Kimkim Trip Reviews for Chile

Reviews from actual kimkim travelers. We publish all reviews.
4.6
(25 reviews)
Read 25 reviews by travelers who booked their trip on kimkim

Best boutique hotels in santiago de chile, Chile - Dec 16 - Dec 30, 2018

Traveler: Steve H. - Local specialist: Marie-Lou Goullieux

We enjoyed the trip very much. Marie-Lou was very attentive to our needs, and was very helpful. One complaint was we basically lost a day in Santiago because all the museums were closed on Monday. We should have done Valspario on Monday instead of Tuesday.
Anyway, Easter Island and the Atacoma desert were a lot of fun and we enjoyed our stay in Chile.
Thanks.
Steve & Julie

Marie-Lou Goullieux, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you Julie and Steve, it was a pleasure for me to assist you before and during your trip and I'm more than happy to know you had a blast in this beautiful country called Chile.

All the best,

Marie-Lou

Patagonia backpacking , Chile - Dec 28 - Jan 3, 2019

Traveler: Geena U. - Local specialist: Erin Wiley

Emily and Erin were SO helpful throughout the entire process. It was a trip of a lifetime, and we couldn’t have done it without them. Highly recommend this trip and KimKim to anyone looking for adventure!

Erin Wiley, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you, Geena!

I am so happy that we could be a part in making a trip of a lifetime happen for you. Thank you for for everything and cheers to adventure :)

Honeymoon trip to the chilean desert, Chile - Nov 28 - Dec 7, 2018

Traveler: Simon H. - Local specialist: Oxana Protchenko

We went to Chile as a honeymooning couple and had an amzing time... Oxana was incredibly helpful and reactive as we changed the plan a few times to incorporate a lot of things we wanted to do. The hotels chosen were brilliant, the lovely Matildas in Santiago and fabulous Altiplanico in San Pedro were comfortable, well equipped and had great levels of service, something we would later appreciate when we stayed elsewhere. We started in Santiago and went on a brilliant day trip with Javiera who... read more

We went to Chile as a honeymooning couple and had an amzing time... Oxana was incredibly helpful and reactive as we changed the plan a few times to incorporate a lot of things we wanted to do. The hotels chosen were brilliant, the lovely Matildas in Santiago and fabulous Altiplanico in San Pedro were comfortable, well equipped and had great levels of service, something we would later appreciate when we stayed elsewhere. We started in Santiago and went on a brilliant day trip with Javiera who showed us around the pretty and historic town of Valparaiso. Her wonderful knowledge of the history, the hotspots and where to find a good cup of coffee were what made it fun. We then went onto the Emiliana vineyard which was definitely the highlight of the day, learning how an organic vineyard works, the lack of pesticides and chemicals and the use of chikcens instead... The wine of course was very decent ! We chose to drive to Calama but were pleased with the pickup and accomodation once there. We had 3 fantastic day trips to the Tatio Geysers, Salt flats and the atacama salt lakes to see the flamingos. Our tour guide Michaelangelo, once again made the difference. Knowledgeable, smart and with a great sense of humour helped us understand where we were and the significance. He was always on the lookout to show us soemthing different, from the wild Chinchillas to Vicuna's and the Condors circling the carcass of an Alpaca. Many thanks to Oxana and the team for helping us map this out and the recommendations.

Oxana Protchenko, local specialist, responded to this review:

Simon,
Thank you for your positive feedback, I am glad you had a wonderful time and that you were able to do so many different things on your own too!
Once again congratulations on your wedding, and hope you have many great trips in the future!

Best wishes,
Oxana and Ecochile Travel team

Torres del paine "w" circuit trek - 5 days, Chile - Dec 27 - Dec 30, 2018

Traveler: Tyler B. - Local specialist: Erin Wiley

Erin and Emily were very knowledgeable, skilled, and helpful. We booked a 4 day W-Trek in Torres del Paine and we received help with booking or good recommendations about every aspect of the trip. On top of this both ladies are very pleasant and friendly, making it easy to ask questions. We had one miscommunication, which was taken care of immediately (on Christmas eve no less). Alexandra was 27 months pregnant, so we had a lot of questions. Erin took the time during a phone conversation to... read more

Erin and Emily were very knowledgeable, skilled, and helpful. We booked a 4 day W-Trek in Torres del Paine and we received help with booking or good recommendations about every aspect of the trip. On top of this both ladies are very pleasant and friendly, making it easy to ask questions. We had one miscommunication, which was taken care of immediately (on Christmas eve no less). Alexandra was 27 months pregnant, so we had a lot of questions. Erin took the time during a phone conversation to describe the trek to us in such detail that it made us feel comfortable with undertaking the endeavor. All in all stellar service!

