Profile photo for Sarah Metrat
1906 messages
active 19 hours ago

Sarah Metrat

For 7 years , I have been sending groups and companies all over the world to live unforgettable moments. Today, I am using this expertise to create your perfect holidays. I love designing authentic experiences and helping you discover a destination in a different way, a way you will remember.

My Favorite destination in France : Beaujolais, especially in autumn with its colourful vineyard
My Favorite destination in Europe : United Kingdom and its one of a kind mysterious atmosphere
My Favorite destination worldwide : Vietnam, its deep culture and history

How did you get involved in travel?

"I lived for one year in York, where I was giving french lessons to teenagers. I spent a lot of time visiting UK and the travel fever began from this point !"

Please share a unique travel experience you will never forget.

"I just get goose bumps remembering crossing the Manhattan Bridge for the first time and seeing all NYC City skyline. It was such a chance to discover this iconic view in real life, I will always recall this feeling."

Top itineraries and travel advice
Family itineraries
Luxury itineraries
Road trip itineraries

Favorite experiences

Culture and Tasting Tour of Lyon

Set in eastern France on the Rhône and Saône rivers, Lyon is a grand foodie city in a famously food-centric nation. However, there is much more to this metropolis than a rich culinary heritage. Lyon enjoys about 2,000 years of history, dating back to when it was a provincial capital in the...

Ride the Aiguille de Midi Cable Car in Chamonix

The Aiguille de Midi is a famous peak, one of the highest in Chamonix, and has been an unmissable destination for visitors for more than 60 years. In just 20 minutes, the Aiguille du Midi cable car will take you from the center of Chamonix to the high mountains, reaching an altitude of 12,604...

Treasures of Provence: Arles, Les Baux, Saint Rémy, & Alpilles

Enjoy a full tour of Provence, discovering its treasures, culture, and heritage. Start with a walking tour in Arles, a city known for its Roman heritage and art. You'll visit its famous Roman amphitheater and other preserved ancient sites. You'll also see the places depicted by Van Gogh in his...

Beaujolais Tour & Wine Tasting

Enjoy a tour of Beaujolais, a historical province and wine-growing region just north of Lyon. Beaujolais is a popular French wine (a certified French Appellation d'Origine Contrôlée wine) typically crafted with the Gamay grape. This grape variety is known for its thin skin and low tannins,...

Recent trip reviews for Sarah

Kim Kim is excellent. Sarah was responsive an...
England | Jun 22 - Jun 28, 2024

James
James G.
Port Townsend, WA | Reviewed on Jul 06, 2024
Kim Kim is excellent. Sarah was responsive and did a good job developing this trip with our family. We threw some changes at her late in the game and she was able to make those happen. Not easy with a group of 12. The emergency number proved invaluable several times as we ran into unexpected issues. Both issues were resolved efficiently and we were able to move along with our trip. Thank you! As a group, we did find the road book a bit cumbersome to use. The first six pages were great.... Read more

Kim Kim is excellent. Sarah was responsive and did a good job developing this trip with our family. We threw some changes at her late in the game and she was able to make those happen. Not easy with a group of 12.

The emergency number proved invaluable several times as we ran into unexpected issues. Both issues were resolved efficiently and we were able to move along with our trip. Thank you!

As a group, we did find the road book a bit cumbersome to use. The first six pages were great. What would have been very helpful was to put the actual links in those first six pages to the vouchers with words like…”click here for vouchers”.

It took one of us (Wendy) finding the menu with the link to transportation, event, and hotel vouchers to see this clearly. Sarah, I know you told us about that menu, but we were having so much to worry about, it didn’t sink in. Any info (like restaurant recommends etc. not in the actual itinerary should be clearly marked and placed at the end of the document for perusing at leisure. Does this make sense?

Great job guys. It was a trip of a lifetime and whoever thought of the Gorski Clan hats was brilliant! Thank you!

Activity Reviews
Visit Fraser Castle
Visit Fraser Castle
Inverurie

Beautiful grounds…great stories! There is a family link here.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Huntly Falconry
Huntly Falconry
Dufftown

We are a family of 12 with six kids…fabulous hands on experience. Would highly recommend!

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Dunnottar Castle Tickets
Dunnottar Castle Tickets
England

Must see!

Quality of Experience
Transport
Edinburgh Castle Tickets
Edinburgh Castle Tickets
Edinburgh

Great history…but oh so crowded!

Quality of Experience
Lots of great stuff…Better off season without the crowds.
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
On foot!
Visit to Urquhart Castle
Visit to Urquhart Castle
England

This ancient castle’s location is amazing and it’s easy to see why it was strategically placed on the rock outcroppings. Lots of nooks and crannies to explore.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Secrets of Edinburgh’s Royal Mile - walking tour with castle tickets
Secrets of Edinburgh’s Royal Mile - walking tour with castle tickets
Edinburgh

Wonderful guide…full of history and great stories the whole family loved.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Edinburgh Ghostly underground tour suitable for kids
Edinburgh Ghostly underground tour suitable for kids
Edinburgh

It was raining…and not everybody went…too tired. She was a great story teller and truly made the kids squeamish!

