Kimkim Trip Reviews for Galapagos Islands

Reviews from actual kimkim travelers. We publish all reviews.
4.8
(10 reviews)
Read 10 reviews by travelers who booked their trip on kimkim

Trip to galapagos islands, Galapagos Islands - Feb 16 - Feb 23, 2019

Traveler: Lacey J. - Local specialist: Gabor Csizmadia

There were some slight variances from the descriptions but some were lacking while others were above and beyond expectations! Fernando was so great we felt as though we were leaving a friend after out short stay in Quito. Richard in Galápagos was very knowledgeable and clearly proud of all that he has learned. The day tours in Galápagos are not really as described although we enjoyed them thoroughly. I suggest contacting the excursion companies and request updated information.
When I look... read more

There were some slight variances from the descriptions but some were lacking while others were above and beyond expectations! Fernando was so great we felt as though we were leaving a friend after out short stay in Quito. Richard in Galápagos was very knowledgeable and clearly proud of all that he has learned. The day tours in Galápagos are not really as described although we enjoyed them thoroughly. I suggest contacting the excursion companies and request updated information.
When I look back at my trip I can only think how very perfect and wonderful it was! I will highly recommend Kimkim to friends.

Ben

Trip to galapagos islands, Galapagos Islands - Feb 4 - Feb 8, 2019

Traveler: Ben J. - Local specialist: Mathias Onisseit

Overall the trip was absolutely amazing. It was also very easy to organise the trip through Kim Kim.
Two things to note were that on one day we sat on the boat stationary for 6 hours without a guide and weren't able to do anything as we waited for others to arrive.

Secondly, on our itinerary it was different to the itinerary the boat had for us on the last day. We had to go off by ourselves to see the tortoises and meant we were additionally out of pocket to go see this site as another... read more

Overall the trip was absolutely amazing. It was also very easy to organise the trip through Kim Kim.
Two things to note were that on one day we sat on the boat stationary for 6 hours without a guide and weren't able to do anything as we waited for others to arrive.

Secondly, on our itinerary it was different to the itinerary the boat had for us on the last day. We had to go off by ourselves to see the tortoises and meant we were additionally out of pocket to go see this site as another place was planned for the others. This was our last chance to see them so we had to do it at this time. The people on the boat said this was an issue with the people who made our booking.

Other than that, was a great trip.

Thanks for everything.

Ben

Mathias Onisseit, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Ben,

first of all, I thank you for travelling with us, I'm happy that you enjoyed the trip. Regarding the two points you mentioned:

1. On the first day, passengers tend to arrive at different times and activities begin when everyone is on board the ship (except for extreme delays). This way, nobody misses out any activity, for the first day there is only 1 activity scheduled in the afternoon. Unfortunately, the National Park is very restrictive regarding additional activities, only those... read more

Hi Ben,

first of all, I thank you for travelling with us, I'm happy that you enjoyed the trip. Regarding the two points you mentioned:

1. On the first day, passengers tend to arrive at different times and activities begin when everyone is on board the ship (except for extreme delays). This way, nobody misses out any activity, for the first day there is only 1 activity scheduled in the afternoon. Unfortunately, the National Park is very restrictive regarding additional activities, only those scheduled at certain times and places. This is why you couldn't do any additional activity the first day while waiting for the others to arrive.

2. For the changed program on the last day, I have to apologize, the ship had changed their itinerary slightly and we did not get notified. I will contact you through the chat to see how we can handle the additional expenses you incurred in order to get to Cerro Colorado.

Best,
Mathias

Trip to galapagos islands, Galapagos Islands - Dec 15 - Dec 27, 2018

Traveler: ramachandran v. - Local specialist: Linda Schulz

Overall I can sum up our experience as Excellent!! Thanks to Linda who did a wonderful job of getting the tour planning and arrangements taken care of. Our entire trip was very well organized and worked like a clock right from the day we landed in Quito. Linda worked methodically answering every question that we had during the planning process, customizing the minute details, dietary requirements, transportation, guide information etc. I liked the personalization of the whole package. I would... read more

Overall I can sum up our experience as Excellent!! Thanks to Linda who did a wonderful job of getting the tour planning and arrangements taken care of. Our entire trip was very well organized and worked like a clock right from the day we landed in Quito. Linda worked methodically answering every question that we had during the planning process, customizing the minute details, dietary requirements, transportation, guide information etc. I liked the personalization of the whole package. I would recommend Kimkim travels to anyone who considers planning a vacation to the Galapagos and Amazon. Great staff, very courteous and affordable.

