Company Logo for Ecuador Galapagos Travels
Specialists
Reviews for Ecuador Galapagos Travels
Traveler Photos

Ecuador Galapagos Travels

We are specialized in Ecuador & Galápagos Tailor-Made Trips, providing fascinating cultural and adventurous experiences in the Andes; relaxing beach holidays on the sandy shores of the Pacific Coast; trips into the mysterious verdant world of the Amazon rainforest; comfortable hotel accommodation in major cities; and cruises that allow you to explore the enchanted Galápagos Islands.

Ecuador Galapagos Travels is part of the following groups: Ecuador Travel Agents, Galapagos Islands Travel Agents

Featured trips & expertise

Top itineraries and travel advice

Recent Trip Reviews for Ecuador Galapagos Travels

The guide in Ecuador was great, we had busy d...
Ecuador | Apr 4 - Apr 8, 2024

Guillaume
Guillaume D.
Canada | Reviewed on Apr 16, 2024
The guide in Ecuador was great, we had busy days and visited a lot of different sites! Everything was well organized and we had no issues at all we were able to enjoy our trip to the maximum Read more

The guide in Ecuador was great, we had busy days and visited a lot of different sites!

Everything was well organized and we had no issues at all we were able to enjoy our trip to the maximum

Hotel Reviews
Sisakuna Lodge
Mindo
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Kitu Hotel
Quito
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Local specialist: Tamer Obeid
Tamer
Tamer Obeid
Local specialist in Quito, Ecuador | Replied on Apr 17, 2024

Dear Guillaume,
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and positive comments, I'm extremely glad that you had an amazing experience with us here in Ecuador.
Looking forward to planning future adventures for you here in Kimkim.
Best,
Tamer

11 day tour of Ecuador
Ecuador | Mar 29 - Apr 9, 2024

Tim
Tim M.
the United Arab Emirates | Reviewed on Apr 16, 2024
From the moment we were contacted by Tamer the customer service was exceptional. The communication was swift and helpful and the tour was arranged using some of our ideas and the undoubted expertise of Tamer and his team. The trip could not have been better. Our guide Sebastian went above and beyond any reasonable expectations to make it a special tour and was such great company for every moment of the 11 days. We saw and experienced everything from the Amazon to zip lining, cable cars,... Read more

From the moment we were contacted by Tamer the customer service was exceptional. The communication was swift and helpful and the tour was arranged using some of our ideas and the undoubted expertise of Tamer and his team. The trip could not have been better. Our guide Sebastian went above and beyond any reasonable expectations to make it a special tour and was such great company for every moment of the 11 days. We saw and experienced everything from the Amazon to zip lining, cable cars, sand boarding and seeing a mix of spectacular city centre buildings to rural mountain life. The mix of food and our cooking lessons were perfect. We will definitely recommend Tamer and Sebastian to our friends and family

Local specialist: Tamer Obeid
Tamer
Tamer Obeid
Local specialist in Quito, Ecuador | Replied on Apr 17, 2024

Dear Tim,
I can't tell you how happy I am to know you and Viv have had an exceptional trip with us here in Ecuador, how I wish Karen and Dave were able to experience the same. It was such an honor to work with you on this journey and to be part of making some wonderful memories for both you and Viv.
Your positive comments are so much appreciated, and they will surely help us (myself and Sebastian, as well as our Kimkim team), keep mastering what we do and offer the best to our beloved travelers.
I thank you again and I hope we cross paths in the near future.
Yours,
Tam

Nick
Galapagos Islands | Mar 21 - Mar 29, 2024

B
Brica W.
Mequon, WI | Reviewed on Mar 30, 2024
Nick made the entire trip, so incredible and completely stress-free. Wherever we went, there was someone to meet us and show us where to go or take us there personally. I absolutely love this company because they allow you to cater your trip to whatever you want it to be, you can choose what type of hotel, what type of trip you want to make it. Also, we have a daughter that has celiac disease, and no matter where we went, they knew that she had to be gluten-free. Nick was always available... Read more

Nick made the entire trip, so incredible and completely stress-free. Wherever we went, there was someone to meet us and show us where to go or take us there personally. I absolutely love this company because they allow you to cater your trip to whatever you want it to be, you can choose what type of hotel, what type of trip you want to make it. Also, we have a daughter that has celiac disease, and no matter where we went, they knew that she had to be gluten-free. Nick was always available throughout our trip for us to ask any questions and he quickly responded and I have had the same experience using this company in other countries, and it makes such a difference in making travel stress-free. I highly highly highly recommend.

