Kimkim Trip Reviews for Myanmar

Reviews from actual kimkim travelers. We publish all reviews.
4.9
(44 reviews)
Read 44 reviews by travelers who booked their trip on kimkim

Adventure culture & relaxation, Myanmar - Sep 25 - Oct 14, 2018

Traveler: Rachael W. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

Our trip to Myanmar was truely amazing. We had hoped to achieve meeting the locals & becoming part of the culture in a real way & this is what happened for us. Myanmar is a beautiful country & the people are warm & welcoming. They gave us such insight into their lives plus showed an interest in us as people also. We were very grateful for the hotels Anne had chosen for us & staff couldnt do enough to make sure we were happy. We were able to go into the villages & non-touristy areas &... read more

Our trip to Myanmar was truely amazing. We had hoped to achieve meeting the locals & becoming part of the culture in a real way & this is what happened for us. Myanmar is a beautiful country & the people are warm & welcoming. They gave us such insight into their lives plus showed an interest in us as people also. We were very grateful for the hotels Anne had chosen for us & staff couldnt do enough to make sure we were happy. We were able to go into the villages & non-touristy areas & found it was refreshing not to be harassed by market vendors. Our guides along the way were exceptional. They interacted well with us & were full of great information plus their English made communication easy. Our cooking class was fantastic firstly visiting the local markets to buy ingredients then cooking in our cook’s home We especially loved riding around Kalaw on electric bikes, visiting villagers in their homes on our Treks & being transported around Inle Lake in the long boat. We had lunch with a family known to our guide in the floating village. . There was always time to stop along the way. Most evenings were free as we requested. We were very grateful to Anne who professionally organised everything. . She was totally approachable giving attention to detail from beginning to end. Anne was always willing to listen & adjust the schedule to suit our needs.
We were able to relax & recharge. Our trip was magical. A perfect way to experience a bit more off the beaten track , less touristy exciting plus time to relax & take in all Myanmar has to offer.

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Mingalarbar! Thanks for sharing your Myanmar experiences and photos- you paint a beautiful picture of the country and your experiences here. It was such fun planning a flexible journey that matched with your adventurous spirits! I will pass your kind words on to our guides and team. All the best!

How many days should you spend in myanmar?, Myanmar - Sep 29 - Oct 13, 2018

Traveler: Ros W. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

Our three guides and three drivers in the areas of Mandalay, Pyin Oo Lwin, Bagan, Popa, Salay, Pindaya, Dalaw and Loikaw were all excellent. There was nothing we could fault them on. They gave us an insight into the lives and culture in each area we visited. They warmed to our Australian sense of humour and made our trip a lot of fun. All the various Hotels that we stayed in all staff couldn't do enough to please us. Our guides on the Pindaya Trek and Loikaw Village Trek interacted well... read more

Our three guides and three drivers in the areas of Mandalay, Pyin Oo Lwin, Bagan, Popa, Salay, Pindaya, Dalaw and Loikaw were all excellent. There was nothing we could fault them on. They gave us an insight into the lives and culture in each area we visited. They warmed to our Australian sense of humour and made our trip a lot of fun. All the various Hotels that we stayed in all staff couldn't do enough to please us. Our guides on the Pindaya Trek and Loikaw Village Trek interacted well and we had a wonderful time. Anne Cruickshanks who tailored our trip to suite our interests was nothing but professional in her communication skills and there was nothing we would have changed. We felt we could relax and enjoy ourselves and re charge on our annual holiday and felt safe wherever we went.
We were pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the Myanmar people.
Happy Travellers
Ros & Geoff Wilson
South Australians

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Ros & Geoff,

We loved hosting you in Myanmar - it was great fun planning the journey and sharing different local experiences with you two. All of our guides send you a big 'hello' and we genuinely thank you for visiting Myanmar!

Cheers,

Anne & the Myanmar Pure team

Myanmar highlights, Myanmar - Sep 25 - Sep 30, 2018

Traveler: kerry b. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

Anne was great! My initial request was vague but Anne pulled together the perfect itinerary.

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Mingalarbar Kerry,

Thanks for leaving a review and sharing the great photos! We are glad we could create the perfect trip plan and hope we will see you here again soon to explore more of Myanmar!

All the best,
Anne, Cherry, Naing and the Myanmar Pure team!

Highlights of myanmar - 10 day tour, Myanmar - Sep 4 - Sep 17, 2018

Traveler: charlie a. - Local specialist: Su Shwe Yee Aung

Reno hotel-Yangon almost if not all non smoking room smells smoking if the aircon is not running.
Guide in Bagan not explaining the history of Bagan and each monument we went well enough or none at all.
Guide in Yangon, enle lake, mandalay were very good. All Drivers drive good and safe. Restaurant were averagely ok.
Tour generally are so so. Why..?? Market here today and everyday and last day in Yangon were 3-4 markets all day. Photography is not just all markets. Sunrise and sunset is a must. Tribes , customs, traditions, history, important monuments and etc.

Su Shwe Yee Aung, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you for your feedback, dear Charlie ! Your feedbacks help me a lot to improve our services. I'm glad to hear that you are very happy with the guides in Yangon, Mandalay, and Inle Lake. I will also pass your feedback to them.
In the near future, if you have the plan to visit here again, please do not hesitate to contact me anytime.
All the best,
Su

Brief trip to myanmar from bankik, Myanmar - Aug 20 - Aug 24, 2018

Traveler: Cynthia C. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

Our 2 main guides Akkar and Nye Nye were amazing: professional, funny, accommodating. And they truly made our experiences so perfect. We found Myanmar magical. Loved going by e-bike through the pagodas. Akkar got us a romantic horse and carriage ride through the pagodas the first night and had recommended the restaurant Moon which was delicious. Nye nye was a total joy to be with. We particularly loved going to his village on Inle Lake, eating lunch at his family’s house and getting a tour of the village by dug our canoe with he and his Mum. Loved it all

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Minglarbar! Thanks Cynthia for taking the time to share your feedback here- it is always great to read about our guests' favorite parts of the trip and to know that you enjoyed traveling with our team! We hope you can come back again soon- Nye Nye's mom is already asking when you will return for more fish and canoe rides!

Myanmar, Myanmar - Jul 17 - Jul 29, 2018

Traveler: Gienke O. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

We had a wonderful trip. Myanmar is beautiful country, the people are so friendly! The first contact with Anne was very promising and after a few e-mails we got a very good proposal in which Anne really proposed what we like to do. We love having close contact with the local people and we had! Lunches at family homes, a trekking around Pindaya, the Inle Lake, Kalaw and much more. The train rides between Kalaw and Inle lake was a great experience. In Bagan we explored the beautiful area with E... read more

We had a wonderful trip. Myanmar is beautiful country, the people are so friendly! The first contact with Anne was very promising and after a few e-mails we got a very good proposal in which Anne really proposed what we like to do. We love having close contact with the local people and we had! Lunches at family homes, a trekking around Pindaya, the Inle Lake, Kalaw and much more. The train rides between Kalaw and Inle lake was a great experience. In Bagan we explored the beautiful area with E bikes which was great.
Our guides made the difference! Nee, Aka, Wee and Chris told us a lot about their daily live and about the history of Myanmar. They made it possible to interact with the local people.
the hotels were good, not the big chain hotels but the real Myanmar experience. Especially Kalaw Heritage; a lovely hotel, great service, beautiful rooms.

If you want to experience Myanmar a bit more of the beaten track, not the standard tour operating thing which you see everywhere, go for Anne. What we also really appreciated was the idea that the money we spend ended up well, local family businesses.

Anne: thank you so much for the beautiful journey! We loved every minute.