Erin Wiley, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you Tyler and Alexandra for the feedback and kind review! It was so great to meet you and to work with you on planning this trip. I am beyond impressed by your adventurous spirits in taking on this trip during your pregnancy and thrilled to have been a part of your planning. Wishing you the best and cheers to your next adventure!

Annabel

Trip to chile, Chile - Dec 13 - Dec 31, 2018

Traveler: Annabel S. - Local specialist: Mery Morelli

We had an incredible trip. Everything went smoothly, we were met and picked up promptly at every location/airport etc. The guides were good especially James? on the half day tour of Santiago and Ozzie (Ozwaldo) on the half day Altiplanics Lagoon Trip in Atacama Desert. The street art and painted houses in Valpariso were interesting , Vina Del Mar was not.
I would highly recommend the drive we took from Puerto Montt through part of the lake district to Bariloche, while Bariloche is very... read more

We had an incredible trip. Everything went smoothly, we were met and picked up promptly at every location/airport etc. The guides were good especially James? on the half day tour of Santiago and Ozzie (Ozwaldo) on the half day Altiplanics Lagoon Trip in Atacama Desert. The street art and painted houses in Valpariso were interesting , Vina Del Mar was not.
I would highly recommend the drive we took from Puerto Montt through part of the lake district to Bariloche, while Bariloche is very touristy and commercialized the scenery around it is breath taking.
Our accommodations were all good especially as we were on a budget. It would have been nice to have had an early check in at San Pedro Atacama Hotel as we had been travelling since 3 AM and had arrived at the hotel at 10:30 AM and had to wait until 2 PM to check in. This was NOT disastrous but it would have been great to get into the room earlier.
The small hotel in Francis Drake in Porto Natales was really lovely and comfortable and the people there very sweet and accommodating.
The mix up with our final hotel in Santiago was unfortunate but Mery took care of it the moment we contacted her and it all worked out very nicely in the end.

Mery Morelli, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Annabel!

Thanks for your feedback and to take your time to do it! we are glad to know that you had a good experience travelling with us!
It is important to us to improve our services through the feedbacks of our travellers. Thanks for the details of the good comments, and also we are glad that you contacted us very fast to solve the inconvenience in the hotel in Santiago.

I hope you trust in us in a next adventure!
Regards,
Mery

Family holiday to chile, Chile - Dec 16 - Dec 30, 2018

Traveler: Graham P. - Local specialist: Oxana Protchenko

We had a great trip and everything Oxana recommended and organised for us was fantastic. I would highly recommend both Kimkim and Oxana.

Oxana Protchenko, local specialist, responded to this review:

Graham,
Thank you very much, I am glad you had a great trip!

Best wishes,
Oxana

Mark

Chile, Chile - Dec 6 - Dec 6, 2018

Traveler: Mark F. - Local specialist: Mayra Callo

An absolutely awesome trip. The W Trek was simply remarkable. Mayra and Quechua did an amazing job of arranging everything. All our transfers came off without a hitch. Hotels and guides were wonderful. Will definitely work with them again on my next trip to South America.

Mayra Callo, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks Mark, a pleasure to have you with us for a second time. Hope to see you guys soon !
Mayra

Chilean adventure, Chile - Nov 9 - Dec 12, 2018

Traveler: Randolph B. - Local specialist: Oxana Protchenko

I cannot recall any disappointment during the five weeks I was in Chile.
The only comment I would make is this. Twice my transfer rides were thirty minutes late which caused me worry and, in one instance, an email to Oxana to confirm there was someone on the way. It turned out that the transfer company had scheduled the pickup at a different time from EcoChile but I wasn't informed of the discrepancy. It worked out in the end, but it caused some anxiety. There was another mix up at the... read more

I cannot recall any disappointment during the five weeks I was in Chile.
The only comment I would make is this. Twice my transfer rides were thirty minutes late which caused me worry and, in one instance, an email to Oxana to confirm there was someone on the way. It turned out that the transfer company had scheduled the pickup at a different time from EcoChile but I wasn't informed of the discrepancy. It worked out in the end, but it caused some anxiety. There was another mix up at the airport on my arrival but the owners of EcoChile, much to their credit, made amends and the remainder of my tour of Chile was sensational.
I would absolutely recommend EcoChile to any visitor looking for someone local to organize their vacation. I'm impressed. Considering the number of flights, hotels, venue changes I experienced, things went very well.

Oxana Protchenko, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Randolph,
Thank you for your great review and all the insight, I am glad you had such a great trip, no matter that small inconvenience with your transfer from the Airport.
I bet, there are many more great trips to come!

All the best wishes!