Hotel Reviews
Ikala Quito Hotel
Quito

we loved this hotel, because each room had such a special theme. Our kids room was almost like being in a museum.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Ikala Galapagos Hotel
Puerto Ayora

Very friendly staff, great location and clean.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Albemarle
Puerto Villamil
Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Wyndham Quito Airport
Quito

It is literally across the street from the airport. The staff is beyond five star. The restaurant had great food options.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Activity Reviews
Morning Adventure to Teleferico Cablecar
Morning Adventure to Teleferico Cablecar
Quito

it was very cloudy, and our guide decided to offer us a trip to a very beautiful church, and then we did use the Teleferico even though it was still very cloudy. I recommend going no matter what the weather is because it is such an incredible experience, even if you cannot see the other mountains/volcanoes.

Quality of Experience
Food
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Hotsprings in Termas de Papallacta
Hotsprings in Termas de Papallacta
Galapagos Islands

Do not miss! It is so beautiful and serene. A completely different world of relaxation.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Wildlife Encounter at Los Tuneles (Cabo Rosa)
Wildlife Encounter at Los Tuneles (Cabo Rosa)
Galapagos Islands

this was an unbelievable experience, even though it rained at the beginning. It was our first snorkeling experience in the Galapagos, and it did not disappoint. We saw blue, footed, boobies, penguins, octopus, sea lions, swam beneath us, we saw sea cucumbers the list goes on and on.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Private Kayaking Adventure  in Tortuga Bay
Private Kayaking Adventure in Tortuga Bay
Puerto Ayora

The beach will take your breath away. The walk to get there is worth it but just know that it feels like a very long way in the heat and humidity.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Local specialist: Nicolas Cadena
Nicolas
Nicolas Cadena
Local specialist in Ecuador | Replied on Mar 30, 2024
Dear Brica, We appreciate your lovely feedback regarding your trip, it was such a pleasure to help you and your family have an out of this world vacation. I loved seeing the picture of all of your experiences, and the curious animals in the Galapagos, I cannot truly tell you fun it was to have you here. Meeting the family was wonderful, and it surely was a great start for this trip, you will surely be like family to us! We can’t thank you enough for visiting these enchanted islands and... Read more

Dear Brica,

We appreciate your lovely feedback regarding your trip, it was such a pleasure to help you and your family have an out of this world vacation.

I loved seeing the picture of all of your experiences, and the curious animals in the Galapagos, I cannot truly tell you fun it was to have you here.

Meeting the family was wonderful, and it surely was a great start for this trip, you will surely be like family to us! We can’t thank you enough for visiting these enchanted islands and your kind words.

We would love to have you in South America in the near future and create an equally as unforgettable experience :)

Yours,
Nick

Trip of a lifetime!
Galapagos Islands | Mar 9 - Mar 16, 2024

B
Barry T.
Cherry Hill, NJ | Reviewed on Mar 24, 2024

Kimkim did an incredible job as usual! Alvaro was terrific to work with and and answered all of my questions in a timely manner and worked with us to put together a memorable vacation.

Once we were there Rita was also excellent to work with. She coordinated everything and she was always met us in-person with a bright smile to get our daily plans started.

Overall it was a trip of a lifetime!

Local specialist: Alvaro Pereira
Alvaro
Alvaro Pereira
Local specialist in Quito, Ecuador | Replied on Mar 27, 2024
Hello Barry, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm happy to hear that your vacation arranged through Kimkim was nothing short of incredible. We're delighted that everything ran smoothly during your trip. It's always our goal to make sure our travelers feel well taken care of and can fully immerse themselves in their travel experiences. We couldn't be happier to hear that your adventure with us was a trip of a lifetime! Creating unforgettable memories... Read more

Hello Barry,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm happy to hear that your vacation arranged through Kimkim was nothing short of incredible.

We're delighted that everything ran smoothly during your trip. It's always our goal to make sure our travelers feel well taken care of and can fully immerse themselves in their travel experiences.

We couldn't be happier to hear that your adventure with us was a trip of a lifetime! Creating unforgettable memories for our travelers is what drives us, and your feedback reaffirms that we're on the right track.

Once again, thank you for choosing Kimkim for your vacation, and we hope to have the opportunity to assist you with your future travel plans!