Thomas, Gienke, Martijn and Friso

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks so much for your feedback- on behalf of our team, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here and loved Myanmar as much as we do! It really makes us happy to welcome guests like your family who want to spend time immersed in the local culture, so it was a lot of fun for us to put together your holiday.

We hope you enjoyed your onward travels and that one day we can welcome you back to Myanmar again!

Myanmar & thailand tour - 15 days, Myanmar - Jul 23 - Aug 6, 2018

Traveler: Rodney S. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

What a great trip! Loved Myanmar. The first time I visited was as a backpacker in my mid 20s in 1986. That as a remarkable time to visit what was then Burma but I certainly travelled rough.
This time I requested higher end accommodation for my wife and I. Anne excelled with her selection. For instance, the Sanctum Inn and Bagan Lodge were modern suites in 5 Star accommodation. But we loved every choice she made for us, plus she saved us some money by recommending we stay at the Savoy in... read more

What a great trip! Loved Myanmar. The first time I visited was as a backpacker in my mid 20s in 1986. That as a remarkable time to visit what was then Burma but I certainly travelled rough.
This time I requested higher end accommodation for my wife and I. Anne excelled with her selection. For instance, the Sanctum Inn and Bagan Lodge were modern suites in 5 Star accommodation. But we loved every choice she made for us, plus she saved us some money by recommending we stay at the Savoy in Yangon rather than the Strand.
As well the selected itinerary suited our preferred pace of travel. Every morning we were busy site seeing until after lunch and then most days we were free to swim and lounge around our hotel pool. We are in our late 50s so, for us, this was ideal. However, if we made the request our fantastic guides were only too willing to show us more. So to Nay, Arwar, NeeNee and Cherry, our guides, thank you. So too to the drivers.
We had lots of highlights but I think the pagoda strewn hills surrounding Mandalay, the railway journey to the viaduct, the cooking class in Bagan and the visit to the Elephant Camp near Kalaw will stay in my memory the longest.
Thank you kimkim.

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Rod and Jane,

Thanks for the wonderful feedback and delighted to hear you loved Myanmar- it is a special place and your photos really capture the beauty and atmosphere of the country! I will pass on your kind words to our guides and drivers. No matter what I plan, they are the ones who really 'make it happen' and I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with them and their flexibility with your excursions.

Hope you can make it back for a third visit to Myanmar one day soon!

Best,
Anne

Highlights of mandalay and bagan - 5 days, Myanmar - Jul 16 - Jul 21, 2018

Traveler: Stephanie L. - Local specialist: Su Shwe Yee Aung

Our guide in Mandalay, Thwe Thwe, was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about her country's history and culture. We really appreciated the opportunity to learn more about Myanmar through a local guide. We liked visiting a Buddhist monastery and sharing a meal with a family. We also liked seeing a small village that produced palm oil and learning about their way of life. ToeHlaing was our guide in Bagan and he was very nice. Our most memorable part of Bagan will always be renting... read more

Our guide in Mandalay, Thwe Thwe, was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about her country's history and culture. We really appreciated the opportunity to learn more about Myanmar through a local guide. We liked visiting a Buddhist monastery and sharing a meal with a family. We also liked seeing a small village that produced palm oil and learning about their way of life. ToeHlaing was our guide in Bagan and he was very nice. Our most memorable part of Bagan will always be renting e-bikes and going on dirt paths to see many beautiful temples. It was definitely the best way to get around and experience Bagan, and so we are thankful that our guide gave us this suggestion. It was a great trip!

Su Shwe Yee Aung, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you, Stephanie for your great feedback and I'm very happy to hear that you had cherished memories in our beautiful country. I will also pass your valuable feedback to our team and the guides. And we, Myanmar Diaries, is always ready to assist you and your friends.
Best wishes from beautiful Yangon,
Su

See the highlights, Myanmar - Jan 6 - Jan 13, 2018

Traveler: Trevor C. - Local specialist: Wai Lin Tun

Had an absolutely fantastic 8 days in Myanmar with Kim Kim. From the very first email conversation with my consultant Wai Lin it was an absolute pleasure. He was incredibly patient and knowledgeable and built us an unbelievable trip! Everything ran to an absolute t! We chose the route Mandalay-Bagan-Inle Lake-Yangon route. The tour guides provided were absolutely top class and gave us such a great insight into the history of Myanmar. The transport was comfortable and very punctual.

Personal... read more

Had an absolutely fantastic 8 days in Myanmar with Kim Kim. From the very first email conversation with my consultant Wai Lin it was an absolute pleasure. He was incredibly patient and knowledgeable and built us an unbelievable trip! Everything ran to an absolute t! We chose the route Mandalay-Bagan-Inle Lake-Yangon route. The tour guides provided were absolutely top class and gave us such a great insight into the history of Myanmar. The transport was comfortable and very punctual.

Personal highlights include U Bein Bridge, the private cocktail cruise in Bagan, the hot air balloon ride in Bagan, all the temples (usually I get tired of temples after a day but Myanmar's are so amazing I never tired of them), the food, Inle Lake in general. Everything was just so well thought out and convenient. Would definitely recommend and will def use again! Thank you, Wai Lin and all of our amazing tour guides!

myanmar: off-the-beaten-path, Myanmar - May 4 - May 13, 2018

Traveler: alexandria c. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

Our Trip- Myanmar off the beaten track 10 days.
If we could give this trip a 10 we would. Anne was a fantastic organizer/planner. She understood what we were looking for and put together an itinerary that suited us immensely.
Everything went logistically smooth in terms of timelines, dates, pick ups and bookings. Our guides or drivers were always there greeting us with a big smile wherever the next place be.
In terms of the guides themselves they were all locals from the specific region... read more

Our Trip- Myanmar off the beaten track 10 days.
If we could give this trip a 10 we would. Anne was a fantastic organizer/planner. She understood what we were looking for and put together an itinerary that suited us immensely.
Everything went logistically smooth in terms of timelines, dates, pick ups and bookings. Our guides or drivers were always there greeting us with a big smile wherever the next place be.
In terms of the guides themselves they were all locals from the specific region we were traveling in. They were friendly, warm, caring and very knowledgeable. We genuinely enjoyed their company.
Myanmar was an amazing country to visit. From the landscape, the people and the experience itself. We definitely would love to explore more there again in future.
We would definitely recommend Myanmar, Anne and her team of guides to give you a truly wonderful and real Myanmar experience.
Thank you!
Alex Trey

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Alex and Trey,
Thanks for the lovely review! I am so glad we could help make this 'dream trip' a reality- I enjoyed chatting with you before the trip and creating a trip that fit your personal travel style. Thanks for the kind remarks about our guides and drivers, I will be sure to share your praise with them.
Hope you had enjoyable onward travels!
Anne & The Myanmar Pure Team

Trip to myanmar, Myanmar - Mar 8 - Apr 12, 2018

Traveler: Herve F. - Local specialist: Andy Carroll

Andy took care of our 6 weeks tour of Asia and everything went well. We had a good time and most of it, drivers, guides, Hotel etc were perfect. I will used Andy again for a another trip for sure.

Magnificent myanmar - 8 days, Myanmar - Mar 30 - Apr 8, 2018

Traveler: egidio c. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

Very professional experience that meet expectations. I would recommend both kimkim and Anne.

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Mingalarbar Egidio and Chinyu, thanks for the kind words! I am glad you enjoyed your time here - our guides really appreciated your enthusiasm for the local culture and their hometowns. If you have the chance to visit again we would love to show your more of Myanmar!