Sincerely,
Oxana and Ecochile Travel Team

Best of chile 24 days, Chile - Nov 8 - Dec 2, 2018

Traveler: Pam B. - Local specialist: Mariano Galindo

We spent an amazing 4 weeks in Chile. Mariano helped us organize the trip from beginning to end and absolutely everything went according to plan. The local guides were knowledgeable and professional. Roberto went out of his way to help us with a minor health issue and still managed to show us the best of Vina del Mar and Valparaiso. Mario shared his love for Chile, and especially the Atacama and all its diversity, and Anna from Akorn was there 24/7 if we had any questions. Chiloe and... read more

We spent an amazing 4 weeks in Chile. Mariano helped us organize the trip from beginning to end and absolutely everything went according to plan. The local guides were knowledgeable and professional. Roberto went out of his way to help us with a minor health issue and still managed to show us the best of Vina del Mar and Valparaiso. Mario shared his love for Chile, and especially the Atacama and all its diversity, and Anna from Akorn was there 24/7 if we had any questions. Chiloe and Pucon were also on our list, and biking in the Lake District surrounded by volcanoes was an absolute highlight.
Thank you!

Mariano Galindo, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Pam,
Thanks for your kind comments. I'm very happy to hear that you had such a nice trip! It was very nice working with you organizing your trip and I hope you could visit us in Argentina very soon :)
Thanks again
Best wishes
Mariano

Best of chile 24 days, Chile - Nov 8 - Dec 2, 2018

Traveler: Ellen S. - Local specialist: Mariano Galindo

We have just returned from a spectacular four week journey to Chile. Thanks in no small part to all the stellar folks at Kimkim and their wonderful contractors, our diverse wanderings went off without a hitch. Mariano, our Kimkim specialist was there for us at the start. We were a group of four people with diverse interests and pretty much zero prior knowledge of the country. We threw our various desires into a pot and Mariano sorted us out with a trip which took us from the high plains of... read more

We have just returned from a spectacular four week journey to Chile. Thanks in no small part to all the stellar folks at Kimkim and their wonderful contractors, our diverse wanderings went off without a hitch. Mariano, our Kimkim specialist was there for us at the start. We were a group of four people with diverse interests and pretty much zero prior knowledge of the country. We threw our various desires into a pot and Mariano sorted us out with a trip which took us from the high plains of the Atacama desert to the rugged coastline of Chiloe, from the bustling city of Santiago to the bohemian hills of Valparaiso. We had amazing local guides set up by Acorn where Ana was our 24/7 "go to" for requests, wrinkles and suggestions. From finding dentist to dealing with a missed flight, Ana was always there for us - cheerful and helpful!

We would definitely use Kimkim again any time!

Mariano Galindo, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Ellen,
Thanks for your kind comments, I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed the trip that much and that your destination, Ana, was that helpful! That's our main goal.
I hope everything is fine back home and we hope to welcome you in Argentina soon :)
Warm regards
Mariano

Desert, Chile - Nov 24 - Nov 26, 2018

Traveler: Amber J. - Local specialist: Daiana Andion

This was a complete mess.
We were given no details regarding the tours beforehand. Only what time they began.
The paperwork said someone would be in touch to confirm our pickup time, etc. We didn't hear from anyone. I had to make an international call at midnight the night before to find out when we should be ready. When I inquired about a drop-off time, she couldn't tell me.
Then, we hated our guide (about 99% sure she was hungover). She threw up the entire first half of the tour, told... read more

This was a complete mess.
We were given no details regarding the tours beforehand. Only what time they began.
The paperwork said someone would be in touch to confirm our pickup time, etc. We didn't hear from anyone. I had to make an international call at midnight the night before to find out when we should be ready. When I inquired about a drop-off time, she couldn't tell me.
Then, we hated our guide (about 99% sure she was hungover). She threw up the entire first half of the tour, told us next to nothing about the places we saw. Then we were dropped off in town at the tour office, so had to walk back to the hotel. We only had about an hour and a half in between tours. The morning tour was so miserable, we didn't even go on the 2nd tour of the day.
We did however, stop by the tour office to find out what time our next morning pick up would be.
And lo and behold, we had the same guide. At least she was not sick the following day, but we were once again underwhelmed with her knowledge. We basically ended up eavesdropping other tours who had knowledgeable guides with interesting information.

Overall, our experience in the Atacama desert was underwhelming, which was extremely disappointing considering all the wonderful things we heard about it before going.

Daiana Andion, local specialist, responded to this review:

It saddens me to know you are going thought this situation. It is the main goal of Say Hueque to create the best Travel Experiences, and we understand your expectations were not fully satisfied.