Warm regards,
Alvaro

Alvaro helped us plan the perfect trip for us...
Galapagos Islands | Mar 9 - Mar 16, 2024

Sandy
Sandy T.
Cherry Hill, NJ | Reviewed on Mar 22, 2024

Alvaro helped us plan the perfect trip for us. We loved the whole experience.

Local specialist: Alvaro Pereira
Alvaro
Alvaro Pereira
Local specialist in Quito, Ecuador | Replied on Mar 22, 2024

Hello Sandy!

Thank you so much for your kind words! It was an absolute pleasure helping you and Barry in planning your trip.

I'm thrilled to know that you loved the experience. Creating memorable and seamless travel experiences is always our goal, and I'm so happy that we were able to achieve that for you.

If you ever need assistance with future travel plans to another great place in Ecuador, please don't hesitate to reach out.

Safe travels!
Alvaro :)

Honest Review
Galapagos Islands | Feb 16 - Feb 26, 2024

Victoria
Victoria P.
Virginia Beach, VA | Reviewed on Mar 20, 2024
Alvaro and "Responsible Travel" Review - Unfortunately, I was disappointed with his services. In the lead-up to our trip, we needed to reschedule (military leave being cancelled), but unfortunately, Alvaro did not seem willing to assist with us rescheduling or getting a refund. There was also a lack of communication after the terrorists' attacks in Ecuador led to the cancellation of other major cruises, and I believe he should have been more proactive in updating us on the status of our... Read more

Alvaro and "Responsible Travel" Review - Unfortunately, I was disappointed with his services. In the lead-up to our trip, we needed to reschedule (military leave being cancelled), but unfortunately, Alvaro did not seem willing to assist with us rescheduling or getting a refund. There was also a lack of communication after the terrorists' attacks in Ecuador led to the cancellation of other major cruises, and I believe he should have been more proactive in updating us on the status of our trip as news unfolded.

The overall planning of the trip left much to be desired. For example, on our first night, I had to stay up until 11 pm to find out the details of our next-day pick-up, which should have been provided several days before our departure. Plus, despite being promised a private transfer from the airport when we initially arrived, we did not receive one and had to wait approximately 30 minutes while the hotel shuttle accommodated other passenger's arrivals.

Furthermore, the sequencing of activities was poorly planned, with a visit to Cotopaxi scheduled right after the Galapagos. This timing proved challenging as we were still recovering from seasickness (a common issue for Galapagos small-boat cruises). The abrupt transition to an altitude of 14,000 feet was not conducive to our well-being/enjoyment and should have been scheduled for the following day. Additionally, the activities were cookie cutter tours that I could have arranged on my own.

In conclusion, based on my experience, I would not recommend Alvaro or "Responsible Travel" for future travel arrangements.

"Adia Maria" Review - While the Galapagos offers incredible beauty and abundant wildlife, I strongly advise against choosing Adia Maria (Galapagos cruise boat) for your cruise. Despite the stunning surroundings, our experience with the boat was highly disappointing. The vessel was excessively rocky and uncomfortable, lacking proper lounging areas. Due to their lack of planning, we spent approximately 20 hours on the boat per day, and without lounge chairs or a place to exercise or walk, we were forced to be sedentary in our room or the two uncomfortable (and wet) benches provided. The bench cushions were consistently wet, either from rain or the crew washing them every morning. Spending a considerable amount of time cruising without lounge chairs The lack of mobility or proper resting areas made the journey terrible.

Our guide, William (Billy), proved to be subpar, with difficult-to-understand English and a tendency to focus on his own theories rather than scientific or historic facts. He dictated the activities and their duration, only making adjustments when prompted and with attitude. The lack of seating, freezing inside cabin, and constant staff presence created an uncomfortable atmosphere, exacerbated by unprofessional behaviors like staff's underwear hanging and staff's clipping their toenail in public guest lounge spaces.

Adia Maria also displayed a lack of concern for safety, with a reluctance to provide life vests while swimming. Our snorkeling experiences felt unsafe as William swam rapidly, often leaving part of the group behind. On the first day, he assured an easy swim around a bend with shallow water, but it turned out to be a challenging and perilous swim with low visibility and strong currents. One day, he left four passengers swimming without life jackets or a boat nearby in deep water with sharks and sea lions for over 20 minutes.

Overall, the crew's apparent disdain for their jobs and passengers, combined with safety concerns and uncomfortable conditions, made Adia Maria an unsuitable choice for a Galapagos cruise. I strongly advise against selecting this boat for your trip. On a positive note, the food was great!

