you and Simon. And it is such a nice feeling to hear that arrangements had been well executed, especially after working on it for soooooo long. I will be pleased to pass on your compliments to the boys. As we always say kindness beckons kindness and I believe this has made all the difference in your trip.

Till we meet again, Take care & stay healthy. Sonam.

Richard

Richard masla bhutan , Bhutan - Apr 18 - Apr 24, 2018

Traveler: Richard M. - Local specialist: Bas Naus

Our group of 4 just returned from a 7 day tour of Bhutan. From the beginning of my contact with Bas, to touring the amazing countryside of Bhutan with Sonam and Tawa (guides from Bhutan). My experience was phenomenal, two thumbs up for the curtosy, kindness and professionalism of all the staff.

Bas Naus, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Richard,
So glad to hear your experience was phenomenal! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to Bhutan as well as our service. Thanks for your kind words also, we appreciate it! All the best to you and see you again some time!
Bas.

Surprise trip for husband , Bhutan - Mar 22 - Apr 2, 2018

Traveler: Sarah G. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

Working with Vishal and Sonam in planning, booking and enjoying this trip was great from start to finish. They provided good advice on what to do and see during the given time of year and the duration of our trip. We had to chop and change the trip as we had some members of our party drop out and some new people enter during the planning portion. They were very patient and flexible during the whole process and were consistent in their expert professionalism. Our guide, Tek, was very... read more

Working with Vishal and Sonam in planning, booking and enjoying this trip was great from start to finish. They provided good advice on what to do and see during the given time of year and the duration of our trip. We had to chop and change the trip as we had some members of our party drop out and some new people enter during the planning portion. They were very patient and flexible during the whole process and were consistent in their expert professionalism. Our guide, Tek, was very knowledgeable, punctual, and had the bonus of being fun to be around. Vishal and Sonam actually took to the time to check in with us personally multiple times during the extent of our trip, to ensure that everything was to standard and to see if there were any reasonable ways to improve the trip. Bhutan is an extraordinary place and Vishal/Sonam's exceptional customer service made it easy and comfortable the whole way through. I was dubious of the guided nature of this trip as I usually travel freestyle, however Tek and the team made this one of the best trips I have ever embarked on!

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Sarah, Shannon, Josh, Emilio,

First and foremost, thank you ladies for doing this for the boys!

And Thank you again for giving us this opportunity to showcase Bhutan to Josh and Emilio.

Me and my team thoroughly enjoyed the interaction and glad to hear that we able to cater to your expectation.

We look forward welcoming you again in too not distance future, till then Take Care and best regards from Bhutan.

Sonam

Tom

Trip to bhutan, Bhutan - Mar 31 - Apr 5, 2018

Traveler: Tom L. - Local specialist: Bas Naus

I have traveled a lot--around 130 countries--and I almost never use an organized tour. I thought I didn't like them. But this trip changed my mind. Mr. Pema, my guide, was impeccable, as was my driver, Mr. Ugee. They anticipated my every need, were beautifully friendly and polite and quite interesting people. I felt like I was traveling with friends. Mr. Pema was very skillful and knowledgeable as a guide to both the sites and the culture, and we had philosophical as well as historical... read more

I have traveled a lot--around 130 countries--and I almost never use an organized tour. I thought I didn't like them. But this trip changed my mind. Mr. Pema, my guide, was impeccable, as was my driver, Mr. Ugee. They anticipated my every need, were beautifully friendly and polite and quite interesting people. I felt like I was traveling with friends. Mr. Pema was very skillful and knowledgeable as a guide to both the sites and the culture, and we had philosophical as well as historical conversations of some depth. Windhorse made all the arrangements painless, kept in touch just enough, and everything, top to bottom, was perfectly done. The wifi in hotel rooms, as it is in many countries with a similar economic base, left something to be desired, but that was outside their control, and I'm sure it will continue to improve as the tourist infrastructure continues to grow. My only wish was that I had been able to stay longer and go further into the country.