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Gorski Family Detour : Transfer and Visit at Harlaxton
Nottingham

Our son did a semester here at Harlaxton College in Grantham England. This place is like Hogwarts on steroids…so fun and beautiful. Our guide was a retired PHD in drama and he was thoroughly entertaining.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Private transfer in town
Private transfer in town
Ireland

Very early morning…on time!

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Nottingham Castle Visit
Nottingham Castle Visit
Nottingham

This is a good place for kids with an activity playground to expend energy.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Local specialist: Sarah Metrat
Sarah
Sarah Metrat
Local specialist in Lyon | Replied on Jul 09, 2024
Hi Jim!! Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! I'm so glad to hear that you had an amazing family trip!! I’m happpy that we could accommodate your last-minute changes and that the emergency number was helpful when you needed it. Managing a group of 12 is no small task, and I'm happy we could make it smooth for you. We really felt that Harlaxton was very important to your family, and I was truly touched to be able to make this dream possible for you! I appreciate your input on the... Read more

Hi Jim!!

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! I'm so glad to hear that you had an amazing family trip!!

I’m happpy that we could accommodate your last-minute changes and that the emergency number was helpful when you needed it. Managing a group of 12 is no small task, and I'm happy we could make it smooth for you. We really felt that Harlaxton was very important to your family, and I was truly touched to be able to make this dream possible for you!

I appreciate your input on the roadbook. We'll work on making it even more intuitive with direct links to the vouchers. You're right that for a group, the tool might not be the best fit.

It was truly a pleasure helping you plan this "trip of a lifetime". And yes, the Gorski Clan hats were quite a fun idea, weren’t they? So glad you enjoyed them!

Thanks again for your kind words and constructive feedback. You are one of the most amazing families I had the chance to work with! I can't wait to help you plan your next Gorski Clan Reunion, whether it’s in the UK, France, or even Italy!

Sarah, Flore & The High Point Holidays Team

Sarah, from the Kimkim Team, was very thoroug...
England | Jun 8 - Jun 15, 2024

L
Leslie Y.
Newark, NJ | Reviewed on Jun 18, 2024

Sarah, from the Kimkim Team, was very thorough with the itinerary she provided us. She also chose a great tour company for us to travel with. Everything went smoothly, and we had a memorable trip. I wouldn't hesitate to use them again.

Local specialist: Sarah Metrat
Sarah
Sarah Metrat
Local specialist in Lyon | Replied on Jun 24, 2024

Thank you, Leslie, for your kind review!

It was a pleasure working with you to craft this itinerary, and I'm delighted that you had a memorable trip. I'm also glad to hear that we met your expectations and that everything went smoothly! We strive to provide thorough and well-planned experiences, and it’s wonderful to know we succeeded at this Leslie so thanks for that!!

We look forward to helping you with your next adventure, in the UK, in France or even in Italy!!!

All the best,
Sarah & the High Point Holidays Team

Amazing customized trip for our extended fami...
England | Jun 8 - Jun 15, 2024

K
Kathleen H.
Middletown, NJ | Reviewed on Jun 16, 2024
Amazing customized trip for our extended family. Sarah and all her staff were very accommodating, especially when my son had a medical issue. Read more

Amazing customized trip for our extended family. Sarah and all her staff were very accommodating, especially when my son had a medical issue.

Hotel Reviews
The Royal Hotel Portree
Portree

Very helpful staff; big room. Decent breakfast. Great location.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Dingwall

An older mansion converted into a hotel. No elevators. Great fun. Good pub and very nice breakfast.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
The Garrison
Fort William

Crazy wet room for a bathroom. Water went everywhere. Otherwise, nice room. Good breakfast in the morning.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Wet room as a bathroom was a bit of an issue.
Angel's Share Hotel
New Town, Edinburgh

Lovely hotel with a great location. Staff at breakfast is a bit unprepared. But the breakfast is good. Nice bar in the evening. Bit of a water issue in the bathroom with the shower water going all over. Has a small elevator which is a plus with a big bag.

Authenticity & Character
Very cool
Location
Staff
Helped us make dinner plans.
Cleanliness & Comfort
Water everywhere from the shower.
Activity Reviews
Dalwhinnie Distillery tour
Dalwhinnie Distillery tour
England

Lovely - chocolates were great. Would have loved our guide to have been Scottish.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Scottish guides
Transport
Private guided tour with driver/guide in Skye
Private guided tour with driver/guide in Skye
England

Excellent! Regan was amazing and pivoted very easily when there were changes.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Two hour cruise on the Canal and Loch - Loch Ness
Two hour cruise on the Canal and Loch - Loch Ness
Inverness

This was a stunning cruise!! Beautiful views and great information from the guide.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Very knowledgeable
Transport
Isle of Skye Whisky immersion at Torabhaig
Isle of Skye Whisky immersion at Torabhaig
England

Very interesting and thorough tour of the distillery. Nice tasting. Very nice gift shop area.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Very knowledgeable
Transport
One way to Mallaig on the Jacobite Train (of Harry Potter fame)
One way to Mallaig on the Jacobite Train (of Harry Potter fame)
England

Wow! Regan came through and got us tickets after ours were originally cancelled. For anyone who loves Harry Potter and trains, this is a great trip. The scenery was wonderful.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
The guides on the train were amazing, pointing out specific sites. Very friendly and kind.
Transport
Stirling Castle Tickets
Stirling Castle Tickets
Stirling

This was a great tour of the castle. The guide inside the castle was very good and knowledgeable. The gardens were beautiful. The cafe was lovely.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
The guide was very good and knowledgeable.
Transport
Secrets of Edinburgh’s Royal Mile - walking tour with castle tickets
Secrets of Edinburgh’s Royal Mile - walking tour with castle tickets
Edinburgh

Our guide Gareth did a great job considering the rain and the crowds. Very interesting facts.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Very nice and knowledgeable.
Transport
Champagne Afternoon Tea at the Ivy
Champagne Afternoon Tea at the Ivy
Edinburgh

Fabulous tea experience!!! Staff was great!

