Trip Reviews for Slovenia

The latest reviews by travelers who booked their trip on kimkim

Nature at a slow pace, Slovenia - Aug 3 - Aug 10, 2018

Traveler: Jacqui B. - Local specialist: Domen Strle

Miha organised the trip so well to suit our style. He made it easy. Everything was organised from the printed itinerary to the mobile phone on loan! Nothing went wrong and we really enjoyed the hike.

Domen Strle, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Jacqui!
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay in Slovenia! Thank you very much for being our guest and for taking the time to write this review and publish all the photos! :) Wish you happy travels in the future!
Warm wishes,
Miha & Domen

Connie

Beyond the alps, Slovenia - Jul 30 - Aug 9, 2018

Traveler: Connie E. - Local specialist: Domen Strle

We spent a wonderful two weeks driving around Slovenia, seeing the sights and taking lovely day hikes. Domen and Miha both worked with us designing a unique trip. We visited both the usual tourist sights and some that were specific to our interests. They gave us gps tracks to quiet, solitary day hikes with amazing views. We do not hesitate to recommend Slotrips for a fabulous vacation.

Domen Strle, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Connie!
Thank you so much for your kind feedback! It was great having you here and I hope you might visit Slovenia in the future again :)
Warm wishes,
Miha & Domen

ian

Trip to slovenia, Slovenia - Jul 21 - Jul 30, 2018

Traveler: ian T. - Local specialist: Miha Gantar

Slovenia was such a memorable trip. Our Kimkim organisers planned the holiday just as we wanted it...a mixture of sightseeing and activity. The Julian Alps are a must for anyone who enjoys picturesque scenery and cycling/river activities.

Miha Gantar, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Ian,
Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our little country and hope to have you again sometime in the future!
Warm wishes!
Domen & Miha

Kim

Europe 2018, Slovenia - Jun 30 - Jul 9, 2018

Traveler: Kim R. - Local specialist: Miha Gantar

My Trip to Slovenia started off with a request to “Solo hike through the alps, away from crowds and tourists". Miha contacted me and wanted to understand what I had in mind. Living in Silicon Valley and working in tech, my desire was to reconnect with nature and pursue a solo-hike through the Alps. I had envisioned doing this in Austria just based on its familiarity with my past travels.

As Miha and I exchanged messages, Miha who converted my desires into a well defined route to... read more

My Trip to Slovenia started off with a request to “Solo hike through the alps, away from crowds and tourists". Miha contacted me and wanted to understand what I had in mind. Living in Silicon Valley and working in tech, my desire was to reconnect with nature and pursue a solo-hike through the Alps. I had envisioned doing this in Austria just based on its familiarity with my past travels.

As Miha and I exchanged messages, Miha who converted my desires into a well defined route to combine seeing many regions in Slovenia, which would allow me to decompress from the fast pace life in California and prepare for my solo hike through the Julia Alps, down into the Soča River Valley, through the Karst region onto Prian. He ensure everything I asked for was awaiting my arrival!

Once Miha and I talked live we settled on the plan and waited for weeks to pass and my flight to Slovenia, for an amazing 10 day trip.

I can summarize my trip by saying a Slovene saying; Sekira mi je padla v med!

Meeting Domen on my arrival, we had a great conversation reviewing maps and the route over beers and burgers and then I was cut loose to explore Ljubljana, where you can still feel the presence of past dragons and the vibe of a modern but well preserved historic city. From the street musicians to the open cafe's and restaurants to eating carniolian sausage at a very small sausage shack (Go there to find it, you will know when you see it along the way to the Castle over the three bridges).

Then onto Lake Bled, 6 kilometers around the lake, meeting Bobbi the artist who paints with watercolors, to experiencing the fairytale setting of the surrounding area. You do not pass up wood-fired traditional meals or the amazing cream cake you can learn about. My stay in Bled was a stepping off point to finalizing my gear and pack, since the next day was on to where my hike would start, on a ridge on the border between Austria and Slovenia.

Getting dropped off in the woods with a short hike up to the border ridge, onto Vosca Peak to start my path through the Julians, to visit Tonka prior to getting to Vrsic pass, hiking along the Soča river, overnighting in a hay barn at a local farm and onto Bovec, then to a Winery older then the United States and Caves where the Reka flows underground, onto Prian with Aljaž to hike sea cliffs and swim in the Adriatic!