Trip, Myanmar - Mar 24 - Apr 2, 2018

Traveler: christian r. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

Anne and the rest of the guides/drivers were great. I could not say more about Anne and the response time, care of client etc... This was a once in a lifetime trip and I was happy that Anne was the one that could plan it for me.

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks Christian! It was fun planning this trip - you were up for every local experience we could offer! And so glad we could fit in the visit to Green Hill Valley at the last minute. I hope you enjoyed your onward travels in Thailand and that we get a chance to welcome you to Myanmar again soon!

ALAN

Myanmar culture focus, Myanmar - Jan 12 - Jan 26, 2018

Traveler: ALAN G. - Local specialist: Wai Lin Tun

Everything went smoothly from start to finish. We were met at Yangon airport and transferred to our accommodation.
This was of a very acceptable standard.
Our trip to Bago was easy (an excellent driver) and our guide was knowledgable and informative.
The accommodation in Bago (Shwe Pyi Resort) did have some minor problems (power failures, termites? eating the bamboo bedheads, and the distance to breakfast). But I recognise that there were not a lot of alternatives. I was happy there but my... read more

Everything went smoothly from start to finish. We were met at Yangon airport and transferred to our accommodation.
This was of a very acceptable standard.
Our trip to Bago was easy (an excellent driver) and our guide was knowledgable and informative.
The accommodation in Bago (Shwe Pyi Resort) did have some minor problems (power failures, termites? eating the bamboo bedheads, and the distance to breakfast). But I recognise that there were not a lot of alternatives. I was happy there but my travel companion (Jacqui) did need to move rooms.
The drive from Bago to Pyay was smooth and interesting. and we enjoyed the sightseeing and museum there. The spectacled Buddha was a highlight.
The accommodation was comfortable and spacious.
The drive to Mt Popa seemed very long and in hindsight we might have stopped more along the way to look at the scenery.
We were probably too late arriving at Mt Popa to climb the stairs but probably would not have done so even with an earlier arrival. If I were to do the trip again I would recommend a night or two at the Mt Popa Resort as it did seem to be beautiful.
The temples in Bagan are stunning and the number of them is astounding.
The accommodation was very good and was close to restaurants and bars.
At Bagan, Jacqui and I have different responses to our guide. Jacqui believes that he was not very communicative with her at first but that he treated me with more respect because I was a male. I am not sure if this was the case but we both found him to be knowledgable and (after a discussion with me) helpful in varying/amending our itinerary to ensure that we had extra time at the archaeological dig sites.
Jacqui was most impressed by Bagan and it was her favourite location - she is a history teacher.
Mandalay had some great experiences and our guide was informative and helpful. She made sure we had the best possible experiences while in the city.
Our accommodation (the Yadanarpon Dynasty Hotel) was spacious and comfortable.
I think that for both Jacqui and I the Teak Temple was the most amazing sight.
Finishing at Inle Lake was a good choice, as it was more "laid back" and touristy. The lake is beautiful and the pace much slower than elsewhere. The boat trip up the canal to Pa-Oh village was well worth the time. Accommodation (Inle Resort) was very comfortable. In future I would ask for a room closer to the restaurant and reception as it would be a long walk from the back rooms if it rained (unlikely in the day season).
Our guide, who seemed quite young, was very helpful and has excellent English. I believe that he will become an excellent guide who could take on longer sections of a trip in future.
Returning to Yangon, we had just enough time there to unwind and get ready for our trip home.

All up, the trip was very well organised and suited to our interests and level of fitness. I am happy that we did not pre-plan lunch and evening meals and the guides provided excellent suggestions and took us to places that were not too challenging for a western palate.
All flights , transfers and pick-ups were efficiently handled and all vehicles were clean and comfortable.

After meeting with all your guides, I feel that both Jacqui and I have a greater understanding of social and political life in Myanmar.

What would I change if I were to return?
I would try to get away from the more tourist busy areas to get an experience of Myanmar village and rural life.

Thank you, Wai Lin, for your thorough organisation.
Your efforts ensured that we had a great experience in your country.

Second try, Myanmar - Feb 15 - Feb 28, 2018

Traveler: Steven S. - Local specialist: Wai Lin Tun

I was set up with a very good schedule. Got to see some of what others do not get to see. This was a once-in-a-lifetime trip for me and it was important to get as many of the importantant sites seen before heading home. Kimkim did that.

Guides were fairly proficient in English. They may not have pronounced all the words correctly but I knew what they were saying. And all of them were very helpful. They tried to answer all my questions, provided extra services like gem and jewellry shopping, and were able to explain some of the quirkiness that is Myanmar.

Myanmar is a must see.

Wai Lin Tun, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Steven!

Thank you for taking time to review our service. With this trip being planned out yet didn't get a chance to travel last year, I was worried that this time might not meet your excitement. All are good now when I hear that you have enjoyed the travel.

Sorry that our guides' language skill is not so perfect. I will be more mindful to assign the guides with better English proficiency in the future. In the meantime, thank you so much for being considerate with them.

Thank you for... read more

Hi Steven!

Thank you for taking time to review our service. With this trip being planned out yet didn't get a chance to travel last year, I was worried that this time might not meet your excitement. All are good now when I hear that you have enjoyed the travel.

Sorry that our guides' language skill is not so perfect. I will be more mindful to assign the guides with better English proficiency in the future. In the meantime, thank you so much for being considerate with them.

Thank you for your referral to our country, Myanmar too! If you ever get a chance to visit here again, I would very much love to prepare a different side of Myanmar for you.

All the best from Yangon,
Wai Lin

Myanmar trip, Myanmar - Jan 29 - Feb 13, 2018

Traveler: J C. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

We had an incredible Myanmar trip that Anne Cruickshanks from Myanmar Pure helped put together. Anne was amazing in creating an itinerary filled with activities that were tailored to our interests, intentions and yet gently pushed us beyond what we normally do on our own trips.

She truly listened and talked to us prior to the trip to better understand us as travellers and proposed itineraries that suited our needs. Anne is responsive, intuitive and knows Myanmar beyond the beautiful... read more

We had an incredible Myanmar trip that Anne Cruickshanks from Myanmar Pure helped put together. Anne was amazing in creating an itinerary filled with activities that were tailored to our interests, intentions and yet gently pushed us beyond what we normally do on our own trips.

She truly listened and talked to us prior to the trip to better understand us as travellers and proposed itineraries that suited our needs. Anne is responsive, intuitive and knows Myanmar beyond the beautiful pictures and images.

For our 16 days trip, she included the 'essentials' of Myanmar along with the 'personal/intimate' side of the country, that helped us not only see but experience and feel the country. From the religious/spiritual side of Myanmar to the friendly and charming people of the country to the many local food scenes that she and her guides set up for us were just simply amazing, loved the BBQ.

Being independent travellers, we had a fair sense of what we wanted from our trip but Anne and her team over delivered on each of the experiences and made our journey unforgettable. Some of the more memorable and unique experiences include the Buddhist Nunnery (very touching), the cooking lesson and market outing with Ma May (immersive, personal and delicious), the bike tours (a little exhausting but exhilarating), the sunset cruise (great way to end the day), the hikes (incredible views and great way to work up an appetite for the delicious foods of Myanmar). The guides and drivers were all very personable and Ah Korn was a stand out, he made the Bagan temples come to life with his story telling. Impressive.

The whole trip went smoothly without a hitch and Anne was there every step of our journey. I cannot wait for her next curated journey. J & R.

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi JC! Thanks for the wonderful, personalized feedback. I'm so glad that KimKim connected us and even happier to know that you enjoyed your Myanmar travels and all of the experiences along the way! I will pass on your kind words to our team and would love to help you plan your next journey!

