Colombia caribe, Colombia - Mar 7 - Mar 22, 2017

Traveler: Jim L. - Local specialist: Nathalie Clavel

We were very pleased with our experience in Cartagena and Isla Mucura. We did not appreciate the difficulty of the 13.3-mile hike planned for our second day in Colombia. (For example, we did not know how long the hike would be. We had an estimate of how many hours in would last, but not of the difficulty.) We are in good shape, but this was a daunting scramble though and over boulders and with a 300-meter plus gain in altitude in a tropical jungle.
We were disappointed in the Casa Lina Hotel in Palominos and in the Casa Amarilla Hotel in Mompox. The language barrier was high in both locations, the beds were uncomfortable and the staff were correct but not friendly.

We seemed to have difficulty understanding each other. When we needed help with a billing dispute (in Mompox) and in adjusting our itinerary (in Palominos), she was not readily available.
As in other aspects of the trip, we were to blame for some of this. We should have pursued more subjects before we left, regarding temperatures, hiking difficulties, sunscreen, etc. I was also disappointed when we were asked for full payment earlier than I expected.

Nathalie Clavel profile photo
Nathalie Clavel, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Jim,

Thank you for your comments.
In the first program I have sent to you I did not included the hike to the Pueblito because it is a little hard. After that, I remember talking with you over the phone about the trek in the Tayrona Park and telling you that it would be difficult but you told me that it would be ok and you seemed to really want to go to Pueblito so I included it in the program. I will warn more carefully the next travelers about this hike. I am sorry you had trouble... read more

Hello Jim,

Thank you for your comments.
In the first program I have sent to you I did not included the hike to the Pueblito because it is a little hard. After that, I remember talking with you over the phone about the trek in the Tayrona Park and telling you that it would be difficult but you told me that it would be ok and you seemed to really want to go to Pueblito so I included it in the program. I will warn more carefully the next travelers about this hike. I am sorry you had trouble that day.

I tried to call you several time during the trip to make sure everything was going ok, I have not been aware about the bill in Mompox, I will check with you what happened.
There was a little misunderstanding about the change for the trek because I thought you didn´t want to spend the night overthere and come back to Santa Marta directly, but once things were clear, I believe I made the necessary calls so it would be arranged quickly, the trek begenning the very next day.

I am surprised about the payment. You can pay for a downpayment and then pay the full amount one month before departure. The option didn´t appear when you paid? you should have told me. I thought you paid the total amount directly because you wanted to.
I am also surprised about the hotels in Palomino and Mompox, it is the first time we hear that.

I hope you had a great time in Colombia in spite of all and that you keep wonderful memories and discovered many things!

I keep at your entire disposal would you need anything in the future,
Best regards,

Nathalie