Every aspect of the trip exceeded my expectations, the friendly culture, amazing people I met along the way, the nature, food and local beer. I rarely noticed the weather, but thunder does make you hike faster off the peaks :). I cannot wait to return to share this trip with my wife and to introduce her to all my new friends.

My trip can be summed up in one word; Zaklad!

Amazing crew of people at SloTrips, I cannot wait to reconnect with them on my next trip to Slovenia and possibly Croatia! Everyone should strive to take a hike in Slovenia in their lifetime and reconnect with nature and a great culture forged over many thousands of years. You are in great hands with the Miha and the SloTrips team!

-Kim

Miha Gantar, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Kim!

WOW! Thank you so much for the detailed and positive feedback! :) And all these great pictures!
It was a pleasure having you here and thank you for your amazing stories, joy & interest in life, positive spirit and inspiration!

Look forward to having you back in Slovenia!
Warm wishes,
Miha

Bruce

Hiking slovenia, Slovenia - Jul 8 - Jul 20, 2018

Traveler: Bruce S. - Local specialist: Domen Strle

Great trip organised and coordinated by Miha Gantar everything was well thought out and coordinated. The standard of service and accommodation was excellent. The country is open welcoming and not yet over crowded and pretty much everyone spoke english so we had no trouble getting around and being understood. Our guide Aliaz for our 5 day hike was fantastic and took all the worry out of navigating some challenging terrain. By far the best organised trip we have done

Domen Strle, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Bruce,
It makes us very happy to hear that you had a great time in Slovenia! We are honoured to be a part of this amazing experience.
Thank you again for exploring our country with us and keep using Kimkim and local providers for your future trips. :)
Warmest regards,
Miha & Domen

Trip to slovenia, Slovenia - Jul 17 - Jul 20, 2018

Traveler: ELIZABETH W. - Local specialist: Miha Gantar

Our guide/driver for our short 3 day trip to Slovenia, Domen, was knowledgeable about all aspects of his lovely country. History, geography, economy, traditions, folklore, and food are just a few areas of his expertise. We were able to experience the traditional tourist sites that Slovenia is best known for (Ljubljana, Lake Bled, the Skocjan caves) and also many less traveled sites. Hiking in the Julian Alps, rafting the Soca River, the WWI bunker tour with our very own reenactor ( a... read more

Our guide/driver for our short 3 day trip to Slovenia, Domen, was knowledgeable about all aspects of his lovely country. History, geography, economy, traditions, folklore, and food are just a few areas of his expertise. We were able to experience the traditional tourist sites that Slovenia is best known for (Ljubljana, Lake Bled, the Skocjan caves) and also many less traveled sites. Hiking in the Julian Alps, rafting the Soca River, the WWI bunker tour with our very own reenactor ( a retired teacher who is passionate about WWI history), and our private tour of a family owned winery, followed by a home cooked lunch were some of our highlights. The accommodations provided were fabulous, especially our stay at Kekec Homestead, Soca valley: http://www.kekceva-domacija.si/. A gem in the middle of nowhere with great wine, food, and scenery at the beginnings of the Soca River. a fabulous tour in every way.

Miha Gantar, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Elizabeth!
I am super glad you enjoyed your short stay in Slovenia and are hungry for more! :)
Thank you so much for traveling with us and you know where to find us for the future Slovenian adventures! :)
Warmest regards!
Miha

Triglav park, Slovenia - Jul 1 - Jul 9, 2018

Traveler: Tracey H. - Local specialist: Miha Gantar

This was, from beginning to end, a wonderful experience. Both Domen and Miha at Slotrips were amazingly helpful and went out of their way to make sure my journey went smoothly. I was traveling and hiking solo through Triglav Park, and they provided GPS, safety equipment, a cell phone to reach them, and explicit written instructions as well of maps of the area.

When I arrived I had a nasty sinus infection, and Domen was able to arrange transport to a doctor in a nearby town so I could be seen... read more

This was, from beginning to end, a wonderful experience. Both Domen and Miha at Slotrips were amazingly helpful and went out of their way to make sure my journey went smoothly. I was traveling and hiking solo through Triglav Park, and they provided GPS, safety equipment, a cell phone to reach them, and explicit written instructions as well of maps of the area.

When I arrived I had a nasty sinus infection, and Domen was able to arrange transport to a doctor in a nearby town so I could be seen and get antibiotics. The day I was to summit Triglav, the weather was questionable, and Miha called me while I was on the trail to check in on me and make sure my trek was safe and successful. I made requests for minor changes to my transfers, which they accommodated on the spot.

