Specialists
Reviews for Coast to Coast Adventures
4.9

Coast to Coast Adventures

We are a small, dedicated team of 20, resident in Costa Rica with our head office and a warehouse based in the capital, San Jose, two camps bordering the Pacuare River and our rafting warehouse nearby at Guayacan. We design, organize and run multi­activity travel within Costa Rica, Panama, and nearby Nicaragua and are expanding to include other Central American countries. Established in 1994, we have assisted many adventurers in exceeding their expectations while connecting with nature and the elements.

Featured trips & expertise

Costa Rica's Relaxation and Wildlife Tour - 12 Days

Costa Rica is a nation as biodiverse as it is beautiful and the best way to experience all this nature and beauty is by touring the country's many national parks, reserves, and protected areas. Also, no trip to Costa Rica is complete without visiting the famous Pacific coast. This nearly two-week itinerary delivers both these highlights with plenty of time to kick back, relax, and enjoy the Costa Rican way of living "Pura Vida!"

Costa Rica's Pacific Coast
Costa Rica Cycling Adventure - 8 Days

Cycle from coast to coast on this epic adventure tour that will take you from the Caribbean Sea to the Pacific Ocean. See the real Costa Rica as you bike from village to village—past the farms, banana plantations, and sugar cane fields of the lowlands. You'll experience all this gorgeous country has to offer as you make your way towards the west coast, from jungle rivers to mountains to an active volcano to Costa Rica's famous coffee growing region.  After an unforgettable cross-country bike ride, celebrate your achievement on the beaches of the storied Manuel Antonio National Park.

Pacuare river rafting trip
Costa Rica Adventure: Whitewater Rafting and Surfing - 5 Days

Make your trip to Costa Rica one to remember! From a whitewater rafting adventure along miles of tropical scenery on the Pacuare River to an excursion to one of the country's top surf spots, this short and sweet itinerary is jam-packed with thrilling aquatic experiences.

Red-Eyed Tree Frog
Costa Rica National Parks Adventure - 14 Days

A whopping 25% of Costa Rica's total area is protected. This is a conscious effort to preserve the nation's abundant natural treasures in the form of various national parks. To this end, we've created a dream itinerary for intrepid nature lovers that includes the four best parks in the country. So clear two weeks off your calendar—it's time to experience Costa Rica to the fullest extent.

Maleku Masks
Costa Rica's Caribbean Coast -Tortuguero & Puerto Viejo - 7 Days

Perfect for travelers looking to hike and observe wildlife, this itinerary starts and ends in San José and includes many of the Caribbean coast's best destinations—including a famous sea turtle nesting site in Tortuguero and Cahuita National Park. Compared to the Pacific Coast, the Caribbean side tends to be less crowded, with more cultural diversity. From nature treks to pristine beaches, this itinerary offers something for everyone who wants to experience splendid scenery with a laid-back feel. 

Beautiful Toucan in Corcovado National Park
Costa Rica Off the Beaten Path: Osa Peninsula - 5 Days

The Osa Peninsula is located in one of the most remote areas of Costa Rica. It's brimming with beaches and virgin rainforest home to an abundance of exotic wildlife. In a mere five days, you'll fully explore this gem of biodiversity through nature hikes, scuba diving, and other adventurous activities.

Recent Trip Reviews for Coast to Coast Adventures

Tortuguero & puerto viejo - 7 days, Costa Rica - Sep 8 - Sep 14, 2018

Traveler: Henna G. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

The booking process was easy; Randall was very responsive and able to fulfill all our requests. All activities were well organized and transfers ran smoothly. Costa Rica's beauty takes your breath away! Our Tortuguero guide Rolando from the Laguna Lodge hotel was one of the best ones we've ever had. We even saw a giant sea turtle lay eggs - such a wonderful experience. Thank you!

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Henna,

I want to appreciate your feedback after the finalization of your trip to my country. I am so glad that you had a good time during your visit and that you also had the chance to see the sea turtle on the beach doing its nest, it is definitely a lifetime experience.

Best regards and I hope to welcome you again in the future!
Randall

Costa rica adventure: whitewater, beaches & volcanos - 8 days, Costa Rica - Aug 28 - Sep 4, 2018

Traveler: Stephen M. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Costa Rica. I was looking for a nice blend of nature, adventure, beaches, nightlife and relaxation ... and this trip offered exactly what I was looking for. I booked with relatively short notice and didn't really have the time to research in advance. Fortunately, the local specialist Randall asked what I was looking for and customised an awesome trip. From the moment I arrived to the moment I left, everything was planned and scheduled (including pick-ups,... read more

I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Costa Rica. I was looking for a nice blend of nature, adventure, beaches, nightlife and relaxation ... and this trip offered exactly what I was looking for. I booked with relatively short notice and didn't really have the time to research in advance. Fortunately, the local specialist Randall asked what I was looking for and customised an awesome trip. From the moment I arrived to the moment I left, everything was planned and scheduled (including pick-ups, drop offs, hotels, trips, meals etc). I was also given a detailed trip plan upon arrival meaning that I knew exactly where I had to be and when. In the end, I experienced many of the things Costa Rica had to offer and had a fantastic time. I would very much recommend kimkim.