KimKim Review - I've used KimKim twice and previously recommended it, but I won't be using or endorsing the service anymore. I love the visually appealing nature and use of their website which provides well-crafted itineraries. However, the perception of a USA-based company is misleading as once handed over to a foreign travel "specialist", there's no genuine US-based support from KimKim. For instance, they claim on their site that most trips can be rescheduled with no loss, but this isn't upheld by travel agents, based on our experience this claim is false.

We faced the need to reschedule due to the cancellation of my partner's leave as she is Active Duty Military. Alvaro told us that despite that and the country being deemed unsafe to travel, attempting to reschedule would result in a 70% loss of our money (luckily a family member was able to sub at the last minute). A similar issue occurred in April 2020 during our honeymoon booking when a foreign travel "specialist" refused to refund any of our money despite the world-wide shut down due to COVID-19. Surprisingly to us, KimKim supported the foreign agent and not us.

Another significant drawback is the lack of a cost breakdown, causing major disappointment, as it's hard to assess the value of the experience relative to the amount paid. It raises doubts about missed opportunities for better choices in different areas and constant feeling of overpaying. Consequently, I won't be using the service again. We paid KimKim/Alvaro nearly 11K, and the overall experience does not justify the cost. I estimate I could have organized this independently for around 7K, making the 4K in fees for their "services" seem unwarranted.

Travel in Ecuador/Quito/Galapagos - Ecuador is a great country; this is my second time going. Beautiful landscapes, great food, and friendly people make it a fantastic destination. I believe it is entirely possible to plan a trip independently. While you may need a guide for specific experiences, securing one through your hotel or online bookings is feasible. Looking back, I wish I had organized my own trip rather than using KimKim. Additionally, I recommend choosing group tours over individual ones. The private tours did not provide adequate value, and in some ways, made the trip worse. We had three tour guides, and only one spoke English well enough to adequately answer questions or provide relevant information. Plus, the tour guides were reluctant to customize the agenda and spending 5-8 hours with a stranger non-stop was exhausting plus they were not even customized. Finally, Uber provided an easy, affordable, and convenient transportation option.

Hotel Reviews
M/Y Aida Maria
Galapagos Islands

"Adia Maria" Review - While the Galapagos offers incredible beauty and abundant wildlife, I strongly advise against choosing Adia Maria (Galapagos cruise boat) for your cruise. Despite the stunning surroundings, our experience with the boat was highly disappointing. The vessel was excessively rocky and uncomfortable, lacking proper lounging areas. Due to their lack of planning, we spent approximately 20 hours on the boat per day, and without lounge chairs or a place to exercise or walk, we were forced to be sedentary in our room or the two uncomfortable (and wet) benches provided. The bench cushions were consistently wet, either from rain or the crew washing them every morning. Spending a considerable amount of time cruising without lounge chairs The lack of mobility or proper resting areas made the journey terrible. Our guide, William (Billy), proved to be subpar, with difficult-to-understand English and a tendency to focus on his own theories rather than scientific or historic facts. He dictated the activities and their duration, only making adjustments when prompted and with attitude. Although the boat is tiny, we were told it typically carried 16 guests. Fortunately, our cruise had only six people, and they were all pleasant. With no room to avoid difficult personalities, I shudder to think of the chaos with more passengers. The lack of seating, freezing inside cabin, and constant staff presence created an uncomfortable atmosphere, exacerbated by unprofessional behaviors like staff's underwear hanging and staff's clipping their toenail in public guest lounge spaces. Adia Maria also displayed a lack of concern for safety, with a reluctance to provide life vests while swimming. Our snorkeling experiences felt unsafe as William swam rapidly, often leaving part of the group behind. On the first day, he assured an easy swim around a bend with shallow water, but it turned out to be a challenging and perilous swim with low visibility and strong currents. One day, he left four passengers swimming without life jackets or a boat nearby in deep water with sharks and sea lions for over 20 minutes. Overall, the crew's apparent disdain for their jobs and passengers, combined with safety concerns and uncomfortable conditions, made Adia Maria an unsuitable choice for a Galapagos cruise. I strongly advise against selecting this boat for your trip. On a positive note, the food was great!

Authenticity & Character
Location
Galapagos offers incredible beauty and abundant wildlife
Staff
Find people who want to be there and don't overtly hate the guest
Cleanliness & Comfort
Seating areas
EB Hotel by Eurobuilding Quito
Quito

This is a great hotel. Highly recommend staying if you need to be close to the airport.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Activity Review
Mindo Experience: Hummingbirds
Mindo Experience: Hummingbirds
Mindo

This was the best part of our trip!!!! Spend the majority of time here. This was amazing!