I had wonderful places to stay (clean, quiet, and safe for a solo female traveler) and got recommendations for local restaurants and wineries to visit along the way. This was my first travel experience with KimKim and the gentlemen at Slotrips. It will not be my last! Thank you again for going out of your way to give me a fantastic holiday!

Miha Gantar, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Tracy!

We are so happy you felt that we care for you! :) And most of all were are happy you've had a great trip in our lovely small country! Too bad about the weather on the summit. A reason to come back and climb it again in the sun! :)

Thanks again for traveling with us!
Big hug from Slovenia!
Domen & Miha

Jacci

slovenia, Slovenia - Jun 10 - Jun 20, 2018

Traveler: Jacci Z. - Local specialist: Miha Gantar

I cannot say enough about Kimkim and Miha. The trip was perfectly planned, just the right amount of days and activities in one place. They made everything so easy. Except the driving, which by the end of the first week got easier. And of coarse is not Kimkims fault. Plenty of information and directions to every place we went. The Hotel and other accommodations were perfect! Thank you Kimkim for the great trip!

Miha Gantar, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Jacci!
Thank you so much for the great feedback! We are very pleased you enjoyed Slovenia and are happy with our services and Kimkim as well. Thank you again for visiting the home of your ancestors with us and keep using Kimkim for your future trips. :)
Warm wishes!
Domen & Miha

9-day active slovenia vacation that includes a few big/moderate hikes, Slovenia - May 27 - Jun 4, 2018

Traveler: Shree L. - Local specialist: Miha Gantar

We had an amazing 9-day Slovenia vacation with kimkim and the local specialist, Miha and his company. Ours was a completely customized trip for a group of 11 adults. We had two amazing guides, Domen and Anja. We were very impressed with the quality of the tour, the hotels, the farmhouses we visited, the wine tasting experiences, the local meals that we would never have found on our own, etc.... Miha before the start of the trip and our wonderful guides Domen and Anja during the trip had... read more

We had an amazing 9-day Slovenia vacation with kimkim and the local specialist, Miha and his company. Ours was a completely customized trip for a group of 11 adults. We had two amazing guides, Domen and Anja. We were very impressed with the quality of the tour, the hotels, the farmhouses we visited, the wine tasting experiences, the local meals that we would never have found on our own, etc.... Miha before the start of the trip and our wonderful guides Domen and Anja during the trip had tremendous attention to detail, and we could feel that they were doing their utmost to make sure all our wishes were fulfilled. We could not go on some of the hikes originally planned due to too much snow and Domen suggested awesome alternatives that had beautiful vistas. We were also impressed by how well Domen and Anja worked together as a team.

Slovenia is an extremely beautiful country with a wide variety of landscapes and we loved them all - the mountains, the lakes, the valleys, the meadows, the waterfalls, the underground caves and amazing cave kayaking experience, wine country, the Adriatic coast, the super charming towns, the lovely farmhouses, ...We will be recommending Slovenia and your awesome team to all our travel crazy friends!

Thanks again Miha, Domen and Anja for everything. You guys are the best!

And kimkim will certainly be on the top of my list to contact for all our future adventures in every country where they provide their services and have local operators.

Miha Gantar, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Shree,

It was amazing having you here and showing you our backyard. You were a wonderful group and it was a pleasure to work with you. Domen and Anja also had lots of fun. Everybody happy! This is the best part of our job and I hope that our love and enthusiasm for what we do was reflected in the organization & execution of your trip.

Thank you again for coming and wish you all the best!
Miha

Slovenia, Slovenia - May 19 - May 27, 2018

Traveler: Gregory T. - Local specialist: Miha Gantar

We had a wonderful time. The logistics were superb including the fantastic hotels, the very convenient car pick up and drop off, and the activity suggestions.

For me the most memorable places were the castle near Postojna and the beauty of the Alps. But a close second to these include our row boat ride to the island on Lake Bled, the castle at Lake Bled, the beauty of Lake Bohinj, the food at your recommended restaurants was superb, the caves (we saw both), the market square and view of the... read more

We had a wonderful time. The logistics were superb including the fantastic hotels, the very convenient car pick up and drop off, and the activity suggestions.