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Stephen,

It makes me really happy to read your comments and that you have enjoyed your vacations as you mentioned in your review keeping always a good balance of different experiences along the trip. I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in a near future - Pura Vida!!!

Randall

Costa rica, Costa Rica - Aug 1 - Aug 6, 2018

Traveler: Andy H. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

To be honest, I’d never heard of Kimkim, coast to coast adventures, or Randall. This made me a little bit wary of sending over a few thousand pounds and just assuming it would all be ok. Randall seemed very nice over email and we were keen to support local business in the country were visiting rather than some massive tour company, so we took the plunge.

I really didn’t need to worry at all.

We’ve had a stunning time in Costa Rica - truly the trip of a lifetime. Whatever words or photos... read more

To be honest, I’d never heard of Kimkim, coast to coast adventures, or Randall. This made me a little bit wary of sending over a few thousand pounds and just assuming it would all be ok. Randall seemed very nice over email and we were keen to support local business in the country were visiting rather than some massive tour company, so we took the plunge.

I really didn’t need to worry at all.

We’ve had a stunning time in Costa Rica - truly the trip of a lifetime. Whatever words or photos just don’t do it justice so I won’t even try. What can be said for definite is that I’d totally trust Kimkim again and, above all Randall is a total legend who sorted everything out to perfection. All the cogs and wheels that needed to turn at the same time did like clockwork and it’s all gone without a hitch. We were met at the chaotic airport after a gruelling 10 hr flight with 2 tired kids, by a lovely friendly guy who got us to our hotel. The next day we started the 3 day tour of a lifetime to Tortuguero National Park, just as Randall had recommended, it was one of those life moments to never be forgotten - the moment lasted 3 days though.

Everywhere Randall has booked for us was expecting us and we just had to get ourselves to the agreed place to find everything ready, and taken care of for us. We found ourselves on the best trips with the best guides while others struggled in the heat.

It’s hard to know what else to say, other than Randall totally made this holiday, I can’t recommend him highly enough and if we come back, and we’d very much like to, I know who to get in touch with.

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Andy,

I really appreciate your comments and the review about the whole process, since the first day that you contacted kimkim to this day. It is very moving to read your review Andy.

We thank you for trusting us and for giving us the opportunity to organize your family vacation. I will certainly be more than happy to welcome you again in our country and design a new adventure in this tinny but diverse paradise.

All the best to you and your family and I hope you have a nice flight back home tomorrow...see you soon and Pura Vida for visiting us!

Randall

Michelle

7 day mother/son trip in costa rica, Costa Rica - Jun 10 - Jun 17, 2018

Traveler: Michelle D. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

We had a wonderful trip, my son LOVED the zip line and the horseback riding. We also booked a chocolate tour in La Fortuna, and a naturalist-led tour of the rainforest in Manuel Antonio. All of the hotels were great, in perfect locations. I was a single mom traveling with my 9 year old son, and I felt safe the entire time. Thank you for setting everything up for us, it will be a trip we never forget :)

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you Michelle for giving us the opportunity to welcome you and your son in our country and organize a vacation, that it makes me really happy to read, any of you will not forget...all the best and Pura Vida!! - Randall

Federica

Nature and adventure , Costa Rica - Mar 8 - Mar 23, 2018

Traveler: Federica M. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

We have recently returned from two weeks in Costa Rica and we loved it!
From day one the communication with Randall was amazing. He got back to all of my messages within hours. His speed and kind way were really helpful. We booked the trip a few months ahead and Randall kept in touch with us leading up to it, a nice touch. 

When we arrived in Costa Rica, again everything was very well organised and Randall always kept us up to date with those couple of minor changes in flights or pick up... read more

We have recently returned from two weeks in Costa Rica and we loved it!
From day one the communication with Randall was amazing. He got back to all of my messages within hours. His speed and kind way were really helpful. We booked the trip a few months ahead and Randall kept in touch with us leading up to it, a nice touch. 

When we arrived in Costa Rica, again everything was very well organised and Randall always kept us up to date with those couple of minor changes in flights or pick up times we encountered. Nothing ever seemed an inconvenience for him and it was great to know I could message him if needed.

