Kimkim Trip Reviews for France

Reviews from actual kimkim travelers. We publish all reviews.
4.8
(18 reviews)
Read 18 reviews by travelers who booked their trip on kimkim
Garth

Trip to france, France - Oct 16 - Oct 22, 2018

Traveler: Garth J. - Local specialist: Simon Hardy

I thought the hotels and guides were great. The first two nights in Aix Provence were the best as far as service and hotels go. This small hotel provided great service and an excellent room. The cooking school was enjoyable with a trip to the market and then a quick wine tasting before the class. The food proved amazing and the event filled the day. Don't suggest having any more meals that day. The hotel in Arles was quite beautiful. It was a treat to stay there. The wine trip the... read more

I thought the hotels and guides were great. The first two nights in Aix Provence were the best as far as service and hotels go. This small hotel provided great service and an excellent room. The cooking school was enjoyable with a trip to the market and then a quick wine tasting before the class. The food proved amazing and the event filled the day. Don't suggest having any more meals that day. The hotel in Arles was quite beautiful. It was a treat to stay there. The wine trip the next day was the highlight of our stay in Provence. Eric the wine tour guide was excellent. The private tours were wonderful and the places were beautiful. I would highly recommend him to anyone. Our hotel in Avignon was nice but not exceptional. It was located in a great place and they gave us a nice room with a deck overlooking the city. We enjoyed our touring around the area by rental car and managed to fill the day with the high-points of the region. All and all the package proved very good. I would highly recommend Simon. He was able to readjust our schedule due to a flight cancellation that eliminated our first day. Simon's rescheduling enable us to almost recapture the elements of the lost first day. The only item that was a bit negative was the cost of the private transport in Provence. Our driver, while very nice charged much more than estimated in our itinerary. But that didn't diminish the excellent services and information provided and the great assistance Simon provided for us. Many thanks to Simon.

Yael

The very best walks on corsica: 7 days, France - Oct 4 - Oct 13, 2018

Traveler: Yael Z. - Local specialist: Claudia Meloni

The trip was very well-planned according to our requests. Lodging was good to very good. The people who picked up our luggage for transfers were always extremely punctual and reliable. Our only issue had both a good and bad side. Arriving the first week in October meant that there were no crowds, less traffic, and it was easy to get into restaurants. The bad news was that many things were already closed for the season and were unavailable. One glaring example was that when we went to... read more

The trip was very well-planned according to our requests. Lodging was good to very good. The people who picked up our luggage for transfers were always extremely punctual and reliable. Our only issue had both a good and bad side. Arriving the first week in October meant that there were no crowds, less traffic, and it was easy to get into restaurants. The bad news was that many things were already closed for the season and were unavailable. One glaring example was that when we went to use our voucher for a boat transfer in St. Florent the water taxi had closed for the season. With great persistence and very little French we were able to arrange for a private boat to take us. Although we made sure that everything went as planned, I think it's important for others planning a trip at that time to know that it is definitely post-season and they should know in advance that many places will be closed. Also - I felt that some of the hikes were much more rigorous than described. In English there is a difference between a path (very well-groomed and generally flat) and a trail (well-marked but rougher terrain). The "paths" in St. Florent (along the coast) and Corté (in the mountains) were very rugged trails that, for me (65-yr. old woman) required walking sticks and a knee brace that I didn't bring. All in all, Corsica is a beautiful place and we thank Kim Kim for making our wonderful trip possible!

Claudia Meloni, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Yael,

First I would like to thank you for this very good review that you gave us. I am glad you enjoyed your trip in Corsica and it was a real pleasure talking with you and organizing your trip.
About the period which was the end of the season and about the hikes more challenging than explained, I take your comments into account. So that I will better explain those points to the future travelers.
We will improve our agency thanks to your review, so thanks again and also thank you for being such nice travelers !