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Local specialist: Alvaro Pereira
Alvaro
Alvaro Pereira
Local specialist in Quito, Ecuador | Replied on Mar 27, 2024
Hello Victoria, Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback regarding your recent travel experiences, as well as your insights on the Adia Maria cruise, KimKim service, and your overall impressions of travel in Ecuador, Quito, and the Galapagos. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or disappointment you encountered throughout your journey. Your comments regarding the lack of assistance with rescheduling, communication gaps during challenging situations, and the overall planning of... Read more

Hello Victoria,

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback regarding your recent travel experiences, as well as your insights on the Adia Maria cruise, KimKim service, and your overall impressions of travel in Ecuador, Quito, and the Galapagos.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or disappointment you encountered throughout your journey. Your comments regarding the lack of assistance with rescheduling, communication gaps during challenging situations, and the overall planning of your trip have been duly noted. Your feedback regarding the vessel's conditions, the quality of the guide's services, and safety protocols is deeply concerning and will be addressed with the relevant parties to ensure that such issues are rectified promptly, this specific reason is why we always suggest different options of cruises, but our travelers are always free to choose the best option within their budget and personal preference, just like it was in your case.

On a positive note, we are delighted to hear that you found Ecuador to be a beautiful destination with friendly people and excellent food.

Your feedback will serve as a valuable resource as we work to improve our services and ensure that future travelers continue to have exceptional experiences with us just like our other amazing 5-star reviews express.

Should you reconsider traveling with us in the future, we would welcome the opportunity to regain your trust and provide you with a memorable and hassle-free journey.

Best regards,
Alvaro

Well planned customized trip
Ecuador | Mar 4 - Mar 13, 2024

V
Victoria M.
Encinitas, CA | Reviewed on Mar 15, 2024
.Alejandra and Tamar planned an excellent adventure for us. We loved all the lodgings, giving us a taste of the local culture and not just another American style hotel . The hacienda , farm station and Amazon lodge . were wonderful. Sebastian was our guide and driver and we couldn't ask for anyone better. He was extremely knowledgeable in all areas and never got tired from my husband's endless questions. He went above and beyond the call of duty altering our plan as needed when my husband... Read more

.Alejandra and Tamar planned an excellent adventure for us. We loved all the lodgings, giving us a taste of the local culture and not just another American style hotel . The hacienda , farm station and Amazon lodge . were wonderful. Sebastian was our guide and driver and we couldn't ask for anyone better. He was extremely knowledgeable in all areas and never got tired from my husband's endless questions. He went above and beyond the call of duty altering our plan as needed when my husband had a foot problem and couldn't walk due to a foot injury. He and Alejandra stayed with us at the hospital until we insisted they go home after a very long day. It turned.out to be a not so serious condition and we were able to continue on our original plan. It was most comforting to know we had help when needed. Miguel at the Amazon lodge was terrific as well accomodationg our needs and still providing a wonderful Amaxon experience when plans had to change. Both these guides made us feel that nothing was too much to ask. Thankyou Kimkim for referring us to the excellent planners and exceptional guides. Thus is our 3rd Kimkim trip. Using Kimkim takes all the stress out of travel.

Activity Reviews
Rainforest Adventure (Huasquila Lodge)
Rainforest Adventure (Huasquila Lodge)
Archidona
Quality of Experience
Food
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Otavalo Market - Cuicocha Lagoon
Otavalo Market - Cuicocha Lagoon
Ecuador

We were at the market on a Wednesday which had handicrafts. I understand Saturdays have produce etc which would bring in the local people which is always interesting for us.

Quality of Experience
Food
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Otavalo - Cotopaxi National Park
Otavalo - Cotopaxi National Park
Ecuador

Weather was foggy but there is ni control of that. It cleared when we walked the lagoon and we could see the volcano.

