Siteseeing and hiking most of costa rica, Costa Rica - Feb 10 - Feb 24, 2018

Traveler: Bernie M. - Local specialist: Sylvia Jurado

Accomodation at Montechiari was very nice and the people were friendly with one exception. Management handled the exception very well.
The hike into the Hule Lagoon was great, Andre was an excellent guide.
He did at times seem to be in a bit of a rush. It was scheduled to be a four hour hike and we completed in just over three hours.
The pace was manageable but not leisurely. It was just the two of us, great.
The host family at the farm were wonderful and the food was awesome.
The mountain biking was fun but we didn't get to see much and was not at the Volcano as expected. We rode out 16Km and stopped at the lake and were offered to ride back over the same route. We declined. Home by 10:20. It was a private tour with just the two of us, nice.
The guides were very nice , especially Brian who was in training.
The Tabacon Hotsprings was nice. The meal was buffet style but the food was excellent.
The guided tour at Manuel Antonio was a great experience overall and the guide was very knowledgeable. He also managed to get us out for lunch (I am diabetic) and back infor a swim on the same ticket .This was a large group of around 16 people so a bit unwieldy.
We had a private tour of Quepos and the Kids Saving the Rainforest with our guide William.
William was an excellent guide, very knowledgeable. Overall Iguana tours was excellent.
The accomodation at Tabulia Tree Hotel was quite nice and we were treated well.
The kayaking and snorkling was fun with an excellent guide and nice lunch afterward.
Monteverde was beautiful and the Fonda Vella Hotel was excellent. I believe we received a room upgrade as it was a very nice separate cabin.
The hanging bridges tour was very pretty views with a knowledgeable naturalist guide and some interesting sightings.
The coffee, cacao and sugar tour was enjoyable and informative.
Bosque del Mar at Playa Hermosa was very relaxing and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
A relaxing and enjoyable wind down.
The evening cruise was fun with a nice group of people. The snorkelling was a disappointment as we saw very little.
The trip was on a sailboat (OK but a catamaran was advertised.

Sylvia Jurado profile photo
Sylvia Jurado, local specialist, responded to this review:

Good morning Bernie & Kathleen!

Greetings from sunny Costa Rica!

We appreciate taking your time in sending a detailed trip review. This will help us to check with our suppliers and improve my services as travel designer!

I am happy to learn that you liked the hotels where you stayed, considering that this was a last minute request when hotels were fully booked due to the high season!

Bernie, I was not aware that you are diabetic, as in advance we inform our suppliers so they can take... read more

Good morning Bernie & Kathleen!

Greetings from sunny Costa Rica!

We appreciate taking your time in sending a detailed trip review. This will help us to check with our suppliers and improve my services as travel designer!

I am happy to learn that you liked the hotels where you stayed, considering that this was a last minute request when hotels were fully booked due to the high season!

Bernie, I was not aware that you are diabetic, as in advance we inform our suppliers so they can take special attention on your meals and special requirements.

We will speak with Ecoterra regarding your hike to the Hule Lagoon and biking experience and review the descriptions in the itineary that I designed for you! My apologies that the biking experience was not what you had expected!

But in overall, what I understood is that you enjoyed all the activities that were recommended.

In regards to the evening cruise, our prefered supplier which is Marlin del Rey was not available on the dates that you were staying at Bosque del Mar, therefore we booked Kuna Vela which honestly I preferred as they handle smaller groups than the Catamaran with groups are more than 40 passengers. It was my fault not telling you that it was a sailboat not a catamaran! Snorkeling is unpredictable as depends on visibility of the day of the tour!

Thank you for choosing kim kim and Horizontes and I hope that you can visit us again in a near future and explore other destinations such as the exhuberant rainforest of Tortuguero, the amazing beaches at our southern Caribbean Coast and the remote Corcovado with time to go snorkeling at CaƱo Island which is the best diving site in the country!

Wishing you a nice day!

All my best,

Sylvia