Best Regards,
Claudia
Europe Active team

Golftrip, France - Sep 23 - Sep 29, 2018

Traveler: Brian M. - Local specialist: Simon Hardy

Estelle from sun e bikes was great and very helpful. The staff at the restaurants: Fort in Marseille, La Fourchette in Avignon were very pleasant and good experiences. Heily Lucullus in Avignon was very good and our owner/hostess was very nice. Eating dinner outside at Les Fin Roches in CDP had excellent ambiance. CDP itself was just OK. Sylvie at La Nerth gave a great tour although a little rushed since we were a little late. But she spent a lot of time with us in the the tasting... read more

Estelle from sun e bikes was great and very helpful. The staff at the restaurants: Fort in Marseille, La Fourchette in Avignon were very pleasant and good experiences. Heily Lucullus in Avignon was very good and our owner/hostess was very nice. Eating dinner outside at Les Fin Roches in CDP had excellent ambiance. CDP itself was just OK. Sylvie at La Nerth gave a great tour although a little rushed since we were a little late. But she spent a lot of time with us in the the tasting room and it was very memorable. Very attractive woman by the way. ;) . Before we got to La Nerth, we stopped at Mont Redon winery. Very friendly staff and a beautiful place. I recommend that as a stopover. Domaine de Manville was an excellent experience. The staff was excellent and we were treated very well by everyone that we interacted with, excepting the misunderstanding at the proshop.

Alana

Trip to france, France - Sep 23 - Sep 29, 2018

Traveler: Alana E. - Local specialist: Simon Hardy

Our Trip to Provence and The French Riveria was great. Alex our guide and driver was fantastic. Very professional but friendly, excellent driver, so knowledgeable on the history and geography of the area and very flexible when we had requests for small variations. Our hotel accommodations were all very good - the last one - Hotel La Perouse was fabulous - great way to end our holiday. Regarding the activities we partook in - we all thought the hike in Calanques National Park was great but in... read more

Our Trip to Provence and The French Riveria was great. Alex our guide and driver was fantastic. Very professional but friendly, excellent driver, so knowledgeable on the history and geography of the area and very flexible when we had requests for small variations. Our hotel accommodations were all very good - the last one - Hotel La Perouse was fabulous - great way to end our holiday. Regarding the activities we partook in - we all thought the hike in Calanques National Park was great but in some places a little slippery - not recommended for people who aren't steady on their feet or are not wearing appropriate footwear - or elderly.

We all loved our day in the Luberon visiting Gordes and Roussillon .
St Tropez was also well liked - some good shopping.
Our excursion to Grasse and our workshop at the perfume House of Galimord was probably one of our most memorable experiences - wasn't sure how the interested the guys would be but we all thoroughly ended it.
Monaco and Eze were also beautiful and very enjoyable.

Gourmet walking tour in Nice was good - Marion was lovely and very knowledgeable but a little disorganized and it was hard for everyone to hear her - concept was good and she showed us some great hidden foodie spots - would be a good tour to do the you first arrived in Nice so you could you this information to your advantage to close where to dine.

The wine tasting at Domaine du Clos des Roses was disappointing - we all thought it would have been better to stay in St Tropez - afternoon was a waste -No tour - tasted 2 wines - not worth it.

In all - we were very satisfied with the itinerary except for the wine tasting - perhaps next time we would allow 1 day extra in each location for shopping and wandering the town at our own leisure or enjoying the facilities of the hotels

Short visit in cote d'azur area., France - Sep 17 - Sep 19, 2018

Traveler: Sheila W. - Local specialist: Simon Hardy

The two days of hiking in the "Vallee des Merveilles" was wonderful with Damien. He was very considerate, interesting and fun. The tour was exactly what I was hoping. Sometime in the future, I would love to plan another but longer hike through that part of France.

The tour of Nice was good. Our guide knew the information and presented it well. Our only problem was that she talks too long with a very fast loud voice. Sometimes she talked so quickly that we could not follow her strain of... read more

The two days of hiking in the "Vallee des Merveilles" was wonderful with Damien. He was very considerate, interesting and fun. The tour was exactly what I was hoping. Sometime in the future, I would love to plan another but longer hike through that part of France.