Sabbatical, Myanmar - Jan 21 - Feb 2, 2018

Traveler: Tom S. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

As experienced travellers this was the first time we had 'outsourced' our travel planning and we couldn't have been happier with the outcome. Anne took the time to fully understand our ambitious wishlist and returned with a suggested itinerary that whilst action-packed never felt overwhelming or rushed.

Each of our local guides managed to strike the right balance between being extremely attentive whilst also letting us explore at our own leisure. As well as visiting flagship attractions... read more

As experienced travellers this was the first time we had 'outsourced' our travel planning and we couldn't have been happier with the outcome. Anne took the time to fully understand our ambitious wishlist and returned with a suggested itinerary that whilst action-packed never felt overwhelming or rushed.

Each of our local guides managed to strike the right balance between being extremely attentive whilst also letting us explore at our own leisure. As well as visiting flagship attractions such as Inle Lake and Bagan, the tour also provided an opportunity to scratch below the surface and visit places off the beaten track such as the fish markets of Yangon and artisan quarter of Mandalay. These combined experiences provided us with some fantastic memories and a genuine desire to return to Myanmar and explore this fantastic country further.

Huge thanks to Anne and our fantastic guides and trek leaders in Myanmar!

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Mingalarbar Tom & Harriet! Thanks for putting your trust in us to plan your Myanmar holiday-
it was a fun challenge to design and organize the trip! Wonderful to hear you enjoyed the balance of excursions and getting in to the local culture with our guides. We sincerely do hope you will come back and explore more of Myanmar with us- there is so much to see and do and we would love to share it with you. All the best!

Thai burma, Myanmar - Feb 9 - Feb 16, 2018

Traveler: Tim K. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

One of the best trips of my life! Tour was nicely set up, and Anne make changes where necessary when my flight screwed up my arrival. The Bagan tour guide was very good, and the accommodations at the hotel were superb. And the cooking class was very informative and tasty. Flights and airport transfers went without a hitch. I highly recommend the tour, and KimKim tour company.

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Tim- thanks for the kind words and beautiful photos! I know you and Robert had a short time on the ground (even shorter with the hitch on the international flight!)- I am glad we could maximize it and provide such memorable experiences. I hope you can come back so that we can show you other parts of beautiful Myanmar!

Best trekking & biking trails in myanmar, Myanmar - Jan 3 - Jan 27, 2018

Traveler: Melinda K. - Local specialist: Wai Lin Tun

We had a wonderful month in Myanmar being looked after by a range of guides who were all fabulous. Great knowledge, love of the country and fun to spend time with. Everything went smoothly in line with the plan and any changes we requested were dealt with very quickly. We loved our trekking at both hsipaw and kalaw. Swimming at waterfall and sleeping at monetary were terrific experiences. hot air ballooning over bagan, Inle Lake was a delightful and different location, the meal we ate at our... read more

We had a wonderful month in Myanmar being looked after by a range of guides who were all fabulous. Great knowledge, love of the country and fun to spend time with. Everything went smoothly in line with the plan and any changes we requested were dealt with very quickly. We loved our trekking at both hsipaw and kalaw. Swimming at waterfall and sleeping at monetary were terrific experiences. hot air ballooning over bagan, Inle Lake was a delightful and different location, the meal we ate at our cooking class was superb. Great to finish at Ngapali Beach relaxing after a very full 3 weeks touring.

Wai Lin Tun, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Melinda and the family,

It is so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed every moments and activities that I arranged for your family.
Our heartfelt thanks for trusting us, Myanmar Diaries in planning your family trip in the best way. I had a good time while planning your trip as it has full of fun activties and you were so cooperative the whole time. This time has passed with good adventure. Please do come back to us when you have time. I would love to show you the off the beaten side of Myanmar too.

All the best from Yangon,
Wai Lin

jay

Myanmar cultural trip , Myanmar - Jan 25 - Feb 1, 2018

Traveler: jay W. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

The entire trip from the moment we touched down in Yangon until we left a week later was fantastic . The drivers and tour guides we had, Tin in Yangon, Naing at Inle and Arkar in Bagan, could not have been any better honestly with knowledge, professionalism but also made new friends with these folks as well . We even had the pleasure of meeting Anne who put the trip together . The hotels , balloon ride , internal flights all went smoothly . The only part that wasn’t enjoyable was the day we had to return.
Thank you
Jay

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Jay, Anne and Bridget- thanks so much for the feedback! It was so much fun planning your trip and sharing local Myanmar experiences with you. We would love to see you back here soon for another adventure (and another sunset boat cruise!)

Mary

Cultural and beach trip of myanmar, Myanmar - Jan 1 - Jan 16, 2018

Traveler: Mary F. - Local specialist: Wai Lin Tun

Myanmar Diaries represented by Wai Lin, our local kimkim specialist for our Myanmar Trip, was exemplary .... Wai Lin was highly professional, helpful, accommodating and informative, we could not have asked for better. All our guides were most respectful with very good English speaking skills and knowledge of their areas, likewise our drivers skilful and very safe, the cars in excellent condition.

Our 16-day Trip was absolutely amazing ... we were very pleasantly surprised at how totally... read more

Myanmar Diaries represented by Wai Lin, our local kimkim specialist for our Myanmar Trip, was exemplary .... Wai Lin was highly professional, helpful, accommodating and informative, we could not have asked for better. All our guides were most respectful with very good English speaking skills and knowledge of their areas, likewise our drivers skilful and very safe, the cars in excellent condition.

Our 16-day Trip was absolutely amazing ... we were very pleasantly surprised at how totally safe we felt at all times given the recent unrest in the Northern area of Rakhine, which is well away from all tourist hot spots such as Bagan, Lake Inle, Ngapali Beach (divine), Mandalay and Yangon ... do not hesitate to visit Myanmar as it is an extremely scenic, culturally fascinating and safe country to visit, the Myanmar people utterly delightful! And incredible value for money as a holiday destination!

Do not hesitate to use Myanmar Dairies as your travel agent, you could not ask for better!

Wai Lin Tun, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you so much Mary for your review on our service.

In every moments from planning until the end of the trip, you are so understanding and considerate all the time. I am already grateful to hear that you have enjoyed your Myanmar trip. It was so unfortunate that you missed Mandalay and Inle side of Myanmar. But I am sure you had good times in Ngapali over the skip. Please do come back to us again for Mandalay and Inle lake.
I am looking forward to welcome you again in the near future!
Warmest regards,
Wai Lin

Visiting birth place, Myanmar - Jan 1 - Jan 12, 2018

Traveler: pratibha g. - Local specialist: Su Shwe Yee Aung

The whole trip was wonderful. Our guide in Mandalay and (July) in Yangon were exceptional. Just one thought, 4 nights in Bagan was a bit much. Maybe adding a little more north city might be interesting. In my case, I should have done Lashio. If guides could have more info for dinner, might be helpful. Loved the country & the people. Food was good too.

Su Shwe Yee Aung, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you, Pratibha for your generous rating on our service. I am so happy to hear that you are enjoyed your Myanmar travel to the fullest. I believe you have brought some memorable moments from visiting your birthplace. I will be more mindful in planning the trip to go smoother next times and improve our services where necessary.
I would like to thank again for traveling with us, Myanmar Diaries. Please do come again if time allows, I would love to welcome you in the future too!
All the best,
Su

lilia

My own myanmar experience, Myanmar - Dec 26 - Jan 9, 2018

Traveler: lilia s. - Local specialist: Wai Lin Tun

I just came back from Myanmar and it was amazing!
Kimkim paired me up with Wai Lin, I couldn't have asked for a better person to help me plan my trip he was responsive, helpful and he definitely made my experience in Myanmar truly enjoyable.