Linda Schulz, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Venkat, great to hear that you have enjoyed your trip to Ecuador and Galapagos - I was more than happy to help you organize your vacation, and I hope to welcome you again one day in Ecuador to explore the rest of the country!
All the best for you and your family,
Linda

Effrosyni

Trip to galapagos islands, Galapagos Islands - Dec 24 - Dec 27, 2018

Traveler: Effrosyni K. - Local specialist: Linda Schulz

Linda was absolutely wonderful. She booked my last minute Galapagos trip . She was eager to help very responsive and knew the area really well. I am grateful for her help and I strongly recommend her to other travelers. Thank you Linda

Linda Schulz, local specialist, responded to this review:

I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time on Galapagos, Effrosyni! Thanks a lot for sharing your fotos with us - it looks like you have been able to see a lot of wildlife and beautiful landscapes in just a short time. Take care & safe travels!

Nora

Best of the galapagos islands: top places to visit, Galapagos Islands - Nov 13 - Nov 18, 2018

Traveler: Nora N. - Local specialist: Marielisa Terán

Our 4 day custom tour was nearly perfect. The only glitch was an early morning pick-up that didn't happen. I reached our contact person and we were instructed to hire a cab to deliver us to the pier (a 30 minute drive). I paid the driver $25.00 for which I was reimbursed 2 days later. All of our guides were professional, pleasant and very accommodating. Marielisa was our knowledgeable travel specialist and arranged quality tours, boats and helped with planning the itinerary. Thank you. KimKim helped to make our Galapagos Islands vacation the trip of a lifetime!

Best of the galapagos islands: top places to visit, Galapagos Islands - Nov 13 - Nov 18, 2018

Traveler: Colleen H. - Local specialist: Marielisa Terán

All went as planned... except I got sick, had to see a doctor a day before one of the trips to an island. I was told even though I called in advance, they would not refund my money for that day. She said the company who they contracted with said no, they would not refund it. I asked for the info of this company, supervisor, contact info, etc but I never received it. Very disappointing.

Patricia

Galapagos, Galapagos Islands - Sep 16 - Sep 21, 2018

Traveler: Patricia C. - Local specialist: Sina Städeli

We really enjoyed the whole trip. We found it was well planned. It ran very smoothly in terms of logistics. We particularly liked the itinerary and the scope of activities were simply great. All three islands are a delight. The food provided was, overall, extremely good. Zambo was very attentive and responsive.

The only recommendation we can give from our experience is related to the opportunity to have a dive. Unfortunately, the dive operation was not able to provide daily insurance cover,... read more

We really enjoyed the whole trip. We found it was well planned. It ran very smoothly in terms of logistics. We particularly liked the itinerary and the scope of activities were simply great. All three islands are a delight. The food provided was, overall, extremely good. Zambo was very attentive and responsive.

The only recommendation we can give from our experience is related to the opportunity to have a dive. Unfortunately, the dive operation was not able to provide daily insurance cover, something is commonly available in diving operations around the world in our experience. The expectation was that we would have already taken dive insurance before we arrived. As a result the only choice was to dive without insurance which we opted not to. We would advise Kim Kim to make their clients aware in advance that if they may wish to dive they must arrange their own insurance in advance. Or better still, Kim Kim partners with a diving operation able to provide daily insurance cover.

Saying that, this did not detract from our full enjoyment over snorkelling ar kicker rock.

Overall, we would recommend this trip to our friends.
Patricia & Martin

Sina Städeli, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Patricia & Martin,

We are glad that you enjoyed the Trip to the Galapagos Islands with us and thank you very much for your feedback.

Sina & the entire Galakiwi Team

Meggan

Best of the galapagos islands: top places to visit, Galapagos Islands - Jun 4 - Jun 7, 2018

Traveler: Meggan M. - Local specialist: Hugh Yarbrough

We had a great time on each of the tours you organized. Thank you!!

Hugh Yarbrough, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Meggan - so nice to hear, thanks very much for the feedback!

Galapagos-cuenca, Galapagos Islands - Sep 14 - Sep 19, 2017

Traveler: Tom & Veree W. - Local specialist: Tariq Abo El Nor

I wish we had known the physical level required for the trip. I found it to be more physical than expected - - not undo-able, but would have appreciated knowing that walking sticks over the lava beds are suggested and vaulting from the panga to the yacht is a 2-3 times a day requirement.

Tariq was responsive and had an answer for our questions within a few hours every time.

Galapagos, Galapagos Islands - Jun 18 - Jun 21, 2017

Traveler: Matthew M. - Local specialist: Alex Molina

The trip was awesome!