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
The staff at the Ivy were wonderful
Local specialist: Sarah Metrat
Sarah
Sarah Metrat
Local specialist in Lyon | Replied on Jun 24, 2024

Thank you, Kathleen, for this lovely review and this really detailed feedback!

It has been a pleasure crafting this itinerary for your family, and I'm really glad to have connected you with Regan. We trust him 100%, and his local knowledge is as amazing as his reactivity in case of emergency. I'm glad to know that your son is better and that it did not prevent you from having a memorable trip for your family!

Don't hesitate to reach out to us in the future for your next European adventure in the UK, France, or Italy!!

All the best!

Sarah & the High Point Holidays Team

Most amazing French Riviera trip with 4 locations in 10 days!!
France | Dec 30 - Jan 9, 2024

D
Dhritiman D.
Pleasanton, CA | Reviewed on Jan 10, 2024
We had the most amazing trip of the French Riviera thanks to Kimkim team and especially Sarah. Everything from hotel bookings, to car rental, 5-6 trips to various historic locations, food/walking tours, winery/olive oil tasting and tips and adivce were planned flawlessly. Most importantly, Sarah kept helping us with adjustments to the trip based on changes in weather (rain/wind) etc. so were able to enjoy every single day. The choice of hotel locations was very thoughful and we were... Read more

We had the most amazing trip of the French Riviera thanks to Kimkim team and especially Sarah. Everything from hotel bookings, to car rental, 5-6 trips to various historic locations, food/walking tours, winery/olive oil tasting and tips and adivce were planned flawlessly.

Most importantly, Sarah kept helping us with adjustments to the trip based on changes in weather (rain/wind) etc. so were able to enjoy every single day. The choice of hotel locations was very thoughful and we were always close to transportation and food. the plan included driving directions, local events (like Christmas markets etc) - it just made our trip hassle free and truly memorable!

Hotel Reviews
Palais Saleya Boutique Hôtel
Nice
Le Mas des Tourterelles
Sheraton Nice Airport
Hôtel Capucines
Hotel de Cambis
Avignon
Local specialist: Sarah Metrat
Sarah
Sarah Metrat
Local specialist in Lyon | Replied on Jan 11, 2024
Hi Dhritiman! Thanks so much for this amazing review. I'm really glad to see that we've managed to help you enjoy this fantastic winter trip. It's another way to discover the French Riviera, with a different atmosphere, a bit slower than usual, but with the right tips and addresses, you can still have a great time! My team and I were delighted to assist you, and we can't wait to organize your next trip! We also operate in the UK, so don't hesitate to reach out if you need any assistance... Read more

Hi Dhritiman!

Thanks so much for this amazing review. I'm really glad to see that we've managed to help you enjoy this fantastic winter trip. It's another way to discover the French Riviera, with a different atmosphere, a bit slower than usual, but with the right tips and addresses, you can still have a great time! My team and I were delighted to assist you, and we can't wait to organize your next trip! We also operate in the UK, so don't hesitate to reach out if you need any assistance there! If you have some pictures to share, that would be amazing, send me a message so I can see your family in action ;)

Thanks again to the 4 of you for your trust!
Sarah & The High Point Holidays Team

Kid-friendly trip to UK
England | Nov 16 - Nov 28, 2023

L
Leanna W.
Fairbanks, AK | Reviewed on Nov 30, 2023
We turned to KimKim to plan our family's trip to the UK, and had a wonderful time! While we had to change several aspects of the trip due to seasonal closures after finalizing our travel dates, overall our trip was so lovely and memorable. Our specialist, Sarah, worked hard on the itinerary to find a balance between kid-oriented fun and educational/cultural items, as well as finding accommodations that would work for a family of four. The children especially loved the Harry Potter studios... Read more

We turned to KimKim to plan our family's trip to the UK, and had a wonderful time! While we had to change several aspects of the trip due to seasonal closures after finalizing our travel dates, overall our trip was so lovely and memorable. Our specialist, Sarah, worked hard on the itinerary to find a balance between kid-oriented fun and educational/cultural items, as well as finding accommodations that would work for a family of four. The children especially loved the Harry Potter studios tour and the armory exhibit at the Tower of London. We parents loved the ease of our days with private tour guides in both York and for four days in Scotland with Keith of Scotland's Highland Tours. We had some challenges with communicating across 9 time zones during the planning process, and might opt to spend more days in fewer locations next time, but came home so glad we took this trip.