In terms of the holiday itself, the places we visited were beautiful. Cloud forest, jungle, Pacific and Atlantic coasts. Lots of animals and activities everywhere plus time to relax. The holiday really ticked all the boxes.

Costa Rica is a stunning country and the way of life there is something I have taken home with me.. Pura Vida!!

 

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Federica,

I want to thank you so much your feedback about the trip and for sharing your experience, it really makes me so happy that you and James have enjoyed the arrangements that we did for your vacation, I just hope to have the chance to welcome you again in a future in my country and meet you in person this time.

Greetings from Costa Rica & Pura Vida!!! :)

Randall

Trip to costa rica, Costa Rica - Mar 13 - Mar 20, 2018

Traveler: Debra H. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

Costa Rica is a beautiful country with extremely welcoming and genuinely nice people. Overall we had a nice vacation in Costa Rica but mostly because we were able to roll with the things we found disappointing. We found that all the tours/adventures booked for us by Randall were excellent. The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and the tours/adventures themselves were well executed. The guides were always on time and went out of their way to be welcoming.

The accommodations were from... read more

Costa Rica is a beautiful country with extremely welcoming and genuinely nice people. Overall we had a nice vacation in Costa Rica but mostly because we were able to roll with the things we found disappointing. We found that all the tours/adventures booked for us by Randall were excellent. The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and the tours/adventures themselves were well executed. The guides were always on time and went out of their way to be welcoming.

The accommodations were from OK to terrible. The Country Inn in San Jose was fine. There was no real restaurant to have dinner at night. The casino next door that did have dinner, was not an appropriate place to have my young son visit.

The hotel in La Fortuna, was serviceable. We did not enjoy the bunkhouse feel of the room. Although the grounds were nice, the hotel room was just ok. Again, there was no restaurant for dinner and we had to walk to town in the dark when we arrived, not knowing where we were going.

Finally, the hotel in Puerto Viejo, the Cariblue, was terrible. Even though we switched rooms, the second room had roaches, had a shower that didn't drain well, curtains that didn't provide privacy and was generally built with old shoddy materials. It was really depressing. And although it had views of the ocean, they were across a busy road with loud motorcycles, construction trucks and other vehicles. It was very loud all night. We did call Coast to Coast about our disappointment, but nothing was done. We felt trapped and frustrated.

I have to say that in my dealings with Randall prior to our trip, I felt he tried very hard to meet our expectations for our trip. However, we obviously were not on the same page (with him or Kim Kim) regarding what I wanted for our vacation in terms of accommodations and beach feel. We expected to stay at much higher quality hotels, like at the Tabacon where we enjoyed the hot springs. And, the Caribbean side was not what I was looking for during the "beach" portion of our vacation. We found the Caribbean much more suited to the "surfer" crowd and was not appropriate for the family vacation we wanted. It was a real party scene and not the tranquil wide open beaches we were hoping to relax on. Most of our tour guides told us that that would be found on the Pacific side. We were really upset that we spent most of our time on the Caribbean. Also we also did not realize that we would be in a van for over 12 hours (at least 4 hours through a congested commercial area that was not very attractive) getting from one location to another. I wished that had been made clear.

In terms of our dealings with Coast to Coast in Costa Rica, I have mixed reviews. Our driver, Jose, was always on time, was very knowledgeable and stopped at restaurants he knew along the way for lunch/snacks. We really appreciated that. However, we did not enjoy being in his older, loud van for 8 hours. We also found him to be an aggressive driver and he seemed upset when we told him to be more careful. We also found him moody, especially after the trip back to San Jose, after we had complained about our hotel to Randall. This made for an unpleasant ride back.

I put the blame on Kim Kim, Coast to Coast and myself for not discerning or appropriately communicating what we were getting/asking for. You should let your customers know that you provide middle of the road accommodations for a middle market. I will not recommend any of your companies to my friends.

Debra Hernandez

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Debra,

I would like to thank you so much for your comments. As I always say, it is quite important to us to receive completely honest feedback.

In Costa Rica, the fortunes of hotels can change very quickly and when we receive complaints, we like to act quickly. We will certainly be looking into making a new site inspection, mainly to the hotel Cariblue on the Caribbean coast, which is ranked within the best 10 hotels in that area and I always try to offer trips that are perfectly... read more

Hi Debra,

I would like to thank you so much for your comments. As I always say, it is quite important to us to receive completely honest feedback.