Wai Lin Tun, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks Lilia for your great feedback!

Planning the trip together with you was so grateful. You are so understanding for the whole time and leave all on me which help me to put up the itinerary even more better.
Thank you again for all the trust you have on me and I would very much love to welcome you in the near future if Myanmar comes in consideration again.

All the best from Yangon!
Wai Lin

Terry

Highlights of mandalay and bagan - 5 days, Myanmar - Dec 30 - Jan 6, 2018

Traveler: Terry B. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

We loved the trip to a Myanmar, especially our guides in Bagan (Ankar) and Ny Ny in Inle Lake. We loved doing the little canoe trip with Ny Ny in his village and tea with his family. Of course, Bagan was amazing.

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Mingalarbar Terry and Lori. Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your recent travels in Myanmar, I will share this with our team. The village visit sounds like it was fabulous- it is always fun when our guides decide to 'pop by' their family home! I hope your 2018 is filled with more memorable travels!

Annette

Myanmar from above: best hot air balloon flights, Myanmar - Jan 2 - Jan 6, 2018

Traveler: Annette P. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

This was a great trip, from the start of the planning to the flight home! Anne responded daily to all my questions/concerns and this made the trip planning so smooth and easy. Our guides, Lu Wine and Zawturn we incredible! They were very friendly and the trip felt more like visiting a friend who was showing us around, as opposed to hiring a guide.
We got to really feel the local scene in Mandalay! We went to local markets, spoke with Budist monks and nuns. It was great!
We learned so much... read more

This was a great trip, from the start of the planning to the flight home! Anne responded daily to all my questions/concerns and this made the trip planning so smooth and easy. Our guides, Lu Wine and Zawturn we incredible! They were very friendly and the trip felt more like visiting a friend who was showing us around, as opposed to hiring a guide.
We got to really feel the local scene in Mandalay! We went to local markets, spoke with Budist monks and nuns. It was great!
We learned so much about the temples in Bagan and the religion.

Also, our guides and Anne had backup plans for everything. For instance, we wanted to ride bicycles in Mandalay but it rained so we had a driver pick us up and we went to a monastery where we got to talk to a young monk who told us about Budism and what it’s like to be a monk. This is an experience we would not have had if we didn’t book the tour.
In Bagan, the weather was nice so we got to Bike, but I ran over something sharp and got a flat tire. But our driver followed not too far behind and was quickly able to meet up with us so our trip could continue. Anne and her team really thought of everything!
Also, considering the expertise, thorough planning, and great accommodations, I’m surprised the price is at such a good value!
Our guides an Anne showed us the real culture of Myanmar that most tourists I’m sure miss. If you wanted to be among locals and try local food and see places visited by locals and some tourists, then this is the perfect trip for you! I would happily book again!

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks Annette & Keith for visiting at the start of the year and sharing your feedback! All of your input in the planning process helped us add in the right local experiences to suit your travel style and you guys really embraced the culture which made the trip even more fun for our team. We would love to welcome you back for a longer stay next time!

Koy

Adventure and culture, Myanmar - Dec 17 - Dec 23, 2017

Traveler: Koy T. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

We are a family who travels a lot – for work, adventure, and play. We travel together and individually from places as diverse as Afghanistan and Ethiopia. So we are capable of organising stuff ourselves. Sometimes though life is too busy, and coordinating the views and opinions of 4 sets of people living in different places is just too daunting.

We knew we wanted to travel around Burma. I knew we needed someone to organise and advise. I can’t remember how I came across kimkim and their... read more

We are a family who travels a lot – for work, adventure, and play. We travel together and individually from places as diverse as Afghanistan and Ethiopia. So we are capable of organising stuff ourselves. Sometimes though life is too busy, and coordinating the views and opinions of 4 sets of people living in different places is just too daunting.

We knew we wanted to travel around Burma. I knew we needed someone to organise and advise. I can’t remember how I came across kimkim and their partner in Burma Myanmar Pure, but as soon as I was put in touch with Anne Cruickshanks at Myanmar Pure, I knew I was having a conversation and not being sold to. How do I know? Well, there are serious ethical issues surrounding the decision to travel to Burma and everyone in the family was uncomfortable. Anne did not shy from the questions we were asking but provided us with perspectives to help us make our own decision.

On the design of our trip and the itinerary we communicated a lot. Anne wanted to make sure she knew exactly what we wanted – what kind of experiences did we want? How active? How adventurous? How much travelling from place to place and to what? We went through a number of itineraries. Anne didn’t mind starting again if we felt it was not quite right. At the last minute Anne accommodated an extra person in our group – it was not trouble whatsoever (or rather it might have been, but Anne did not let on for an instant).

We had seven days and we went to Mandalay, Bagan, and Lake Inle. We had three separate young guides – obliging, positive and informed. They knew just how much to join in and how much to stand back.

Nay cycled us around Mandalay – round back streets, up hills, onto tiny ferries, around markets, into Muslim and Buddhist communities, along rail bridges and gave us a lovely Burmese picnic by the Irrawaddy surrounded by munching cows. In the evening we visited a proper local temple with rituals that were more fairground than religious. Then a really great barbecue shop. Nay was great company.

Thet Wai took over at Heho, meeting us with bikes almost straight off the plane to cycle to Nyaung Shwe. We had a truly lovely snack break in a village with exceptional food. Then we cycled to Nyaung Shwe on Lake Inle (through rice fields – stopping and asking farmers dumb questions). A great lunch.

Everyone travels by boat across Lake Inle, and everyone visits weavers and local crafts shops. It is touristy and it is designed to make you buy, but hell you have to give something back. Wai gave us a really good tour of the floating gardens and of the floating/stilt houses, shouting with joy when we found a pig house sitting over the water, inaccessible to dry land. A suggestion here – some of the houses are beautiful and spectacularly painted. Don’t waste time watching the sunset over the lake, ask to stay in the village on the water and watch the sun go down on the houses (we didn’t but I wished I had). Lake sunsets are boring – you can see them anywhere. We swam from a house in the middle of the lake and watched a couple having their wedding photos taken (people don’t usually swim…).

The undoubted highlight was Wai taking us to have lunch with his family (absolutely incredible food and so welcoming and curious about us), and then to great hilarity giving us a go with leg rowing on two of the family boats). We all had a go and it was brilliant. This is something people don’t do – and it was Anne and Wai that made it possible. I predict it will be the next bog thing at Inle.

The next day we had a gentle walk around the hills and good noodles in a place with a great view. Thet Wai is a legend.

The final stop was Bagan with a new guide called Arkar. He was laid back, patient and very good humoured. A really good guide. We had a day’s fun zooming around the temple complex on electric scooters (all coloured like Power Rangers) and eating in local places. Brilliant. We had final cocktails on our own boat watching the sunset over the Irrawaddy (best boat and best position).

All the hotels were very comfortable and well situated.

So thanks kimkim, Anne, Nay, Thet Wai, and Arkar. You are brilliant. It was an extraordinary holiday – open to what was going on in the wider country, but adding value to people working hard to make a living at a local level.

Koy, Hilary, Doy, Guy and Matt. December 2017

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks, Koy & family, for sharing your experiences in Myanmar! Your descriptions are so vivid, I am sure you will inspire other intrepid travelers to come for a visit. I'm so glad we were able to work together on planning this holiday- it was a memorable one for our team and they loved reading your feedback. All the best to you and your family!

Yangon and bagan, Myanmar - Dec 25 - Dec 31, 2017

Traveler: William W. - Local specialist: Wai Lin Tun

Both our guide in Yangoon and Bagan were very well prepared and considerate. In particular our guide in Bagan was a delight to work with and we are glad to have met her. All members of the guide staff were professional and pleasant to work with.