Hotel Reviews
Georgian House Hotel
Pimlico

The hotel itself was lovely and in a quiet, yet convenient area. The Wizarding chamber rooms (Harry Potter themed) were in the basement and looked a little worse for wear. We really enjoyed the daily breakfast and welcome of all staff members. I would happily stay at the hotel again, but would opt for one of the traditional rooms, instead of the Wizarding rooms with our children.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Wizarding chamber was in the basement, had an awkward layout that meant we couldn't relax in the room. The restroom facilities were awkwardly laid out, with shower and WC behind separate doors on the opposite sides of the entry to the room. Room seemed worse for wear with dings and peeling wallpaper.
Blackfriars Hotel
Inverness

This accommodation had plenty of character, but perhaps did not live up to its billing as a 3-4 star hotel. Our room was on the top floor of the old building, and had plenty of character, but was not a comfortable place to stay for our family. No lobby area, and check in was at the pub on the ground floor. Room itself gave a lovely first impression, but it seemed that upkeep was a challenge. The room looked to have been updated relatively recently, but still showed some wear, as did the furnishings. The floor was sagging and very creaky, as you might expect in this age of building, and there was a significant amount of road noise from the busy street, which was not great for light sleepers. The bunk bed creaked a lot as well. Bed linens had some stains and showed pilling and wear. That said, there was wifi and a lovely coffee/snack set up on our arrival, so it worked for a one night stay.

Authenticity & Character
hard to deny the character of
Location
on a busy street with narrow side walk meant lots of traffic noise throughout the night.
Cleanliness & Comfort
Bed sheets were quite worn and one pillow case was stained. sheets did not fully cover the mattress. Shower never got hot and bathroom sink was not well secured to counter. I would have preferred a hotel with perhaps less historical character and more emphasis on comfort and maintenance.
Local specialist: Sarah Metrat
Sarah
Sarah Metrat
Local specialist in Lyon | Replied on Dec 11, 2023
Hi Leanna! I'm absolutely thrilled to read that your family had a blast on the UK trip! 🚀 I'm really happy to know that the itinerary hit the sweet spot between fun and culture. And big thanks for the shoutout to Keith for rocking those tours in Scotland — he's a gem! I was pretty sure it would be a big hit, and it's perfect that he can adapt to the kids but still make it interesting for the parents! I totally understand the time zone juggle; thanks a lot for rolling with it. I know it's... Read more

Hi Leanna!

I'm absolutely thrilled to read that your family had a blast on the UK trip! 🚀 I'm really happy to know that the itinerary hit the sweet spot between fun and culture. And big thanks for the shoutout to Keith for rocking those tours in Scotland — he's a gem! I was pretty sure it would be a big hit, and it's perfect that he can adapt to the kids but still make it interesting for the parents!

I totally understand the time zone juggle; thanks a lot for rolling with it. I know it's the most challenging part when organizing with people on site! I'm sorry about the hiccups with the Blackfriars, but your feedback is gold, and we'll make sure to take it into account.

Thanks so much for letting me plan your adventure; it was great getting to know you, and I'm really happy that you took the step to travel in Scotland in November because even if we had to find some alternatives for a couple of activities, I'm sure the experience was very special.

Can't wait for the next one whenever you're ready (in the UK or in France!)

Thanks again for your trust,
Sarah and the High Point Holidays Team ✨

Very disappointed dissatisfied
Scotland | Aug 20 - Sep 6, 2023

Patte
Patte B.
Lansdale, PA | Reviewed on Oct 08, 2023
In all fairness, it seemed Stephen, not Sarah, did the planning. Unfortunately we encountered many issues with our itinerary. We were in frequent communication with staff since Stephen was on holiday during the majority of our trip. A few issues included tours ‘not paid for’, car rental issues ( wrong car, no gas in car), insufficient coordination time between tours. The staff worked feverishly to make course corrections but this is not how an expensive trip is coordinated and managed, it... Read more

In all fairness, it seemed Stephen, not Sarah, did the planning. Unfortunately we encountered many issues with our itinerary. We were in frequent communication with staff since Stephen was on holiday during the majority of our trip. A few issues included tours ‘not paid for’, car rental issues ( wrong car, no gas in car), insufficient coordination time between tours. The staff worked feverishly to make course corrections but this is not how an expensive trip is coordinated and managed, it created much stress for the 4 people traveling. In addition, we were 2 couples traveling and there was significant disparity in rooms. We consistently had a lower quality and level of room and to date no compensation has been made from the tour company. In fact, all communication since the tour ended have gone unanswered. Very dissatisfied and I would not recommend the local company nor will I use kimkim again, which is quite disappointing since I really thought they had a good business model.