As a differential service and for which Say Hueque stands out as the leader in receptive tourism for 20 years, we offer an emergency telephone service 24/7 while you travel. It is a pity that you didn't contact us during your trip. If we had known the problems that were happening, we would have... read more

It saddens me to know you are going thought this situation. It is the main goal of Say Hueque to create the best Travel Experiences, and we understand your expectations were not fully satisfied.

As a differential service and for which Say Hueque stands out as the leader in receptive tourism for 20 years, we offer an emergency telephone service 24/7 while you travel. It is a pity that you didn't contact us during your trip. If we had known the problems that were happening, we would have automatically changed the guide, the tour or even the supplier.

Regarding the organization of the tours, the ideally was to have one tour a day to avoid being on a rush between excursions, but we followed your request of doing as many tours as possible on the time you had, so that schedule we did was the only possible alternative.

Really, It was a pity not to have known this before as we always try to solve the itinerary of our passengers in the best way possible; The spirit of this company and our main goal is to design unforgettable experiences in our beautiful country.

We really care, and it is our main concern, your opinion. So, of course, we highly appreciate you take the time to write to us.

Matt

Chilean wild, Chile - Nov 30 - Dec 3, 2018

Traveler: Matt K. - Local specialist: Erin Wiley

Loved every part of it. Erin and team saved our holiday and made our trip to Patagonia unforgettable. THANK YOU!!!

Erin Wiley, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thank you, Matt!

You and Annelies were wonderful to work with and it makes me so happy that the trip was everything that you dreamed of! Come back anytime :)

Explore patagonia, Chile - Nov 21 - Nov 24, 2018

Traveler: Caroline V. - Local specialist: Erin Wiley

Amazing day with Juancho and Andres in Torre del Pine. Juancho is very knowledgeable and is happy to share his knowledge. Fantastic views and opportunities to take photographs of wild life. Totally recommended.

Another amazing day with Claudia, Christian and Pedro from Kayak Agua Fresca. Memorable moments watching the dolfins playing near our zodiac. Watching the sea lions and so many different birds. Claudia is an amazing guide who speaks very good English and Christian is a very experienced sailor. Totally recommended

Erin Wiley, local specialist, responded to this review:

Wow, Caroline these photos are incredible!!

It looks like you also had really great weather, how wonderful.

I will certainly pass along your positive feedback to our team and to your guides. I'm so glad that this worked out so well and thank you for giving me the opportunity to design such a unique itinerary. It was a pleasure to meet and chat with the both of you and cheers to adventure!

Loz

Torres del paine, Chile - Nov 16 - Nov 19, 2018

Traveler: Loz W. - Local specialist: Erin Wiley

I worked with Emily and Erin in planning my solo hike through Patagonia. It was ane ady process and they were happy to answer all my questions. They even put my mind at ease when I voiced my concerns about my readiness to do this experience, having never hiked before and feeling a bit apprehensive about doing it self-guided. They were right though, it was amazing and I'm so glad I did it. Highly recommend Dittmar and the ladies for the care and professional service.

Erin Wiley, local specialist, responded to this review:

You killed it out there!

Thank you so much Loz for the kind review. I'm so happy that you enjoyed your time in the park and you are welcome back anytime.

Wonders of chile - 14 days, Chile - Nov 2 - Nov 18, 2018

Traveler: Scott P. - Local specialist: Silvia Monico

Silvia and the team at Argentina / Chile on the Go are great. Silvia designed a 16 day trip for us to see the highlights of Chile including Atacama, Santiago, the Chilean Lake District, Torres del Paine and Easter Island. Everything went according to plan and without any hiccups. Thank you Silvia!

Silvia Monico, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Scott, Thank you very much for your kind feedback.
I`m very happy to hear that everything went as planned, and It was my pleasure working with you.
Do not hesitate to contact us again once you start thinking about a trip to Argentina! We will be happy to help,
Warm regards from Buenos Aires!
Silvia

Chile desert , Chile - Oct 19 - Oct 21, 2018

Traveler: Sophie R. - Local specialist: Martin Ogawa

Martin was easily contactable and helpful in providing tours, and selected some perfect tours for us in the end. However it was hard to determine the exact day itineraries to see what was involved. It would have been useful to have been sent final overviews to what each day covered and what was included with more information than was provided. This lead to a bit of confusion on arrival as there was a misunderstanding of the plan for the day and being dropped at the hotel for lunch when we... read more

Martin was easily contactable and helpful in providing tours, and selected some perfect tours for us in the end. However it was hard to determine the exact day itineraries to see what was involved. It would have been useful to have been sent final overviews to what each day covered and what was included with more information than was provided. This lead to a bit of confusion on arrival as there was a misunderstanding of the plan for the day and being dropped at the hotel for lunch when we thought we were out all day, and when we were late being picked up on day 1 we weren't sure who to contact.