Shwedagon Pagoda in Yangon is amazing, as one can read in many reviews. Perhaps the most memorable place we visited was the street market in Bagan.

Wai Lin Tun, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi William,

With knowing you have tight schedule, I would like to thank you for your time to share your travel experiences with us. It's so great to hear that you are satisfied with our service and Myanmar trip went so smoothly. Thank you again for your compliment on our professionalism. It is our pleasure that we had had a chance to serve you at our best service.

I really wish we could meet and I could welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Wai Lin

Myanmar adventure tour - 15 days, Myanmar - Dec 16 - Dec 30, 2017

Traveler: Myrthe W. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

This was an amazing trip. Everything in detailed arranged. So many different experiences. Guides were excellent.
The highlight of our holiday was Bagan, on the ebike. So beautiful.

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks, Myrthe, for your feedback- we are so glad that you and your family enjoyed the experiences we planned in each destination. Bagan is a special place and great to learn that the e-bike ride was a highlight! I will pass on your remarks to our guides as I know they also had a great time sharing their culture and towns with you.
Best wishes for the new year- hope it is filled with more travel adventures!

Highlights of myanmar - 10 day tour, Myanmar - Dec 19 - Dec 27, 2017

Traveler: April H. - Local specialist: Wai Lin Tun

We really enjoyed our trip to Myanmar. Our guide in Yangon, Jin, met us at the airport and was so courteous, informational, and helpful. We especially appreciated his help when we went to get on our night bus, he stayed until we were at the right bus and all checked in ready to go. In Bagan, our guide Wint picked us up right at the bus stop. She had arranged for us to be able to check into our hotel early for a shower and breakfast, SO NICE. She was very friendly and took us to the main... read more

We really enjoyed our trip to Myanmar. Our guide in Yangon, Jin, met us at the airport and was so courteous, informational, and helpful. We especially appreciated his help when we went to get on our night bus, he stayed until we were at the right bus and all checked in ready to go. In Bagan, our guide Wint picked us up right at the bus stop. She had arranged for us to be able to check into our hotel early for a shower and breakfast, SO NICE. She was very friendly and took us to the main temples, but also to some of her favorites, which was so personal and wonderful. In Mandalay, Tim told us not only about the temples, but also about life in Myanmar and how things are changing or not changing. We really were interested to hear about the life and culture of Myanmar beyond the general Buddhism of the temples history. In Inle, our guide Koko was still waiting for us after our night bus got stuck in traffic - he waited from 3:30am when we arrived at 9:30 am! He took us to the Pindaya caves and to Inle Lake. When tummy sickness changed the end of our trip, our local planner, Wai Lin, was very helpful and able to arrange for Jin to pick us up again at the airport, instead of the night bus as planned. Jin even took us out for another visit in Yangon before going back to our departure at the international airport. Overall the trip was very well planned, the accommodations were excellent, and the local guides in each place were superb!

Wai Lin Tun, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi April,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. It was even wonderful while planning your trip as you understand all the consequences and I am grateful to hear that all 3 of you have so much enjoyed hot air ballooning experiences too. It is my pleasure to assist you with my best service before, throughout and after the trip.

Please do come again when you have time, this time I will let you explore another side of Myanmar.
Have a wonderful happy new year ahead!
I hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Wai Lin

Myanmar’s 'big four' destinations, Myanmar - Dec 10 - Dec 13, 2017

Traveler: dave d. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

The trip to Myanmar was exceptional.Not knowing what to expect,we were met at the airport by Sai our guide who immediately made us feel relaxed and comfortable.He spoke perfect English and was extremely knowledgeable about all facets of his country both past and present.He took us to areas where we never would of been able to find without him and presented views of all different kinds of people from all walks of life which made the trip very fascinating.The Shwedagon Pagoda is immense and... read more

The trip to Myanmar was exceptional.Not knowing what to expect,we were met at the airport by Sai our guide who immediately made us feel relaxed and comfortable.He spoke perfect English and was extremely knowledgeable about all facets of his country both past and present.He took us to areas where we never would of been able to find without him and presented views of all different kinds of people from all walks of life which made the trip very fascinating.The Shwedagon Pagoda is immense and has a distinct life of its own.The fortune teller was charming and added another dimension to that day.I myself liked the trip across the river and the trishaw ride the best ,seeing the life over there and how it differs from mainstream Yangon.Sai took care of us at every step of the way and the taxi driver was at his beckoned call and stayed with us whenever needed,even the next day to take us to the airport.Anne ,the local travel agent checked in a few times making sure everything was going well.All in all it was a wonderful experience and I would go back in a heartbeat and deal with the same expert travel people. Sincerely,
Dave and Constantine

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Dave and Constantine,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a heartfelt review. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed Yangon and the little extra steps we took to deliver an authentic experience. Really hope you will have the time to return and visit other regions around Myanmar- there is so much to see and do here!

Best regards and hope to see you in 2018,

Anne

Ankur

Highlights of mandalay and bagan - 5 days, Myanmar - Dec 7 - Dec 11, 2017

Traveler: Ankur G. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

What an amazing experience! My local specialist Anne was incredibly considerate, intuitive and very detail oriented. She helped me plan the trip to Mandalay and Bagan down to the last detail including guided and unguided portions per my request (for the latter she offered several suggestions on things I could do based on my interest level). She tailored my days to balance my interest in seeing a lot with my desire to do it all within a certain budget. She was very patient in back and forth... read more

What an amazing experience! My local specialist Anne was incredibly considerate, intuitive and very detail oriented. She helped me plan the trip to Mandalay and Bagan down to the last detail including guided and unguided portions per my request (for the latter she offered several suggestions on things I could do based on my interest level). She tailored my days to balance my interest in seeing a lot with my desire to do it all within a certain budget. She was very patient in back and forth emails, and even intuited from an email that I would not be as comfortable doing an all day motorcycle trip, and suggested a little more expense may be worth the mix of using a motorcycle and car - and she was absolutely right! She stayed on top of everything throughout the trip - I could always reach her, she always confirmed guides/itinerary beforehand, answered all my questions and even took the time to invite me out for drinks!

The guides she picked for both cities were also great! In Mandalay, Wine Wine was very attentive to my safety and comfort, while making sure I didn't miss any key attractions at each stop. We got an earlier than normal start and had some extra time, and he was great at improvising the agenda and coming up with new sights he thought I would enjoy. After I arrived in Bagan, I had the first day to explore on my own and that was lovely - I basically followed a suggested self-guided itinerary Anne had provided - including restaurant suggestions based on my dietary preferences and sunset cruise locations etc. The second day I had the pleasure of touring around with Arkar - he was AMAZING! Very knowledgeable and tailored the tour to my interests - he took me to is local breakfast place after I opted out of the hotel breakfast in lieu of spending more time e-biking around! We also skipped a couple markets as I had seen a few in Mandalay and was more interested and excited by the sight of pagodas! I took several side roads on a whim and he gladly followed me and provided history and insights - of course, he took me to some amazing hidden gems I could have never found on my own or with a big tour group.

Overall, I fell in love with Bagan. You think after two days I'd be tired of pagodas, but I was not. I was giddy at every side road that led into them - just to see myself in a sea of pagodas with different architecture and designs. The local people are incredibly nice and thoughtful - and the food is great! On the day I was self-touring in Bagan, e.g., there were several times I had stopped next to a pagoda and was looking at google maps on my phone, and each time a local stopped to ask me if I needed help!

Thank you for such a memorable trip!