For me the most memorable places were the castle near Postojna and the beauty of the Alps. But a close second to these include our row boat ride to the island on Lake Bled, the castle at Lake Bled, the beauty of Lake Bohinj, the food at your recommended restaurants was superb, the caves (we saw both), the market square and view of the Adriatic at Piran, the Russian monument, and the friendliness of the people. Everywhere we went the people were extremely friendly and helpful. Thank you for helping us set this up.
Greg Thompson

Miha Gantar, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Greg,

So glad to hear our travelers are having a great time in sLOVEnia! We are happy to be a part of this and thank you so much for taking your time and posting this lovely review.

Happy travels in the future and hope Kimkim will become your indispensable travel partner. :)
Best regards to the whole family!
Domen & Miha

Alex batchelor party, Slovenia - May 11 - May 13, 2018

Traveler: Owen B. - Local specialist: Miha Gantar

Miha and his team were incredible and really made our trip. They had incredible ideas for activities (MTB tour of Ljubljana, SUP on Lake Bled, hiking in Triglav NP) and always executed perfectly. Our trip was 3-4x as good for thier involvement. I recommend them without hesitation.

Miha Gantar, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Owen!
It was great having you here! Great group, fun trip and hopefully it was a good initiation to Alex' long-lasting happy marriage! :)
Thank you for coming and thank you for posting your kind feedback!
Best wishes to everyone!
Miha

Slovenia, Slovenia - May 3 - May 10, 2018

Traveler: Bryan P. - Local specialist: Miha Gantar

The organisation and guidance was excellent. The accommodation was good. Our trip was well planned and with lots to see and do. The food walk in Ljubljana is a must do. The walks and scenery were outstanding. The route enabled us to see a lot of this beautiful country. There were some interesting and different things for us to do. In particular a guided tour of a WWI battlefield in the Sochi Valley and a visit with a beekeeper in Bled. Our tour organisers Domen and Miha provided excellent... read more

The organisation and guidance was excellent. The accommodation was good. Our trip was well planned and with lots to see and do. The food walk in Ljubljana is a must do. The walks and scenery were outstanding. The route enabled us to see a lot of this beautiful country. There were some interesting and different things for us to do. In particular a guided tour of a WWI battlefield in the Sochi Valley and a visit with a beekeeper in Bled. Our tour organisers Domen and Miha provided excellent maps, notes and personal guidance. I highly recommend them and their firm Slotrips. I also found Kimkim to be a very good way find and to communicate with travel organisers.

Miha Gantar, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Bryan!
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay in Slovenia! Thank you very much for being our guest and for taking the time to write this review! Wish you happy travels in the future!
Warm wishes,
Domen & Miha

Climbing, Slovenia - Apr 7 - Apr 11, 2018

Traveler: Sharmilee G. - Local specialist: Siggi Sveinsson

Polona and Luka organised the day well and I enjoyed my time rock climbing. Siggi was very good at getting back about the plans promptly.

Slovenia and iceland, Slovenia - Mar 18 - Mar 22, 2018

Traveler: Jerold K. - Local specialist: Miha Gantar

We had an absolutely wonderful time. The planning and logistics were impeccable by Miha. Lodging and venue selections exceeded our expectations.

The best selection was picking Domen to be our guide. He was the consummate guide and host for our two days on the road. Knowledgeable, passionate about his country, personable and flexible. Besides the main venues we wanted to see, he took us to out of the way “local” spots and venues so we saw amazing natural beauty and had time to interact... read more

We had an absolutely wonderful time. The planning and logistics were impeccable by Miha. Lodging and venue selections exceeded our expectations.

The best selection was picking Domen to be our guide. He was the consummate guide and host for our two days on the road. Knowledgeable, passionate about his country, personable and flexible. Besides the main venues we wanted to see, he took us to out of the way “local” spots and venues so we saw amazing natural beauty and had time to interact with local business people. We hated to leave!

Finally, thanks to Urban Hotel for refunding our first night due to flight delays, and special thanks again to Miha for arranging transport for our son on his last day.

Miha Gantar, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Jerry!

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! I am very glad you have enjoyed your trip in Slovenia, especially after all the hassle you've had with your flights. Thank you for visiting us and welcome back anytime! :)

Warm wishes!
Domen & Miha

Mohammed

Trip to slovenia, Slovenia - Aug 1 - Aug 6, 2017

Traveler: Mohammed I. - Local specialist: Polona Juricinec Cesen

Monika was the strongest asset here. She knew the country in and out and is an x-pro skil jumper. The rest of the tour team was amazing as well.

Polona, Monika, Ales, and Siggi were all really amazing people to work with. I interacted with all of them via a Whatsapp group chat and they were there anytime I needed anything.