Bas Naus, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Tom,
Thanks for sharing this with us! Great to hear you had a nice trip to Bhutan with us. We are also glad to hear that our guide and driver changed your perspective on organized tours! Very nice that you enjoyed their services as well as their company and having conversations with them. If you ever plan to come back for a longer stay, we would be more than happy to host your trip again. All the best to you and see you again some time!
Bas.

Surprise trip for husband , Bhutan - Mar 22 - Apr 2, 2018

Traveler: Emilio V. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

Great. Tek was an amazing guide out in the mountains and in the cultural tour too.

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Emilio,

Great hearing from you.

It was a pleasure for me and our team to host you in Bhutan.

We are delighted to hear that Dagala Trek adventure lived up to your expectation.

Thank you once again for this opportunity and look forward to yet another adventure.

Sincerely,

Sonam

Trip to bhutan, Bhutan - Feb 19 - Feb 28, 2018

Traveler: warekois W. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

All was great-both the driver (Nema) and the guild(Lobzang) did as I asked. I like to see the real world so I tend to travel to places off the beaten path. They showed me the back places of your lovely country. Plan to return. The only mess up was the amount charged per day but Vishal explained the situation and all was straighten out. Well done to all that welcomed be to Bhutan.

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Will,

Thank you for penning down this feedback. Great to hear that our services were up to your expectations. Lobzang and Nima would be pleased to hear about it. These feedbacks are very critical to the service we strive to deliver and Thank you once again for your thoughts.
Very best to you and see you soon ! Sonam.

Hamilton

Snow leopard photography, Bhutan - Jan 30 - Feb 8, 2018

Traveler: Hamilton L. - Local specialist: Bas Naus

Our journey in the mountains of Bhutan was richly rewarding. A gift not wrapped in paper but bound instead in the thread of discovery and the characters we were blessed to encounter along the way. A journey of reflection and life in focus - so generously mentored by the welcoming will and inspiring talents of the Bhutanese people, Like our fabulous guides Yonten and Pema, who helped us climb higher..beyond....as each new step took our breath further away. Thank you!

And also thank you to... read more

Our journey in the mountains of Bhutan was richly rewarding. A gift not wrapped in paper but bound instead in the thread of discovery and the characters we were blessed to encounter along the way. A journey of reflection and life in focus - so generously mentored by the welcoming will and inspiring talents of the Bhutanese people, Like our fabulous guides Yonten and Pema, who helped us climb higher..beyond....as each new step took our breath further away. Thank you!

And also thank you to all our amazing crew and the nine ponies ... especially camera pony!
Everyone we encountered helped make our expedition an experience that will long be remembered as an outstanding example of living in the moment..

Thanks to Bas at Kimkim for making the arrangements so easy and to Wind Horse for organising everything on the ground. Thoroughly enjoyed this Bhut-Camp!

Bas Naus, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Hamilton,
Thanks for your kind words! So nice to hear you had a rewarding trip and that you were inspired by the people you met and by our guides and crew. Hope you will cherish your memories from Bhutan for a long time. I am sure the pictures you took will help with that, curious to see your work!
Thanks for visiting Bhutan with us, we were delighted to host your trip!
All the best, Bas.

Bhutan trip for nat, Bhutan - Jan 6 - Jan 10, 2018

Traveler: Nat Y. - Local specialist: Bas Naus

Trip was better than we could have ever expected. The entire process from the first messages with Bas till the fairwell hugs with tashi and Jigme at the airport and everything in between was beyond words! Tashi as a guide is phenomenal, can’t fault him. And Jigme was his perfect side kick. Nothing was too hard for the boys. Thank you for a wonderful trip!

Bas Naus, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Nat, thanks for your kind words. It was an honor to host your trip to Bhutan! Thanks for visiting! Bas.

