Kimkim Trip Reviews for Patagonia

Reviews from actual kimkim travelers. We publish all reviews.
4.3
(6 reviews)
Read 6 verified reviews by travelers who booked their trip on kimkim.

You can also read reviews about kimkim on 3rd party sites including Google, TrustPilot and Yelp.

Really great trip to Patagonia! · Patagonia - Nov 22 - Dec 1, 2019

Traveler: Melanie G. - Local specialist: Erin Wiley

I was very impressed with the kimkim platform and Dittmar Adventures! Erin was extremely helpful from the very first moment that I requested information, responded quickly, and worked with me to build a customized trip that fit into my budget and schedule. Not having to manage the logistics on my own made the planning so much easier.

Highly recommend the guided tours of Torre Del Paine, Perito Mereno Glacier, the Estancia and the guided hikes via Walk Patagonia (Pablo was great). All of... read more

I was very impressed with the kimkim platform and Dittmar Adventures! Erin was extremely helpful from the very first moment that I requested information, responded quickly, and worked with me to build a customized trip that fit into my budget and schedule. Not having to manage the logistics on my own made the planning so much easier.

Highly recommend the guided tours of Torre Del Paine, Perito Mereno Glacier, the Estancia and the guided hikes via Walk Patagonia (Pablo was great). All of these tours were very well run, and the guides provided very interesting information.

The one suggestion I have for the future- unfortunately, due to weather our Penguin tour in Punta Arenas via Solo Expediciones was cancelled. It is very important to have a plan B for this ahead of time, because it seems that the penguin tour is frequently canceled for weather and the “alternate Condor Tour” offered by Solo Expediciones was extremely disappointing.

Thank you to Erin and Julia for your responsiveness and for setting us up with a great trip!

Bariloche & El Calafate Classic Tour - 9 Days · Patagonia - Sep 7 - Sep 13, 2019

Traveler: Barbara K. - Local specialist: Erin Wiley

Erin was super helpful in getting us all that we needed for our trip to Patagonia. She put together a completely customized itinerary to suit our needs. Everyone who was scheduled to pick us up and bring us somewhere was on time, was very pleasant, and the transfers went smoothly, with one exception, upon our leaving Torres del Paine National Park. In that case it was the other company that had some confusion in their paperwork and was expecting to pick up other people. The tour guide,... read more

Erin was super helpful in getting us all that we needed for our trip to Patagonia. She put together a completely customized itinerary to suit our needs. Everyone who was scheduled to pick us up and bring us somewhere was on time, was very pleasant, and the transfers went smoothly, with one exception, upon our leaving Torres del Paine National Park. In that case it was the other company that had some confusion in their paperwork and was expecting to pick up other people. The tour guide, Simon, for that portion, was informative and entertaining and spoke great English, and the transfers throughout Glacier National Park were smooth as well. Scenery was amazing.
One tip: don't accept the first room offered by hotel reception staff upon check-in. We traveled at a very slow time of the year and in each case were assigned teeny rooms with no views -- despite the low occupancy rates at that time -- until we spoke up. This was not KimKim's fault at all, but thought they should know. In each case we did succeed in getting much nicer rooms. Squeaky wheels . . . .
I do recommend this company highly and don't know how much time I would have wasted trying to do all the research on my own.

Erin Wiley profile photo
Erin Wiley, local specialist, responded to this review:

Barbara,

You were SUCH a pleasure to work with and the feedback that you sent us is invaluable, thank you so very much. If you ever make it back to Patagonia for round two, be sure to reach out and maybe we could meet actually meet in person!

All the best,
Erin

Not a good experience · Patagonia - Sep 15 - Sep 24, 2019

Traveler: Helen S. - Local specialist: Erin Wiley

1. We lost 2 hours from exploring Perito Merino because the company Erin
contracted us with forgot to pick us up. When we brought our concern to her attention, she didn’t seem to care about the anxiety I had to go through not knowing if I’ll ever see the glaciers that
I came for from far? And the little to no Spanish we spoke trying to figure out what happened? Thanks to a personal connection our hotel owner had with
the local companies, they figured out that we were forgotten and were able... read more

1. We lost 2 hours from exploring Perito Merino because the company Erin
contracted us with forgot to pick us up. When we brought our concern to her attention, she didn’t seem to care about the anxiety I had to go through not knowing if I’ll ever see the glaciers that
I came for from far? And the little to no Spanish we spoke trying to figure out what happened? Thanks to a personal connection our hotel owner had with
the local companies, they figured out that we were forgotten and were able to get a hold of the company. Once the company showed up, the tour guide rushed us in the park so we don’t miss the last running boat in the
afternoon. When I called Laura via emergency line, she promised a full
refund for that day because of what we had to go through.

2. I hired KimKim to make sure my religious dietary restrictions were
respected and not to have us starve with the 22km hike to Torres Base Camp.