Hotel Reviews
Angel's Share Hotel
New Town, Edinburgh
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Malmaison Aberdeen
Aberdeen
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
The Royal Highland Hotel
Inverness
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
The Albannach Suites
Lochinver
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis,
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Redwood House Hotel
Greshornish
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Kinghouse Hotel
Glen Coe
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
The Glasshouse Hotel
Edinburgh
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Activity Reviews
Cruise of Mull, Iona and Staffa Islands
Cruise of Mull, Iona and Staffa Islands
Scotland
Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Wildlife Spotting Boat Tour
Wildlife Spotting Boat Tour
Lochinver
Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Full day from Stornoway - Westside Historical Circle and Uig and Bernera District.
Full day from Stornoway - Westside Historical Circle and Uig and Bernera District.
Stornoway
Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Secrets of Edinburgh’s Royal Mile - walking tour with castle tickets
Secrets of Edinburgh’s Royal Mile - walking tour with castle tickets
Edinburgh
Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
The Military Tattoo Show
The Military Tattoo Show
Edinburgh
Quality of Experience
St Andrews walking tour of the famous Old Golf course
St Andrews walking tour of the famous Old Golf course
Scotland
Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Dunnottar Castle Tickets
Dunnottar Castle Tickets
Scotland
Quality of Experience
Cairngorms National Park Wildlife Tour with a Specialist
Cairngorms National Park Wildlife Tour with a Specialist
Scotland
Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Culloden Battlefield private tour
Culloden Battlefield private tour
Inverness
Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Local specialist: Sarah Metrat
Sarah
Sarah Metrat
Local specialist in Lyon | Replied on Nov 09, 2023
Dear Patte (and John, Kathy and Mike ) Thanks so much for your valuable feedback. I am sorry to read this feedback and that you were dissatisfied with parts of the trip. I can see you have raised some important points. Thank you for bringing light to some situations, because we have implemented changes since you travelled. I was happy to connect with you when you first made the request, and you're right; it was mainly Stephen who did the planning because he's an amazing Scottish expert. We... Read more

Dear Patte (and John, Kathy and Mike )

Thanks so much for your valuable feedback. I am sorry to read this feedback and that you were dissatisfied with parts of the trip. I can see you have raised some important points. Thank you for bringing light to some situations, because we have implemented changes since you travelled.

I was happy to connect with you when you first made the request, and you're right; it was mainly Stephen who did the planning because he's an amazing Scottish expert. We love working as a team, and from both of us, we're sorry if you feel like we let you down. You're also right; he was away for part of your trip in late August.

During your trip, Stephen was on the phone with you several times (I believe it was in Glencoe/Kingshouse), and in the last part of your trip, there were some phone calls where you seemed satisfied with what was happening at that time. I'm not saying that there were no problems, and I will address those.

However, I have checked thoroughly and not seen any calls or messages from you all since the last day of your trip. We would have, of course, replied to you, but we cannot find any unanswered messages, Patte. I’m sorry if we missed out on anything. Do you want us to get in touch with Stephen and the team? We will be available on +447561636989 when you would like to talk. Please go ahead, Patte; we both prefer calls and hearing your feelings live, and the comments from the four of you. Regarding the review, I’m sorry to only come back to you; I was away for health reasons, and I’m just back at the office.

When it comes to the rental car. We have noted what you said, and discontinued working with this supplier immediately after your reply about this. The quantity of fuel was not sufficient is unsatisfactory. I do remember that we replaced the rental car a couple of days later and I hope that that was satisfactory size-wise.

When it comes to difference in rooms, well there is certainly a problem, but one we cannot always control. The rooms in small hotels/bed and breakfasts are not always standard and so even when the room is in the same category, we cannot guarantee that the view/size/renovation date will be the same. I am sorry that you did not receive the better rooms, and the other couple potentially did. I don’t know what we could have done here, except coordinate better with you. Again, we have learnt something here, and sorry that this hard lesson was on you.

We have, of course, already refunded the tours that you missed, and I hope you saw that on your two credit cards. Additionally we would like to offer you a cash reimbursement as a gesture for what you considered an average experience. We have implemented this towards each couple's credit cards.

I know that you had some allergy problems whilst travelling, are you doing ok?

So, in summary, please do get in touch and we can discuss your concerns Patte.

Sincerely,
Sarah and the team

France trip
France | Sep 18 - Sep 29, 2023

K
kris h.
Deer Valley, AZ | Reviewed on Sep 30, 2023
We were very happy overall with trip and all the help Sarah gave us with our planning. She took the information we had given her on things we'd like to see and do and she outlined for us a perfect trip! We picked up a rental car just outside of Paris and with navigation on our phone, had very little trouble driving all through France. We really liked the flexibility driving gave us as we made several side trips to cities and things we wanted to see along the way and we could stay as long as... Read more

We were very happy overall with trip and all the help Sarah gave us with our planning. She took the information we had given her on things we'd like to see and do and she outlined for us a perfect trip! We picked up a rental car just outside of Paris and with navigation on our phone, had very little trouble driving all through France. We really liked the flexibility driving gave us as we made several side trips to cities and things we wanted to see along the way and we could stay as long as we like, or as little, when we were at our destinations. We were in the regions of Normandy, the Lore Valley and the Dordonge region around Sarlat. All the tickets we needed for various sites were included with good information to go with them. Sarah had also included restaurant suggestions and other various helpful hints to make it easy for us to travel on our own in a foreign country. We did have a tour mishap in Bordeaux , but when we called the emergency number for KimKim, they immediately answered our call and took care of the issue. That was very reassuring! It was great to already have valet service set up to and from the airport and train station to our hotels.

Hotel Reviews
Dormy House
Etretat

We especially liked this hotel! It was a bit hard to figure out how to get up to it, but was so worth it once you are up there overlooking the city. The accommodations were large and it had a nice restaurant, bar and outside sitting area. Very nice!