Nepal and bhutan, Bhutan - Nov 17 - Dec 5, 2017

Traveler: Moni O. - Local specialist: Mads Mathiasen

My 6 days in Bhutan were amazing . My guide Sonam was so wonderful , full of knowledge and patience. I loved talking to him and I learned so much about the country , the people and the culture . My hike up to Tiger’s Nest was the biggest highlight of the trip. I didn’t think I could hike all that way , but Sonam had confidence in me and I did it! I am so proud . Thank you for a trip of a lifetime!

Mads Mathiasen, local specialist, responded to this review:

So glad you enjoyed your time in Bhutan and congratulations on making it up to Tigers Nest it truly is an amazing place, so I am glad you got to see it. Thanks for taking the time to write this review and traveling with us, we hope to see you back in the Himalaya soon!

Lynne

Trip to bhutan, Bhutan - Oct 2 - Oct 8, 2017

Traveler: Lynne N. - Local specialist: Mads Mathiasen

Our guide Sangay went out of his way to provide us with the additional activities that we requested. This included visiting the Faculty of Traditional Medicine in Thiumpu, walking accross a suspension bridge, purchasing certain meditation items and some of Bhutan’s products (honey). This he managed despite our very full and busy schedule. The flight times were out of the control of the tour operators. The time of our booking was late due to a previous tour falling through and this restricted... read more

Our guide Sangay went out of his way to provide us with the additional activities that we requested. This included visiting the Faculty of Traditional Medicine in Thiumpu, walking accross a suspension bridge, purchasing certain meditation items and some of Bhutan’s products (honey). This he managed despite our very full and busy schedule. The flight times were out of the control of the tour operators. The time of our booking was late due to a previous tour falling through and this restricted the available flights at the optimal times. The flight times to and from Bhutan restricted the time and activities possible on the first and last day. This was disappointing because the other days were full of interesting and enjoyable activities and left us longing for more time.

Mads managed to put together a tour which packed in a lot despite the late notice. He was very responsive to requests and extremely prompt and thorough with communication and information.
Mads choice of accommodation suited us perfectly. He also organised, at very short notice, to swap a vesper for a Royal Enfield motorcycle when one of our group expressed a desire to ride one! I would not hesitate to use Mads again for a trip/holiday or to recommend him to others (which I have already done)

Mads Mathiasen, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks for your lovely review Lynne, it was great meeting all of you in Kathmandu! You time in Bhutan was a bit short but it is also good to leave something to come back for another time :-) Glad we could make this happen for you at the last minute it as and that you had a good time both in Bhutan and Nepal. Thanks for traveling with us and we hope to see you in the Himalayas again soon. Mads.

Bhutan, Bhutan - Oct 6 - Oct 16, 2017

Traveler: Ben A. - Local specialist: Vishal Pradhan

The first thing is that I had never done an organised tour before. Of course with the regulations in Bhutan it is the only way to see the country that I had wanted to visit for so long.  In my early exchanges with Vishal he made me extremely comfortable that a tour did not mean bus rides with many people; controlled timings on visits to places; and having to ensure we experienced the country at the pace of the slowest person in the group. Vishal carefully asked me what it was I wanted to see... read more

The first thing is that I had never done an organised tour before. Of course with the regulations in Bhutan it is the only way to see the country that I had wanted to visit for so long.  In my early exchanges with Vishal he made me extremely comfortable that a tour did not mean bus rides with many people; controlled timings on visits to places; and having to ensure we experienced the country at the pace of the slowest person in the group. Vishal carefully asked me what it was I wanted to see in Bhutan, which Places drew me to the county, and what kind of experience I wanted to take away.  He built an itinerary that combined my need to experience the history, the landmarks, the culture and the trekking, suggesting timeframes that would encompass all of these things without needing to rush, and giving me options throughout the itinerary that gave complete flexibility for us to enjoy. The planning became an exciting part of the trip (as it should be) and was an excellent experience.

Vishal Pradhan, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you Ben for visiting us. We are glad we could make this trip a success and an adventurous one for you.