In Costa Rica, the fortunes of hotels can change very quickly and when we receive complaints, we like to act quickly. We will certainly be looking into making a new site inspection, mainly to the hotel Cariblue on the Caribbean coast, which is ranked within the best 10 hotels in that area and I always try to offer trips that are perfectly tailored to my travelers interests, and as you very much wanted to experience the Afro-Caribbean culture of Puerto Viejo, I made sure to include it in your trip. However, I apologize for not setting more realistic expectations for the limited variety of hotels available in this lesser-known part of the country. While clean and safe, there are other areas in Costa Rica that would have better suited your accommodation and beach preferences had our communication been clearer on what your expectations were. Moving forward I will be sure to educate my travellers on this subject so we can both be sure the destinations perfectly suit their travel styles.

As you said, perhaps the Pacific coast would be a better area for you to stay and I mentioned that to your husband when he called us the day that you arrived in Puerto Viejo, for an obvious reason, we could not take you that day from one coast to the other which was the only option that I think you would be happy to.

As far as the driver from Arenal at 8:00 am to the Caribbean coast, you had included that day a 2- hours tour in the middle to the Sloth Sanctuary, that is the reason why you arrived at the Caribbean coast about 4:30 pm, 8 hours and a half after you were picked up in Arenal

I am very sorry to hear about the bad feeling that you have at the end of the trip because the most important thing to me is to create unforgettable vacations for people who visit us. We will take your comments very seriously as we are a small company but one that prides itself on the service we offer and we can only improve on this with feedback from clients.

Best regards,
Randall

Best of costa rica in 7 days: explore jungles, volcanoes and beaches, Costa Rica - Feb 21 - Feb 27, 2018

Traveler: SHENG L. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

Randall has been very responsible in tailoring our tour according to my request, with many back and forth. It’s been a great pleasure to work with him on putting the tour together.

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Sheng,

Thank you so much for your review, it makes me so happy that you felt satisfied with the service received from me along this process and that at the end, you and your parents had a nice experience during your visit to my country, that was my main goal.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in a near future on a new adventure.

Best,
Randall

Best of costa rica in 7 days: explore jungles, volcanoes and beaches, Costa Rica - Dec 29 - Jan 6, 2018

Traveler: Teresa K. - Local specialist: Randall Jiménez

We had a fabulous trip. I had asked for an active, adventurous itinerary, and that's exactly what we got. I'd have to say the highlight was river rafting, and camping on the river. It was gorgeous and fun and our guide Maurice was absolutely fabulous. He was a great guide on the river and fun companion, sharing lots of interesting things about the river, animals and Costa Rica. The food was excellent and the camp was comfortable, the rafting was exciting but we felt safe throughout.

The... read more

We had a fabulous trip. I had asked for an active, adventurous itinerary, and that's exactly what we got. I'd have to say the highlight was river rafting, and camping on the river. It was gorgeous and fun and our guide Maurice was absolutely fabulous. He was a great guide on the river and fun companion, sharing lots of interesting things about the river, animals and Costa Rica. The food was excellent and the camp was comfortable, the rafting was exciting but we felt safe throughout.

The trip to La Fortuna was easy, and our guide Roy for the hanging bridges and waterfall was great. We really appreciated that he wasn't in a rush and that we could take our time through the woods and enjoy. He had interesting information to share about all the animals we saw.

The ziplining was fun and enjoyed by all. It was great to have the woods all to ourselves, and was a good experience even in the rain.

The only glitch in our trip was the trip from Arenal to Quepos. Initially a vehicle that was too small for our group was sent, so we had to wait about 45 minutes for a 2nd vehicle. We all fit in the 2nd vehicle, but not by much - it was very cramped, and the driver was not smooth.

Our time on the coast was lovely - snorkeling was fun, and it was good to have a day on our own. We organized a night hike for ourselves which was also fun.

We reached out to Randall partway through the trip to change our hotel in San Jose for the return. The KC hotel was not in a neighborhood where we could easily walk to restaurants, and we got hassled a bit when we were out even though it was not late. He was very accomodating, booked us in the Sleep Inn which was perfect. We were able to walk to a nice restaurant for our final dinner in San Jose. I also appreciate that he was able to hold a spot on the tour for my husband, as he wasn't sure he'd be able to join us til just a couple of weeks before the trip. Overall he was very helpful and a pleasure to work with.

Randall Jiménez, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Kristin,

I would like to thank you so much for your additional comments. It is very refreshing to have clients be completely honest and for the transfer from Arenal to Manuel Antonio, I am very sorry to hear about this. We will take your comments very seriously as we are a small company but one that prides itself on the service we offer and we can only improve on this with feedback from clients.

Many thanks. We hope you will come and visit us again in the future.

Best regards,
Randall