Quality of Experience
Food
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Transfer to Baños via Quilotoa Lagoon
Transfer to Baños via Quilotoa Lagoon
Ecuador

Beautiful spot

Quality of Experience
Food
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Baños -  Archidona (Huasquila Lodge)
Baños - Archidona (Huasquila Lodge)
Ecuador
Quality of Experience
Food
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Local specialist: Tamer Obeid
Tamer
Tamer Obeid
Local specialist in Quito, Ecuador | Replied on Mar 16, 2024
Dear Victoria,
It was quite a pleasure working with you on this trip, and it makes us incredibly happy to know we were a small part of your lovey experience and that you and Don have enjoyed the charm of Ecuador. Alejandra and I couldn't be more thankful for your positive feedback and kind words, I will also make sure to convey your much-appreciated comments to Sebastian and Miguel :)
Your review means a lot to us here at Kimkim, and it encourages us to master our services more and more. It...
Read more

Dear Victoria,
It was quite a pleasure working with you on this trip, and it makes us incredibly happy to know we were a small part of your lovey experience and that you and Don have enjoyed the charm of Ecuador. Alejandra and I couldn't be more thankful for your positive feedback and kind words, I will also make sure to convey your much-appreciated comments to Sebastian and Miguel :)
Your review means a lot to us here at Kimkim, and it encourages us to master our services more and more. It is also of great value to our future travelers, and thus we are really grateful.
We will always be here for you and Don to plan yet more adventures for you to enjoy.
Many thanks, Victoria.
Yours,
Tamer

We had a very memorable trip to Galapagos! I ...
Galapagos Islands | Feb 23 - Mar 5, 2024

lisa
lisa c.
Manhattan, NY | Reviewed on Mar 12, 2024
We had a very memorable trip to Galapagos! I had originally planned this trip with KimKim back in 2021 but we had to cancel it because my older daughter got Covid a few days before we were to leave! We were devastated to cancel at the time and because one daughter had graduated college and the other was half way through, I didn't know if we'd be able to plan it again. (KimKim was helpful when we had to unravel that trip). Turns out I was correct, when I attempted to almost 2 years later it... Read more

We had a very memorable trip to Galapagos! I had originally planned this trip with KimKim back in 2021 but we had to cancel it because my older daughter got Covid a few days before we were to leave! We were devastated to cancel at the time and because one daughter had graduated college and the other was half way through, I didn't know if we'd be able to plan it again. (KimKim was helpful when we had to unravel that trip).

Turns out I was correct, when I attempted to almost 2 years later it didn't happen. FINALLY, with Tamer's help, we made this happen! Ironically, the first time we only planned a 4 day cruise and staying on some islands with day trips. I had since read more and spoken to others and realized we probably wanted a longer cruise to see more things. Tamer helped us find an 8 day cruise on the Coral II. We had the best naturalist. We saw every kind of land and sea creature we hoped to see. The snorkeling was magical, hiking on lava filled islands, seeing volcanic craters, and great rides to see the birds were amazing. I also wanted time in Quito and also time on an island - so that we didn't JUST see Galapagos on a cruise. I threw all these requirements at Tamer and he figured it out and when i came back with lots of questions and ideas on slightly altering plans, he was patient and made changes and sometimes explained why some ideas might not be ideal.

I travel often and always plan myself. This was too much to figure out. Tamer walked us through it and he was very patient and encouraging when my schedule got busy to keep us on track and joked that we would FINALLY make this happen. And he was right and got us to the finish line! When I wanted to make our own plans in Quito and San Cristobal he did not give me a hard time.

I loved that Tamer would check on us throughout the trip - even when we were first flying out of the US and even when we were doing our own thing in Quito. Tamer arranged great drivers and transfers for us. My husband really liked feeling like there was someone guiding us at each local point. Even when we were leaving our cruise ship and finding the ferry to San Cristobal. All the little details made things easier during the trip. And even when we had some minor issues on the boat, Tamer insisted on getting in touch on our behalf. When we needed to change a pick up spot or wanted to change one of the plans on San Cristobal, Tamer was accommodating and able to change things while we were there. The communications was invaluable. I felt like I had a friend in country i could message at any time.

We already recommended a friend since we have gotten home!

Great job. The one thing I would prefer about KimKim's service is to have a breakdown of what the costs of the whole trip were. We had many parts of this trip and just having one number without a breakdown is not what I am used to. We went with it on this trip but not sure I would feel the same way on a trip that was not so complicated and I could do myself. I liked the local guide and communication in country but would have to think about it.

If you are planning a Galapagos trip, Tamer is your person! I will miss our texting!
Thank you!