The tour of Nice was good. Our guide knew the information and presented it well. Our only problem was that she talks too long with a very fast loud voice. Sometimes she talked so quickly that we could not follow her strain of thought.

Simon, thank you for putting together a great 3 day tour of southern France. Hopefully there are other opportunities to give you a call.
Thanks again
Sheila

Corsica cycling trip, France - Sep 14 - Sep 23, 2018

Traveler: Hans B. - Local specialist: Anthony Laplagne

Heidi and I truly enjoyed Corsica, the Corsican people, the cycling and the beaches! Anthony and his company did a fine job planning the trip and moving our gear along for us. They were very attentive and seemed to think of everything. We would do this trip all over again!

Trip to france, France - Sep 9 - Sep 20, 2018

Traveler: wendy w. - Local specialist: Bérangère Bombaglia

This was a perfect trip for us! We are not ready nor do we ever want to be in a crowd of lots of other tourists who are just like us; we have always enjoyed exploring and being on our own and/or with a few close friends. We realize, however, that we are not country experts and that "stuff" happens especially when you are older and also living in a more complicated world. So, having assistance and local support should we have needed it was incredibly reassuring. For us, KimKim and... read more

This was a perfect trip for us! We are not ready nor do we ever want to be in a crowd of lots of other tourists who are just like us; we have always enjoyed exploring and being on our own and/or with a few close friends. We realize, however, that we are not country experts and that "stuff" happens especially when you are older and also living in a more complicated world. So, having assistance and local support should we have needed it was incredibly reassuring. For us, KimKim and Berangere helped us shape travel experiences that were individualized and allowed us to delve deeper into the culture than we have done in the past. We had a wonderful time and we thank Berangere very much.

We more than appreciated having drivers to help us get to and from airports and train stations. The drivers were always on time, polite, respectful, friendly and very helpful.

Our first stop was in Honfleur which we loved. It would have been fun to spend one more day there but then we would have had to give up a day somewhere else...a difficult trade-off. I loved the hotel Les Maisons de Lea; our room was cozy and the hotel people were very kind and friendly to two tired Americans. It was a great place to begin our trip.

Although we had booked the hotel du Luxembourg in Bayeaux on our own, you should know that it was also a wonderful place to stay. The two tours in Normandy were excellent. Our guide to Mount-Saint-Michel was very knowledgeable and she was clearly dedicated to helping us understand the history of this amazing structure in the context of history and times in which it was built. Unfortunately, Steve was not able to share the experiences of the D-Day beaches as he was not well but I had an amazing day and I was very comfortable touring on my own. The guide went out of his way to ensure everyone in the group saw what he/she had come to see and it was a very moving experience to imagine where my Dad had probably been in a mine sweeper off shore on that day.

We appreciated having first class seats on the train to Paris and the assistance of our driver to ensure we were in the right place to get on the train. We stayed at the hotel Le Clos Medicis in a fairly large room on the first floor. We were grateful to not have stairs to navigate with small but heavy suitcases. After our two experiences in Normandy where we felt so warmly welcomed, however, we were a little unsettled by a much more subdued welcome at this hotel. We enjoyed being in a neighborhood that was new to us (previously stayed in the Marais). One of our favorite tours of the whole trip was with Sylvie to the Louvre. We felt as though we were with a friend and loved walking to the Louvre with her as well as visiting the museum; we had been to the Louvre before but it was great to have Sylvie give us more detail and history than we had gleaned on our own.

We liked breaking up the trip so that we had a few days in Paris before we went to Bordeaux.
Again, our driver helped us navigate the Monparnasse train station so that we were at the right place at the right time for our train to Bordeaux. Although, we had to do some coordinating with our driver once we arrived in Bordeaux, we did eventually find each other and we enjoyed our ride with him to the hotel Particulier. A great hotel---especially the breakfast!