The local agency was very good - very knowledgeable guides and great trips.

Martin Ogawa, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Sophie,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write your opinion over the trip. We are really sorry to hear that maybe vouchers were confusing, certainly, we will improve them to be as much clear as possible.

Is great to know that you've enjoyed the trip. We will be very happy to welcome you back in Argentina and Chile every time.

Hope you have a great start of the year

Mid-october torres del paine/puerto natales with small children, Chile - Oct 12 - Oct 18, 2018

Traveler: julianne e. - Local specialist: Erin Wiley

I can't say enough about how effective and awesome Erin was -- and everyone I interacted with at the local guiding company Dittmar Adventures. Erin was very fastidious with her correspondence, always answering quickly and thoroughly, from our very first exchanges, when I was outlining what we wanted to do, and what our budget was. She tweaked the itinerary to suit our, quite unique, needs. Because our situation was pretty unusual -- in that I was traveling with a 3-year-old and a... read more

I can't say enough about how effective and awesome Erin was -- and everyone I interacted with at the local guiding company Dittmar Adventures. Erin was very fastidious with her correspondence, always answering quickly and thoroughly, from our very first exchanges, when I was outlining what we wanted to do, and what our budget was. She tweaked the itinerary to suit our, quite unique, needs. Because our situation was pretty unusual -- in that I was traveling with a 3-year-old and a 6-year-old alone while my husband hiked the "W" trek in Torres del Paine -- Erin really had to think hard about what would work for me and two small children to do that would be manageable. Her itinerary worked so well. It was a combo of two days of group tours (one to an estancia, Estancia La Peninsula, which was INCREDIBLE, and the other a boat tour aboard the Agunsa to the Bernardo O'Higgins national park to see glaciers) and one day of a privately guided tour to Torres del Paine national park, with a guide (Victor, also amazing, who Dittmar uses with some regularity). Everything Erin chose was awesome, including the days off for the kids and I to recuperate from long days of activity! We thoroughly enjoyed the inn she chose for us, the Amerindia, and the staff there were so helpful and friendly, particularly with my boisterous children. The owner of Dittmar, Laura, even lent me two carseats to use for the children on the day-trip to Torres del Paine. All I can say is that Erin, and all others from Dittmar I associated with, were so personal, so interested in us having a good time, and so available to help when needed. We ended up needed some help because a member of our party had her hiking backpack lost by LATAM, and Erin coordinated with Laura and another Dittmar employee (the amazing Emily) to be sure our traveling companion could rent everything she needed the night before their trek began. All I can say is that my whole experience with KimKim, and then with Erin and Dittmar, was excellent. Erin is so generous with her time and all the information she shares. I highly, highly recommend working with her!

Erin Wiley, local specialist, responded to this review:

Wow, thank you so much for the kind review!

Julie, it was such a pleasure to work with you on planning this trip. I really enjoyed the challenge of tailoring a custom trip for you and your children. I'm so happy that you had a wonderful time and that the trip was everything that you had hoped for.

Your kind words really mean the world to myself and my team. We enjoyed working with you every step of the way. I only wish that I could have been there to meet you!

Wishing you all the best and thank you again :)

Intro to chile, Chile - Jul 28 - Aug 8, 2018

Traveler: Susan G. - Local specialist: Oxana Protchenko

For the most part, Oxana did a very good job planning and organizing out trip to Chile. We had printed our itinerary and had access to the Axios app of our daily activities. The itinerary was well organized and structured with lots of helpful information(I.e., confirmation codes, flight #s, seats, check-in and departure times, hotel names, et. al. info). The bilingual tour guides were all knowledgeable, capable, well-prepared, punctual, and professional. We were especially impressed by two... read more