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks for the detailed feedback and review Ankur! We loved hosting you- our communication before the trip really gave me a feel for what you were looking for so it made the planning process a lot easier. We look forward to seeing you again here soon- for more time in Bagan as well as a trip to Inle Lake region!

Jezuh Tin Ba Deh!

jo

Myanmar adventure, Myanmar - Nov 18 - Dec 2, 2017

Traveler: jo b. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

We loved our Myanmar trip and are grateful to have a resource like Kimkim to help direct us to the type of tour company we want to deal with.

Anne at Myanmar Pure Travel worked with us to create an itinerary that worked really well for us, and she gave some great input and suggestions along the way.

The whole trip ran very smoothly, everything was well organised, the guides were awesome. We had different guides for different parts of the trip and all of them were really experienced and... read more

We loved our Myanmar trip and are grateful to have a resource like Kimkim to help direct us to the type of tour company we want to deal with.

Anne at Myanmar Pure Travel worked with us to create an itinerary that worked really well for us, and she gave some great input and suggestions along the way.

The whole trip ran very smoothly, everything was well organised, the guides were awesome. We had different guides for different parts of the trip and all of them were really experienced and professional. They all went out of their way to give us an authentic experience and were extremely flexible.

Inle Lake and Bagan were definite highlights and Anne lifted it to another level by with the accommodation she arranged. We were keen to do a hot air balloon ride and Anne suggested we do this at Inle Lake rather than Bagan - we went with her suggestion and were so pleased. Seeing the floating gardens and life on the canals/lake/gardens from above was amazing and I would recommend other people consider this option too.

Cannot fault any of the trip.

Jo Broadhead & Jens Richter Dec 2017

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Mingalarbar! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Myanmar. We always aim to create a custom plan that fits to each traveler and for you and Jens it was easy- you were up for all of the random adventures and local experiences that we love!
On behalf of all of your guides and the other members of our team, thanks for visiting and we hope to see you again soon!

Flights and hotels, Myanmar - Nov 11 - Nov 22, 2017

Traveler: marian j. - Local specialist: Wai Lin Tun

Everything went so well. Driver there at appointed time everytime, hotels were very good.

Wai Lin Tun, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Marian,

Thank you so much for your feedback on your trip. I am happy to hear that the trip went well. Hope to welcome to you again to Myanmar soon.

Best wishes,
Wai Lin

Photography highlights, Myanmar - Nov 14 - Nov 23, 2017

Traveler: Aniell E. - Local specialist: Wai Lin Tun

I do congratulate the company, Wai Lin, the guides and the drivers on a super experience. I was initially apprehensive booking a random company on-line, but no worries. It was a fantastic adventure from start to finish. KimKim appear to be be a world wide travel booking agency based in the US, and Myanmar diaries are one of the local Myanmar travel agencies. No sooner had I made my first inquiry Wai Lin was there. He understood my requirements and came back promptly with a personalized i... read more

I do congratulate the company, Wai Lin, the guides and the drivers on a super experience. I was initially apprehensive booking a random company on-line, but no worries. It was a fantastic adventure from start to finish. KimKim appear to be be a world wide travel booking agency based in the US, and Myanmar diaries are one of the local Myanmar travel agencies. No sooner had I made my first inquiry Wai Lin was there. He understood my requirements and came back promptly with a personalized i ternary, photographic highlights of Myanmar was my brief. When I arrived at Yangon airport my transfer was waiting and from that point on everything went 100% as planned. I was presented with a welcome pack that contained details, airfares and other items. I have no complaints about hotel choice of course some better than others but I am an easy man to please. Each day was pre-planned with a guide and driver or mostly just a driver. I was blown away, everybody was so nice and friendly, morning starts always on time, and daily explorations that took me to all sorts of intensely interesting places. Not lost, Myanmar is a photographers dream. So the short answer is I will be coming back!

Wai Lin Tun, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Aniell,

Thank you so much for your generous review. I am so excited to hear that you really did enjoy every moment of your trip here in Myanmar through our services. I will for sure pass your kind words to my team and I am sure they will be thrilled to hear your wonderful feedback. If you are coming back next time to Myanmar, please do let me know and I’d be always here at Kimkim to show you the best remaining parts of my country.

Hope to see you soon in Myanmar again!

All the best from Yangon,
Wai Lin

Asean2017, Myanmar - Nov 5 - Nov 15, 2017

Traveler: john C. - Local specialist: Wai Lin Tun

Yangon: guide Pyae. Excellent. Engaged, knowledgable, friendly, mature. Provided very interesting rickshaw rides through markets, and even better in poorer village across river in Dala. Hotel Sule and location excellent
Bagan: guide Zie. Very good. We think selection of monuments possibly could have been better. Excellent hotel Aureum Palace.
Mandalay: guide "Ken". Excellent, enthusiastic, knowledgeable. Hotel Eastern Palace had some interesting design features but was clean and efficient.... read more

Yangon: guide Pyae. Excellent. Engaged, knowledgable, friendly, mature. Provided very interesting rickshaw rides through markets, and even better in poorer village across river in Dala. Hotel Sule and location excellent
Bagan: guide Zie. Very good. We think selection of monuments possibly could have been better. Excellent hotel Aureum Palace.
Mandalay: guide "Ken". Excellent, enthusiastic, knowledgeable. Hotel Eastern Palace had some interesting design features but was clean and efficient. Least impressive hotel. Unable to compare with other offerings. But very acceptable.
Inle Lake: guide Thanh. Highlight. Guide was engaged, efficient, helpful, experienced. Hotel Pristine Lotus beautiful, well built & designed and located. Great having 3 days there. Photographer's paradise.
All cars and drivers well chosen - always felt safe and comfortable and were well supplied with water bottles and wipes.
All connections and pickups went smoothly and although I was anxious at first only having very basic information from Kimkim/ Myanmar Diaries about these, there was never a problem.

Wai Lin Tun, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi John,

Thank you so much for your feedback on our service. I am happy to hear that your trip went well.
I will try better to have more engagement and deliver clearer information about the travel next time. I hope to welcome you in the near future when Myanmar comes across again too.

All the best from Yangon!

Warm regards,
Wai Lin

Myanmar adventure, Myanmar - Oct 28 - Nov 11, 2017

Traveler: Sara P. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

From the initial inquiry to Kimkim - which was answered in less than half an hour - to the final moments of our stay in Myanmar, our experience was over-the-top excellent. I have traveled extensively, doing most of the planning myself, so it was with a few qualms that I turned the planning over to Anne. I needn't have worried - every aspect of the experience was even better than I could have planned myself and far exceeded my expectations. Anne really listened to what we wanted and... read more

From the initial inquiry to Kimkim - which was answered in less than half an hour - to the final moments of our stay in Myanmar, our experience was over-the-top excellent. I have traveled extensively, doing most of the planning myself, so it was with a few qualms that I turned the planning over to Anne. I needn't have worried - every aspect of the experience was even better than I could have planned myself and far exceeded my expectations. Anne really listened to what we wanted and translated it into a brilliant experience - from the things we saw (temples, incredible temples, beautiful countryside, towers of firecrackers) and did (e bike through Bagan, soaring in a balloon over Inle Lake, feeding the retired elephants), we had a great time. The best part though was the people we met - our local guides were knowledgeable and fun and made sure that we got to see the real country and not just tick off a bunch of boxes. Special thanks to Anne for making the whole thing run like clockwork, Nay in Mandalay, Arkar in Bagan, Htun in Kalaw and Inle and Hla in Bagan for making our experience unforgettable. As the kids would say, 11/10 would do again.