The day after we arrived in Bordeaux, we were scheduled for the small group tours of Arcachon and Le Medoc. Both were great tours. We loved climbing up the dune, having oysters and visiting Le Medoc. However, it was LONG day which started at 8:30 AM and we did not get back to the hotel until well after 8:00 PM which was definitely too late for us. Based on that, we changed our schedule so that we could do two half day tours in the following two mornings. We appreciated their willingness to accommodate us. The tours were all excellent and led by exceptionally knowledgeable and enthusiastic guides.

Back to Paris and le Clos Medicis: Our new room was at the top of building and did require some minimal stair climbing from the elevator which we managed just fine but because we both have knee issues, this could have been problematic. We enjoyed our river cruise and finally (after three other tries), I actually made it to the top of the Eiffel tower!

What else can I say??? We had a great trip.

Thank you for all.
Wendy and Steve

Bérangère Bombaglia, local specialist, responded to this review:

Dear Wendy and Steve

Thank you for your detailed feedback, it's very helpful.
It was a pleasure to create your itinerary and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in France.

Kind regards from Paris
Bérangère

An active trip that coordinates w an nternational munich flight, France - Sep 4 - Sep 8, 2018

Traveler: Lori G. - Local specialist: Simon Hardy

Simon was very helpful to meet with me pre trip and make sure I understood where I was supposed to be each day. The hotels and restaurants that he selected were fantastic. I especially loved Danielle at the wine b and b. The wine experience was fantastic. Sun E bikes made the trip pretty tough. While I am certain they had the best of intentions, the person who drops off the bike needs to be trained on how to set the GPS up for success. I asked immediately how to zoom in and he wasn't able to... read more

Simon was very helpful to meet with me pre trip and make sure I understood where I was supposed to be each day. The hotels and restaurants that he selected were fantastic. I especially loved Danielle at the wine b and b. The wine experience was fantastic. Sun E bikes made the trip pretty tough. While I am certain they had the best of intentions, the person who drops off the bike needs to be trained on how to set the GPS up for success. I asked immediately how to zoom in and he wasn't able to make that happen so that I could see the roads. With in 10 minutes I was lost and when I called no one answered. I should have left a message and didn't. The rest of the day was a mess as I was continuously lost. My road book pages weren't numbered and got out of order. Even if they hadn't, once you are lost I am not sure they would have helped. The bike specialist did try to meet me at the wine tasting. he was correct that the gps was working (as in pointing the right direction and having signal, it just wasn't set up to zoom in and see roads) He was still unable to fix this but brought me paper maps. Since I couldn't sleep because I was worrying so much about my next day, I was able to change the setting myself. I'm not sure why that couldn't have been done right away, it would have saved a lot of frustration for everyone. I did appreciate the pickup on the second day when I couldn't go further after riding in rain and a thunderstorm. One thing that would have been helpful to know as well in St Remy is that according to my hotel concierge, taxi's need 2 days in advance reservation to make the 20 minute drive to the train station. I almost missed my train back to Paris due to this. Since the rating asks to describe Simon, I don't think it is fair to rate him based on Sun E bikes failure to set up the gps, overall, I would unfortunately rate the trip as a whole lower as it was really stressful.

Simon Hardy, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Lori, thank you for the review concerning your 3-days bike tour in the hinterland of Provence. I will let Danielle and the other people met know that you enjoyed their services. But I also have listed a series of recommendations dedicated to my partners in order to improve our service before and during the bike tour itself. I know that you had rough moments during your trip...and I hope that you will remember the good times too. All my best, Simon

Stephanie

Provence, france, France - Aug 15 - Aug 24, 2018

Traveler: Stephanie W. - Local specialist: Florian Lanfernini

Simon and Florian were both wonderful. The itinerary was great, although I wish I Arles was included in the itinerary given its significance. When I had to go to the hospital for emergency surgery Simon helped rearrange everything, and Florian even came to the hospital to visit. Since I was traveling alone, their attentiveness and consideration made all the difference. I was able to tailor the rest of my trip the way I needed. Simon was always communicative and made sure I was okay. Thank you guys for taking care of me and being so supportive and professional!