Authenticity & Character
It wasn't an old city hotel, but it was a very nice hotel in a beach city.
Location
It overlooks the city and beach.
Staff
They were all very helpful.
Cleanliness & Comfort
A large, comfortable room! Very well maintained.
Hôtel Joe M
Paris

The hotel was located in a good part of town and it was easy walking to sites. The bathrooms were very small, but the room was fine.

Authenticity & Character
it was more of a boutique hotel. Very small elevator, hallways, and bathroom.
Location
Staff
very, very helpful!
Cleanliness & Comfort
Chateau de Bellefontaine 4*
Bayeux

The hotel had lovely grounds, but was so far outside of town, that you had to drive to get to town, which wasn't so convenient. The rooms were nice.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Hotel Les Ambassadeurs
Saint-Malo

The rooms were very tiny, but clean and cute. It was right on the beach and an easy walk to a fun shopping and eating area.

Authenticity & Character
vey cute with leopard print carpeting.
Location
Staff
Very nice and helpful with all questions.
Cleanliness & Comfort
small, but nice
Hotel Pavillon de Lys
Amboise

Our room was very nice, but we had an upgrade room, our friends had another room that wasn't as nice- no real shower, and smaller.

Authenticity & Character
Location
very near the city center so easy walking to shopping and dining.
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
La Villa des Consuls
Sarlat-la-Canéda

We had an apartment here. It was in a great location in the city center. It was very nice, but even our 1st floor room was up many winding stairs.

Authenticity & Character
It fit in with the medieval city. We had a nice, bit room.
Location
Right on one of the main streets of Sarlat.
Staff
Very nice! They were very accommodating and helpful
Cleanliness & Comfort
La Maison Bord'eaux
Bordeaux

A bit hard to find as the signage isn't really easy to locate. It was in a good part of town and it was easy walking to get to the sites of the city.

Authenticity & Character
More of a boutique hotel. Very nice, large rooms.
Location
Staff
Very helpful and accomodating.
Cleanliness & Comfort
Hotel OFF Paris Seine 4*
Paris

This was a fun way to end our trip! We were right on the river and we watched the boat travel the river as we ate dinner. It was a different experience. There was a lot of graffiti and homeless in the area so it didn't make you want to get out and walk around at night.

Authenticity & Character
very unique.
Location
It was fun to be on the river.
Staff
very nice
Cleanliness & Comfort
The rooms were like on a cruise ship, a bit small in the bathroom area, but the beds were comfortable and nice.
Activity Reviews
Giverny - House of Monet (Timed tickets provided)
Giverny - House of Monet (Timed tickets provided)
France

WE all enjoyed seeing this. Self guided so you could spend as much time as you liked looking around.

Welcome to Bayeux
Welcome to Bayeux
Bayeux

We enjoyed the Normandy region and the WWII sites. Our guide was very informative.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Afternoon with Da Vinci
Afternoon with Da Vinci
Amboise

It was interesting and the grounds with his inventions/bridges was fun to walk trough.

Quality of Experience
Discover the châteaux de Chambord and Chenonceau on your own with tickets provided
Discover the châteaux de Chambord and Chenonceau on your own with tickets provided
France

We really enjoyed touring these 2 chateaus. They were different from each other, but both amazing and the grounds were lovely.

Quality of Experience
Tickets to Prehistory Museum, Lascaux IV  and Parc du Thot
Tickets to Prehistory Museum, Lascaux IV and Parc du Thot
Sarlat

This was very interesting to see and different that the other trip/tours we did. We all enjoyed seeing it and hearing about how it came to be discovered.

Quality of Experience
Bordeaux Best Food Tour
Bordeaux Best Food Tour
Bordeaux

There was a mishap with this tour, so we didn't go on it. As it turned out, it's a good thing we didn't as I don't think we would have made our train if we had.

Private transfer in Paris
Private transfer in Paris
Paris

This is the best part of using a tour company to set things up for you. it was so nice to have transportation to and from the airport and train to our hotel. It is a nightmare driving in Paris and it was wonderful not having to worry about that!

Quality of Experience
The company always sent a text the day before to tell us who our diver would be and they were easy to locate in each destinations. It was a godsend to have this service set up for us!
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Every driver was very courteous, and professional.
Transport
The Mercedes vans were perfect for the 4 of us and luggage.
Local specialist: Sarah Metrat
Sarah
Sarah Metrat
Local specialist in Lyon | Replied on Oct 04, 2023

Hi Kris!! Thanks so much for this detailed feedback; it really helps us improve our experiences! I'm delighted to read that you had a great time and that my colleagues were able to assist you smoothly in Bordeaux (sorry about that hiccup!). I believe this itinerary provides a comprehensive overview of French history, culture, and the diversity of landscapes and gastronomy we have to offer. You've been a pleasure to work with and I can't thank you enough for your trust!
Sarah and the High Point Holidays Team

Incredible Experience In France!
France | Sep 9 - Sep 20, 2023

Todd
Todd J.
Eau Claire, WI | Reviewed on Sep 23, 2023
Sarah didn’t disappoint with her travel suggestions and itinerary! The tours were fun and exactly what we were looking for in our first trip in Europe. We met wonderful people on our journey from Paris to Nice! Our hotels and tour guides were amazing. We can’t wait for our next big adventure! Read more

Sarah didn’t disappoint with her travel suggestions and itinerary! The tours were fun and exactly what we were looking for in our first trip in Europe. We met wonderful people on our journey from Paris to Nice! Our hotels and tour guides were amazing. We can’t wait for our next big adventure!