I also want to make one comment about the Rohingya situation - it is terrible, for sure, but not reflective of the people and attitudes we encountered in the rest of the country. Myanmar is poor and just starting to figure out how to be a more democratic and progressive country, and they néed your support. Visit, while the place is still unspoiled and you can make a real impact on everyone you encounter.

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks for the feedback Sara! We really had fun planning your trip as you and Kenton have such a great spirit for discovery and cultural interactions. Our guides loved exploring their hometowns and sharing their lives with you - I am glad you enjoyed their company!

And thank you for your note on the Rohingya crisis. We are deeply saddened by it but want guests to come to support the local economy in the smaller communities and continue the cross-cultural exchanges that are so valuable in developing countries.

Jezuh tin ba deh!

Bagan by road, Myanmar - Sep 24 - Sep 27, 2017

Traveler: Carlos A. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

I'm very thankful with the service you guys provided to us. You made me feel more relaxed during my stay in Myanmar.

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks Carlos for the kind review and for traveling with us! I am glad you felt relaxed on your holiday in Mandalay and Bagan and hope next time you can come back for a longer stay in Myanmar!

Myanmar trip, Myanmar - Aug 13 - Aug 19, 2017

Traveler: bede m. - Local specialist: Wai Lin Tun

Had a great trip to Myanmar, guides were friendly and informative and the travel plan was exactly what I wanted

Wai went out of his way to help me. Last minute he arranged for some changes. He also noticed I had made a mistake with my flights and alerted to me to the fact in enough time to fix.

Wai Lin Tun, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Bede,

Huge thanks for your very positive feedback on your trip. I'm very glad that you've enjoyed your trip so much and enjoyed the country a lot.

Hope to welcome you again in the future.

All the best from Yangon,
Wai Lin

Amanda

Myanmar 2017, Myanmar - Jun 23 - Jul 7, 2017

Traveler: Amanda H. - Local specialist: Wai Lin Tun

Was really impressed how nothing was too much trouble. Communication was excellent

Rate Wai Lin very highly. Extremely helpful and flexible. Any questions or changes were no trouble

Wai Lin Tun, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Amanda,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us your impressions on our services before and during your trip here in Myanmar.

I'm very glad that you did enjoy your time being in the country and I hope to welcome you and your family to Myanmar again in the future.
All the best from Yangon
Wai Lin

Myanmar in one week, Myanmar - Jun 26 - Jul 3, 2017

Traveler: Alison C. - Local specialist: Anne Cruickshanks

Everything on my trip was planned so thoroughly and the whole trip went very smoothly. I was very impressed that the hotel staff and tour guides knew our itineraries as well -- when the bus from Mandalay to Bagan wasn't at Mama Guesthouse at 7:30am, I asked the man at the front desk to call the bus company, only to find out that he already called for me! Little gestures like this made me and my mom feel very well taken care of and safe.

Anne was wonderful to work with -- very responsive and... read more

Everything on my trip was planned so thoroughly and the whole trip went very smoothly. I was very impressed that the hotel staff and tour guides knew our itineraries as well -- when the bus from Mandalay to Bagan wasn't at Mama Guesthouse at 7:30am, I asked the man at the front desk to call the bus company, only to find out that he already called for me! Little gestures like this made me and my mom feel very well taken care of and safe.

Anne was wonderful to work with -- very responsive and enthusiastic and really wanted us to experience and enjoy Myanmar in a way that most tourists might not be able to. Anne also came to welcome us at our hotel when we first arrived, which was a very sweet and personal touch.

Anne Cruickshanks, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Alison, thanks for the feedback! It was fun planning your trip with you and we are so glad that you and your mom had a great time. Our guides and drivers really enjoyed showing you around Myanmar and we hope to see you here again in the future!

2017 trip, Myanmar - Apr 16 - Apr 27, 2017

Traveler: jo p. - Local specialist: Wai Lin Tun

Hi Alex and wai Lin. We are currently in Inle lake winding up our trip. We want to thank you for the most amazing experiences. All guides and drivers have been overwhelmingly fabulous with their knowledge and ability to accommodate our requests when we have deviated from plan. This trip has exceeded our expectations. We would not hesitate in recommending your services. Jo and Deb
jo perillo

Wai Lin changed itinerary to meet our needs

Wai Lin Tun, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Jo & Deb,

I'm very glad to hear that you had a great time visiting our beautiful land. I will pass your kind words to our team that you fully experienced the real Myanmar during your trip.

I wish to welcome you again in the future to Myanmar.

Best Regards,
Wai Lin

Liz

Liz's trip, Myanmar - Mar 16 - Apr 4, 2017

Traveler: Liz S. - Local specialist: Wai Lin Tun

I had the most fantastic trip! I saw everything I wanted to see and lots that I didn't know I wanted to see. Everything went smoothly. Hotels and guides and drivers were all great. Travel arrangements all worked well with no delays. Very pleased with all aspects of my trip.

Wai Lin was great with organising my trip. Always very prompt with replies and planned a trip that suited me perfectly.

Wai Lin Tun, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Liz, many thanks for your kind words and I've very glad to hear that you did have amazing moments while being in our country.
I do look forward to welcoming you again to Myanmar in the future.
Warm regards,
Wai Lin

Myanmar 25th anniversary trip, Myanmar - Feb 21 - Mar 3, 2017

Traveler: Cathy A. - Local specialist: Wai Lin Tun

Actually, very good except for day in Pandaya which we found disappointing at best. The drive was too long for relatively little to see or do. Additionally the Pindaya Inle Inn was terribly shoddy. The bed and pillows were so hard we ached the following day. The room was dark and not vey clean, and the wooden floor uneven posing a trip hazard. This is not a 4 star room...a 2 in our view.

The time lag with responses was a bit trying at times, but overall very good.

Wai Lin Tun, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Cathy, thank a lot for the review and the feedback on your recent trip to Myanmar through our services.

It's sad to hear that the accommodation in Pindaya didn't meet your expectation. However, due to the number of extremely limited accommodation options in this small town, Pindaya Inle Inn hotel was the best option available for your stay there. I will of course pass your comments to our team and the hotel as well so that we could improve the services better in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our country in the future.
Best Regards,
Wai Lin

Trip to burma, Myanmar - Feb 1 - Feb 9, 2017

Traveler: Martha P. - Local specialist: Wai Lin Tun

It was (almost) perfect. The guides were knowledgeable -- MauMau in Mandalay was especially warm and made me feel like a good friend, not a paying customer. The drivers were on time; the hand-offs went smoothly EXCEPT for my arrival in Yangon. That, however, has already been discussed/remedied in country. I could never recommend the overnight bus from Bagan to Yangon. The bus "shimmied" constantly in addition to driving the potholes. Most uncomfortable. I realize it was inexpensive,... read more

It was (almost) perfect. The guides were knowledgeable -- MauMau in Mandalay was especially warm and made me feel like a good friend, not a paying customer. The drivers were on time; the hand-offs went smoothly EXCEPT for my arrival in Yangon. That, however, has already been discussed/remedied in country. I could never recommend the overnight bus from Bagan to Yangon. The bus "shimmied" constantly in addition to driving the potholes. Most uncomfortable. I realize it was inexpensive, but not worth it.

Wai Lin was most responsive in trip planning, and got back to me right away when I got into "trouble" in Yangon. Most impressive.

Wai Lin Tun, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Martha, many thanks for your kind words and the feedback on your trip to Myanmar. I'm very glad that you did enjoy the time being in the country.

I will pass your comments and feedback to our team and guides who accompanied you all the way throughout the trip so that we can maintain and improve our services where necessary.

We look forward to seeing you again when you plan to visit our country next time!

Warm regards,
Wai Lin