Florian Lanfernini, local specialist, responded to this review:

Thanks, Stephanie, for your very kind message! I note your feedback about the bespoke itinerary, as well as the fact that Arles wasn't included. You had a rough time in Aix...so it was a good thing to postpone your flight and rest in the countryside of the Alpilles. I am sure that your misadventure will not stop you from coming back to Southern France again!

Kylie

Family friendly tour of provence, France - Jul 9 - Jul 13, 2018

Traveler: Kylie W. - Local specialist: Simon Hardy

We are a family of 4 who travelled to Provence in July 2018. Our children are aged 4 and 6. All our accommodation was superb and the guided tours excellent. The tour of the calenques with skipper Laurence was one of the most unique and memorable experiences of our travels so far - we traveled quickly to some magnificent swimming locations and saw a really different side of Marseille.

The tour of an Olive mill was delicious and fascinating. The family were really welcoming and involved the... read more

We are a family of 4 who travelled to Provence in July 2018. Our children are aged 4 and 6. All our accommodation was superb and the guided tours excellent. The tour of the calenques with skipper Laurence was one of the most unique and memorable experiences of our travels so far - we traveled quickly to some magnificent swimming locations and saw a really different side of Marseille.

The tour of an Olive mill was delicious and fascinating. The family were really welcoming and involved the children in cooking and touring.

The children also had an amazing time on Olivier’s carriage ride - what a great way to tour the countryside!

We would definitely engage Simon Hardy and KimKim again for our next holiday. Many thanks.

Simon Hardy, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Kylie and Matt, what a great pleasure to hear that you appreciated your stay in Provence with us! I expected that your children would have appreciated the cultural & outdoor activities with our local ambassadors... I will tell them directly. I hope to see you maybe another time in Provence, the Southern Alps or the French Riviera! All my best, Simon

Aix de provence, France - Jun 28 - Jul 8, 2018

Traveler: Teresa F. - Local specialist: Simon Hardy

What an incredible journey! Merci merci merci Simon for a well thought out itinerary and the amazing guides that were assigned to take us to all those beautiful places. Having a private guide made all the difference because we were able to see even more than what was on our agenda Alex and Natalie were incredibly knowledgeable and so nice! Our hotels were fantastic! Located close to everything. The one in Marseille was amazing located right across from the Old Port and just around the corner... read more

What an incredible journey! Merci merci merci Simon for a well thought out itinerary and the amazing guides that were assigned to take us to all those beautiful places. Having a private guide made all the difference because we were able to see even more than what was on our agenda Alex and Natalie were incredibly knowledgeable and so nice! Our hotels were fantastic! Located close to everything. The one in Marseille was amazing located right across from the Old Port and just around the corner from Lafayette Gallery for great shopping. We are so grateful to have visited your beautiful country.... ours seems so boring in comparison 😉. Canada is a wonderful place to live but there’s no comparison when it comes to the History, Architecture, Culture & let’s not forget the food!!! I bought the best Macarons ever in Nice ... they are my favourite! So on that note I will say thank you again and I will be sure to post a comment on the trip advisor regarding our experience with your company. We truly made the right choice and so grateful for all that you did for us!

Merci!🙏🏻 Vive La France!!🇫🇷🇫🇷🇫🇷🇫🇷🇫🇷

Simon Hardy, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Teresa and Kim! Thank you for this very pleasant message! I am glad that you enjoyed your trip and the service of our local guides during the past weeks between Provence & the French Riviera. This is really gratifying. See you maybe another time in France!