Hotel Reviews
Hotel Rosalie
Paris

Fantastic people and very clean. We especially loved our breakfasts!

Authenticity & Character
Location
Easy to access to the metro.
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Philippe Le Bon
Dijon

Amazing staff and quiet location with easy access to the city center.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Le Phénix Hôtel
Lyon

We had a wonderful view overlooking the river!

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Hôtel de l’Horloge
Avignon

Very very cute hotel. The staff were very helpful getting us settled into our room.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Activity Reviews
Eiffel Tower Tickets
Eiffel Tower Tickets
Paris

Definitely worth seeing if you visit Paris!

Quality of Experience
Transport
Metro is easy to use to get there.
Montmartre Local Gastronomy Tour
Montmartre Local Gastronomy Tour
Paris

Wonderful guide and fun people!

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Moulin Rouge - Big Night Out - Tickets only
Moulin Rouge - Big Night Out - Tickets only
Paris
Quality of Experience
La Cave du Palais Burgundy Wine Tasting Experience
La Cave du Palais Burgundy Wine Tasting Experience
Dijon
Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
The best of Bourgogne
The best of Bourgogne
France

Alex was a great guide! Very knowledgeable. Loved our lunch as well!

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Lyon Old Town Food tour
Lyon Old Town Food tour
Lyon
Private discovery the Beaujolais & the Medieval Town of Perouges
Private discovery the Beaujolais & the Medieval Town of Perouges
France

Julie is the person to see for an incredible experience through wine country!

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Discover Chateauneuf du Pape & the Luberon
Discover Chateauneuf du Pape & the Luberon
Avignon
Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Private transfer in town
Private transfer in town
France
Private driver transfer
Paris
Local specialist: Sarah Metrat
Sarah
Sarah Metrat
Local specialist in Lyon | Replied on Oct 04, 2023

Hi Todd and Rebecca! Thank you so much for your helpful and kind review, and for sharing the photos – we love seeing our travelers in action! It has been a pleasure putting together this trip for you, and you've been delightful to work with. I'm glad you had the opportunity to explore our gastronomic treasures and experience the beauty of our country. If you're up for another adventure in Europe, please don't hesitate to get in touch, as we also operate in the UK! Thanks again for your trust!
Sarah & the High Point Holidays Team

Great
France | Aug 18 - Aug 28, 2023

N
Nikita B.
Edison, NJ | Reviewed on Sep 08, 2023
Great itinerary for our South of France trip! Sarah was kind and patient with all of our requests. Read more

Great itinerary for our South of France trip! Sarah was kind and patient with all of our requests.

Hotel Reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
Nice

Very close to the Promenade and popular areas. Plenty of restaurants nearby to choose from. The staff is AMAZING. Super kind and helpful. My sister was not feeling well the second day of the trip and they went above and beyond to make her comfortable. Rooms are SMALL but it is to be expected being so close to the beach and tourist area.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Hotel Escaletto
Aix-en-Provence

Cute and clean hotel! Comfy beds and modern interior. Very close to the center and shopping/dining options. Good breakfast options. Staff was fantastic!! Although it is modern interior, the building itself is very old so beware of drainage issues as proven-- we had an issue with the drainage (will save the gory details but it STUNK!) in our room at 11pm at night and Elsie quickly and efficiently moved us to a different room. The rooftop terrace is a must to unwind with a cocktail!

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Elsie is fantastic and helped us late at night when the room had an issue.
Cleanliness & Comfort
Hotel Florence Nice
Nice

Spacious and close to the center and lot of shopping/dining options. We had our AC unit leak at 4am in the morning, and the front desk were able to help us with extra towels and buckets (not a lot they, or anyone, can do at 4am). The staff was super helpful and accommodating- they upgraded us to a junior suite the next afternoon and even took care of moving our bags to the new room, when it was ready.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Activity Reviews
Half Day Trip to Eze, Monaco & Monte Carlo
Half Day Trip to Eze, Monaco & Monte Carlo
France

This trip covers a lot in short amount of time, so if you want to spend more time in these areas opt for a full day tour. The tour guide was nice and informative.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Full Day on the Coast: Cannes, Antibes, & Saint-Paul de Vence
Full Day on the Coast: Cannes, Antibes, & Saint-Paul de Vence
Nice