Hotel Review
M/Y Coral I & II

We really liked that these two boats travel together. We liked being on a smaller boat for this trip. We didn't have long waits to get in the dingys to get out to our activities! The other guests were nice and it was a friendly feel. The upper deck had great shade and was comfortable to hang out on. We had the cabins on the top deck and we had adjoining rooms with our adult daughters. The naturalist was great! Pedro made this trip! And the crew that ran the boats to the activities were also awesome! Since we would get pretty hot with activities and the weather, the shared room on the boat had great AC which was needed! The cruise director was not great, her attention to detail and service was lacking. I think her English shoujld have been better for her position on the boat and with the passengers. Some other staff members were great and had better understanding of these skills. Our daughter had a food allergy and the chef and cruise director seemed pretty clueless which was surprising. I don't know how these experiences compare to other boats.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Some were outstanding and others not so much - see general review
Cleanliness & Comfort
We had some issues with our bathroom and it took 3x to get it fixed.
Activity Reviews
Rabida Island - Bartolomé Island
Rabida Island - Bartolomé Island
Cruise Ship

Amazing snorkeling. Gorgeous island and rock formation. We had a wonderful hike to the top for great views. We got to snorkel to see the penguins. We had a great boat ride too.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Santa Cruz: Black Turtle Cove  – Highlands Tortoise Reserve
Santa Cruz: Black Turtle Cove – Highlands Tortoise Reserve
Cruise Ship

This was a highlight seeing these tortoises and also the cows with their cattle birds too. We saw so many tortoises! And we had a wonderful walk in the lava tube!

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Urbina Bay - Tagus Cove (Isabela Island)
Urbina Bay - Tagus Cove (Isabela Island)
Cruise Ship

This was the best snorkeling of the whole cruise! We had seen some of these animals in other spots but we saw rays mating. We saw a fleet of sting rays swim below us - it was maybe 25-30 in formation like an air force in flight. I lost count of the amount of sea turtles. We saw the best colored fish and coral and the sea lions swam with us. It was the best. There is a beautiful sea cave here too. And the birds are great to spot too.

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Bachas Beach (Santa Cruz Island) - Baltra Airport
Bachas Beach (Santa Cruz Island) - Baltra Airport
Cruise Ship

We saw gorgeous flamingos here. We saw one in the water, and could observe her from our walk. But THEN we saw two in flight overhead - it was gorgeous! I had just been wondering how these big birds get into the air!

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Speedboat to San Cristobal Island
Speedboat to San Cristobal Island
Galapagos Islands

We had a wonderful super local guide meet us and we could store our luggage until it was Ferry time. You take a water taxi to the ferry. Tamer arranged for us to have the $1 each for the fare. It was a fun and funny experience - seeing the sea lions on the little docks and seeing these boat drivers pile up the luggage. My family couldn't watch as we floated out to the ferry. It was a fun experience. The ferry itself was smaller than i expected - it was a little hot - no open windows. There were outlets and usb ports over the seats but they did not work. I was fine with it - my kids were not as much. It had the local charm and adventure and i would not trade it. But it was a little hot, and the bathroom was not easy to maneuver with the fast speed but i am glad there was a bathroom! I am glad we got to do it - but it is warm and a little loud but again, local and i liked that part. I would not have wanted a more sanitized private transfer. It was just a little over 2 hours and we got to see jumping dolphins in the open water!

Quality of Experience
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Free morning on San Cristobal until Departure
Free morning on San Cristobal until Departure
Isla San Cristóbal

We loved this town so much! We had two nights in a hotel right at the waterfront. We all loved seeing all the sea lions at the port and on the sidewalks. We went to visit them in the morning and evening. It smelled a little but that was ok. We LOVED several of the restaurants in town. This was our favorite of the towns we saw. The vibe was great.

Quality of Experience
Food
Guides, Drivers and Staff
Transport
Local specialist: Tamer Obeid
Tamer
Tamer Obeid
Local specialist in Quito, Ecuador | Replied on Mar 12, 2024
Hi Lisa,
What a great pleasure it was to be able to work with you and offer you and the family such a due adventure, especially after having to postpone more than one time and for years! As I promised since we started planning; Nothing's gonna stop us this time :) and so I am extremely glad we fulfilled and you had such a wonderful experience in Quito and the Galapagos Islands.
I thank you so much on behalf of my company and the Kimkim team for your kind words, and I promise you or any...
Read more