Corsica walk , France - Jun 7 - Jun 15, 2018

Traveler: martha k. - Local specialist: Anthony Laplagne

Hi we began from Corte, Hotel was in great location but rude staff on reception. Walk next day was excellent. Directions usually clear. Very friendly lady in Calacuccia with fresh roses in room. Tough to carry cases without a lift. Lovely walk to Castell Verghiu and great views from room. Very good meal. Another great walk though some of our party didn’t make the waterfall. The bridge isn’t there which should be more explicit in directions. Night in Evisa. The walk to Ota was beautiful and... read more

Hi we began from Corte, Hotel was in great location but rude staff on reception. Walk next day was excellent. Directions usually clear. Very friendly lady in Calacuccia with fresh roses in room. Tough to carry cases without a lift. Lovely walk to Castell Verghiu and great views from room. Very good meal. Another great walk though some of our party didn’t make the waterfall. The bridge isn’t there which should be more explicit in directions. Night in Evisa. The walk to Ota was beautiful and we had one of our best meals at Chez Felix. We walked down the road to Porto. Shame about overgrown path - could that be cleared? Hotel was great with stunning pool in eucalyptus forest. We took a boat trip after a tip from fellow walker - perhaps you should suggest that in the notes or even get a discount? Corse Adrenaline was good company in small boat. We didn’t find anywhere good to eat. Recommendations would have been helpful. The walk to Piana was tough in heavy rain. Les Roches Rouges was stunning with a very kind Patronne Mady. It is a way from the beach so a hire car might have been handy. We did another walk by ourselves to Capu Rossu. We ate at wonderful Italian called Le Hospiton about 6km away and then the hotel restaurant which was great. Overall we would have enjoyed more background detail in the directions eg date of the Genoese bridges, more on wildlife, possible diversions eg Ruines of Dispensa, restaurant tips. But this was a great trip.

Maria

Sightsee and relax, France - May 31 - Jun 9, 2018

Traveler: Maria d. - Local specialist: Simon Hardy

We enjoyed the whole experience.
The itinerary was meticulously planned, the guides were very professional , yet friendly and helpful, the vehicles comfortable and the small groups made interaction and time management easy.
One of my most memorable experiences was the Gallimard perfumery - I enjoyed making my own perfume!
My husband greatly enjoyed the trip to Monaco and Monte Carlo.
On the whole, a fabulous trip!

Simon Hardy, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Maria, thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad and proud that you enjoyed our immersive experiences in the hinterland of Provence and along the French Riviera. A bientôt! Simon

Provence village tour, France - May 20 - May 20, 2018

Traveler: Allyce H. - Local specialist: Simon Hardy

I had a wonderful experience working with kimkim to arrange for private vans and guides to villages in Provence for a group of university students. When we were in Barcelona we were affected by the train strike in France, and our train was cancelled...which left us (a group of 16) stranded and unable to get to our hotel in Avignon. Out of desperation, I contacted Simon, who was my kimkim contact based in Marseille and he took time on a Saturday (holiday weekend) to make calls for me and... read more

I had a wonderful experience working with kimkim to arrange for private vans and guides to villages in Provence for a group of university students. When we were in Barcelona we were affected by the train strike in France, and our train was cancelled...which left us (a group of 16) stranded and unable to get to our hotel in Avignon. Out of desperation, I contacted Simon, who was my kimkim contact based in Marseille and he took time on a Saturday (holiday weekend) to make calls for me and arrange for a private coach transfer for our group. He saved us!!! He even followed up afterwards to see if we made it to our destination. I can’t say enough great things about the service and extent Simon went to, on his own personal time, to help us out when we were in a bind. Thank you, Simon!!!

Simon Hardy, local specialist, responded to this review:

Hi Allyce, thank you for these kind words! I am glad as well that your students enjoyed the cultural guided tour, and that that you guys didn't stay stuck in Nimes during the strike! There is always a solution :) I am looking forward to having you again with us in Provence! A bientôt, Simon

Lorraine

Self-guided walking tour of provence, France - May 5 - May 16, 2018

Traveler: Lorraine L. - Local specialist: Anthony Laplagne

Anthony and then Aurelia were very responsive and prompt. I was very happy that they always responded quickly and completely to my questions. I felt it was a very personal and professional interaction. So Thank you!