3. In Paine Grande, they didn’t have running water. So we weren't even able
to brush out teeth or take a shower during our stay. They told us
maintenance is working on the water. They charged us each 5 pesos for the
towel. They promised us warm warmer the morning after, which never
happened. How can you run a business with no running water? Or warm water
even in winter?

4. On our way to ElChalten, Walk Patagonia left us hanging yesterday in the
van in-front of the airport for over an hour waiting for passengers to
board. We were freezing in the car. Someone should have let us know about
this.

5. We missed our meals yesterday because we had red meat in our meal and we
were not sure if it was pork or not. The hotel tried to call Walk Patagonia
to check but no one was answering the call. We had no idea what time we
were supposed to be picked up. The hotel told us 8:30am, however it was not
until 9am that a car came to pick us up.

6. Walk Patagonia sent us a bottle of wine to apologize about their poor
service. I told the hotel receptionist that I have let you (Erin) know that
we don’t drink alcohol. I let her have it. However, she contacted the
company to let them know about the bottle of wine. They sent me a box of
sweet today.

Thanks!

Erin Wiley profile photo
Erin Wiley, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Helen,

It's very unfortunate some of the issues that came up during your trip. We very much appreciate your feedback as it helps us to keep learning and growing. We've followed up personally and believe that all of this has been resolved. Wishing you and Tyson the best from Patagonia!

All the best,
Erin

Best Treks in Patagonia · Patagonia - May 3 - May 7, 2019

Traveler: Kate D. - Local specialist: Mery Morelli

All came together well. Guides were very knowledgeable and had a sense of humour which is always a bonus. Mery had everything planned and organized. Thank you 😊

Mery Morelli profile photo
Mery Morelli, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Kate!

Thanks for your feedback! It is great to know that you had a wonderful time in Patagonia and everything went well as planned!

I hope you contact us in a next adventure!
Regards,
Mery

Kate

5 days in Patagonia, February · Patagonia - Feb 19 - Feb 25, 2019

Traveler: Kate J. - Local specialist: Erin Wiley

Erin was a delight to work with. She was very prompt in responding to our questions, took our feedback on board and managed to put together our ideal itinerary. We had fairly limited time and quite a few things to fit in, but Erin managed it! Everything worked super well, all transfers on time and comfortable and the local partners she put us in touch with for the hiking equipment, lunches etc were also super lovely and helpful.
As 2 friends with very busy and quite stressful jobs in big... read more

Erin was a delight to work with. She was very prompt in responding to our questions, took our feedback on board and managed to put together our ideal itinerary. We had fairly limited time and quite a few things to fit in, but Erin managed it! Everything worked super well, all transfers on time and comfortable and the local partners she put us in touch with for the hiking equipment, lunches etc were also super lovely and helpful.
As 2 friends with very busy and quite stressful jobs in big cities, we just didn't have the time and mental energy to figure out this itinerary by ourselves. Having Erin take care of things so well for us was amazing and meant we could just relax and enjoy with full peace of mind that we were in expert hands. Thank you Erin & team!

Erin Wiley profile photo
Erin Wiley, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Kate,

Thank you SO MUCH for such a kind review. I'm so happy that you had such a wonderful trip and that we could help in take the stress out of planning. Thank you for being such a pleasure to work with, for being so kind and flexible. Come back and visit us again sometime!

Best,
Erin

Patagonia with 66 year old mom and 27 year old son · Patagonia - Feb 15 - Feb 23, 2019

Traveler: Laurie H. - Local specialist: Erin Wiley

My 27 year old son and I had an amazing trip to Patagonia. Erin and Emily planned it beautifully. Every place we stayed, every connection and each experience was just what we wanted and more. Even when the weather was uncooperative we were able to make the most of an activity. We especially enjoyed staying at the all inclusive Hotel Rio Serrano right outside of the park. The accommodations were luxurious and the guides and daily excursions gave us a terrific understanding of the area and... read more

My 27 year old son and I had an amazing trip to Patagonia. Erin and Emily planned it beautifully. Every place we stayed, every connection and each experience was just what we wanted and more. Even when the weather was uncooperative we were able to make the most of an activity. We especially enjoyed staying at the all inclusive Hotel Rio Serrano right outside of the park. The accommodations were luxurious and the guides and daily excursions gave us a terrific understanding of the area and wonderful memories. Erin and Emily were always available to help with questions and get us through a missed flight connection. and any other hiccup along the way. They gave us a sense of security while traveling down at the bottom of the world. I will recommend Dittmar Adventure to any friend planning a trip to southern Chile and Kimkim for anywhere in the world.

Erin Wiley profile photo
Erin Wiley, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Laurie,

WOW your photos are incredible, thank you so much for sharing them! I can't tell you how happy I am to hear that you had such a wonderful trip. I know that Patagonia showed you some of it's more erratic side while you were here, and it's great to hear that you still were able to enjoy everything. It was also a pleasure to work with you and I'm bummed that we didn't get to meet in person(we can blame the snow for that!). Wishing you and your son the best and thank you again for the kind review.

Best,
Erin