For the most part, Oxana did a very good job planning and organizing out trip to Chile. We had printed our itinerary and had access to the Axios app of our daily activities. The itinerary was well organized and structured with lots of helpful information(I.e., confirmation codes, flight #s, seats, check-in and departure times, hotel names, et. al. info). The bilingual tour guides were all knowledgeable, capable, well-prepared, punctual, and professional. We were especially impressed by two tour guides: Maria Teresa Vargas Casanova on Easter Island(Rapa Nui) and Felipe Maureira, our driver, tour guide and sommelier for Colchagua and Maipo Valley tours to the wineries. They were exceptional. We would highly recommend them and now consider them lifelong friends.
The connections went smoothly and our pickups/drivers at the airports were always there waiting for us with our names on signs. First, the accommodations on Easter Island could have been better since the room looked old and needed an update. It looked better from the outside. The service, and breakfast were good, as well as location to the airport,
However, in retrospect, we would have liked to see what other places were available in that category or even a higher category hotel. We would not recommend this hotel If there is a better choice available.
Each time we based out of Santiago at the Ismael Hotel and it was great. It was a nice boutique hotel with great service and breakfast and was centrally located in a fashionable area close to Lastarria, the art museums, the seafood market, and other places of interest. It was a great choice. Our only criticism was during our time in the Atacama. Oxana, even though we did have your telephone #, there were times when the communication could have been conveyed more clearly. For example, though you organized the itinerary, it would have been better to know that local tour operators(i.e.
Rutas Andinas) were handling the tours and schedules. The itinerary you gave us was suddenly in question as the driver who picked us up at El Loa Airport in Calama handed us a different itinerary. The order of activities and the days were changed. The first activity was supposed to be at 5:30am and not at 8:00am as now scheduled. We didn’t want to miss an activity so we prepared for the earlier time. This could have been more clearly communicated to us and the night person at reception was not sure himself. Also, while we had a very nice, modern room, there was no telephone in the room of this new wing of the Hotel(Don Jose). One activity had us going to the salt flats(Salares) with a stop off at a village famous for its church bell tower and the market in the plaza. Unfortunately, we were there so early, the market was closed,! Somebody should have clarified this since it was part of the tour. A big highlight of the Atacama, which we greatly anticipated, was the astronomical observation. Since we had cloudy weather all week, the day was not promising, but it wasn’t until ten minutes before that it actually came off. It was spectacular and we highly recommend this activity with Jorge Corante F. The Atacama part of the trip was where we felt that communication was not clear and we needed more help from you, Oxana. This is the only reason we feel you didn’t get the 5th star rating. However, you did respond quite well after this and notified us of what the last three days of our itinerary were and we considered those updated. We really appreciated that since I had requested help initially with checking in for our flights. You did that with confirmed Check-in info, but we found it was more helpful and direct to just go to the Latam app which we had from our trip last year to Ecuador to get our Tarjetas de Embarque(Boarding Passes). These were superior to what was sent us. For future travelers with Latam, download the app and put in the confirmation codes. A couple of other considerations we would have wanted.
We wanted to go to Pablo Neruda’s house near Valparaiso, but we were given The choice to go there or to do the walking tour as scheduled. We opted for the latter. Luckily, it was closed on Monday so that made it easier. Our good tour guide, Javiera, recommended his house in Santiago. Finally, given our time constraint, we probably needed another day of “down time” in Santiago to more fully appreciate Lastarria, the art and cultural museums, the seafood market, and other places of interest. Santiago has really good food. Dine at Aqui Esta Coco. We started our walking tour in Santiago with our good tour guide, Max, and ended in Santiago walking in Lastarria by ourselves. All in all, we appreciate the itinerary organized for us by Oxana and want to compliment her for her efforts. Gracias por todo(Thanks for everything).

Oxana Protchenko, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hello Susan, Thank you for your review!
I am glad you enjoyed your time in Chile and thank you for mentioning all the details, especially about what could have gone better as it is the only way we can make sure it does not happen to other customers.
Due to our tourism ideology we fully support local communities and also local providers, so we do use local partners for different destinations and we choose them really carefully. It is very important for us to have them as our partners as they... read more

Hello Susan, Thank you for your review!
I am glad you enjoyed your time in Chile and thank you for mentioning all the details, especially about what could have gone better as it is the only way we can make sure it does not happen to other customers.
Due to our tourism ideology we fully support local communities and also local providers, so we do use local partners for different destinations and we choose them really carefully. It is very important for us to have them as our partners as they are actually on sight all the time and in case of any emergency they are right there to help out!

Once again thank you for all your feedback!

Best of uruguay/chile, Chile - Jul 25 - Aug 4, 2018

Traveler: Matthew D. - Local specialist: Maria Szlafsztein

I have done a good few trips and this one was definitely up there with the best. I travelled the length and breadth of Chile - which has plenty of the former and very little of the latter, so it meant a lot of flying north and south. I feel like I got a taste of the entire country, from Atacama to Patagonia. Could doubtless have spent longer at a few key places, but on the other hand, Chile is such a long way to come from the UK I felt I had to pack as much in as possible on this one trip. I... read more