Hi Lisa,
What a great pleasure it was to be able to work with you and offer you and the family such a due adventure, especially after having to postpone more than one time and for years! As I promised since we started planning; Nothing's gonna stop us this time :) and so I am extremely glad we fulfilled and you had such a wonderful experience in Quito and the Galapagos Islands.
I thank you so much on behalf of my company and the Kimkim team for your kind words, and I promise you or any referral from your part that we will keep on doing our best to provide you and our beloved travelers with unmatched and memorable adventures :)
Yours,
Tamer

Our Trip to Columbia with Bird Watching and Peacock Bass Fishing
Colombia | Feb 27 - Mar 7, 2024

joe
joe m.
Atlanta, GA | Reviewed on Mar 11, 2024
We put together a fairly complicated trip with a lot of varied destinations. Alvaro was totally helpful and very can do in setting the trip up as we wanted it. During the travel, everything went as smoothly as butter. We were met by friendly and competent people at every stop and were escorted to our travels to the next destinations at exactly the times that were promised. We couldn't have been more pleased with the planning that Alvaro did for us. Ivan met us at the Airport in Bogota,... Read more

We put together a fairly complicated trip with a lot of varied destinations. Alvaro was totally helpful and very can do in setting the trip up as we wanted it. During the travel, everything went as smoothly as butter. We were met by friendly and competent people at every stop and were escorted to our travels to the next destinations at exactly the times that were promised. We couldn't have been more pleased with the planning that Alvaro did for us. Ivan met us at the Airport in Bogota, and was with us the entire stay, actully had dinner with us. He was exceptionly knowledgable about the birds, and he could hear the calls and identify amazingly. We saw 90 bird species in 2 days. He could also spot birds and point them out to us well before we could see many of them ourselves. We were a little nervous about going to Inirida and alon the Oronico River, esp with the situation in Venezuela , but we were accompanied by able guides all the time and actually felt safer than when we were in 4th grade. The Tucunare Lodge was rustic but far removed from modern civilization. Alexandro, who was our fishing guide was quite knowlegable and competent and PATIENT. We fished for 2 days solidly and came away with some amazing pictures of us holding giant Peacock Bass. Than off to Cartegena for rest and relaxtion. Beautiful old town. Good nightlife, esp rooftop bars, and excellent food. All and all, would highly recommend Alvaro and Kim Kim for planning a trip to Columbia. Plan on asking for the same in a few years to Equador.

Hotel Reviews
Lucitania Hotel Boutique
Bogota

Very Comfortable Nice bed, friendly staff. Felt very secure

Authenticity & Character
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Hotel Monterrey Cartagena de Indias
Cra. 8b #25-100

Location wa amazing, dead center facing the entrace to the old town, roof top pool which was welcomed highly considering the afternoo heat. Breakfast delicious. Staff welcoming and smiles. Felt very secure

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Tucunare Lodge
Vichada River

This place is RUSTIC. There is no airconditioning. The bathrooms are as basic as they can be and still be called a bathroom. However, It is completely far away in uninhabitated land. The food wa cooked by Locals and delicious. The access to the fishing wa amazing. The johnboat ride to and from the fishing grounds at sunrise and sunset were easily worth the price of admission. If that is the kind of experience you are seeking, I highly recommend.

Authenticity & Character
Location
Staff
Cleanliness & Comfort
Local specialist: Alvaro Pereira
Alvaro
Alvaro Pereira
Local specialist in Quito, Ecuador | Replied on Mar 14, 2024

Hello Joe and Cece!
Thank you for your glowing review! I am so thrilled you enjoyed your trip and had seamless travel experience.
It's great to hear Ivan made your birdwatching in Bogota unforgettable and that you felt safe throughout your journey. We're glad you loved Tucunare Lodge and had a great time fishing with Alexandro. Cartagena's charm delighted you, and we look forward to planning your next adventure, let’s reconnect once you are ready to enjoy Ecuador!
Hugs from your local friend!
Alvaro

Fantastic!
Galapagos Islands | Feb 24 - Mar 2, 2024

S
Siana Z.
Hackensack, NJ | Reviewed on Mar 05, 2024

This company was great in planning around our preferences and making sure that everything ran smoothly. I appreciate Lucia's help in coordinating the trip and making our dreams come true! Fantastic experience!

Local specialist: Lucia Cazar
Lucia
Lucia Cazar
Local specialist in Ecuador | Replied on Mar 07, 2024

Dear Siana,
I want to thank you for this fantastic review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the tour of Ecuador and that I was able to achieve your desire on this trip. If you want to come back, I would gladly plan another trip. I will be pleased to assist you.

Thank you again for your visit to Ecuador.
Warm regards.
Lucía