Also, all of the arrangements for hotel check-in, restaurants, luggage transfer, and taxi transport were absolutely perfect. Everything went exactly to plan. Wherever we went we were immediately greeted as "WalkInn" and welcomed with smiles. It was wonderful to see... read more

Anthony and then Aurelia were very responsive and prompt. I was very happy that they always responded quickly and completely to my questions. I felt it was a very personal and professional interaction. So Thank you!

Also, all of the arrangements for hotel check-in, restaurants, luggage transfer, and taxi transport were absolutely perfect. Everything went exactly to plan. Wherever we went we were immediately greeted as "WalkInn" and welcomed with smiles. It was wonderful to see everything so well arranged.

We are also very grateful for the very, very prompt assistance that was provided when we misplaced our walking road book early in the walk. We believe that it was left at the Glanum site where someone quickly picked it up. One note here--we do not understand why we were initially given only one road book for the two of us. If we had had a second book, there would have been no problem! When we received the replacement, we were then given two booklets. Also, since we were not given the road book until we were leaving Avignon, we did not have access to any of those recommendations.

Our walks were really spectacular--both in Les Alpilles and the Luberon. Directions were good except for two things:
(1) the directions for Walk 1—Eastern Valleys and crests—should advise walkers that they might visit the Glanum ruins after they visit the Saint Paul de Mausole. Currently the option only lists the monastery. The walk then takes you away from the ruins. We had to circle back to the ruins after the walk when it would have made much more sense to see them before the rest of the walk.
(2) The only time the directions totally failed us was Walk 3—to l’Abbaye de Sénanque. We learned that other walkers with the same directions had problems with this, having to backtrack several times. The problem occurs when there is a reference to: “only 50m farther you reach the 2nd yellow hiking post with the same name: Abbaye de Sénanque. Here turn left and up a stone road La Pouraque.” There should be a direction that says to ignore the 1st yellow hiking post to the left in the parking lot and continue walking past the Eglise Abbataiale, Communauté, Hotellerie. We (and others) were very confused by the 1st yellow hiking post—since it was not referenced at all. We ended up taking an alternate path and walking up the paved road to reconnect with the directions at THE PASS. But we lost a lot of time trying to figure this out. And we learned that other walkers (on Country Walkers self-guided) had very similar experiences. So the directions should be fixed.

My sister and I fell in love with all of the locations where we stayed. The hotel in Avignon was very well situated and beautiful. Our hosts in St. Remy--Pierre and Armell--were particularly helpful and supportive. Breakfast there was the best. The most beautiful lodging was Le Mas de la Beaume in Gordes--absolutely spectacular! Wendy is a very caring and attentive hostess and the bedroom and in-suite bath are perfect. The hotel in Lourmarin is amusing with its modern, purple room and pictures of bathing beauties. They had by far the best linens and towels and, again, helpful staff. The Saint Cristophe in Aix gave us a great location and comfort. We did not like the hotel in Marsaille but it was a great location with very nice staff. The New Hotel's ground floor exterior appears to be burned out or something. Breakfast was sufficient but perfunctory. The reception area is just functional. Our room had someone else's clothes hanging in the bathroom and there were trash items on the floor that never got cleaned out while we were there.

The included dinners were all very special. Number 9 in Lourmarin was also a lot of fun. Our hostess at the Outsider in Gordes went out of her way to make us feel welcome when we arrived completely soaked from walking in a surprise thunderstorm. The rosé she recommended was the best we had in the two weeks.

Gordes, Les Baux, Lacoste are all so lovely. In Lourmarin we walked back to our hotel at night under the most beautiful cobalt blue night sky. We really loved St. Remy, especially on market day.