I have done a good few trips and this one was definitely up there with the best. I travelled the length and breadth of Chile - which has plenty of the former and very little of the latter, so it meant a lot of flying north and south. I feel like I got a taste of the entire country, from Atacama to Patagonia. Could doubtless have spent longer at a few key places, but on the other hand, Chile is such a long way to come from the UK I felt I had to pack as much in as possible on this one trip. I met some lovely people, both other travellers and tour guides (especially Roderigo, tour guide to Valparaiso, Elvin, guide to Osorno and Petrohue, and Victor, guide to Chiloe island). My interactions with natives were curtailed by my regrettably poor Spanish - it was noticeable that many Chileans spoke little or no English, including airline staff and even people at Information desks, so English speakers should be aware that many of the service personnel do not have the level of English that some other countries do. This is not a criticism, and the attitude of the Chileans that visitors to Latin America should speak decent Spanish is perfectly reasonable. Having some command of the native tongue is obviously desirable, and I am sorry that mine was limited. That aside, the people were helpful and things ran smoothly - I was impressed by the efficiency of the Chilean airline Sky and the airports that I passed through; the embarkation, departures, and bag claims were some of the fastest I've experienced, which takes a lot of the hassle from flying. The scenery throughout was spectacular, notably in Atacama, Lake District and Torres del Paine. I also enjoyed a couple of days in Santiago, which is an underrated city. Some great food and drink, not least the pisco sours. All in all, a memorable trip and a country I would strongly recommend. Thank you kimkim, and Maria!

Maria Szlafsztein, local specialist, responded to this review:

Deat Matt,
Your feedback is very beautiful!
I am really happy that you have enjoyed this experience in Chile with us!
This is what I love most about my job, knowing that it was a memorable experience for your whole life, a dream come true!

I wish you the best from South America!
I hope to help you travel and fulfill more dreams in the future.
My best wishes to you,
Maria.

Kristin

Patagonia: torres del paine, Chile - Apr 15 - Apr 21, 2018

Traveler: Kristin M. - Local specialist: James M

Once again, another perfect, memorable trek by Quechua Treks. From planning and booking with James, who I swear never sleeps to the trek itself we had perfect service. Cem, our guide met us the night before our trek to go over the layout of the park and what to expect which was wonderful. He then met us the next morning with our driver Patricio for the drive to the Park. Patricio suggested an additional trek that most people don't do, but we decided to do and it was a beautiful start to... read more

Once again, another perfect, memorable trek by Quechua Treks. From planning and booking with James, who I swear never sleeps to the trek itself we had perfect service. Cem, our guide met us the night before our trek to go over the layout of the park and what to expect which was wonderful. He then met us the next morning with our driver Patricio for the drive to the Park. Patricio suggested an additional trek that most people don't do, but we decided to do and it was a beautiful start to our journey! The scenery of the Torres del Paine is breathtakingly beautiful and we had an amazing time. The refugios are well equipped and very comfortable. Cem is a wonderful guide, full of stories of the area, great tips, pointed out things of interest as we went by, we even got to sample ripe berries as we walked by the plants on the trail!!! One of my best memories is of Cem, Micky and myself all on the ground looking in a burrow we found with a light trying to see if it was an armadillo burrow or a skunk burrow. We had so much fun!!!

My favorite refugio was Cernos, small, but oh so comfortable. Toasty warm, wonderful staff, beautiful views of the surrounding Park. Fabulous wine.

Many, many thanks to Quechua Treks for this truly amazing adventure that will always hold a special place in my heart. This isn't my first adventure with Quechua Treks and it certainly won't be my last (I already have three more adventures planned with them!) James and Mayra did an outstanding job coordinating the trek and Cem did an outstanding job guiding us. I already miss it and want to go back!

James M, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hey Kristin, thanks for your review, sounds like it was another epic trip! Great to hear from you all, we always do our best to set up great guides with our travellers, they're often the difference on these kinds of treks. We're looking forward to having you again with us this year & we'll see you in Cusco next month. best regards, James

Micky

Patagonia: torres del paine, Chile - Apr 15 - Apr 21, 2018

Traveler: Micky C. - Local specialist: James M

I personally didn’t get this trip started Kristin did. The email chain was informed and answered Most questions what questions I did have was promptly answered by James. Cam our guide was amazing I can’t thank him enough for the experience he gave us all.

Thank you

James M, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks Micky, appreciate your comments. Some of the pictures look awesome. Keep in touch, best James

Patagonia: torres del paine, Chile - Apr 15 - Apr 21, 2018

Traveler: Julie T. - Local specialist: James M

Cem was a wonderful guide!!! Though I think I was the guide for most of the time haha——loved every moment of my trip to Patagonian Chile. Learned a lot and greatly appreciated Cem sharing his knowledge about the area. Everyone was amazing and will greatly miss this trip. Definitely a memory that will last forever in my mind and my heart.

James M, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Julie, many thanks for leaving your comments, we're really pleased you enjoyed being guided by Cem. I will make sure he reads the reviews you've left.
It's great to leave with awesome memories, it's the best outcome for a trip I think. It was a pleasure to have you with us, please keep in touch, best James

Cory

Patagonia: torres del paine, Chile - Apr 15 - Apr 21, 2018

Traveler: Cory Z. - Local specialist: James M

Cem was fantastic and truly entertaining. He was focused on providing our group with the best possible experience in Patagonia and was very considerate of hiking paces and experience levels. Also, he was prepared to assist with any small injuries or areas of discomfort caused by the trails themselves. I truly enjoyed every moment of hiking the “W” and can’t wait to hike even more in the future! Thank you!