The tour was mediocre to begin with but turned horrible later in the day. Although the tour says "Full day" it is half a day--stops at Cannes and Antibes were rushed. On the last stop of the day at Saint-Paul de Vence (~1hr away from Nice) we lost our day bag at a coffee shop and my sister had to go back and track our steps to find it, the guide was extremely insulting (I waited by the car while my sister was looking for our bag because we were concerned the driver would leave without us) I heard him talk with the other members of our tour group how "Americans have no respect to anyone else's time" and "I know Indians do not have a good educational background" (I am of Indian decent) totally inappropriate and insulting. His "another tour at 2pm and you made me very late" statements were very unnecessary and overshadowed the happy moments that day for everyone. The whole energy of the group changed afterwards. I understand these tour guides have multiple tours on the same day booked and have to be very precise on their timings-- but there was no need to stoop low and make those comments. I know it is biased opinion, but I urge you to not book with this tour company. No one deserves to be insulted on their vacation.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
zero star if possible. Insulting and horrible man.
Transport
atleast the AC worked.
Perfume Atelier Grasse - Hands on Workshop at Galimard
Perfume Atelier Grasse - Hands on Workshop at Galimard
Grasse

If you are someone who loves perfumes this is a must do! The staff is very helpful and guide you through the process. better to use a personal car than public transport as they were unreliable (at least on the day we visited Grasse).

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Public transport unrealiable-- use personal transport if possible
Discover Cassis & the Luberon
Discover Cassis & the Luberon
Aix-en-Provence

Amazing day! great tour guide. Gabrielle was very informative and extremely helpful. She used a mic so everyone could hear what she was saying.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Guide had a mic so everyone in the car can hear.
Wine Tour in Cezanne Countryside
Wine Tour in Cezanne Countryside
Aix-en-Provence
Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Provencal cooking class in a local's home
Provencal cooking class in a local's home
France
Local specialist: Sarah Metrat

A great trip to the French Alps
France | Jul 28 - Aug 9, 2023

Simon
Simon G.
Shaw, DC | Reviewed on Aug 31, 2023
Sarah and the team at High Point Holidays planned a wonderful outdoor/hiking trip to Lyon and the Savoy region. We hiked some of the alps, road bikes and saw a lot, encountering places that we wouldn't have possible discovered without them. I would highly recommend their services in planning future trips to the region. Sarah was very responsive and helpful in responding to requests to make changes to our itinerary, and checked in consistently before and during the trip as well. We felt very... Read more

Sarah and the team at High Point Holidays planned a wonderful outdoor/hiking trip to Lyon and the Savoy region. We hiked some of the alps, road bikes and saw a lot, encountering places that we wouldn't have possible discovered without them. I would highly recommend their services in planning future trips to the region. Sarah was very responsive and helpful in responding to requests to make changes to our itinerary, and checked in consistently before and during the trip as well. We felt very supported.

Hotel Reviews
Hotel de Bonlieu
Annecy

It was very centrally located and the breakfast was solid, but the room was small, cramped and the hotel didn't have the nicest furnishings, they felt a bit cheap.

Authenticity & Character
It had a very modern feel, and the furnishings felt somewhat cheap
Location
It was very close to the old part of Annecy and the lake
Staff
The staff was very helpful
Cleanliness & Comfort
It was clean but the bed/chairs weren't very comfortable in the room
Hôtel Le Refuge des Aiglons
Chamonix-Mont-Blanc

Lovely hotel in Chamonix, excellent food and lovely spa/pool area. The room was comfortable, decently sized with a nice balcony and nicely furnished.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Activity Reviews
Lyon City Card
Lyon City Card
Lyon

The card was nice to have, but we only wound up going to one museum and using the metro once.

Lyon E-Bike Tour and Local Snack Sampling
Lyon E-Bike Tour and Local Snack Sampling
Lyon

The bicycle tour was nice. Our guide was knowledgeable and a good group leader. The food tasting, however was a bit of a joke, they gave us a plate of cheese and a plate of sliced salami. I think the title 'food tasting' was a bit misleading, as there wasn't very much, and no vegetarian options aside from the cheese.

Guides, Drivers and Staff
Private Walking Tour of Annecy's Historical Center
Private Walking Tour of Annecy's Historical Center
Annecy

Our guide was wonderful and since we went on a Tuesday, the Palais and castle were closed to the public so we got a private tour of both, which was great because the rest of Annecy was absolutely mobbed with tourists.

The Aiguille du Midi, the unmissable high-mountain experience! (Round trip tickets)
The Aiguille du Midi, the unmissable high-mountain experience! (Round trip tickets)
Chamonix

The Aiguille du Midi was great, but the Mer de Glace ice cave should definitely be skipped. The glacier has receded so much that you walk for close to an hour down stairs to get to an ice cave they've carved out the remaining ice, which is partly covered with a tarp to keep it from melting further. The whole way down there are markers of the former heights of the glacier going back 30 years. It is important to have the awareness about climate change but we found the whole experience pretty depressing. The path/ice cave was also so clogged with tourists taking selfies that it made for a very slow frustrating walk down and up to the ice cave. I would recommend doing the historic train up but skipping the ice cave.

Local specialist: Sarah Metrat
Sarah
Sarah Metrat
Local specialist in Lyon | Replied on Sep 08, 2023

Bonjour Simon!

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback; it will greatly assist us and our partners. I genuinely appreciate you taking the time to provide it, with so much details.
I'm delighted to hear that you and Tori had a fantastic time. If you ever have another opportunity to visit Europe, France has so much more to offer, and we can also create some wonderful self-guided itineraries in the UK. I can already envision you on a Highlands Roadtrip!

Once again, thank you for placing your trust in us; it was a pleasure helping you!!
Sarah & The High Point Holidays Team