Self-guided walking tour of provence, France - May 5 - May 16, 2018

Traveler: Denise P. - Local specialist: Anthony Laplagne

My sister planned this trip through kimkim. We enjoyed a fabulous walking trip of Provence, taking in the great wildflowers, the landscapes, the dining and friendly Provencal people. Our hosts at the various hotels were superb. Heather at Hôtel Cloître St Louis in Avignon was very helpful with tips and reserved a table for us at L'Epicerie where the staff was excellent and the food top notch. The hotel is beautiful and amenities spot on. At Hôtel Sous les Figuiers in St Remy-de-Provence,... read more

My sister planned this trip through kimkim. We enjoyed a fabulous walking trip of Provence, taking in the great wildflowers, the landscapes, the dining and friendly Provencal people. Our hosts at the various hotels were superb. Heather at Hôtel Cloître St Louis in Avignon was very helpful with tips and reserved a table for us at L'Epicerie where the staff was excellent and the food top notch. The hotel is beautiful and amenities spot on. At Hôtel Sous les Figuiers in St Remy-de-Provence, Pierre and Armelle went above and beyond to assist us. What a lovely setting to start our exploration of the area. Wendy at Le Mas de la Beaume was also very attentive and helpful. Hôtel Bastide de Lourmarin did not have an elevator which presented a bit of a problem with our heavy luggage but one of the staff (I did not get her name) jumped to our aid and brought luggage up and down for us. For our additional stays at Saint Christophe Hotel in Aix-en-Provence, we again found very helpful staff and comfortable room.
We were a bit disappointed with the New Hotel Vieux Port in Marseilles. The staff was helpful, the room was comfortable but it seems that management has allowed the property to deteriorate a bit into shabbiness. However, it was close to the spots we wanted to visit and we enjoyed our stay in this exciting city.
We did have an issue with the walking directions near the Sénanque Abbey. We had to improvise and we heard from other walkers with similar directions that the instructions are confusing. My sister will probably tell you more about this.
I also think that it would have helped if each walker was presented with the walking guide at the beginning of the tour or, even better, if the instructions had been sent to us prior to the trip.

Corsica tour, France - Apr 21 - Apr 28, 2018

Traveler: Lynn G. - Local specialist: Anthony Laplagne

We were very pleased with our trip to Corsica. Anthony planned the itinerary, including hotels, trains and route notes for walks in the areas we were staying. Aurelia completed the bookings for the trip. We loved Corsica and felt that we got a good overview of the island. Our information included recommended walks with route notes. We loved hiking in the different areas. The weather was perfect everyday. I highly recommend the train through the mountains. And end of April was the ideal... read more

We were very pleased with our trip to Corsica. Anthony planned the itinerary, including hotels, trains and route notes for walks in the areas we were staying. Aurelia completed the bookings for the trip. We loved Corsica and felt that we got a good overview of the island. Our information included recommended walks with route notes. We loved hiking in the different areas. The weather was perfect everyday. I highly recommend the train through the mountains. And end of April was the ideal time to visit with very few tourists compared to summer and blue skies, wild flowers, scenic views everywhere and helpful hosts at the hotels. Thankyou KIMKIM for helping us have a wonderful trip.

Wine tours, France - Apr 25 - Apr 27, 2018

Traveler: Laura D. - Local specialist: Simon Hardy

Simon helped make our vacation effortless. He stayed in constant communication during the planning stages with great suggestions and coordinated our pick up from the train station.
He even left his cell number in case I had questions while on our trip.
Our guide, Alex, was amazing. He was so knowledgeable on various subjects and made our tours
Delightful. He was punctual as well, which we appreciated being in Provence a short time.
I highly recommend the kimkim team!
Laura

Simon Hardy, local specialist, responded to this review:

Bonjour Laura, thanks for your review! Great to hear from you all, we always do our best to set up great guides and chauffeurs for our travelers, and Alex is one of them! We're looking forward to having you again with us in Provence and the French Riviera. Best regards, Simon