James M, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Cory, thanks for leaving your comments, we're really pleased you enjoyed being guided by Cem on the 'w' route.
Torres del Paine is a superb park for trekking. Please keep in touch, even just for advice ... it's our speciality! best James

Sai

Patagonia: torres del paine - 7 days, Chile - Feb 15 - Feb 24, 2018

Traveler: Sai M. - Local specialist: James M

Bob and I had an incredible and very varied trip to Chile for our honeymoon. We spent the first 5 days of it in Patagonia, where we did the "W" route. Our guide, Camilla, was the perfect person to take me, and inexperienced hiker, from place to place. She took such good care of us, and her pacing was perfect to get us where we needed to go without making me totally work out. Her cheerfulness and enthusiasm were such a treat.

After that we spent a day in Santiago and three days in... read more

Bob and I had an incredible and very varied trip to Chile for our honeymoon. We spent the first 5 days of it in Patagonia, where we did the "W" route. Our guide, Camilla, was the perfect person to take me, and inexperienced hiker, from place to place. She took such good care of us, and her pacing was perfect to get us where we needed to go without making me totally work out. Her cheerfulness and enthusiasm were such a treat.

After that we spent a day in Santiago and three days in Cochagua Valley doing wine tours and eating unbelievably good food. Our guides for the wine tour, Jose and Fransisco, were a lot of fun and really knowledgeable. We enjoyed all of the tours and tastings we did and were grateful to meet everyone there.

The two highlights of the wine-touring part of our trip were lunch at Fuegos de Alpata, the restaurant at Montes vineyard. Both the food and views were unbelievable, and it took us several hours afterwards to be able to recover and for the haze to wear off. The second was our accommodation - Hotel Quinta Maria. The massive and colorful room in the middle of a gorgeous garden was pretty great, but the best part of the stay was the hospitality of the hotel's owner, Eduardo, who took great care of us and made us a multi-course breakfast, including home-grown fruit and eggs from his own chickens, each morning.

Overall, we couldn't have asked for a better experience and are very grateful for James and Mayra's planning and decision-making. They captured exactly what we wanted.

James M, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Sai, many thanks for your kind review. We're really pleased you had a great honeymoon, you chose the best destination for it. It was a pleasure planning your trip, logistically Patagonia is difficult but always worth the effort. The vineyard tour is amazing, I love your description of it. Hope you have some awesome memories and please keep in touch, best regards, James

Wonders of chile - 14 days, Chile - Feb 7 - Feb 21, 2018

Traveler: Sheila S. - Local specialist: Mariano Galindo

We were impressed by our guides along the way. In Santiago, Maria showed us the sights. She was very knowledgeable. Vivian picked us up at the airport and dropped us off for the flight home. She was lovely, stayed in contact on Whatsapp and was very helpful.
In St Pedro, the tours were interesting, guides Elaine and Sina were very good. Really enjoyed the Moon and Mars valley with Sina very much. She was a fountain of information. The wine and cheese at sunset was a nice surprise.
All went... read more

We were impressed by our guides along the way. In Santiago, Maria showed us the sights. She was very knowledgeable. Vivian picked us up at the airport and dropped us off for the flight home. She was lovely, stayed in contact on Whatsapp and was very helpful.
In St Pedro, the tours were interesting, guides Elaine and Sina were very good. Really enjoyed the Moon and Mars valley with Sina very much. She was a fountain of information. The wine and cheese at sunset was a nice surprise.
All went well in Puerto Varas and Chiloé. The car rental experience was excellent and it was nice to drive around and make our own plans. Parque Quilquico Hotel was outstanding. Lovely scenery, peaceful surroundings, great staff and fabulous food.
In Patagonia, we were met by the Los Torres driver, Hernan, who had lots of sights to point out and was very interesting. The Cerro Negro stop was nice. The Las Torres hotel was great. Glad we did the all inclusive. Room was comfortable, staff very helpful and the food was excellent. Even the box lunch was well done. The excursions were very interesting. Our guide, Steve, on the Full Paine was excellent, very knowledgeable and helpful. The horseback ride toLake Norgenskjol was fun, lovely horses and guides there too. All in all an unforgettable vacation!

Mariano Galindo, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Sheila & Ed,
Thanks for your kind comments. I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip that much, that's our main goal.
I hope you could visit us again soon :)

Best wishes,
Mariano